If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering NHTSA complaints: Steering

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 15 of 44)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
33 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
15 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,313 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 15 of 44)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #584

Nov 282011

G6 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Loss of power assist steering.

- Rocky River, OH, USA

problem #583

Nov 262011

G6 4-cyl

  • 128,000 miles
I almost got into a terrible accident with my four children this morning. I was going about 50mph and lost all steering in my car. My children were screaming. It is a good thing no one was behind me because I would have either went into a tree/woods or someone would have rear ended me. Thank god we are all ok. There has been a knock in the steering ever since I bought it. My mechanic says that it would cost a lot just for him to get into the dash to see what part it needs. But this steering issue to not safe. Thank you for your time.

- Freedom, ME, USA

problem #582

Nov 232011

G6 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
I bought this car a little over a year ago and I have never had any problems with it whatsoever. All of a sudden I go to start my car this morning and my engine light is on. Also, my clock is displaying the words, "power steering" and "engine power reduced." I have no idea what happened but I could not control the car very well and the engine was remming high and low even after I had stopped the car. I had to press really hard down on the brakes to get it to stop moving but the engine was still remming high and low. Luckily, this happened as I was just pulling out of my apartment complex so I was able to make it back home. As you can see though, had this happened while out on a main road or on the highway, this could be a major issue or my car just shutting down.

- Columbus , OH, USA

problem #581

Jul 282010

G6

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2006 Pontiac G6 that has faulty steering. I was going around a turn at 45mph and my steering gave out and I couldn't move the steering wheel as I was going around this turn. Thank god there was no one coming the other way, otherwise it would have been a serious accident. Several occurrences happened like this and my mechanic can't seem to find the issue. On a website called G6 owners forum, I was reading through different people's experiences and there are hundreds of people dealing with the same issue with different years. I have also read that there was one death involved with this very issue and many injuries reported. I really think GM/Pontiac needs to step up to this issue and schedule a recall to protect the owners of current GM vehicles.

- York, PA, USA

problem #580

Nov 162011

G6 6-cyl

  • 112,400 miles
On or about 8:30 am, 11/16/2011 the power steering failed an experienced driver can keep the car under control but a novice driver probably couldn't. I have been informed that it had happened before. The power assist suddenly ceases when you turn, the words power steering appear on the radio console. It can't be fixed as it does not show up on the computer.

- Earlton, NY, USA

problem #579

May 202011

G6 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I purchased this car from a dealer in may of 2011 and a week after purchasing it, I heard a clunking noise from the steering. Took it back and they replaced the intermediate steering shaft. I had 70000 miles on it at the time and now 5 months later the same problem is back. I have only put on 4000 miles on this vehicle since it was replaced and now the part went bad again. There needs to be a recall on this car and the intermediate steering shaft. Something must be done about this. It is an expensive fix and I don't have that kind of money to be replacing it every 4-5 months.

- West Bend, WI, USA

problem #578

Oct 192011

G6

  • 105,099 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the power steering would fail at anytime. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer were notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 105,099 and the current mileage was 105,600.

- Zealand , MI, USA

problem #577

Apr 172011

G6 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
The power steering is failing at low speeds while turning corners. There is a loud thump that comes from somewhere around the steering column or just under the dash on the driver's side, the power steering fails, and the driver information system indication lights and power steering failure message appear. This always happens when the car is making a turn so it becomes nearly impossible to finish making the turn because it is so difficult to turn the steering wheel. If you shut the car off and start it back up, the power steering will work again. The problem first started occurring early in 2011 and occurred approximately 4 times during the spring and summer. Since the problem would clear if the car was turned off, I ignored the issue for as long as possible. Near the end of October 2011, the problem began happening almost continually. If you turned the car off to clear the issue, it would fail at the very next turn. I began looking into the problem and found that this is a known issue to GM. After contacting the local Chevy dealership and GM, I found out that GM was offering "special coverage" for this issue but unfortunately my car was "outside the parameters of the special coverage" because the coverage only covered 10 years or 100,000 miles. My car was at 122,000 miles. I questioned why a major system of the car was only covered to 100,000 miles and they implied that I had driven my car in such a way that I had caused this problem. They finally agreed that my issue "sounded similar to other incidents that had been reported" and asked me to take it to the dealer for a diagnostic test. They insisted that there was no recall on my car for this issue, but finally agreed to cover the cost of the repair as an exception to the special coverage they had offered other drivers. I had to fight GM all the way on this even though it was a serious safety issue.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #576

Aug 182010

G6 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I have had a thumping in the car when turning the steering wheel and was told that the steering gear needs to be replaced and there could be other defective parts once they get into it. At present I cannot afford to fix the problem and am saving up to get the $800 repair started. I feel this is a recall issue that GM needs to be forced to recall the G6's for this problem because a faulty steering system is a safety issue. I do not feel safe driving my car but it is the only means of transportation I have, so at this time I have no choice. Also, I have had other major problems with this car every year since I bought 3 years ago. The first year was a sensor in the transmission, the second was the catalytic converter, and now this year the thermostat and sensor and this steering problem. This car is a lemon and needs to be recalled!

