Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 6 of 9) Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,599 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 6 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #65

Dec 072012

G6 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles


When I am driving my vehicle, the brake lights are on as if I am pressing the brake. However when I press the brakes to slow down or stop, the brake lights turn off. When I start my vehicle and the vehicle is in park, the brake lights of my car are on as if I've pressing the brakes. However, again once I actually do press down the brake pedal, they turn off. So my brakes are on when I'm not pressing the brake pedal at all, and are off when I am pressing the brake pedal.

- Flint, MI, USA

problem #64

Aug 202008


  • 42,000 miles
My power steering column went out while I was trying to turn into my apartment complex and I almost side swiped another vehicle. I lost all power steering. I went to the dealership and got the problem fixed for $700 and with in the time of the part warranty it went out again. It is now 4 years later and it just went completely out again. I know for a fact that there are hundreds and hundreds of 2006 Pontiac G6 owners that have experienced the same problem. This could end up being fatal for someone in the right situation. Also when you call to speak to GM about the problem they brush it off as if they have never heard of it before which can not possibly be the case if there are so many people complaining of the same problem.

- Manchester, TN, USA

problem #63

Dec 262012

G6 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
My 2006 Pontiac G6 steering wheel moves back and forth by its self. When I'm driving the power steering stops working and becomes very hard to steer.

- Cameron, WV, USA

problem #62

Sep 242012


  • 77,000 miles


The Pontiac G6 has a faulty power steering system that needs to be addressed. There should be a reinvestigation into this matter. This is a dangerous defect. While it is extremely difficult to drive at low rates of speed it will randomly take off to the left or right while driving at normal speeds. Extremely dangerous when going around curves. Mine took me off the road and into the median. Also, it went out while driving through the parking garage and I nearly crashed into a concrete pilon because the steering wheel was snatched out of my hands when the power steering assist failed. This is car is very dangerous contrary to the previous investigation. This car needs to be recalled.

- Bloomingdale, GA, USA

problem #61

Sep 142012

G6 6-cyl

  • 162,000 miles
Power steering was lost, light on display stated check power steering. Was informed by a mechanic that I would need to replace the steering column. I guess I should have crashed it so I could have sued Pontiac for not recalling this issue considering it is well know it's a defect in their 2005-2006 G6's.

- Waconia, MN, USA

problem #60

Jun 272012


  • miles
The passenger headlight seems to have a short or faulty wiring. The bulb was replaced and blew out two days later. Then the light socket was replaced and in the process of replacing it, my mechanic tested the wires and realized that there is no power getting to the wires.

- Pinconning, MI, USA

problem #59

May 312012

G6 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles


Vehicle started to make a clunking sound in the brakes and every once and a while having difficulties removing it from park. Shortly after these problems started the cruise control stopped working. Little did we know that the brake lights were working in reverse all this time! when your on the gas the brake lights are on when you hit the brakes the brake lights go out! this is incredibly dangerous GM has issued a recall for this same issue for the 05 G6 model but none of the others, a simple google search shows how common this is with the G6 line from 05-09! we would have had no clue this was going on if I hadn't followed my fiance one night and noticed it other wise we would have found out when some one hit us due to the poor brakes or computer of the Pontiac G6.

- Falls Church , VA, USA

problem #58

Sep 232009

G6 6-cyl

  • 72,872 miles
This Pontiac G6 was taken to dealer on three occasions for the same complaint. 9/23/2009. The first occasion, the vehicle's cruise control did not work and the gearshift was very difficult to move out of park. On one occasion the car had to be left at work site as gear shift could not be moved until the next morning. Last, several people told me that brake lights were on while driving and turned off when applying the brakes; all the symptoms of the recall #09V036000 second occasion: It was taken to dealer again 6/20/2011 for the same symptoms the dielectric lubricant suggested in the recall was applied both times and complaints cured. Third occasion: The vehicle is going into dealer 6/11/2012 for the same complaints..

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #57

Mar 192012


  • 76,000 miles
As I was pulling into work, my car dinged three times, then power steering was flashed on my radio and my steering wheel locked up! unable to drive my car, I had it towed to a mechanic and the estimated repairs would cost $900! this is a horrible car, as this is just one of the few problems I am having with this vehicle. Every time I turn the steering wheel, something in the steering system is making it clank, and when I turn the wheel back it will clank again. If I am at a complete stop and have my hands off the steering wheel, when I apply the gas, the wheel will pull itself about half a turn to the left and as I pick up speed it will recenter itself. When I turn the wheel there is also a grinding noise. The struts have gone bad, which is $450 more, and there is a leak in the front left tire somewhere (not the tire itself, the mechanic told me it was leaking oil somewhere). This is my first GM car, and it will most certainly be my last.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #56

Aug 062011

G6 6-cyl

  • 89,500 miles
2006 Pontiac G6 experiencing all issues documented in recall however this specific vehicle was in recalled. Cruise control will intermittently fail when driving, excessive force is required to shift vehicle from park into reverse/drive in some instances. Brake lights will illuminate when brakes are not depressed and will not illuminate when brakes are depressed. All issues are intermittent, any one of them occurring at least 1X week. Contacted both GM and dealership in August and again in December and while issues are documented, no repair has been made because vehicle is not under the existing recall.

