Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags: Frontal Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 1 of 2) Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
26,162 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

May 162010


  • 91,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the front passenger air bag sensor failed. The air bag warning light was continuously illuminated even with the passenger seat occupied. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic shop where the contact was informed of NHTSA campaign id number: 06V417000 (air bags: Frontal). The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the VIN was not included in the recall. The manufacturer then advised that the vehicle be taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or repaired. The failure mileage was 91,000.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #21

Jun 012006

G6 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
The front passenger air bag sensor does not always work. It often shows the air bag off indicator light even when a thin adult is in the passenger seat.

- Marquette, MI, USA

problem #20

Dec 152008


  • 24,000 miles
Front passenger sensor. The seat sensor which arms airbag when occupant is present intermittently disarms when seat is occupied.

- Saxton, PA, USA

problem #19

Sep 102009


  • 37,000 miles


A check airbag status message came on which the manual assumes is a defective airbag system. The status message comes on and off, generally dependent on ambient temperature. Concern would be failure to deploy in the event of an accident. Dealer would not replace defective parts.

- League City, TX, USA

problem #18

Nov 122009


  • 70,000 miles
This is complaint is regards to my 2006 Pontiac G6 that was purchased in November 2007. On November 11, 2009 when I cranked the vehicle a service airbags light came on in the message panel. I immediately called the dealership, and made a service appointment for November 25, 2009. I found that there had been a recall #06V417000, for the 2006 G6 for airbag failure. I contacted GM and advised of the airbag problem. Upon contact with GM, I was assigned a case# 71-775-755-730. I expressed my concern that this could be a safety defect that could mean the airbag could malfunction during an accident. GM advised me to schedule an appointment with the dealership. I advised GM of the scheduled service appointment. After the service appointment, the dealership stated they would be in touch with the general manager of GM and give me a call back. Later that day I received a call GM, advising that my car would be repaired due to some special warranty and that the dealership would be in contact with me after the holiday. After not receiving a call from the dealership in a couple of days, I called the dealership and was advised that GM would not repair my car because it was out of warranty and I was the second owner. I explained to the dealership that I purchased the car from my credit union and that it had 35,800 miles on it, which was under 36,000 miles. Although, there are 70,000 miles on the car, if this is a manufacturer's safety defect it should be repaired regardless of the miles on the vehicle. The dealership advised the airbag would not deploy if there is an accident. GM assigned the case to the district. I made numerous calls and finally received a call back last week. I was told that GM was not going to repair my car. I expressed my concerns again about the manufacturer's safety defect. I feel that the airbag should be repaired by GM since not deploying could mean a matter of life or death in an accident. I am very disappointed with GM.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #17

Dec 022009


  • 41,845 miles
I was involved in a single car accident on 12/2/09. Car hydroplaned on water, spun several times, went airborne at appx. 45-50mph and finally came to a stop in a group of trees - the trees brought the vehicle to a halt upon impact. The airbags never deployed!!! my seatbelt left me with a burn abrasion on my skin, but the main question being asked by me (the owner), the emt's and fire dept personnel on scene and the state trooper is why didn't the airbags deploy"? I think this should be investigated! the car is currently sitting with a wrecker service until my insurance company can go look at it and make an evaluation. But I believe that if the airbags had deployed, I may not be having some of my back problems that I am now experiencing as a result of this accident. Can you explain why the airbags did not deploy" the main impact with the trees was the entire front end of the vehicle and specifically the front right.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #16

Sep 012009


  • 50 miles


Passenger air bag light disables even when person is sitting in seat. Started at about 50,000 miles intermittently and now 75,000 miles at least 3 times a week.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #15

Apr 242009


  • 53,000 miles
The car was purchased from auction in April of 2006. I have had the car three years now. From the time that I purchased the car I have had problems with it starting. It will turn over but dies immediately after it starts. It usually take three tries before it will start. Today I got in my car and turned the key nothing would come on, no lights no radio no noise nothing. I thought it was the battery. I tried it three times and then on the fourth time it started like normal. I checked the battery and it is fine. I have had it in the service department three times for this issue but because it would no do it at that time they could not determine what is wrong with it, the diagnostic test did not show anything. The service airbag warning also keeps dinging. I have taken it in and they reset it and said it was ok, now it keeps doing the same thing but it is not covered by warranty to have it serviced. I have had trouble with the powersteering also. There are times it will be extremely hard to turn and then in a few seconds it is extremely easy and now in the last few months I have had problems with the brakes. The brake pads were replaced two months ago and about two weeks after they were replaced they have started making a really loud squeaking noise and sometimes a grinding noise. Not sure what needs to be done since the brakes were just maintenance. The car has been very dependable but I am afraid that it will not stay that way for long.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #14

Sep 042007


  • miles
I purchased a 2006 Pontiac G6 April 21, 2007. Afterwards I started noticing a popping noise when I would turn, so I took the car in to be serviced 9-2007. They replaced the tie rod adjuster & reset toe-in, but again I still had the same problems. Also I've been having problems with the window leaking on the drivers side. The ac / heater blower stays on when car is not on which caused my battery to drain so I took the car in again April 11, 2008 and they told me they replaced the drive shaft & blower motor resistor but still having the same problems. Now I am noticing that the passenger side air bag indicator doesn't register when someone is in the front seat w/ seatbelt on. Sometimes it comes on when there is no one in the seat. The starter continues to crank while trying to start car and sticks when the car is started. Last but not least, after purchasing fuel the car gas gauge drops drastically only after going about a mile or two.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #13

