If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,482 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #41

Mar 012013

G6 4-cyl

  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake light circuit malfunctioning light on without brakes pressed go off when pressed can not shift vehicle from park without pressing brake pedal hard. Intermittent problem safety issue several complaints about these vehicles.

- Attalla, AL, USA

problem #40

Aug 012012

G6

  • 107,000 miles
I noticed my brake lights were on when I wasnt using the brakes and went off when I pressed the brake pedal and sometimes the brake lights just flash on and off when the brakes aren't being used. This has been an ongoing, very frustrating, not to mention dangerous problem, especially at night! I contacted the manufacturer and since my vehicle wasn't made at a particular location, it didn't fall under a recall they had previously issued for this very same problem and refused to try to fix the issue. Please have this car manufacturer extend the recall to all 2006 Pontiac G6 vehicles.

- Drummonds, TN, USA

problem #39

Aug 132008

G6 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
Brake lights staying on while engine on, lights turn off while braking. Cruise control disengages, have had brake switch, sensors, computer calibrated, lubricant applied, battery replaced and still no fix. 4 years of mechanic bills, and still no permanent solution!!! now they want to charge me 1000 for a BCM...GM needs to fix this issue!!! I have a small child and am afraid to drive with him!!!! such a shame that they are letting owners suffer with this and not correct it!!! I have been robbed!!!

- Hillsboro, OH, USA

problem #38

Oct 172007

G6

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake light not working, on all the time. Turn off when braking. Will not shift to drive without flooring the brakes. Cruise control also will not work.

- La Puente, CA, USA

problem #37

Nov 072011

G6

  • 40,000 miles
The brake lights and cruise control work do not always work. Sometimes they don't work at all and other times the brake lights come on without pressing the brake pedal. I got a warning from a police officer that I had no brake lights and then realized that when my cruise control was not working, neither were by brake lights. My wife said sometimes she cannot got the car out of park and must turn off the car and try again to get it out of park.

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #36

Aug 102011

G6

  • miles
Hello, my name is [xxx] and I recently purchased a vehicle that should've never passed a government inspection. I financed the vehicle in a used dealership called walt's in the city of san angelo Texas about a year ago. The vehicle I purchased is a 2006 Pontiac G6. This vehicle runs good and the only problem I I've had is a brake problem, mechanically, but what I'm more concerned about is the rear doors, they were not equipped with child locks. I am a father of a four and a five year old, one of them opened the door before I came to a complete stop even when the door was locked. I took the car to where I purchased it and they said they can't do anything about it. He just told me to make sure my kids are buckled and nothing will happen. He told me that its the government fault for passing it in the inspection. Please help me with this problem. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- San Angelo, TX, USA

problem #35

Oct 262011

G6 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My brake lights stay on, then go off when I depress the brake pedal. I was nearly rear ended this afternoon on a major highway because of this - I called Pontiac and this had been a recall issue but they said my VIN wasn't included in the recall, so they won't help me. My airbag light is also staying lit, and the dash says service airbags - which had also been a recall and they won't help me with that either.

- Elgin, MN, USA

problem #34

Feb 032010

G6

  • 110,000 miles
I own a Pontiac G6 2006 its the worst car I have ever owned I have put 4000-6000$ in to this car and still continue to have problems on a daily basis from the power steering catalytic converters brakes tire rod ends wheel bearings and numerous other problems I have paid more on fixing the problems on the car than I have paid on the car there are currently no recalls to my knowledge but I strongly believe the entire car should be recalled and GM should pay back what the car was purchased for!

- Andover, IA, USA

problem #33

Aug 222011

G6

  • 25,400 miles
Brake rotors warped @ 26000 miles. So bad almost loose control of car. Many cases on internet.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #32

Mar 152006

G6

  • miles
Rotors, brakes, and numerous replacement control arms on both sides.

- Millington, MI, USA

problem #31

May 202011

G6

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Persistent brake problem. Car vibrates during braking.

- Millington , NJ, USA

problem #30

Oct 202010

G6

  • 85,000 miles
I have a 2006 pointiac G6, I had a letter about the steering but I have miss placed it. It stated that if my steering went out have it checked. Well I was on the highway with my granddaughter and I went into the other lane infront of a truck and guess what the steering would not move. I called a dealership in mn and they said until my car stops all together they could not fix it; I have my grandchildren with me quite frequently I guess they want to fix it when something happens to my grandchild or myself I don't think so; please tell me what to do before someone gets hurt and I don't want it to be anybody. Also, I have replaced the rotors, brakes all four tires in the fall of 2010 in the beginning of 2011 I had to have them fixed. Well I have to go and have them fixed again I have never had a car like this in my life, I am a 65 year old single woman and I hate that this car is so badly constructed no wonder people do not buy american cars. Please tell me what to do about my brakes, thank you.

