Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 4 of 9)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,580 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #107

Jun 022014

G6

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

S10 appropriate handling- letter to the secretary from constituent re for information letter regarding three separate issues with Pontiac G6 (power steering, shift cable and wiring corrosion) and lack of solutions from General Motors (GM).

- La Plume, PA, USA

problem #106

May 012014

G6 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
Driver side brake light and rear turn signal fails to illuminate. Both bulbs were changed and fuses evaluated but didn't fix the problem. This combined with a steering problem noted in a previous complaint makes the vehicle extremely dangerous to have on the road.

- East Hampton, CT, USA

problem #105

Mar 072013

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,300 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake light remained illuminated when the brakes were not engaged. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 39,300. Updated 09/11/14 updated 1/5/15

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #104

May 012013

G6 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Once again GM has issued a recall for 2006 Pontiac G6's for brake light issues, cruise control, and difficulties getting the car out of the park position. The brake lights randomly illuminate while pressing the gas and shut off when I press the brake. The cruise control will randomly disengage as well. Once again my VIN is not covered under the recall. How is this possible? the symptoms I've experienced are identical to the recall. Both recalls to be exact. The same make, model and year of car with identical problems but I'm not covered and the GM reps are no help. This is my second complaint. I know for a fact that there are other people out there having this same problem.

- Riverview , FL, USA

problem #103

Apr 242014

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
The vehicle has been test and replaced with new part containing a new starter and starter relay. Was told to take it to dealer for testing on theft auto switch and they reported ignition switch problems. The vehicle will start at times when its ready all other associated parts were fine. So whats the cause behind the delay. Ignition switch! does something have to happen before the matter is properly taking care of. Especially since there has been an ignition switch recall....

- Walterboro, SC, USA

problem #102

May 012013

G6 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
At random times the car's tails lights up and stays lite even though the brake petal is being applied. This occurs whether the car is parked or being driven.

- Mokena, IL, USA

problem #101

May 022012

G6 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Used from hurd R.I my Pontiac G6 2 years ago and about 3 months after I was having trouble with the steering, they replace something but never give me paper work then around 8 months ago the heater blow went and had to replace it the steering light on dash go off at least 2 time a months the first time I thought I need steering flu I was told you don't put that in this car..air bag my seats are after market leather seats and sometimes the light indicates the seat is on they also have heated seats that work when they want to..my brake the I had it changed 4 time this past year I bring it to the place I brought it and they push me off and say it's fine.

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #100

Apr 222014

G6 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
The 2006 Pontiac's brake lights go on when the brakes are not applied. The cruise control will not engage, and this occurs intermittently. I'm not sure the brake lights go on when the brakes are applied. This is scary!!!!!!

- Stamford, NY, USA

problem #99

Apr 012011

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
My power steering shut off while driving - electrical on my car comes and goes several times daily problem with airbag lights as well as all dashboard shuts off frequent engine trouble. This car has been nothing but an investment failure I have put so much money and time into this vehicle and have not had a real solution to all the problems I've had since purchasing this vehicle.

- Pitttsfield, MA, USA

problem #98

Dec 102013

G6 6-cyl

  • 94,061 miles
Sometimes (randomly) the brake lights are illuminated when the brake is not being pressed. When this happens, if I press the brake, the brake lights actually go off even though I'm braking. When this brake light problem occurs, the cruise control function also does not work. This has been happening on and off since I purchased the vehicle.

- Washburn, IL, USA

problem #97

Feb 152014

G6

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the vehicle would sporadically fail to start. The contact would have to shift into neutral and then park numerous times before the vehicle would respond. The contact also stated that when driving over a road bump or any unleveled road surface, the instrument panel would fail. On one occasion while the contact was driving at an unknown speed, the power steering assist failed and caused the contact to lose control of the vehicle, who then crashed into a guard rail. The contact was not injured and a police report was not filed of the incident. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer, who was not able to diagnose or duplicate the failure. The contact was advised that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V153000 (steering). The vehicle had been previously taken to an independent mechanic for the same failures however, the mechanic also was unable to diagnose a failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #96

Oct 012013

G6 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
My vehicle is experiencing faulty power steering, which goes out without any notification. It does this when just starting to pull out and it also does it in the middle of a turn. This is very dangerous. It makes you lose control of the steering and could result in a wreck. My vehicle also has been experiencing the service aiir bag warning that has also been recalled in other GM vehicles. The breaking system on my GM is also faulty with the lighting. When the break is pressed the brake lights go off and when the brake is not pushed the brake light goes on. I have contacted GM numerous times and am told that the recall is not model specific that it is VIN specific. If my car is having all of the same dangerous issues, why is it not also recalled?

