Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 8 of 9)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,580 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 8 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #27

Apr 212009

G6

  • 50,969 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 4 mph on normal road conditions; a chiming noise sounded inside the vehicle. The "power steering" warning light indicator illuminated on the instrument panel; suddenly, there was a loss of power steering. The driver experienced extreme difficulty maneuvering the steering wheel. The warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The contact was able to turn the vehicle off, restart it, and continue driving with caution. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection and the failure was contributed to a faulty power steering assembly module. The vehicle was repaired for the malfunction at the cost of $734.25. In addition, there were failures with the steering column sensor and the front driver side door latch sensor. The vehicle has not been repaired for these malfunctions at this time. The failure mileage was 50,969 and the current mileage was 54,000.

- West Linn, OR, USA

problem #26

Aug 282009

G6

  • miles
I have a 2006 Pontiac G6. My steering wheel gets really tight when turning in any direction then it becomes extremely loose. My radio will not play any cd's and I had to take it to dealership once to have it replaced because it caused my battery to die. My right passenger light has water in it. My remote starter no longer works on the vehicle. My passenger side tire sounds as if the ball joint is loose in it.

- Waldorf , MD, USA

problem #25

May 012007

G6

  • 25,000 miles
Starter stays engaged after engine has started. This web site showed others have had the same problem. This does not occur every time - just often enough to be a concern! problem for two years. Dealer gave me an 800 number.

- Washington Court House, OH, USA

problem #24

Jul 242009

G6

  • 34,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. no specific event leading up to the failure, just started out of the blue. 2. brake lights constantly lit when foot is off the brake pedal, cruise control works on and off, gear shift stuck in park, brake lights will sometimes go off when you hit the brakes 3. recall for the 2005 model suggested applying dielectric grease to the connector. We did that and it did not work. We replaced the stop lamp switch under dash and recalibrated the BCM at a dealership. Still malfunctioning.

- Perryville, KY, USA

problem #23

Apr 232009

G6

  • 35,000 miles
I've had my 06 G6 for a little over three years and the car has been a nightmare. The car has been into the dealership at least 6 times for the same reason over the last few years only to have nothing done and be charged ridiculous prices. The main issue is a clunking noise in the steering when making a turn in any direction. The 1st time it happened I was told it was the gear box and had that replaced under warranty, and 6mths later the exact noise is back and my vehicle back in the dealership. Well this time it's not the gear box it's the shaft that needs to be replaced and it's not covered. Go figure! my next question to the dealer is how is it that my car is making the same noise it was making 6mths ago from the exact same area and it's something different now and not covered by the warranty" how do I know that you have competent workers and their repairing what really needs to be repaired" otherwise I wouldn't be here in this dealership every 6mths like im on the payroll. Someone needs to correct these issues before this thing turns into something tragic.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #22

Apr 242009

G6

  • 53,000 miles
The car was purchased from auction in April of 2006. I have had the car three years now. From the time that I purchased the car I have had problems with it starting. It will turn over but dies immediately after it starts. It usually take three tries before it will start. Today I got in my car and turned the key nothing would come on, no lights no radio no noise nothing. I thought it was the battery. I tried it three times and then on the fourth time it started like normal. I checked the battery and it is fine. I have had it in the service department three times for this issue but because it would no do it at that time they could not determine what is wrong with it, the diagnostic test did not show anything. The service airbag warning also keeps dinging. I have taken it in and they reset it and said it was ok, now it keeps doing the same thing but it is not covered by warranty to have it serviced. I have had trouble with the powersteering also. There are times it will be extremely hard to turn and then in a few seconds it is extremely easy and now in the last few months I have had problems with the brakes. The brake pads were replaced two months ago and about two weeks after they were replaced they have started making a really loud squeaking noise and sometimes a grinding noise. Not sure what needs to be done since the brakes were just maintenance. The car has been very dependable but I am afraid that it will not stay that way for long.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #21

Mar 052009

G6

  • 86,143 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving my 2006 Pontiac G6 down the street and all of a sudden the power steering went out, I was unable to turn the car in any direction, this caused traffic to get backed up and me and my 1 year old stuck in the middle of the street, the car had to be towed to the nearest dealer where they then stated that my power steering is electrical and it has went out and to repair it they would have to change my rack and pinion which would cost over $800 to repair, which I don't have at this time, needless to say I am still unable to drive at the present time, I believe that this is recall worthy seeing that the car is only 3 years old, I also have heard other complaints about this same thing, please help!

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #20

Sep 292008

G6

  • 70,000 miles
I purchased the 06 in May 2006. In less than 6mths time both key fobs and the trunk release in the car stopped working. The dealership said they had the problems fixed, but the problem persists. Also, the car is hard to crank at times. It happened often in the past, but eventually stopped. Then on yesterday I had to 3 times to start my car before it cranked. Then today, I had to try 2X before it cranked. Something really needs to be done. I'm glad to know I'm not the only one experiencing this. GM should take note and accommodate everyone who has purchased their product. I'm not sure of the dates I began having trouble starting the vehicle, but it has occurred numerous times since I've had this car. Also, I've had to have my brakes replaced and it hasn't been close to a year and they are making a squeaking noise already.

