If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering NHTSA complaints: Steering

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 16 of 43)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
32 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,722 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 16 of 43)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #545

Mar 052011

G6 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a ponitac G6 that has the same problem that is indicated in the service bulletin # sb-10183 when contacting GM they said they will only cover certain VIN numbers unless I want to take it to the dealership and have them diagnosis the problem and pay for it out of my pocket, if it is the same then I will have to wait for the dealership to talk to GM to see if the will fix it free of charge. I really think this a load of bs because if the NHTSA has been looking into this then why is there not a recall forcing the GM to fix the problem on all the Pontiac G6.

- Great Lakes, IL, USA

problem #544

Jun 092011

G6 6-cyl

  • 73,765 miles
I purchased a 2006 Pontiac G6 sedan. It now has about 74,000 mi on it. Recently, when I make an extreme turn toward the right, the radio beeps three times and the power steering stops working. I can still steer the hard but it is extremely difficult. To repair it, I must put the car in park, turn off the engine, then restart the engine. I have read that this is a common problem in '06 G6's.

- Brandenburg, KY, USA

problem #543

Jun 052011

G6 4-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
Just bought this car and realized during first driving after purchase, that it has a click or clank in steering while turning. Then a message came on the message center that reads "power steering". I then came home and started searching online about this problem, as I found there is no power steering reservoir, so I need assistance now. The first results online I found was a site full of complaints about this issue. As I understand it, now the car will at some point lose power steering while driving. Either intermittently or permanently. This is clearly a safety issue.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #542

Jan 072011

G6

  • 60,152 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering keeps going out and have to keep restarting my car but still hard to turn wheel sometimes happens almost everyday its the power steering assist motor.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #541

May 032011

G6

  • 69,000 miles
2006 Pontiac G6 my power steering cuts out when I'm driving. It will not come back on till I shut car off and restart. Sometimes it takes maybe 6 or 7 restarts to free up powersteering. It is hard to pull over and get out of traffic to do this. This is very dangerous.

- Rochester , NY, USA

problem #540

May 202011

G6 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
I have my Pontiac G6 for a little over 2 years now. Nothing but steering problems. There is a load clunking sound that happens when your turning, braking, or just driving. There has been many times I have almost be in accidents due 2 the steering. I got a letter say the recalled the power steering pump, but that's not the problem. This car is very unsafe. People are going to get hurt or killed if the steering problems are not fixed. It seem that's what got to happen first in order to get something done. Please have the GM company fix there cars....before its to late.

- Lancaster, SC, USA

problem #539

May 302011

G6 6-cyl

  • 81,665 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On May 30, 2011 I ([xxx]) was driving West bound on interstate 90 / U.S. 20, between the I-39 South exit and the South alpine exit. At approximately 17:30hrs. My 2006 Pontiac G6 lost it's power steering. I had very little control of the vehicle at this time. So I immediately exited at the S alpine exit wondering if the vehicle could make it. I was able to pull into the phillips 66 gas station upon my exit from the highway. There I waited for a tow. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Cherry Valley, IL, USA

problem #538

May 142011

G6 6-cyl

  • 64,260 miles
Mild clunking when steering at low speed. Can be felt in the steering wheel. Had suspension checked and tie rod ends. All are not the source of the noise. Suspect steering rack but car only has 64K. This seems to be a common complaint as well as NHTSA has a tsb listed from 03/01/2008 #060232007 as well as a possible loss of power steering problems which I have not experienced yet.

- Pikesville, MD, USA

problem #537

May 132011

G6

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated while driving 30 mph, he lost power steering. He was able to restart the vehicle and drive normally. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic; however, he was unable to duplicate the failure. The dealer advised the contact that there were no related recalls. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was approximately 68,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Kenner, LA, USA

problem #536

Apr 112011

G6

  • 122,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while attempting to park the vehicle, the steering warning light illuminated and the steering wheel locked abnormally. The contact applied extreme force in order to maneuver the steering wheel. The engine was turned off and the power steering was reset to normal when the vehicle was restarted. The failure was experienced numerous times. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the steering failure had an extended warranty for 120,000 miles, but the contacts vehicle would not be covered under the warranty because it was over the mileage. The manufacturer recommended having the failure diagnosed by an authorized dealer and possibly repaired at the contacts expense. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and the failure mileage was 122,000.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #535

May 022011

G6

  • 140,865 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

About a week ago, I was driving at about 50 mph when my steering wheel locked up and I could not move it at all. I managed to pull over. The radio screen flashed and dinged "power steering" I called my husband who came and saw there was no power steering reservoir. Turns out its electric. After turning the car on, it seemed to be back to normal. This happened a few times since then, now my car is stuck permanently. As soon as I turn it on, it says "power steering" and will not resolve no matter how many times I turn it on and off. Horrible car!!