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #95

Jan 132014

G6 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
(2006 Pontiac G6 GT) the first time I had trouble with my ignition & power steering was in January of 2014. I started my car and the power steering locked when I tried to pull out of a parking spot. I towed it to a mechanic which said everything seemed fine and it was so frustrating knowing there is still a problem. The problem continued. Recently on March 6 2014 while driving the power steering light came onto the radio screen. The power steering disabled while I was driving and it was almost impossible to pull over away from other cars on the road. It was the most horrifying feeling knowing I had no control. I turned the car off and back on again which the wheel was moving and seemed fine to drive. I pulled back onto the highway driving 35 - 40mph and the steering completely locked up and I could not move my wheel at all. I stopped put my hazards on and shut the car off and took the key out of the ignition. I tried starting my car and all the lights on the dash board went haywire also my 6 cd changer changed through every cd and then the car shut off. Mechanics are still not sure what the problem is. Weeks later, now March 30 2014 I started my car and the poweer steering is completely locked and it is not drivable.

- East Boston, MA, USA

problem #94

Apr 112012

G6 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
When I turned the car on, the power steering light came on and the power steering would not work. I would turn the car off and restart it and it would be fine, but once I would get going it would quit working again. This has been happening at least twice a week since 4/11/12. It is getting more and more dangerous. Without any warning, as I'm driving the power steering just goes out. I have contacted GM regarding this and they tell me that my VIN number was not included in the recall.my break lights also stay on if the break is not pushed down and when you press the break pedal down the break lights go off. More recently, when someone sits in my passenger seat the service air bag light comes on. I contacted GM again and again they told me that my VIN number was not affected and not included in the recalls. My car is affected, because I am having the same problems. I live in the dfw area and the break light issue and the power steering issue are causing huge problems for me. It is terrifying each time I have to go anywhere. At the drop of a hat the power steering just quits. GM does not see this as an issue and I am repeatedly given the brush off.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #93

Mar 182014

G6

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the vehicle intermittently failed to start. The contact also mentioned that the power steering assist failed while attempting a left turn. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000. The VIN was not available.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #92

Mar 202009

G6 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Several times when attempting to start the vehicle by turning the key in the ignition the vehicle goes through the process but doesn't start. It will make a "winding" noise. It will take 2-3 attempts to get the vehicle started. This has occurred approximately 30-40 times since 2009. During this same period while driving the beep alarm inside the car begins going off cause it reads that someone is sitting in the passenger front seat without a seat belt. Each time this has happened the seat was empty. In addition, when a person has been sitting in the front passenger seat and vacates the seat the seat or sensor still registers a person there without a seat belt. During the same time period I have had to replace the headlights and front driver side about 6-8 times. I had the front driver side maker light replaced and it was noticed that it was completely corroded. I've had to replace the back brake lights 6-8 times. Lastly, the transmission has begun stalling both at initial acceleration and when driving above 35mph the vehicles suddenly loses its gear and begins to slow down in traffic. This vehicle has major electrical problems. To add, I have spoke to 4-5 other people that have the exact same and additional problems with either the same year, make, and model or the same problems with the same vehicle just a year different.

- Mukwonago, WI, USA

problem #91

Mar 132014

G6 4-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
The car cut off all the time summer or winter. I have taken the car to [xxx] and other car repair places and know one seem to know what wrong with it. We brought the car in Aug. Of last year and been having a problem every since. It cut of and read error across the dash board and want start back for sometime, in the middle of the road or where every. I'm scare someone may get hurt. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #90

Mar 082014

G6 6-cyl

  • 129,745 miles
When driving the car power steering popped up on the radio and all power steering stopped working on the car. I have researched online and some models have an issue with the power steering module and GM extended the warranty to fix the issue but I called the dealer and they said that my model is not covered. This is a very dangerous issue and if I had been going faster and on a turn it could have been very bad.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #89

Jan 242013

G6

  • miles
Brake lights engage when brake pedal is not depressed but disengage when the pedal is pressed. The symptoms started at the same time the cruise control disengaged at highway speed.

- Ashland City, TN, USA

problem #88

Feb 202012

G6 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Started driving the car and power steering goes out.

- Livingston, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?