- West Chester, OH, USA

problem #55

Aug 132008

G6 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles


Brake lights staying on while engine on, lights turn off while braking. Cruise control disengages, have had brake switch, sensors, computer calibrated, lubricant applied, battery replaced and still no fix. 4 years of mechanic bills, and still no permanent solution!!! now they want to charge me 1000 for a BCM...GM needs to fix this issue!!! I have a small child and am afraid to drive with him!!!! such a shame that they are letting owners suffer with this and not correct it!!! I have been robbed!!!

- Hillsboro, OH, USA

problem #54

Dec 202011

G6 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
Cruise control randomly turns off.

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #53

Oct 172007


  • 56,000 miles
Brake light not working, on all the time. Turn off when braking. Will not shift to drive without flooring the brakes. Cruise control also will not work.

- La Puente, CA, USA

problem #52

Dec 012011

G6 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
Electronic power steering problem. While driving, a power steering warning appears on the radio screen. After the warning, 3 tones sound inside the car. Then, the steering gets very tight and all power steering goes away. This is a very dangerous situation while driving at highway speeds. The only way to correct the issue is to turn off the car and restart it. This problem can lead to serious accidents when power steering is lost. Please report this issue to GM and require a recall before more serious injuries, or death, occur.

- Brownsburg, IN, USA

problem #51

Nov 072011


  • 40,000 miles
The brake lights and cruise control work do not always work. Sometimes they don't work at all and other times the brake lights come on without pressing the brake pedal. I got a warning from a police officer that I had no brake lights and then realized that when my cruise control was not working, neither were by brake lights. My wife said sometimes she cannot got the car out of park and must turn off the car and try again to get it out of park.

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #50

Jul 282010


  • 89,000 miles
I have a 2006 Pontiac G6 that has faulty steering. I was going around a turn at 45mph and my steering gave out and I couldn't move the steering wheel as I was going around this turn. Thank god there was no one coming the other way, otherwise it would have been a serious accident. Several occurrences happened like this and my mechanic can't seem to find the issue. On a website called G6 owners forum, I was reading through different people's experiences and there are hundreds of people dealing with the same issue with different years. I have also read that there was one death involved with this very issue and many injuries reported. I really think GM/Pontiac needs to step up to this issue and schedule a recall to protect the owners of current GM vehicles.

- York, PA, USA

problem #49

Aug 132011


  • 69,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated while driving various speeds he was informed that his brake lights remained illuminated. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who advised him that the vcm needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 69,500.

- Newcastle, PA, USA

problem #48

Feb 032010


  • 110,000 miles
I own a Pontiac G6 2006 its the worst car I have ever owned I have put 4000-6000$ in to this car and still continue to have problems on a daily basis from the power steering catalytic converters brakes tire rod ends wheel bearings and numerous other problems I have paid more on fixing the problems on the car than I have paid on the car there are currently no recalls to my knowledge but I strongly believe the entire car should be recalled and GM should pay back what the car was purchased for!

- Andover, IA, USA

problem #47

Aug 062011

G6 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
The brake lights on the vehicle come on randomly while driving. This causes the lights to be inoperable while depressing the brake pedal. I have been in several close calls for rear end accidents. Stopped by the police on 2 separate occasions. Also this is the exact problem that GM has in the 2005-06 Pontiac G6 brake light recall notice. I have had the vehicle serviced under recall 2 times now. The fix lasts approximately 3 to 4 months, then the exact same, extremely dangerous, brake light and cruise control issue returns. When the problem occurs the cruise control disengages at random also. This has caused many nerve racking situations when cruise control disengages in traffic while traveling up a hill. GM's fix of applying dielectric grease to the connector is a band aid type fix and is not a remedy for this extremely dangerous recall issue. The newer model G6 vehicles do not have this issue, making it obvious that GM saw a need to fix the problem in house. This problem has been occurring for 4 years at minimum. The car currently has 89K miles and I am the original owner since new. I keep the car in immaculate mechanical condition. This defect needs to be fixed in the correct manner before somebody loses a life.

- Allen, MI, USA

problem #46

Jun 202011

G6 6-cyl

  • 55,010 miles
Cruise stopped working, brake lights came on when pedal not depressed, and off when depressed exactly as described in recall #09V036000.

- Ocilla, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?