- Pearsall, TX, USA

problem #534

Apr 102011

G6

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact was driving approximately 25 mph, when she made a turn and noise emitted from the front driver's side of the vehicle. The contact continued to drive; however, recently, the power steering warning indicator illuminated and the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The failure was consistent. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing and they stated the power steering column would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #533

Oct 202010

G6

  • 85,000 miles
I have a 2006 pointiac G6, I had a letter about the steering but I have miss placed it. It stated that if my steering went out have it checked. Well I was on the highway with my granddaughter and I went into the other lane infront of a truck and guess what the steering would not move. I called a dealership in mn and they said until my car stops all together they could not fix it; I have my grandchildren with me quite frequently I guess they want to fix it when something happens to my grandchild or myself I don't think so; please tell me what to do before someone gets hurt and I don't want it to be anybody. Also, I have replaced the rotors, brakes all four tires in the fall of 2010 in the beginning of 2011 I had to have them fixed. Well I have to go and have them fixed again I have never had a car like this in my life, I am a 65 year old single woman and I hate that this car is so badly constructed no wonder people do not buy american cars. Please tell me what to do about my brakes, thank you.

- Plymouth, MN, USA

problem #532

Mar 252010

G6

  • 55,000 miles
Electric steering assist kicks in and out. Steering wheel turned hard to the left on its own while I was going down the highway at 65mph. It took both hands to take back control. Power steering light blinked on the radio. When I stopped the wheel was making clicking sounds and turning violently to the left and right. After restarting the car the steering temporarily went back to normal. I have been have similar problems with the steering for the past year. Took to the dealar showing them bulletin # 10183 describing the exact problem for 2005 and 2006 G6's but they did nothing stating my VIN # was not in the affected range. This is extremely dangerous and will kill someone.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #531

Apr 182011

G6

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 10 mph and attempting a turn, the contact heard a clunking noise. The noise was heard intermittently when the steering wheel was turned in either direction. The dealer was contacted and advised the contact to bring the vehicle in for inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 96,000.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #530

Mar 272011

G6

  • 69,000 miles
Power steering on Pontiac 2006 G6 goes out...then might return after sitting.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #529

Feb 102011

G6 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
My 2006 Pontiac G6 came out with a power steering problem, says in the radio screen also, and caused my car losing control on express way from New Hampshire to Massachusetts and crashed into ramp. My car was damaged in shape and tire, wheel support bar. Replacement caused me a huge amount. Very very dangerous issue!!!

- Waltham, MA, USA

problem #528

Aug 112010

G6 6-cyl

  • 37,560 miles
My power steering light keeps coming on and there is a clunking in my steering whenever I turn, and when I hit a bump my car sways a bit. As well as once in a while I lose my power steering which I almost crashed but maintained my composure.

- Seven Hills, OH, USA

problem #527

Mar 252011

G6

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6 SE. The contact stated that the power steering warning light was illuminated with the loss of power steering assist. The contact had to utilize extreme bodily force in order to maneuver the steering wheel. The failure recurred several times and the vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who performed a diagnostic that located the failure at the power steering module. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer would not assist with the repairs. The failure and current mileage was 115,000.

- Ada , OH, USA

problem #526

Feb 102009

G6

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact was driving 35 mph when the power steering light illuminated causing the steering to fail. The vehicle was turned on and off but the light continued to illuminate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who repaired the power steering system. Two months later, the power steering failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they replaced the electronic module within the system. The vehicle was taken to the dealer at least three times in regards to the power steering failure, at the contacts expense. The vehicle was not under warranty. The manufacturer was contacted who stated they will contact him in regards to the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Lancaster, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?