Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 7 of 7) Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,740 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 7 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #15

Dec 152009


  • 55,000 miles


When I arrived at work, a person who had been following me drove up and informed me that the brake lights on my 2006 Pontiac G6 came on while I was driving and went off when I applied the brake. The cruise control also didn't work. I subsequently found out that there is a recall for 8012 Pontiac G6S (NHTSA campaign id number 09V036000) for the same problem. For some reason, my 2006 G6 isn't one of those vehicles. I had to pay 254 dollars at a GM service center to have the problem repaired. I'm curious why my G6 isn't also covered by the recall as it obviously suffers from the same !@#$% design..

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #14

Dec 262009


  • 52,000 miles
Brake lights come on when brake not depressed. Brake lights go off when brake pedal is depressed.

- Guyton, GA, USA

problem #13

Aug 102009


  • 46,000 miles
The cruise control on my 2006 Pontiac G6 will disengage while driving at roadway speeds and the brake lights will come on and remain on without the brake pedal being depressed. This happens more often when the weather is wet and/or raining. I have been advised by Pontiac motor company and my dealer that no recalls are outstanding at this time on my VIN number. My auto had about 46000 miles when the condition was first noticed. I bought the vehicle used in April 2009.

- Chenoa, IL, USA

problem #12

Oct 102009


  • 60,500 miles


I drive a 2006 Pontiac G6 with a little more than 60,000 on it. In the last few weeks, my brake lights have come on without the brake pedal being pressed. The lights stay on until I press the brake pedal, at which time the brake lights go off. It's gotten to the point that the brake lights come on every 5-6 seconds, at which time I have to press the pedal to "reset" them. This problem -- the exact opposite of what brake lights are designed to do -- has nearly caused two accidents. On Oct. 19, 2009, I took my vehicle to the dealership where I bought it, and was told that the sway bar and tie rods needed to be replaced. I was told that would fix the problem. It didn't. I then was told that my brakes -- front and rear-- needed to be replaced. On Oct. 29, 2009, I replaced the front brakes but not the rear -- my brake mechanic said the rear brakes had at least 20,000 miles left on them. None of these repairs fixed the problem (and none of the old parts are available). This did not surprise me, as none of the repairs had anything to do with electrical wiring. Having done some research, I found that there is a GM recall for my very problem (recall # 09V036000). The recall began on Feb. 17, 2009. I called Pontiac about the problem and was told by customer service that because my VIN was not part of the recall, they were not responsible for the problem. I asked whether it was possible that another Pontiac G6, not listed in the recall, could have the same problem as those recalled. I was told that was not possible. The arrogance of Pontiac has baffled and upset me, and I am to the point where I have contacted legal counsel. If I am involved in an accident because of this problem, I could be at fault and I can't afford a lawsuit.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #11

Jun 012008


  • 40,000 miles
Brake lights are often off during braking and on while not braking. Cruise control doesn't work while brake lights are on despite not actually braking. When transmission is in park, brake pedal must be very firmly depressed to move gear selector out of park.

- Grand Blanc, MI, USA

problem #10

Sep 032006


  • 64,000 miles
Brake lights do not work properly. They come on when they want to and when they are needed they do not work at all. Their is a recall on some Pontiac G6 but GM said my car is not one of them. I have already paid $190 to have this problem fixed one time and it is doing it again. Contacted GM several times, the service person said they will have to talk to upper management and call me back. I have not heard a word from any management. The car is sitting in my garage because I cant drive it. This car is unsafe!!!!!!!!!

- Jasper, AL, USA

problem #9

Oct 122009


  • 71,000 miles


In November 2007 my wife started experiencing problems with her brake lights on her 2006 G6. She was stopped a couple of times by the local police due to her brake lights staying on constantly. On 12/6/2007 we took our car to a repair shop and paid $106.94 to have it repaired. They R&R'd a brake light switch. After that the problem persisted, we took it back and they finally said that they didn't have any idea what was wrong since they replaced the switch a second time. We've continued to have suffer through the problem until a co-worker of my wife's stated that his wife had the same problem and that there was a GM product safety recall on G6's for that problem. Today we took our car to a GM dealer and was refused service because our VIN number doesn't fall between 64100001 and 64100093. We've experienced all the same problems described in the memo and she's experienced problems on the road (almost being hit from the rear because drivers following her can't tell when she's braking) when traveling because this condition exist. We're simply asking help in getting this situation resolved (getting our car fixed). We've been loyal GM customers up to now, (we also own a Bonneville and a Chevy van) but with service such as this that situation is likely to change.

