Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 24 of 47) Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
38 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
16 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,277 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 24 of 47)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #466

Sep 102010


  • miles


Pontiac 06 G6 gtp sedan I have a shaking in the steering wheel from 55 to 65 and I've got multiply things fixed to eliminate it from wheels balanced, replaced a bad tire, replaced a bad rim and still no signs of stop shaking that last component can only be the steering and the price to fix or replace is ridiculous and im 19 yr old trying to stay in school and I buy a GM car cause my parents have owned many GM vehicles now its just as bad as a foreign vehicle GM you should fix a faulty part on your vehicles cause your reliability is going down the drain by ignoring your loyal customers complaints.

- Catlett, VA, USA

problem #465

Sep 012010


  • miles
The March 2010 GM recall of certain Pontiac models with electronic power steering did not include the 2006 G6 model. I own a 2006 G6 with the exact same problem and am concerned with the safety issue. If this is a widespread problem on all 2006 G6 models, they should have been included in the recall.

- Dover, MA, USA

problem #464

Sep 172009


  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact was turning approximately 5 mph when he heard an abnormal squeaking from the steering column. The failure became intermittent over the course of one year. The squeaking noise developed into a clunking noise that would exhibit when turning at low speeds. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the steering rack was repaired. Three days later, the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not taken for further inspection or repairs. The failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was 62,000.

- Vernon, CT, USA

problem #463

Apr 202010


  • 61,000 miles


Whenever I go to make a left turn the electric steering goes out all the time and the steering wheel shakes nothing yet since I have seen recall stuff about it.

- Clover, SC, USA

problem #462

Jan 292010


  • miles
Clunking noise coming from front end possibly steering or tie rods not the ball joints already replaced those.

- London, 00, USA

problem #461

Nov 012008


  • 0 miles
To whom it may concern: I am writing to complain, I am an owner of a 2006 Pontiac G6. I love my car, however I am experiencing a lot of problems with 'shaking of the steering wheel and clunking noise. I have been to a few mechanics and always do what is recommended. Examples are wheel alignments, rotors, tire change, new brakes however the shaking or noise never goes away.. I have also had my intermediate shaft fixed by the dealer. The noise and shaking improve when work is done but after a few days it comes back! I have noticed many people with the same model and year as mine are experiencing the same problems.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #460

May 092009


  • 60,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 55 mph, the contact experienced a sudden loss of power steering, followed by the power steering warning indicator illumination. The steering wheel became extremely difficult to turn. The vehicle was driven over to the side of the road; and the engine was turned off. The vehicle restarted and resumed with the continuous loss of power steering. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where they informed that the failure was contributed to the power steering motor. The power steering motor had been replaced a total of five times. The contact received a manufacturer voluntary recall notification related to the steering after the repairs were performed on the vehicle. The manufacturer refused to reimburse for any of the previous repair expenses. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Corbin, KY, USA

problem #459

Mar 162010


  • 85,000 miles
My 2006 Pontiac G6 has always had a "clunk" sounds in the steering column when I turn the wheel but I lost all power steering while I was driving down I-95 in philadelphia. I was barely able to make it to the closest gas station, as the steering wheel was almost impossible to turn. After letting the vehicle sit for about a half hour, I tried to start it to relocate it to a better area of the parking lot and the power steering was working fine again. Again, my power steering indicator is back on. I haven't lost my power steering again so far, but I will be taking the car into the GM dealer tomorrow. I spent most of the day doing research on this problem and have realized it seems to be quite common with these vehicles.

- New Cumberland, PA, USA

problem #458

Aug 202010

G6 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
I purchased a 2006 Pontiac G6 3 months ago....a couple of days ago while I was driving with my 3 children the power steering went, I turned the car for a few minutes, I turned it back on and it worked again. I gave GM my VIN # and they said that there was no recall on this car, but why would this car do this, it only has 108 km on it and if other Pontiac G6 were be recalled with the same defective problem why would my car not qualify. Just a note, that this was a scary situation and could of been a lot worse if I was on the highway.

- Thunder Bay, , 00, USA

problem #457

Aug 232010

G6 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
Electric power assist loss on 2006 Pontiac G6. I received another recall letter for my G6 electric power assist loss. It says it will cover the defect for 10 years or 100,000 miles. My vehicle currently has 130,000 on it so they say it is not covered. I get the chime and power steering display on my console intermittently. It has been going on since 95,000 miles but is too expensive to get fixed. They sent me the first notice when my car had 96000 miles on it saying they would cover it to 70,000 miles. Both times I was told by Pontiac they would not cover it since it was outside the mileage limit. If they would have made it 100,000 miles the first time, it would have been covered. They know its a problem because they keep boosting the mileage up, but always lower than the miles I have on my car. My steering is going to quit working one of these days, and they know why, but they wont fix it.