- Plymouth, MN, USA

problem #29

Aug 262009

G6

  • 70,000 miles
I bought a 2006 Pontiac G6 gtp sedan, the car has 80,000 miles on it and the brakes and rotors have been replaced twice already. Now they are needing replacement again after already having a front end alignment. This is not covered under warranty by GM. This has cost me well over 2,000 dollars, and in just a few searches of the internet you will see thousands of complaints about the same issues with the car. The car shakes terribly when braking, and at times locks up the brakes. There have been numerous places and mechanics that I've talked to saying its how the car is made. And if that is the case then the manufacturer needs to take care of the issues and recall the warped rotors instead of thousands of people spending and unknown amount of money fixing a problem that was made by the company.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #28

Aug 152010

G6 6-cyl

  • 30,500 miles
The rear brake pads and rotor on my 2006 Pontiac G6 had to be worked on when it only 30,000 miles on it. I had to replace the rear pads and had to have the rotors turned down. The way the rotor was grooved in 2 spots and more than 3/4 of the rest of the surface was rusty. It was a certified used car when we bought it with only 19,000 miles on it. I even took it to the dealer and was told it was normal wear. Very hard for me to believe that after seeing the rotors when I took them off.

- Victoria, IL, USA

problem #27

Oct 282010

G6 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
I own a 2006 Pontiac G6 sedan and I believe there should be a re-call on the braking system for this car. I myself have experience brake squeaking after all new brakes were replaced on the car no reason for this. Other problems reported and I know people that have experienced are, rotors and pads wear pre-maturely, brake rotors warping, bad vibration or shaking when car slows down at fast speeds, squeaking and squealing brakes when they are applied. I don't understand once new brakes are installed on the car this should not be happening!!

- Milford , CT, USA

problem #26

Apr 012010

G6

  • 70,000 miles
In the past year I have had to get my brake pads and rotors replaced on my 2006 Pontiac G6 gtp. After the first time getting the brake pads and rotors replaced, I have been in the shop every month. Most recently, I had the front and rear rotors and brake pads replaced at the same time. Exactly one month after the replacement, my brakes are squeaking when I go to brake.

- Festus, MO, USA

problem #25

Jun 242010

G6

  • 33,005 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While making a left or right turn the vehicle stalled without warning. She was able to move the vehicle onto the emergency lane. The check engine light illuminated after the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the computer caused the failure to occur. The vehicle was repaired. Approximately a year ago, she experienced brake failure when the brakes were applied and crashed into the vehicle in-front of her. The failure mileage was 33,005 and the current mileage was 35,000.

- Buffalo Grove, IL, USA

problem #24

Jul 012010

G6

  • 89,000 miles
Brake light malfunction that occurs constantly. Brake illuminates when driving and turn off when the brakes are applied. Vehicle has the same symptoms described in recall id# 28422 but according to Pontiac my vehicle is not covered in the recall.

- Sellersburg, IN, USA

problem #23

Apr 152010

G6 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
Since the car was almost new (6,000 miles) the brakes pulsate and need constant repair - eventually the pulsation leads to what I would determine an uncomfortable/uncontrollable breaking problem. Dealer has indicated the type of brakes on this car have a problem with corrosion. They are able to repair and car seems ok for a few months then problem recurs. Last time the dealer charged approximately $400 for repair (May 2010). The car is now starting to again display some of the same symptoms, starting to pulsate, brakes making dragging sound. The car has 43,000 miles as of this date and been taken to dealer at least 2 times per year for brake problems since original purchase in August 2006.

- Mansfield, TX, USA

problem #22

Jun 292010

G6

  • 21,000 miles
2006 Pontiac G6, currently with 76,400 miles at 21K my brakes were already in the yellow. At 38K, I replaced the front brakes and had the car aligned. At 45K, I had to replace the front brake pads again. At 50K, I had to resurface the rotors. At 54K, I had to install new rotors and new front brakes... again. I purchased high performance, cross-drilled rotors, and the brakes that were recommended to go along with them, and had them installed at a reputable brake company. At a little over 54K, I had to do another alignment. At 64K, another alignment was recommended and performed. At 71K, brakes are in the yellow again. And now, today, at 76K, had to resurface the new rotors, and was told that my front brakes are, once again, nearing the red. And I'm pretty sure, if I had the energy, money and time to check the alignment again, it would need to be re-aligned again. Pontiac G6 has some sort of problem that causes a ridiculous amount of brake and rotor wear, and alignment issues. Period.

- Perris, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?