Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 3 of 7) Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,740 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #95

Sep 182013


  • 80,000 miles


Headlight harness got corroded and will not make a solid connection.

- Elmhurst, IL, USA

problem #94

Nov 272013

G6 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
While driving North on Ohio rte. 33 (at 70 mph) on 11/27/2013, my cruise control disengaged and would not re-engage. I pulled over at the next available exit, shut off my car for about 10 seconds, and restarted. Cruise control was again operational. Given such an isolated incident, I dismissed my concern. However, on 12/16/2013, I was driving eastbound on I-70 (again at 70 mph) and my cruise control again disengaged. I noticed right away and pressed the accelerator to keep my speed up. The three vehicles immediately behind me, including one tractor-trailer and a vehicle operated by one of my family members, noticeably slowed down to add following distance. My cell phone rang, and my passenger answered and put the call on speakerphone. My family members in the vehicle behind me asked what was going on and indicated that my brake lights were still on, although no pressure was being applied. Apparently, this is the reason that the vehicles behind me were slowing down - they thought I was slowing down, even though I was not! I pulled off at the next exit to again shut off and restart my car. My passenger claimed that something smelled hot (possibly brakes), although I cannot offer verification of this. After restarting and re-entering I-70, cruise control worked and brake lights were reported by following family members to work properly.

- Continental, OH, USA

problem #93

Nov 242013


  • 112,000 miles
Traveling West on I-20 and my cruise control disengaged for no reason and I realized my brake lights were on. I tried several things, but the lights would not turn off while I was driving and do not signal to other drivers that I am coming to a stop, which is quite dangerous. I have tried several things including checking recall status, but my VIN was not included in the recall. I also often have issues getting my car out of park, have to press the brake a little harder than normal.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #92

Sep 012011

G6 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles


Most of the time my brake lights are on without pressing the brake pedal. Sometimes the lights are on when I start my vehicle and sometimes they come on while driving. When the brake lights turn on they generally do not turn off and I drive around with brake light always on. Sometimes I've been told that when the brake lights are on while driving and I begin to actually brake, the brake lights turn off. When the brake lights are on while driving the cruise control will not engage. There have been instances where I set my cruise control and it suddenly disengages and I have been told by people following my vehicle that this is when the brake lights turn on without me hitting the pedal. I have also noticed that when the brake lights are on when I start the vehicle that it is extremely hard to shift my car out of park.

- Oak Park, MI, USA

problem #91

Oct 042010


  • 60,000 miles
The brake lights and cruise control stooped working at 60,000 miles. The brake lights are illuminated when I do not have the brake pad pressed and the brake lights go out when I press the brakes.

- Ewa Beach, HI, USA

problem #90

Sep 302013

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
Brake lights are illuminated without pressing brake pedal and turn off once brake pedal is pushed. Also cruise control sometimes doesn't work and while on will suddenly turn off it's self. Windows also will not roll down/up sometimes from passenger door controlling.

- Greenville, NC, USA

problem #89

May 172007


  • 53,400 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the brake lights illuminated without the brakes being applied. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for a diagnostic testing. The dealer could not find a defect with the brake lights. The contact did not take the vehicle to a local mechanic. The contact did not call the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 53,400.

- Long Beach, NY, USA

problem #88

Oct 172012


  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that a driver of another vehicle notified her that the brake lights were illuminated while driving. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #87

Oct 092013

G6 4-cyl

  • miles
The brake lights stay on without the brake pedal being pushed on. When the brake pedal is pushed, the brake lights turn off and other drivers do not know that I am slowing down. There have been several instances that I have been nearly rear ended. There is a recall for this problem but my VIN number is not covered under that recall.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #86

Sep 182013


  • 141,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the brake lights failed and the cruise control initiated without the contact activated the function. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was informed that her VIN was not included in recall notice NHTSA campaign number: 09V036000 (exterior lighting). The vehicle was neither diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 141,000.

- St Paul , MN, USA

problem #85

Jun 292013

G6 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles


My 2006 Pontiac G6 is doing exactly what the recall states for my exact year, make, & model...but my VIN # is not included in the recall for some reason. My brake lights are on when the brake pedal is not pressed and then my brake lights turn off when I press the brake pedal. I have read many complaints on online web sites from other 2006 Pontiac G6 owners that have the exact problem and their car is also not covered because their VIN number is not on the recall list. Well, evidently, it is a bigger problem than what they first thought it was. It is not just one assembly plant or one batch of parts that was faulty. If the exact same problem is coming up on the exact same year, make, & model...then there must be something else that is the cause of this failure and all 2006 Pontiac G6 should be recalled and fixed. The problem is that I have read that some owners that brought their car in for repair, whether covered under the recall or not, the problem came back again. This is a very dangerous situation and I can imagine how many cars are getting into accidents because of this malfunction caused by the manufacturer and not because of the driver. Please make GM recall all 2006 Pontiac G6 and make sure they really know how to repair it correctly the first time. I hope GM or NHTSA doesn't wait until there is any major accidents. I really hope there hasn't been any serious accidents but I don't see how there couldn't be any serious accidents with so much freeway stop & go.

