Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 3 of 9) Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,599 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #125

May 012014

G6 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles


I didn't have any accidents at this time. However, the first recall on this vehicle was May 2014 and then the others followed. There are 3 recalls on this vehicle and none of the parts are available. What is being done to expedite this process" all recalls have serious consequences. Am I driving a death trap? GM continues to push cars off the assembly line but nothing is being done to have these parts available and repair the cars that are on the road. As a government Agency, what are you doing"

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #124

Aug 182014

G6 6-cyl

  • 135,302 miles
Ignition switch.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #123

Jul 302014


  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the brakes were engaged but the rear left brake light failed to illuminate. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the wiring needed to be replaced. Also, the technician made the contact aware of recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) however, the parts needed were unavailable to perform the repair. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- West , MS, USA

problem #122

Jun 032014

G6 4-cyl

  • 126,500 miles


I went to get my vehicle inspected and the brake lights would not operate correctly. First, they would not shut off. Then, they would not turn on. You can push the brake pedal and sometimes it will turn the brake lights on and they stay on, or it will turn them off and they will stay off. I have brought it to two different automotive shops, including the one I purchased it from and they have not been able to diagnose the problem. GM sent me a recall notice for this type of problem. However, it is not listed on the website. So I called GM and they stated I had to pay to have a manufacturer diagnose the problem as it was not a "legit recall as of yet" and that if it was found to be part of the recall the cost would be reimbursed. I explained to the GM agent on the phone that it has been looked at and I cannot afford to pay to have it looked at again. She stated I needed to wait for a "legit recall" to be mailed to me. The letter I received from GM previously is the same type of letter I had received about the other two recalls on my vehicle that are listed on the website and there are no parts for. The malfunctioning of my brake lights is a serious problem and could cause a horrible accident.

- Houlton, ME, USA

problem #121

Jul 012014


  • miles
I have received 2 separate recalls for my vehicle regarding the power steering, one in 2012 and one in June of 2014. Both recalls claimed that there are no parts available, and have not been for 2 years now. I have just received in July of 2014 (2) more recalls on my vehicle, regarding the body control module, and transmission shift cable, again stating that no parts are available. My fiance drives this vehicle and it frightened me to thing that her transmission cable could go, so I contacted GM about the issue to attempt to find out how long until the parts are available, since I worry about her safety. I was told to wait until the parts become available, one of which I have been waiting over 2 years, and to ignore the recall letters, that they don't mean much and they are "forced" to send them out. I was told to continue to wait like everybody else for the parts to become available, and not to worry unless I receive more letters. I have never seen such a blatant disregard for customer safety. I have already attempted to contact GM about this issue at no luck. Please help.

- Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #120

Jun 162009

G6 6-cyl

  • 64,277 miles
Stated vehicle was in for repair at on the above date. Repairs completed on this date match the scope of work that should be completed under campaign # 14V153000. Vehicle was serviced at lavery automotive sales and service, llc. 1096 West state St P.O. Box 3545, alliance, Ohio 44601. Dealer phone: 330-238-1037. Dealer repair order # [xxx]. owner requesting reimbursement for repairs. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- North Canton, OH, USA

problem #119

Jul 092013


  • 111,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights would not illuminate when the brake pedal was applied. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) however, the part was not available to do the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 111,000.

- Lancaster, NY, USA

problem #118

Jan 012013

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights illuminated intermittently when the brake pedal had not been applied. The contact also stated that the cruise control was inoperable. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, etc) and contacted two local dealers who had not yet received instructions to remedy the recalled vehicles. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unknown. The vehicle was not repaired. Updated 9/8/14 updated 1/8/2015

- Holliston, MA, USA

problem #117

Jul 222014


  • 66,919 miles
I have a 2006 Pontiac G6 the interior lights stopped working then the sun roof would open but would not close back I took it to the dealer were after over $400 dollars they discovered that about 15 wires above the head liner had shorted out and burnt this is very unsafe if it happened driving down the road and the head liner caught fire this could lead to death.

- Cleveland, VA, USA

problem #116

Mar 132012


  • 80,000 miles
While accelerating onto the highway the vehicle loses power and all service, warning and dash lights come on. They flash and flicker until I lift foot off gas pedal, but will come right back if I step on the gas to hard. This issue only occurs when performing a hard acceleration onto the highway.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #115

Dec 182013


  • miles


Lost power steering completely. Thank goodness I was driving instead of my wife. I was able to make it home and took it immediately to have it fixed by a certified GM dealer. I contacted GM directly and was told there was no recall on this VIN. After another call, I was told that there were upcoming recalls for this year model and that I would be receiving a reimbursement form in April of 2014, which I never received. Upon multiple calls, I was told that I would be contacted by my local GM dealer who also told me there were no recalls on this VIN.I should be reimbursed for fixing an issue that should be under recall. GM is using some very shady business practices........and all of this after having it taken to the dealership six months earlier for a total electrical malfunction, which should have already been recalled as well....

