If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering NHTSA complaints: Steering

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 15 of 43)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
32 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,722 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 15 of 43)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #565

Sep 152007

G6 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 06 pontaic G6 has had multiple issues with the power steering. While under warranty I had the steering fixed 2 times one of which included replacing the entire steering column. Now that the warranty has expired the steering warning has been coming up on the radio display.my car does have lots of miles because I drive 1000 miles a week but, this seems to be a common problem with the 06 G6's. it was so much of a problem that they changed from that type of steering in newer models. The steering will go out in the middle of driving and causes you to lose control the car then must be turned off and on for the steering to begin working again. Please investigate this problem it is dangerous!!

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #564

May 022011

G6 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
The Pontiac G6 2006 is having steering problems like the other Pontiac G models. The electronic steering in the vehicle fails and the steering becomes very hard and it is almost impossible to control. It would be hard for my wife to control it, she is a small woman. It takes a lot strength on my part to steer it. I would like to let other Pontiac G6 owner about this problem before they have an accident.

- Antioch , CA, USA

problem #563

Sep 092011

G6 6-cyl

  • 45,600 miles
The electronic power steering stopped working and the power steering light came on in the radio. After I shut the car off and restarted it, the steering working again but it soon failed and went through the process of restarting car to get it to work. It seems to do it more when the steering wheel is turned all the way to the right. It now does it frequently and the car steers so hard when it happens, it would be easy to loose control and crash. Pontiac says this is not a safety recall and they will not honor warranty on my car. NHTSA did investigate this under action number PE07023 but Pontiac still states it is not a safety problem. I disagree and feel Pontiac should correct this prior to an accident happening.

- Monticello, IL, USA

problem #562

Jul 052011

G6 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought car on 07/02/11, return car to dealer on 07/05/11 due to popping noise in steering when turning left or right at any speed, even when sitting still. Did not do this when I test drove it. Started a day or two afterwards. Dealer said it needed grease put into the intermediate steering shaft, (without even looking at it) even though there was grease coming out if it. Dealer would not cover cost of repair. Called Pontiac /GMC to see if there was a recall and if they could offer some help on this and was eventually told no. Took to another dealership to have check and was told the whole intermediate shaft needed to be replaced. Again call Pontiac/GMC and received an answer of no help could be given on this problem. Quote to replace shaft is $319. I was told by both dealers there were no safety issues with this problem, that this would not go out on me while driving and cause a wreck. I don't know if I believe them or not. No honestly when it comes to buying a car. Pontiac/GMC needs to do a recall on this. From all my research on this, it seems to have been a problem with this car from the start, this is a manufacturing problem and they should fix it. Not expecting a problem so soon after purchase. I am not able to pay for this at this time. And it does scare me at times, wondering if the steering is going to go out.

- Staunton, VA, USA

problem #561

Jan 062011

G6

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that when starting the vehicle, the steering wheel would lock. The contact had to restart the vehicle in order to unlock the steering wheel. The contact took the vehicle to a local mechanic and the mechanic advised that the steering column was defective and needed to be replaced. The mechanic informed the contact that the steering could lock while driving and cause a crash. The contact had not called the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Ridgeland, SC, USA

problem #560

Aug 242011

G6 6-cyl

  • 42,256 miles
I own a 2006 Pontiac G6 and the electric power steering has gone out completely twice in the last year and has been replaced both times. There needs to be a recall on this. I am very lucky I did not get in an accident the last time it went out. I was going down a very step and curvy road her in Minnesota and it just went out and never came back on, even after I shut the car down and started it back up, this is a very serious issue that needs to be resolved before someone gets killed. It is almost impossible to turn the wheel once it goes out.

- Goodview, MN, USA

problem #559

Mar 052011

G6

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6 gtp. The contact stated that when attempting a turn, the steering would become very difficult to maneuver and smoke was emitted from under the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where they advised that there was a leak in the power steering fluid and that the power steering line needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 64,000.

