NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 13 of 48)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
42 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,179 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 13 of 48)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #703

Nov 192013

G6 6-cyl

  • 126,049 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had the car check because the power steering light came on, couldn't detect. Now it's doing the same thing and the power steering went out for a few seconds. Put the car in park, turned it off and the power returned once the car was back on. Today, November 19, 2013, the power steering light flashed again. I recalled getting a letter a while back, if there is something wrong with the power steering why didn't they just do a recall. In the event you have to get this problem fixed then you can submit a claim form. Why didn't they just recall the car. I have my car since 2005 and it has been service on a regular basics to assure that it is in property working conditions. I've kept the oil change, brake repairs, etc. Now the steering is giving a problem.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #702

Nov 062013

G6

  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, there was a sudden loss of power steering assist with the illumination of the warning indicator. The steering wheel became extremely difficult to turn. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the engine was turned off. Upon restarting, the vehicle resumed normally. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who replaced the steering column however, the failure persisted after the repair was performed. The vehicle was not repaired for the most recent failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 119,000.

- Hollis, NY, USA

problem #701

Nov 082013

G6

  • 165,426 miles
The contact owns 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated the steering wheel locked while approaching a stop light. The power steering light illuminated and the radio alarm beeped when the failure occurred. The contact was able to shut the engine off restart the vehice and resume driving. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 165,426.

- Decatur , GA, USA

problem #700

Aug 222013

G6 6-cyl

  • 74,397 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I was exiting on to an off ramp the steering locked up and I lost control momentarily at the same time not being able to slow down. The car eventually spun out and slowed down on its own. Then I waited and started it back up and it went.

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #699

Oct 042013

G6

  • 145,000 miles
Power steering loss has been experienced twice in the past nine days. An audible chime sounds and the dic indicates power steering. Steering became very rigid and I swerved into oncoming traffic as I was not prepared for the loss. Shut the car off, started it again and it seems fine. First time it happened, nine days ago same thing. Shut it off, started it again and it was fine for a week then it did the same thing again. Took picture of dic to date stamp the incident.

- Welland, NY, USA

problem #698

Oct 062013

G6 4-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
I bought this car for my 16 year old daughter. There are a few common electrical problems all connected to the steering column apparently. It started with the key not wanting to move, first to start the car and then not being able to get the key out of the ignition. The radio fails intermittently. The latest is that the power assist steering fails intermittently. Extremely dangerous! sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. I've researched different sites and it seems to be a huge problem and connected to the electrical problems in the steering column. I'm told by mechanics it is a problem in almost all G-6's in 2006-2007 that have the power assist steering. Since it is such a safety issue, why is it not being recalled?

- Box Elder, SD, USA

problem #697

Sep 012013

G6

  • 175,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated the power steering warning light illuminated as he applied the brakes to a complete stop. The contact then accelerated to 25 mph and the steering wheel seized. In addition, the vehicle stalled. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle and had to jump-start the battery in order to start the engine. The contact proceeded to drive the vehicle but the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and was not taken to the dealer for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 175,000.

- Paramount , CA, USA

problem #696

Aug 262013

G6 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
Upon driving the G6, a popping noise began coming from the steering when turning the wheel. The noise is present when not moving, when moving at low to moderate speed while turning, and while going over bumps in the road. It appears to be related to the steering or intermediate shaft, which is a common problem and acknowledged problem by GM. Overtime, this can be a very large danger when steering is compromised.

- Rockledge, PA, USA

problem #695

Aug 202013

G6 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
Steering wheel locked up while driving.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #694

Jul 052013

G6

  • 186,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while reversing from a drive way, the power steering failed and caused the steering wheel to tighten with the illumination of the power steering warning light. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis but the were unable to duplicate the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 186,000.

- Charolette, NC, USA

problem #693

Aug 132013

G6 6-cyl

  • 78,854 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving and pulling up to the turning lane to make a left turn when all of a sudden the car lost power steering and I nearly crashed into the fence of a corner house. Also has a problem a strong smell if gas after the car is shutoff and have been told it has a crack in the lines that run on top of the fuel tank and the smell is from gas leaking out of the crack an spraying the top if the tank. I have read online that many people have experienced both of these problems with their 2006 Pontiac G6.