- Bigelow, AR, USA

problem #114

Jul 112007

G6 6-cyl

  • 125 miles
Purchased new Pontiac G6 2006 on June 2, 2007, 72 miles. July 2007, problems with cruise control. Contacted reliable Pontiac with problem. Never returned my call. Took it to thompson's placerville, acted like I did not know how to work a cruise control. Continued to have electrical problems throughout the vehicle. Spoke with david O'keef, Pontiac customer service (866) 790-5600, ext 31952, regarding lemon law. I took the vehicle into thompsons on the following dates (there were several more, but I did not receive an invoice from the dealer): 7/11/07; 8/10/07; 10/05/07; 10/8/07; 10/20/07; 11/16/07; 12/12/07; 4/8/08; 4/23/08 5/14/08; 5/16/08; 5/31/08; 11/11/08; throughout 2009 and 2010; 4/28/11; 9/6/11; 9/14/11; 12/9/11; and 12/14/11. Pulled over by chp several times for brake lights being on, but I was not braking, officer stated vehicle too dangerous to be on road. On 9/6/11, a friend referred me to motortrend recalls. Recall date for air bags was 10/31/2006 and exterior lighting: Brake lights 1/30/2009. Steering needed to be replaced in 2009. I was never contacted by GM or reliable Pontiac. Vehicle was a costly, safety hazard through 12/14/11. Still have issues. Extremely inconvenient to keep taking it to the dealer. Now I know why I was being flipped off by other drivers on the road, they thought I was "brake" checking them.

- Placerville, CA, USA

problem #113

Apr 012014


  • 101,756 miles
TL the contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving various speeds, the brake lights on the vehicle would either illuminate randomly or fail to illuminate completely when the brake pedal was depressed. The dealer stated that the VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 101,756. Jcc

- Greenfield , WI, USA

problem #112

Jun 222014

G6 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
It's starts with being hard to get my car out of gear. Then my cruise control goes out & then my brake light stays on while I'm driving, but when I brake, the light goes off. It's the light at the bottom of my rear window. I can see the reflection in my rear window.

- Anderson , IN, USA

problem #111

Dec 042010


  • miles
TL * the contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the rear brake lamps and the brake lights on the spoiler were not operating properly. Upon pressing the accelerator pedal the lights illuminated and when the contact applied the brakes the lights failed to illuminate. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The vehicle was scheduled for diagnostic testing and to be repaired by an authorized dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #110

Sep 052012

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
Everything electrical is shot. It started about two years by one, everything in the car (electrical) stopped working. Such as.. 1. power lock for the doors doesn't work 2. trunk release button doesn't open the trunk 3. car alarm would go off every time I opened the door (as the door was unlocked) 4. air conditioning stopped working 5. brake lights would illuminate while driving, and would go off when I would brake. 6. brake lights wouldn't illuminate at all sometimes. 7. headlights and/or taillights would go out, or dim randomly 8. push-lock button on each door would go up and down (by itself) as I would be driving, or when the car was parked. (couldn't lock my car doors) because of the exterior lighting issues, I was pulled over twice. I also had my car repaired a couple times (mechanic even called Pontiac for assistance). After the car was fixed, (if possible), the lights would stop properly working again, shortly after being 'repaired'. eventually, I stopped driving the car. I haven't driven the car since February, 2014 (5 months). I don't have the money to continuously get the car fixed (to pass inspection), or pay for safety violations. Therefore, I haven't had a car to drive for 5 months. I had received a letter in the mail (prior to the recall letter in June 2014) stating there was a default with the power steering. I called the number twice. At first, I was told my car issues were not relevant to the default. The second time, (probably a couple months later) I was told that my car was now over the mileage to be covered by the warranty (stated in the letter), and therefore it voided my eligibility to have the repaired by them.

- Hampstead, NH, USA

problem #109

Jun 082014

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
Driving on hwy 526 charleston SC. With my twin daughters and 7yr. Old son and the windshield wipers stop working, cigarette lighters stop working. I could nt see feared for my kids life. I went to dealership I was told that this is what's happening to G6 cars. Ever since I got this car its been one thing after another I cant afford to repair this problem that is a defect and pay car note, plus keep a job I don't have a way to get there or anywhere if it's raining.

- Hollywood, SC, USA

problem #108

Mar 012014


  • 35,000 miles
Rear doors will intermittently not unlock either with door switch or keyless control. This create a hazard if a small child is in a rear seat restraint, have to craw between the seats to try and reach the locks to manually unlock them.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #107

Jun 022014


  • miles
S10 appropriate handling- letter to the secretary from constituent re for information letter regarding three separate issues with Pontiac G6 (power steering, shift cable and wiring corrosion) and lack of solutions from General Motors (GM).

- La Plume, PA, USA

problem #106

May 012014

G6 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
Driver side brake light and rear turn signal fails to illuminate. Both bulbs were changed and fuses evaluated but didn't fix the problem. This combined with a steering problem noted in a previous complaint makes the vehicle extremely dangerous to have on the road.

- East Hampton, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?