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #19

Dec 292006

G6 6-cyl

  • 20 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6 GT. While driving the vehicle off the dealer lot at approximately 2 mph, there was an electrical failure with the power windows. In addition, the cell phone charger fuse continued to blow out. The dealer stated that they would make repairs under warranty. There was bubbling in the paint job that was also repaired under warranty. Whenever the vehicle is started, the stereo changes from xm fm to am. The screen for the xm radio is blank, the clock is always behind, and the fuel gauge never works properly. It is difficult to tell exactly how much fuel is in the vehicle. The engine ticks periodically and it sometimes stalls upon starting. The nuts in the door loosen every two weeks and make a loud clunking sound when they are coming loose. There is also something wrong with the power steering. The failure mileage was 20 and current mileage was 18,000. Update 09/10/08 the power steering failed and was replaced, but it still was not right. The drive shaft began to unusual noises. Updated 09/10/08.

- Allmogordo, NM, USA

problem #18

Jul 032008

G6

  • 40,000 miles
When I first purchased the car it only had 10 miles on it and within the next 6 months it would not start and had to be towed to the dealership 3 times. The first 2 times I was told that there was some loose wiring or that the wire was to close to a component and the component melted the plastic covering the wires. The third time I was told there was a problem with the security information but, it was corrected. Then at 40,000 miles the car started jerking whenever I drove it. It seemed as if the gas was not getting to the engine quick enough (I'm not a mechanic) then the mileage went considerably down. For a full tank of gas I used to get 451 miles this is told through the fuel monitor that is in the car. But, after this began occurring the monitor would state 239 miles after I filled it up! I have had to fill-up 6 times in 2 weeks. When a tank of gas used to last 2 weeks for me. I went to the dealership that I purchased the vehicle from and was told that I am no longer under warranty so they would have to charge me to diagnose the vehicle. Once they diagnosed the car they stated that it was the catalytic converter and the would replace free of charge and that I would not have to pay for the diagnostic test either. While I was ecstatic to know that they were going to fix my vehicle at no charge to me, warning bells did sound off immediately. When I received the invoice back from them it stated that these items were replaced: Oxidation catalytic converter, 2 gaskets, 1 pipe and 2 manifold core chg. And after all of this work which took from 8:30A.M to 2:00pm, my mileage monitor is now reporting 300 miles for a full tank of gas when originally I was getting 451. After reading all of these complaints re. This vehicle I am just disgusted. I will review this site when purchasing my next vehicle which I think will be pretty soon.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #17

Feb 182008

G6

  • 23,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It rained really badly and all of a sudden I heard the horn on my car going off continuously. Once the horn starts sounding other issues occur: *automatic shift to lock does not engage *have to push the lock button twice on the remote car key entry device in order for the car to lock I want to lock the car from the inside and have all four doors lock, I cannot have the key in the ignition the car is running and I push the lock button, the driver's side lock pops back up *when I cut the car off but leave the key in the ignition I normally can still hear the radio, but when this happens, I can no longer hear the radio; if I do want to listen to the radio but not crank up the car, there is a pinging noise as if I am getting out of the car and leaving the keys in the ignition because of all of this, when I got in the car, the information center shows door ajar or open.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #16

Nov 152006

G6

  • 28,000 miles
My vehicle squeaks when I go over bumps, even really small ones. I have taken it to the dealership over 10 times. My shocks were replaced, but a couple of days later, it was doing it again. This has been going on for well over a year now. My battery died in my car and it caused my cd player not to work. When my battery was recharged and car running again, the cd player would not work. The radio does, but not the cd player.

- Hutto, TX, USA

problem #15

Feb 072008

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
Every time it rains or gets extremely cold my car has several problems. It starts usually with the head lights going out, turn signals not working, dash lights working randomly, air bag lights saying they are off and on at the same time, windows not going up and down, radio and time resets itself, seat belt sensor goes off when seat belt is on, air bag staying off when 180lbs is in the seat, hard starting, long starts. These are the problems that I have had since I bought the car in December of 2005, it has been to the dealership 8 times for these problems. Again today in the dealership for lights not working. Dealership keeps telling me they can not get the car to duplicate the problem. I keep telling them it has to be cold and wet, not keep in doors.

- Saint Helen, MI, USA

problem #14

Jul 162007

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 ponitac G6 stalled on three occasions. First time the battery was replaced. Second time the battery was charged and wire was tightened. Third time dealer stated it was an electrical problem. The dealer stated the problem may have related to the radio coming on by itself and the drivers window having a problem, but they were not sure if that was the real problem.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #13

Nov 302007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,300 miles
First leak was the xm antenna. Water came in through roof center console lights. Second leak was from the sunroof water entered the cabin through the same place. Dealer repaired sunroof drain tube. Third leak was the sunroof drain tube. Dealer repaired the other sunroof drain tube. The water enter the cabin and ran on the passenger seat belt. This happened in the winter and the seat belt froze solid in the retraction reel. At the same time the water also damaged the airbag sensors in the passenger seat and caused the an airbag failure. The forth leak soaked both seat belts. This time the dealership extended the sunroof drain tubes per a service bulletin. Now there are intermittent electrical problems with the car. The heads lights would not turn on until the car was turned off then restarted. The turn signals, instrument cluster lights, and heater control lights stopped working intermittently. Of course they worked fine while the dealership had the car.