- Perry, GA, USA

problem #8

Sep 162009


  • miles
For approximately six months the brake lamps have been staying on at times even when the brake pedal is not depressed. The brake lights would go off and on without depressing the brake pedal. Beginning on September 12, 2009 the brake lights stayed al the time. On September 18, 2009 took the vehicle to the GM dealer to correct the problem and the brake pedal position sensor was replaced. Problem was corrected for two days only. Presently the brake lights remain illuminated as soon as the car is started and remains on. Called Pontiac and was told my VIN was not covered by the recall. Also had problems with the loss of power in the electric power steering. This began just after having the vehicle for 7 months. The power steering would loss power randomly. Approximately two or three times a week the power steering would go out. By restarting the engine, the power to the steering would almost always return. A few times the engine had to be restarted several times.

- Ligonier, PA, USA

problem #7

Aug 152009


  • 110,000 miles
Have a 2006 Pontiac G6 and driving down the road all of a sudden brake lights come on and this then shuts off my cruise. This is a safety issue, people behind me don't know why putting on brakes and may think I'm turning. Been stopped by cops because lights are on. Shows there is a recall but dealer said mine isn't on it. I don't understand"?" I would like to get this fixed at no charge. Is this correct or can I get this fixed at no charge

- Spirit Lake, IA, USA

problem #6

Sep 132009


  • 65,120 miles
2006 Pontiac G6 brake lights not working when brakes are applied. Cruise control not working.

- Gramercy, LA, USA

problem #5

Aug 222009


  • 21,000 miles


We are having the same issue with our 2006 G6. Our exterior light sometimes doesn't work, the cruise control sometimes doesn't work. We had to replace at our own expense the brake rotors due to inferior quality. We were having the vibration issue some mentioned. My wife could not get it out of park one day, we had it towed to the dealership. We got the same story about the recall about not being covered by the recall and having to get it diagnosed at our expense. Last year our brakes completely failed and we rear ended a minivan. Luckily no one was injured. But our insurance is going up. I cannot wait until our lease is up in Feb 2010. We will trade this thing in and get a dependable foreign vehicle.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #4

Aug 152008


  • 32,000 miles
This problem happened out of the blue about a year ago, summer 2008. I was pulled over three times by highway patrol and asked why I was riding my brakes. I wasn't. the brake lights were on while I was driving, went off when I mashed the brakes, flickered back on while idling, then stayed on when I gave it gas. I had it fixed then under warranty. A year later, the problem is back. I was told by the Pontiac dealer service manager it would cost almost $900 to replace the BCM (body control module) plus labor. Or I should buy an extended warranty, drive the car 30 days, and then have it fixed. On top of the obvious safety issues of faulty brake lights, I'm also not as focused on what's in front of me because I'm also extra worried about what's behind me.

- Biloxi, MS, USA

problem #3

Nov 122008


  • miles
I own a 2006 Pontiac G6 and have had problems with my brake lights working in reverse, they stay on while I am driving and when I hit the brake pedal, they go out. I have had it to the dealer twice to repair, the first time they put a new brake switch in, and the second time the recalibrated my brakes, and now I have to bring it back a third time tomorrow. I did some research online and found that I am not the only person who has had this problem.. numerous others have... when will a recall be issued so that no one has to pay for this problem with their life? this is a very dangerous problem.

- Pitman, NJ, USA

problem #2

Sep 152008


  • miles
I have a 2006 Pontiac G6 and my brake lights are on constantly and my cruise control will not work. I took it to a dealer and they replace a brake switch. Two days later the problem was back. I was told the switch that was installed was bad and the dealer replaced the switch with another switch. The next morning the problem was back and the car is currently in the dealer again. This is not safe to be driving with brake lights constantly on. I looked online and found page after page of people with the same problem, many of which have not yet had the problem resolved. GM has not yet issued any kind of recall.

- Belding, MI, USA

problem #1

Apr 272008

G6 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
The rear exterior brake lights remain illuminated when the brake pedal is not being pressed and the parking brake is not engaged. The brake lights will then go out or not be illuminated when the brake is applied. We have had near misses with vehicles behind us almost rear-ending us. It occurs very frequently, but not constantly. Have taken to one shop and one dealership with no resolution. Have appointment with another dealership. Very dangerous condition; especially since we are usually transporting a 10 month old child.

- Dale, IN, USA

Not what you are looking for?