May 132006


  • 99 miles
My problems started with this car before I even got home with my new purchase. I had 2 children in the car and the tire blew off the rim damaging the fender notes from the invoice state that "parts and labor to be billed to 67D 67F, cannot warr tire that has been mounted wrong on 1st repair" then on 6/26/06 paint was refinished due to clear coat peeling on the hood. On 11/06/06 radio does not play cd's and radio was replaced. 3K mile service with motor silk. Also airbag light was staying on and they said they found a wire to SDM loose and repaired wire. Also right rear tire was leaking air. 4/20/2007 engine was knocking loud when first started in morning at that time they replaced the lifters. The engine was replaced shortly after that and again had problems with the air bag light staying, dealership again said it was a sensor but this is only a few of many issues I've been having with this car. Please contact me and we will go through each one or you can contact the dealership where this lemon was purchased and request the records (I have a copy too)....

- Richmond, KY, USA

problem #12

Nov 082008


  • miles


The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 40 mph, the contact heard a noise on the passenger side of the vehicle. She pulled over and inspected the vehicle, but there were no signs of damage. She drove the vehicle to her residence. The following day, the noise recurred and the check air bag warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was driven to the dealer and they stated that the air bag sensors were defective. The manufacturer has not been notified. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #11

Aug 072007


  • 42,000 miles
Mr. Did evasive manuevers at 65 mph to avoid deadly collision with fully loaded senior citizen van by a driver with a cell phone. Steering wheel was very loose, brakes pedals were very easily depressed, none of the front air-bags deployed and car seats did not lock. Mr. Hit median concrete at 60 mph. Ambulance and emergency room dictated, "you all very lucky to have survived." 3rd party administrator(esis) counter claims mr.. that because Mr. Collided with median sideways the air-bags did not deploy. Mr. Argues that front driver portion of car hit median first, air bags should have deployed and seat belts should have locked. 3rd party administrator counters. Because there is no proof we cannot claim such fact. She (3rd party) is insisting on us to sign medical release forms and submit pictures of car. Mr. Has advised that car is repaired and has been sold. Confusion arises when dealer agrees that car has sensors and collision shop did not indicate any sensors. Mr. Is confused whether stabili-trak or some other systems should be in place to have prevented the collision with median and under the tire sensors should have been in place. If any system (stabili-trak or other) were in place, the whole accident could have been prevented. Esis-claim #660283.

- Mercedes, TX, USA

problem #10

Aug 232008


  • 50,000 miles
The front passenger airbag indicator light comes on when no one is in the passenger seat and vice versa. Happens sporadically.

- Hickory, NC, USA

problem #9

Aug 302008


  • 41,000 miles
Vehicle was fine, went to start car next day and received "service air bag" warning light. Would not allow car to be started. Checked fuses and all were okay. Vehicle has not been in any accidents and only has 41,000 miles. Bought Sept. 2005.

- Saint Charles, IL, USA

problem #8

Aug 072008


  • 25,678 miles
I've always looked for recalls on all my previous cars and I did it for the 06' Pontiac G6 that I am currently paying that there was a recall for the airbags and that GM was even trying to repurchase the vehicle......well.....I called Pontiac customer care and gave my VIN number for them to search for any recalls and the rep said that he couldn't see any recalls for that car but that my call would be filed if anything rises up later on....well.....he didn't even offer to have my car inspected at any dealership even after I told them that the complaint was posted in the government site (NHTSA) and several other sites all over the internet....obviously they are denying it..... I won't buy american cars ever after hanging up with GM went out to buy aftermarket leather seat for my front seats...because that seems to be the problem....the sensor does not work properly with them on.....and it did......sat down on passenger seat and airbag light sat erratically switching up as I moved on the seat.....someone needs to do something about this.

- Whiting, IN, USA

problem #7

Mar 102007

G6 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the front passenger side seat air bag/seat belt sensor control module is malfunctioning. She stated that the air bag light remained illuminated, which indicated that the air bag was activated whether or not someone was in the seat or not. She took the vehicle to a dealer and they replaced the sensor. Less than a year later, the malfunction recurred. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 25,000 and current 44,400. Updated 09/16/08 updated 09/22/08.

- Bear, DE, USA

problem #6

Jun 012007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. When the contact's 105 lbs. Wife is seated in the front passenger seat, the air bag light is supposed to illuminate, but does not. His wife tested two different 2008 vehicles and the air bags worked properly. The current mileage was 20,507 and failure mileage was 15,000.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #5

Nov 262007

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I brought my car brand new with only 2miles on my car. I have a 2006 G6 and I have 26,000miles on my car and today I had to replace my steering gear / core on my car. My car is new, why am I replacing a steering gear on a car with less miles on it? also, after researching on line, I notice that it was a recall on the airbags and I was never notified.

- Zion, IL, USA

problem #4

Apr 112007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,700 miles
2006 Pontiac G6 with seat belt and air bag failures. Customer states that the seat belt failed to work properly and the air bags failed to deploy in an accident. The consumer stated the seat belt didn't lock properly and consequently she went forward on impact and sprained her wrist on the steering wheel. A representative from GM/Pontiac stated the consumers velocity on impact was too low and she didn't stop fast enough.

- Blaine, MN, USA

problem #3

Jan 172007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
- while driving on a main road at 30 mph, her 2006 Pontiac G6 skidded on black ice, causing her vehicle to collide into a parked vehicle. There was major damaged to the passenger front side, but the airbags never deployed. The contact can provide copy of the police report and, copies of pictures from the insurance company.

- Mercer, PA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?