Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 2 of 7) Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,740 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #115

Apr 032011


  • 110,135 miles


Driving my power steering and exterior lighting goes out all the time. Also my passenger air bag says service air bag all the time. My car has also just shut down on me on numerous occasions on the highway etc.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #114

Jul 302014


  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the brakes were engaged but the rear left brake light failed to illuminate. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the wiring needed to be replaced. Also, the technician made the contact aware of recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) however, the parts needed were unavailable to perform the repair. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- West , MS, USA

problem #113

Jun 032014

G6 4-cyl

  • 126,500 miles
I went to get my vehicle inspected and the brake lights would not operate correctly. First, they would not shut off. Then, they would not turn on. You can push the brake pedal and sometimes it will turn the brake lights on and they stay on, or it will turn them off and they will stay off. I have brought it to two different automotive shops, including the one I purchased it from and they have not been able to diagnose the problem. GM sent me a recall notice for this type of problem. However, it is not listed on the website. So I called GM and they stated I had to pay to have a manufacturer diagnose the problem as it was not a "legit recall as of yet" and that if it was found to be part of the recall the cost would be reimbursed. I explained to the GM agent on the phone that it has been looked at and I cannot afford to pay to have it looked at again. She stated I needed to wait for a "legit recall" to be mailed to me. The letter I received from GM previously is the same type of letter I had received about the other two recalls on my vehicle that are listed on the website and there are no parts for. The malfunctioning of my brake lights is a serious problem and could cause a horrible accident.

- Houlton, ME, USA

problem #112

Sep 012013


  • 50,000 miles


2013: Automatic light opening door became completely inoperable. Extremely dangerous for females during nighttime hours, even when pulling into driveway or going to car from home. I also began having problems with the turning signal level. I had to manually switch the blinker off after turning, otherwise my blinker would stay on the entire drive. In March, 2014, the lever completely snapped off, and I have to shove it into place before and after turning to properly execute any turn because the lever hangs after every movement. I began hearing a "thumping" sound at random times when applying my brakes. Initially, I thought it may be related to the brake line/pads/rotors or tires; however, I have had both areas of my vehicle inspected, and the technicians could not find anything wrong. The "thumping" noise continues more frequently every time. No definitive answer as to what is causing it. I have also had the vent for my defroster crack off, causing the pieces of the vent to fall into the ventilation system, but hasn't caused any significant problems with my cooling/heating/defrosting system (yet). In January, 2014, my power steering notification would randomly come on and steering lock up while in parked position. In April/may, 2014, the problem escalated within weeks, and my power steering disengaged while pulling out of the bank parking lot, and then again pulling into my neighborhood. At that time, I contacted GM regarding the problem, and was told that there was a recall (yet GM owners manual had not placed it online), but the parts were not available. Today, power steering went out after hitting a water puddle in the pouring rain. Had it not been for me knowing exactly what to do (put on hazards, put vehicle in park, turn off and then turn on vehicle), I would have ended up in serious accident.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #111

Jul 112007

G6 6-cyl

  • 125 miles
Purchased new Pontiac G6 2006 on June 2, 2007, 72 miles. July 2007, problems with cruise control. Contacted reliable Pontiac with problem. Never returned my call. Took it to thompson's placerville, acted like I did not know how to work a cruise control. Continued to have electrical problems throughout the vehicle. Spoke with david O'keef, Pontiac customer service (866) 790-5600, ext 31952, regarding lemon law. I took the vehicle into thompsons on the following dates (there were several more, but I did not receive an invoice from the dealer): 7/11/07; 8/10/07; 10/05/07; 10/8/07; 10/20/07; 11/16/07; 12/12/07; 4/8/08; 4/23/08 5/14/08; 5/16/08; 5/31/08; 11/11/08; throughout 2009 and 2010; 4/28/11; 9/6/11; 9/14/11; 12/9/11; and 12/14/11. Pulled over by chp several times for brake lights being on, but I was not braking, officer stated vehicle too dangerous to be on road. On 9/6/11, a friend referred me to motortrend recalls. Recall date for air bags was 10/31/2006 and exterior lighting: Brake lights 1/30/2009. Steering needed to be replaced in 2009. I was never contacted by GM or reliable Pontiac. Vehicle was a costly, safety hazard through 12/14/11. Still have issues. Extremely inconvenient to keep taking it to the dealer. Now I know why I was being flipped off by other drivers on the road, they thought I was "brake" checking them.

- Placerville, CA, USA

problem #110

May 032014


  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the rear brake lights failed to illuminate however, they did illuminate whenever the brake pedal was not being engaged. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign number:09V036000 (exterior lighting). The vehicle was scheduled for diagnostic testing and to be repaired by an authorized dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Kimberly, WI, USA

problem #109

Apr 012014


  • 101,756 miles


TL the contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving various speeds, the brake lights on the vehicle would either illuminate randomly or fail to illuminate completely when the brake pedal was depressed. The dealer stated that the VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 101,756. Jcc

- Greenfield , WI, USA

problem #108

Jun 222014

G6 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
It's starts with being hard to get my car out of gear. Then my cruise control goes out & then my brake light stays on while I'm driving, but when I brake, the light goes off. It's the light at the bottom of my rear window. I can see the reflection in my rear window.

