Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 9 of 9) Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,599 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 9 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #5

Jun 292006

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,375 miles


I bought this car on 4/12/2006. The electrical system has a problem so when the passenger rolls down the power window the driver can not put it back up. On 6/29/2006 I took it in for this and they put grease on my windows and they replaced the drivers side window switch. It worked for 2 days and then it stopped working again only this time the passenger seat belt warning stopped working as well, so on 7/8/2006 I took it back and they replaced the drivers side window switch again and repaired the wires to the warning for seat belt. Now here we are it is 7/17 and it quit again on Friday the 7/14/2006 so I called and this time they told me they are keeping it indefinitely and the lady who made my appt. Said I should consider renting a car. I argued that for as much money as I spent on this car I should not have to, so they agreed to pay the rental. My concern is this; things keep happening with the electrical system what if it causes a fire or worse an accident with me and my 3 kids in it.

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #4

Apr 212006

G6 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,253 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle was parked for a period of several days, but after turning the ignition, there was the strong odor of something burning. Further examination revealed grayish black smoke erupting from the center console near the floorboard. The contact pulled up the panel which revealed no obvious fire, but more smoke. After the removal of foam insulation block from the console, flames were visible. The fire department was contacted to extinguish the fire. The emergency operator instructed the contact to the turn off the ignition. While doing as instructed, the flames touched the contact's arm resulting in minor injuries. Meanwhile the flames engulfed the vehicle which was deemed a complete loss, there was extensive fire damage. Police were on the scene and a report was taken. Afterwards, the fire inspector determined the fire was electrical in nature.

- O'fallon, IL, USA

problem #3

Feb 092006

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,500 miles
When driving check engine light and traction control light will come on, driver information center will show message "reduced engine power" and car will slow down significantly and not go over 45 mph. Additionally cruise control will not work. If turned off remote start will not work and vehicle restarts with check engine light on and runs rough. Usually next restart check engine light will be off and will run better. Vehicle will have burnt smell when parked in garage after incident. Computer is storing error codes but dealer can not diagnose problem. Dealer indicates "software error" prevents them from getting information about vehicle at time when error codes were recorded. In shop 3 times and they can not figure out, wanted me to use a data recorder but when they tried to show me how to work it the recorded did not work. This has happened 3 times, 2/9/2006 on I95, 2/20/2006 during in town driving(only disabled remote start and burning smell), and 3/4/2006 on a country road.

- Topton, PA, USA

problem #2

Jan 012006

G6 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 200 miles
Grinding noise when changing gears on 6 speed manual transmission. Clicking or popping noises from transmission when taking foot off of gas. Transmission has a very poor feel generally and generally feels disconnected from the vehicle. Grinding is more apparent with low speed shifts or when turning. The second complaint is that the fog light button and the seat heater switch get noticeably hot while driving with the lights on. The third complaint is that the dash lights do not go on when you put the lights on manually during the day.

- Chesapeake Beach, MD, USA

problem #1

Nov 212005

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,500 miles
Vehicle was purchased in August and have had no problems since. When temperature is cold, below 30 degrees F, stabilitrak does not work and message is displayed in message center. When temp is above 30, stabilitrak works fine. Without traction system, vehicle slides over the road, losing traction very easily.

- Livonia, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?