- Phoenix , AZ, USA

problem #692

Jul 122013

G6 6-cyl

  • 95,800 miles
The problem initially started while sitting at a stop light. The steering wheel started jumping radically. I was able to control it better when I got up to speed. The steering wheel jerks no matter what speed I'm going but it seems that the slower speeds are the hardest to control. From what I've been reading this is an on going problem with this make/model. This condition presents a safety hazard that needs to be addressed.

- Layton, UT, USA

problem #691

Aug 072013

G6

  • 55,158 miles
A chime was followed by "power steering" displayed on the dash. This has happened every time I start the car within the first 3-15 miles. I called the local GM dealer who said to bring the car to their service department and that it would cost $110 to analyze the problem. I found that GM has recalled this make, model and year. When is this going to happen in the United States?

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #690

Aug 032013

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
This is the 2nd time I have had a problem with my steering wheel jamming up while the car is in motion on the highway, which is a very scary ordeal.the 1st time it happened I almost hit a city bus and had mi infant in the car. Called GM which advised me if it was the steering column assembly which they fixed in April 2013 now it August 2013 in im having the same problem I was on the highway in my steering wheel locked up on me out of no where, I was going 65mph which steering the car was very difficult to do while other cars are going at a fast rate I was scared for my life. Called GM once again had my car taken to a shop now I was told it was the motor in the steering wheel and that is not covered or on recall.. I have seen so many complaints about this same problem over the internet and GM has not done anything about it... GM wont do something until someone dies. But I will be going to the BBB, help me [xxx] and starting a petition something must be done so I will take matters into my own hands. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #689

Apr 052013

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
This is the 2nd time I have had a problem with my steering wheel jamming up while the car is in motion on the highway, which is a very scary ordeal.the 1st time it happened I almost hit a city bus and had mi infant in the car. Called GM which advised me if it was the steering column assembly which they fixed in April 2013 now it August 2013 in im having the same problem I was on the highway in my steering wheel locked up on me out of no where, I was going 65mph which steering the car was very difficult to do while other cars are going at a fast rate I was scared for my life. Called GM once again had my car taken to a shop now I was told it was the motor in the steering wheel and that is not covered or on recall.. I have seen so many complaints about this same problem over the internet and GM has not done anything about it... GM wont do something until someone dies. But I will be going to the BBB, help me [xxx] and starting a petition something must be done so I will take matters into my own hands. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #688

Jul 222013

G6

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65-70 mph, the power steering assist failed and the power steering warning light illuminated after the failure. The contact was able to keep the steering wheel under control. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 120,000.

- Sheridan , CA, USA

problem #687

Jul 152013

G6 6-cyl

  • 187,000 miles
Power steering stopped while my daughter was exiting off the interstate. She had to stop and restart and then ran fine. Has had similar problems when backing up.

- Selah, WA, USA

problem #686

Jul 032009

G6

  • 55,000 miles
My wife and I own a Pontiac G6 and shortly after the first time we changed the brake pads on the front wheels, the rotors warped. Since the replacement of the first set of rotors we have been through 4 sets of rotors. It seems that the rotors warp within 10 to 20 thousand miles of installing new pads and rotors. Driving style does not seem to be the issue as this is a very common problem with this owners of this model car. Brake shops even say that it is probably the worst car made of brakes. Nothing we can do seems to fix it, aside from not driving the car because the pull from braking is so bad. This is a good car with a horribly engineered braking system.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #685

Jul 032013

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, there was complete loss of power steering assist with the illumination of the warning indicator. The steering wheel became extremely difficult to turn. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the engine was turned off. Upon restarting, the vehicle resumed normally without the warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000. Updated 8/5/13

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #684

Mar 192012

G6 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the power steering failed with the illumination of the power steering failure warning message. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the power steering assist was repaired one year prior to the recurring failure. The failure mileage was 45,000 and the current mileage was 69,000.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?