- Aurora, IN, USA

problem #12

Jul 142007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,100 miles
I bought a 2006 Pontiac G6 with only 6,000 miles on it, after a few days of driving it, I noticed something was wrong with the power steering. It would go completly out and in my information center it would say power steering, then other times it would get very loose to where I would have to pull off the road and turn the car off and restart it. I took it to the dealership, where they kept it overnight, called me the next morning and said they found nothing wrong with it, mind you this happens on a daily basis. I told them to keep it longer. Pontiac called back and told me to come pick it up, that they could not get it to duplicate, therefor could find nothing wrong. A week later it goes out completly again, in heavy traffic with my daughter in the car with me, I almost wrecked my car. I immediatley pulled over and called the dealership back, I was told that if I didn't like there service to take it elsewhere, so I did. They had to replace the whole elctronic system in my vehicle. Now at 9,600 miles the problem has resurfaced again.

- Summerdale, AL, USA

problem #11

Aug 142007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,300 miles
My electrical system in my Pontiac G6 GT has been having trouble. The first sign of trouble was my window switch quit working, which was replaced, but after researching I found that this is a common problem. The second incident happened a month ago, my power steering failed as I was turning a corner. This then proceeded to happen numerous times, when I was going between 0-40 mph. I had to shut off the car, then it was okay (no "power steering light" came on). The electrical chip was replaced. Third incident, power steering light starting coming on and steering was harder to control (but not locking up). I am very concerned that this is going to be an ongoing problem with the electrical system in the G6, and I am even more concerned for my safety and when the warranty is finished. Pontiac needs to look into these failures and take the steps to ensure the consumers safety.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #10

Sep 152006

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I purchased my Pontiac G6 GT in September of 2006. Shortly thereafter, I had to return it to the dealership because the horn would not work properly. It was replaced. 6-8 weeks later, it was back at the dealership for another horn replacement. Then, the starter sounded like it was hanging up, like it would not disengage after the motor started. So, I took it to another dealership, but they could not duplicate the problem and simply reset the computer and returned the vehicle to me. 2 months ago, I noticed that the cruise control was not working. A couple of weeks later I discovered that my brake lights were staying on. I took it to the dealership and a module was replaced regarding the brake lights and cruise control. The next week it was back at the dealership for the same problems. 2 weeks after the return, guess what! it was back at the dealership for the brake lights staying on and the cruise control not working. I got the car back last week, and over this past weekend, I noticed that the cruise was not working yet again. Not only the brakes/cruise, but the starter started hanging again and now the drivers' side heated seat comes on and cannot be turned off!!! my car has been at the dealership since Tuesday and Pontiac says that they will not offer a buy back because the problems are electrical and not mechanical! I guess I will just wait on it to catch fire!

- Monroe, LA, USA

problem #9

Dec 152006

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
I had several types of electrical failures with this vehicle. The first one was a check engine light and was reset by dealer with no codes found. The next was low coolant warning that was a defective wire and repaired. Another time the vehicle simply would not start and had to be towed to the dealer. After filling vehicle with gas the dash panel was completely out, vehicle ran normal. Dealer was aware that no instruments were working and was unable to detect the problem, no codes found. Dome light never worked and was unable to be fixed. In December I stopped for a red light in traffic and smelled melting or burning plastic and seconds later a small cloud of fowl scented smoke entered the cabin of the vehicle. I shut the vehicle off and tried to restart the vehicle when the light turned green and the vehicle would not start. I called for roadside assistance and waited for the tow truck. When the tow truck arrived the vehicle started smoking from the engine compartment and then caught fire. The damage was not repairable. At the time I was certified Pontiac retail professional and as of new years day had not been given a rental vehicle under the warranty. The manufacturer has not been the least bit helpful in the situation and as a result I have since left my job as a GM sales professional. GM will not provide a rental vehicle while they drag their feet to identify the root of the problem. I have waited until new years day to file this complaint to give GM ample time to resolve the issue.

- North Port, FL, USA

problem #8

Aug 212006

G6 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have a 2006 Pontiac G6 that I am leasing since 11/1/2005 and since August 2006 I have been having numerous problems with the battery and engine on and off. Then finally on August 21, 2006 I went to go start it and it was totally dead. It was towed to the nearest dealer and they had to replace the battery which started leaking battery acid into the engine. About a month later in mid September 2006, I was running errands and went to start my car to go home and it was dead. I was at a store and had to get it towed again to a nearest dealer. There they found it was a wiring harness chafe around the starter motor and also concerning the air conditioning lines and that caused a few fuses to blow. As of today November 28, 2006 I am still having issues with starting the car and the dealer cant find whats wrong. The car just turned one year and shouldn't have these issues. I had to go out and buy a portable jump starter becasue this car is so unpredictable. It has been back and forth to the dealer 3 times in 2 months and I am tired of it.

- Auburndale, FL, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?