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #575

Nov 022011

G6 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I have had my Pontiac G6 for almost 6 years now, very close to paying it off and now I am having trouble with it. Earlier this year I had the faulty catalytic converter. Luckily I was able to have that replaced free of charge. Now nearly six months later I am having problems with my power steering. Like before researching it online I discovered that this is a serious issue that some have been able to have replaced free and others have went through a terrible nightmare. I was on my way to work this morning and was turning out of the parking lot of where I live when suddenly power steering came up on the menu and my steering wheel locked up. With force I was able to maneuver the car over to the side of the road and turned the car off. When I turned it back on it was fine. Luckily there was no on coming traffic or there would have been a serious accident. I'm having the car looked at first thing in the morning to determine what is wrong and what is covered. I'm having serious doubts about my vehicle and where will the faulty parts end? I hope the next one will not cause my death or someone else's. GM needs to fix this!

- Burlington, NC, USA

problem #574

Feb 042011

G6

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving my G6 and all of a sudden I hear 3 dings and then power steering came on display and I had no steering, scared me to death. I had my 3 year old granddaughter in the car. I did get to the side of the road safely. Turned the car off and started it back up and it was fine. I just thought it was a freak system error. Then about 2 months later it done it again. Turned if off and started it again and it was fine. Then just yesterday it done it again but this time it done it about every 5 minutes of driving. Thank god I made it home safe with my pregnant daughter and my granddaughter. I started looking on the net and found I am not, by far, the only person this has happened to. What is GM waiting on to recall this electrical power steering on these vehicles. Are they waiting for a bunch of families to get killed or what. You know people work hard to have a vehicle, and I think GM should stand behind their product no matter what.

- Lyburn, WV, USA

problem #573

Jun 012007

G6 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
The power steering code displays on the dash. The power steering occasional does not work when car is started. It has to be shut off and restarted. There is also a small clunk sound when turning on occasion as well. The problem started around 30,000 miles. Appears to be an issue with the electrical power steering assist that several people have already noted. Potential for this to go bad while car is in motion. Waiting on recall but with Pontiac going out of business, never took place. Only a special coverage bulletin was issued - #10183 - which may reimburse for the repairs.

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #572

Aug 152011

G6 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
We purchased a 2006 Pontiac G6 for our son. Over the past two months, we have noticed the power steering fails at different situations. Obviously, this car does not have power steering fluid but electric. According to reports, this is a repeating problems with the G6's. is there an active investigation for recall on this problem?

- Brighton, TN, USA

problem #571

Apr 022010

G6

  • 75,000 miles
At least a few times a week, when my car is started I experience a power steering failure. I have to turn off the car and try it again. While driving, it is very difficult to turn my wheel to the right, but when turning left it is completely effortless. I have had mechanics look at it and I have had the rack and pinion changed twice, thinking it couldn't possibly be the power steering pump because it's only difficult to steer in one direction.

- Lemoore, CA, USA

problem #570

Sep 142011

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
Power steering light went on. I called dealership in strongsville were I purchased the vehicle and they told me that my vehicle has no recall. I read up on the recall and my car is doing what the recalls says it does. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #569

Sep 262011

G6 4-cyl

  • miles
I was pulling out from a gas station when the power steering light went off and within 2 seconds all power steering was gone. Afraid to drive any further I parked my car and did what I needed to do. Whenever I returned to try and drive my car back home (it sat there for 1 1/2 hrs) there was no problem steering it. I have teen age sons whom drive my car from time to time and if this happens to them while driving there's no telling what could happen. I've called GM and there's no recall on this problem so if I want it fixed it's considered my problem now. I will never purchase another GM car or SUV ever again and will also warn my friends.

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #568

Feb 032010

G6

  • 110,000 miles
I own a Pontiac G6 2006 its the worst car I have ever owned I have put 4000-6000$ in to this car and still continue to have problems on a daily basis from the power steering catalytic converters brakes tire rod ends wheel bearings and numerous other problems I have paid more on fixing the problems on the car than I have paid on the car there are currently no recalls to my knowledge but I strongly believe the entire car should be recalled and GM should pay back what the car was purchased for!

- Andover, IA, USA

problem #567

Aug 052011

G6 6-cyl

  • 101,861 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was safely maneuvered to the shoulder and shut off. Upon restart, the vehicle operated as normal momentarily before the failure recurred. The vehicle was driven home and parked. The contact stated that the steering wheel was extremely difficult to turn since the initial failure. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 101,861. Updated 10/04/11 updated 10/05/11

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #566

Jan 122011

G6 6-cyl

  • 84,045 miles
Drove to a restaurant, when we finished eating. I noticed on the radio display it said "power steering", was able to drive and turn with no difficulty, when we entered the highway without warning the steering became very difficult, felt that driving the car was unsafe and pulled to the shoulder, turned the car off and called for a tow, but when the tow arrived, I was going to drive the car onto the trailer and the steering had returned, so I finished the drive home. When you start the car sometimes the steering is working other times it is not.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #565

Sep 152007

G6 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
My 06 pontaic G6 has had multiple issues with the power steering. While under warranty I had the steering fixed 2 times one of which included replacing the entire steering column. Now that the warranty has expired the steering warning has been coming up on the radio display.my car does have lots of miles because I drive 1000 miles a week but, this seems to be a common problem with the 06 G6's. it was so much of a problem that they changed from that type of steering in newer models. The steering will go out in the middle of driving and causes you to lose control the car then must be turned off and on for the steering to begin working again. Please investigate this problem it is dangerous!!

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?