- Oak Grove, MN, USA

problem #84

Aug 032013

G6 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
The tail lights and brake lights illuminated without pressing the brake pedal and flicker without pressing the brake.

- Mokena, IL, USA

problem #83

Aug 012009

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased this Pontiac G6 in 2008 used. At the time, the vehicle had approximately 30,000 miles. Within the first year I noticed my cruise control would stop working. At the time I was unaware that my brake lights were also malfunctioning. I realized this malfunction after being notified by a random person driving behind me on the road. She notified me that when I pressed the brake my lights would not illuminate and when I was not pressing the brake pedal, they were illuminating. A complete reversal. After some research, I realized this was a common problem and there was a recall issued. When I contacted my local dealership I was notified that although my car was the same make and model, it was a gtp and was not covered in the recall. Eventually the dealership decided to perform the recall procedures which only temporarily corrected the problem. Since that original fix, I have had the brake module changed three or four times, taken to two several dealerships and also to a trusted mechanic. No one can get the problem corrected. I am now told there is a chance it is the body control module. I am so tired of spending money to correct a defect in this vehicle with on guarantee of a fix. This car is dangerous to drive and General Motors needs to correct this problem. Updated 09/10/13

- Niagara Falls, NY, USA

problem #82

Aug 032011


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the brakes were depressed however the brake lights did not illuminate. Also, the brake lights would sporadically illuminate without the brake pedal being depressed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the bpp switch needed to be re-calibrated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 09V036000 (exterior lighting). The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 80,000.

- Defiance, OH, USA

problem #81

Jul 202009

G6 6-cyl

  • 28,700 miles
The first problem I had was in July 2009 at which time my cruise control would not work all the time and sometimes when it was on, it would dis-engage itself. I took this in for service and they applied dielectric crease to a connector. The cruise then worked well again for some time. Intermittently I would have problems with it, but not all the time. Then in May 2011, my car would not come out of park. I eventually was able to get it out of park, but this recurred several times over the next week or so. I brought the car in for service several times but they could not figure out what was wrong with it. Eventually, it was discovered that when I pressed on the brake, the exterior brake lights would not go on but when the car was running with no one in it, the exterior brake lights went on. I took it back in and they replaced the brake switch. This corrected the problem with shifting out of park. My cruise control then worked again for awhile. Then in June 2012, my cruise control stopped working again and I brought the car back in and they replaced the brake switch again. Over the last several months, my cruise control has not been working (usually it will not engage and when it does, will dis-engage itself after a few seconds). I also recently discovered (when a friend was following me) that while driving and not pressing on my brakes, my exterior brake lights would be on. However, when I actually press on my brakes to stop or slow down, the exterior brake lights would go off.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #80

Aug 112013


  • miles
Recall no. 80317 to add dielectric grease is not working!!!! the brake lights are illuminated while driving and brake pedal is not depressed. The brake lights are not illuminated when brake pedal is depressed. This is a safety issue!!!!!!!!

- Harrisonburg, VA, USA

problem #79

Aug 042010


  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, she applied the brakes however the brake lights did not illuminate. The failure recurred numerous times. The brake lights would sporadically illuminate without the brake pedal being depressed. The contact was informed of a recall under NHTSA campaign number: 09V036000 (exterior lighting). The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis and the contact was informed that her VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 95,000 and the current mileage was 117,000.

- Kyle, TX, USA

problem #78

Feb 012013

G6 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Brake lights turn on even when I'm not braking, sometimes don't turn on when I am braking. Also, cruise control stopped working.

- Parrish, FL, USA

problem #77

Dec 012012

G6 6-cyl

  • 151,633 miles
My car is very difficult to shift from park. My brake lights don't work when I push the brake and flash sometimes when I don't push the brake. My cruise control won't set and if it does set, it cuts off with out warning on the highway.

- Liberty, TX, USA

problem #76

Jun 152012

G6 6-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
Brake lights are illuminating when I do not press the brakes...does not illuminate when I do press the brakes, this has resulted in me being rear-ended and has lead to several near accidents. Additionally, the cruise control will not set and it is often difficult for me to put my car into gear without pressing the break all the way to the floor or without restarting my car. The car doesn't always catch the first time I try to start it, the power outlets now are not working in addition the stereo resetting itself and the windshield wiper arm constantly popping off.

- Middle River, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?