- Jane Lew , WV, USA

problem #558

Aug 142011

G6 4-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
I have a 2006 Pontiac G6. Shortly after my warranty with the car dealer expired, my powering steering started to malfunction. The steering wheel would shake violently and sometimes wouldn't work at all. This would happen pretty much every time the vehicle was used. As time went on, it got worse. As of 8/14/11, my power steering has pretty much gone out. It will work once in a while, but when it does, the vehicle pulls sharply to the left all of a sudden. It has almost caused many accidents. When it goes out, the steering wheel is extremely hard to move. You must be moving in order to turn it, and use much strength to do so. This has also almost caused many accidents, as it makes it very difficult to pull in and out of parking spaces. I have researched this online, and have found that many people have the same problem as I do. Perhaps they don't know about your site, and that is why there aren't as many complaints on it. If you were to simply search "2006 G6 power steering" on any search engine, you would find many more complaints. There are currently 119 complaints alone at carcomplaints.com. The problem is the power steering assist motor. The cost to fix this is between $600-$1500. I simply can not afford that. Pontiac needs to make a recall on this so I, among many others, can get this fixed and feel safe while driving.

- Clarksville, IN, USA

problem #557

Mar 152006

G6

  • miles
Rotors, brakes, and numerous replacement control arms on both sides.

- Millington, MI, USA

problem #556

Jul 102011

G6

  • 65,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated the power steering worked intermittently. He heard a whining and knocking noise when he turned the steering wheel either to the right or left. The vehicle was not been inspected or repaired. The current mileage was 65,000. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was unavailable.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #555

Mar 212007

G6

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, he turned the steering wheel to the left and heard a popping noise. The failure would occur intermittently at varius speeds. Over time, the failure progressed into a constant issue. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the technicians performed repairs. The contact was unaware as to what repairs were performed. The failure continued to occur after the repairs. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the intermediate shaft was replaced. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000.

- Berwyn, IL, USA

problem #554

Jul 202011

G6

  • 122,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact was driving approximately 15 mph, and attempting to make a turn, when the steering wheel locked without warning. The locking caused the vehicle to crash into a utility pole. When the front driver and passenger side air bags deployed, they were completely deflated with a powdered substance. The rear passenger side occupant suffered from abrasions across the neck as a result of the seat belt. A police report was filed. The vehicle sustained severe damages and was towed to an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 122,000.

- Uvalde, TX, USA

problem #553

Jul 192011

G6 4-cyl

  • 72,500 miles
My power steering went out about a week ago, so I restarted my car and it worked again. This happened a couple times a day. Yesterday I was driving and my power steering went out almost causing me to run head on to an oncoming car. It hasn't worked since and I have to drive without power steering.

- Nolensville, TN, USA

problem #552

Jul 062011

G6

  • miles
I have a 2006 Pontiac G6 and it has a clunk noise from steering. And it seams a lot others have the same problem with this car can U do something.

- Charlottetown, 00, USA

problem #551

Jul 082011

G6 6-cyl

  • 101,435 miles
Power steering intermittently turns off while driving. Power steering light comes on driver information screen. Happens everyother time I turn my car on. Sometime before I put it in gear sometimes while im driving. Letter received about coverage for fixing but my mileage is over 100000 miles so I will have to pay for it. Last time I took it to the dealer before higher mileage they said it would be nothing to fix. $800 - $1000 repair. Thanks Pontiac!

- Wyoming, MI, USA

problem #550

Jul 062011

G6

  • 90,571 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the power steering failed while driving at an unknown speed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the steering column overheated, resulting in the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 90,571.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #549

Jun 222011

G6

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 15 mph the power steering stopped functioning without warning. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. When the contact attempted to make a right or a left turn while looking into the side view mirrors the view was blocked by the exterior of the vehicle. The contact stated that it was difficult to see if there was a vehicle in the next lane. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000.

- Point Pleasant, NJ, USA

problem #548

Jun 012011

G6

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that when attempting turns, there was an abnormal noise from the front end of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who inspected the vehicle and informed the contact that the power steering rack had failed and would need to be replaced. The dealer advised the contact that there were no recalls for the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The current mileage was 118,000 and the approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Chapel Hill, TN, USA

problem #547

Jun 202011

G6 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
While driving home from work on 20 June 2011, I began to make a right turn at the time my power steering completely went out, almost causing me to run into a vehicle. The power steering remained out all the way to my home.

- Beulaville, NC, USA

problem #546

Jun 082011

G6

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact was driving 25 mph when the power steering began jerking and rattling before failing. The power steering warning light was also illuminated. The dealer was contacted and offered no assistance. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Pottstown, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?