- Anderson , IN, USA

problem #107

Sep 052012

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
Everything electrical is shot. It started about two years by one, everything in the car (electrical) stopped working. Such as.. 1. power lock for the doors doesn't work 2. trunk release button doesn't open the trunk 3. car alarm would go off every time I opened the door (as the door was unlocked) 4. air conditioning stopped working 5. brake lights would illuminate while driving, and would go off when I would brake. 6. brake lights wouldn't illuminate at all sometimes. 7. headlights and/or taillights would go out, or dim randomly 8. push-lock button on each door would go up and down (by itself) as I would be driving, or when the car was parked. (couldn't lock my car doors) because of the exterior lighting issues, I was pulled over twice. I also had my car repaired a couple times (mechanic even called Pontiac for assistance). After the car was fixed, (if possible), the lights would stop properly working again, shortly after being 'repaired'. eventually, I stopped driving the car. I haven't driven the car since February, 2014 (5 months). I don't have the money to continuously get the car fixed (to pass inspection), or pay for safety violations. Therefore, I haven't had a car to drive for 5 months. I had received a letter in the mail (prior to the recall letter in June 2014) stating there was a default with the power steering. I called the number twice. At first, I was told my car issues were not relevant to the default. The second time, (probably a couple months later) I was told that my car was now over the mileage to be covered by the warranty (stated in the letter), and therefore it voided my eligibility to have the repaired by them.

- Hampstead, NH, USA

problem #106

May 012014

G6 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
Driver side brake light and rear turn signal fails to illuminate. Both bulbs were changed and fuses evaluated but didn't fix the problem. This combined with a steering problem noted in a previous complaint makes the vehicle extremely dangerous to have on the road.

- East Hampton, CT, USA

problem #105

Mar 072013

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,300 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake light remained illuminated when the brakes were not engaged. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 39,300. Updated 09/11/14 updated 1/5/15

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #104

May 012013

G6 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Once again GM has issued a recall for 2006 Pontiac G6's for brake light issues, cruise control, and difficulties getting the car out of the park position. The brake lights randomly illuminate while pressing the gas and shut off when I press the brake. The cruise control will randomly disengage as well. Once again my VIN is not covered under the recall. How is this possible? the symptoms I've experienced are identical to the recall. Both recalls to be exact. The same make, model and year of car with identical problems but I'm not covered and the GM reps are no help. This is my second complaint. I know for a fact that there are other people out there having this same problem.

- Riverview , FL, USA

problem #103

May 012013

G6 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
At random times the car's tails lights up and stays lite even though the brake petal is being applied. This occurs whether the car is parked or being driven.

- Mokena, IL, USA

problem #102

Apr 222014

G6 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
The 2006 Pontiac's brake lights go on when the brakes are not applied. The cruise control will not engage, and this occurs intermittently. I'm not sure the brake lights go on when the brakes are applied. This is scary!!!!!!

- Stamford, NY, USA

problem #101

Feb 122014

G6 6-cyl

  • 193,204 miles
My tail lights do not work at all on the vehicle. Have replaced bulbs and fuse and still nothing. Also there is no power steering. It had went out while driving the car. Also the catalytic converter. Have called the manufacturer to get them fixed but my VIN is not on the recall list. I was wondering why? all the recalls that have been placed on this make year and model are exactly what I am experiencing problems with on mine. So how is it determined which vins get recalled. I have kids and am scared to drive this vehicle due to the severity of problems I am experiencing with it. I can't even drive my vehicle at night due to the tail light issue, and can hardly drive it daily due to the power steering being out in the vehicle. Please advise on how to fix this issue and what the next steps I should do.

- Murfreesboro , TN, USA

problem #100

Dec 102013

G6 6-cyl

  • 94,061 miles
Sometimes (randomly) the brake lights are illuminated when the brake is not being pressed. When this happens, if I press the brake, the brake lights actually go off even though I'm braking. When this brake light problem occurs, the cruise control function also does not work. This has been happening on and off since I purchased the vehicle.

- Washburn, IL, USA

problem #99

Jul 252012

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
My brake lights were on when I wasn't using the brakes and went off when I pressed the brake pedal and sometimes the brake lights just flash on and off when the brakes aren't being used, I've gotten stopped before for this issue. This has been an ongoing, very frustrating, dangerous problem at night and on fwy. I contacted the manufacturer but my vehicle didn't fall under a recall they had previously issued for this very same problem and refused to try to fix the issue. Please have this car manufacturer extend the recall to all 2006 Pontiac G6 vehicles.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #98

Mar 202014

G6 4-cyl

  • 120,652 miles
Luckily it was my husband following me, but we were driving down the road, going about 50mph, which was the speed limit, I had to slow down due to a car in front of me slowing down to turn, my brake lights did not work when I did causing my husband behind me to have to slam on his brakes because he didn't know I was stopping.

- Shawnee, OK, USA

problem #97

Jan 242014


  • 105,000 miles
While driving home from work my ABS light came on without me touching the brakes. Then the security lock on the dash panel lit up, as if I had locked and activated the security system via the key fob. I was still driving, so there was no reason for me to activate the security system. As I came to a red light and went into the left hand turn lane, I noticed that I had no power steering. While waiting for the light to turn green, the battery light illuminated on the dash panel. I was able to make it safely across the street before the car shut itself off. When I tried to re-start the car, it wouldn't start. I let it rest about 5 minutes and tried again. The car started and within 30 seconds went through the same sequence. ABS light, security light, battery light and shut off. I have replaced the alternator and the battery as they both read low on voltage. To this day 2/15/2014, the only way to keep the car running is to run a direct cable from the alternator to the battery. It is the only way they give off the correct voltage and work with each other. They can no longer function separately of each other. I've read several other complaints of the same issue on with no response from GM. I have contacted GM and was told to take it to a dealership. I informed them I've had my own trusted, local mechanic look at it and he can't diagnose the issue other then a massive electrical failure. I asked GM what their resolution was since this is a know problem with the vehicle. Again, was just told to take it to a GM dealer. No further response or possible solution was offered from GM.

- Cochranville, PA, USA

problem #96

Oct 102013

G6 4-cyl

  • 80,030 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights erroneously illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the brake switch needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 80,030.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?