- Bellevue, MI, USA

problem #456

Aug 192010

G6 6-cyl

  • 126,000 miles


I have a 2006 Pontiac G6.. I read that there was a recall from April 25th 2007-September 25th 2007 in which it was closed. My car is having the same problems as the recall in 2007 am I able to still get my car fixed without cost to me...steering electric power assist system.

- Citrus Heights, CA, USA

problem #455

Nov 012009


  • 40,000 miles
The power steering goes out every morning or when you turn car off, then restart it. I was backing out of parking space and it failed, I could not turn the steering wheel, a security officer was able with his strength get me out of the middle of lane in parking lot. I then turned car off and on several times and it just so happened to release itself. We just drive to and from work in fear of it going out if I stop at store for groceries. It has gone out on highway, we stay clear of those too, we can not enjoy our car because of this problem, parts that have failed the car should be replaced in a recall trying to save to fix. Hoping it would be recalled as the G5 has been. I have been a loyal Pontiac customer and have never had a problem of this magnitude. The right thing to do is to recall. I would remain loyal if this happened. I pray no one gets killed before something is done.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #454

Aug 162010


  • 59,551 miles
Pulling out of the drive way then lost power steering, almost crashed twice. Vehicles suddenly hard to control and unable to move.

- Norwalk, CA, USA

problem #453

Jul 182009


  • 60,000 miles
The power steering in my 2006 Pontiac G6 goes out on a regular basis almost causing accidents all the time, especially when making sharp turns and is now happening even if I am driving straight. There is also a popping noise with the steering column that happens when I am making a left turn.

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #452

Aug 132010


  • 95,000 miles
Pulling out of my road and power steering just gives out.. I can barely turn the wheel to avoid crashing into the ditch across the street. Im 8 months pregnant and there were cars coming at me at 55 mph. I manage to turn around and go home, my boyfriend checks it out and the manual says power steering fluid. No power steering fluid in this car, its all electrical. He turned it back on and it was fine. Now my car is at the dealer and I'm paying 80 dollars an hour to "diagnose" this well known problem. I could have died if I were driving, I'm not the hulk, I cannot drive this vehicle if the power steering just decides to give out on me. What if I were on a back road with lots of turns? I would have crashed right into a tree. Thank god I was just pulling out when it acted up, thank god the cars were far enough away to slow down for me.

- Chelsea, ME, USA

problem #451

Jan 062010


  • 75,000 miles
I have a 2006 Pontiac G6. At first the power steering message kept flashing across radio screen, eventually power steering mechanism went out all together while driving. Power steering fails intermittently, at any time. The only way it resets is when car is turned off, if it resets. Vehicle is very hard to steer. After talking with dealership, found out that steering column and power steering motor would need to be replaced at a cost of almost $2000. This vehicle is very dangerous and this car should be recalled.

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #450

Aug 052010


  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving the steering wheel began to shake excessively. The vehicle was moving from lane to lane and made a popping sounds regardless of the speed he was driving. He also stated that when the vehicle was in park, the steering wheel would also shake. The dealer was contacted and stated how much the repairs would cost. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were approximately 73,000.

- Dillwyn , VA, USA

problem #449

Aug 082008


  • miles
Pontiac G6 2006 I just bought a used G6, and noticed a clunking noise in the steering, taking it to my own mechanic tomorrow, anybody found a remedy for this? it has 77,00kms. Apparently I have 36 days from certification if it is a safety issue.

- Victoria Harbour, 00, USA

problem #448

Jul 022010


  • miles
The 2005- 2006 Pontiac G6 has faulty electronic power steering. There should be a major recall for this very dangerous safety issue right away! once it happens the car is nearly impossible to control. What I don't understand is GM recalled the Chevy cobalts and the Pontiac G5's so why not the G6 there are more than enough complaints and proof to the company that they need to admit there is a problem here and need to recall the product. There have been deaths regarding this matter I mean GM man up and do the right thing if you still want customers to purchase your product!! there's nothing worse than knowing the feeling of driving your car 60mph on the highway and when this problems happens you have no control over the car your driving that's more than a scary feeling! the problem to fix this is to replace the electronic asset power steering motor. Help on this situation would be greatly appreciated for 1,000's of people out there including me!

- Milford , CT, USA

problem #447

May 122010


  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving at 40 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated followed by the sounding of the power steering warning chime. Months later, the contact noticed when starting the vehicle that the power steering would independently lock. The contact would play with the steering wheel until it became operable. The dealer reset the control panel. On her drive from the dealer, the failure recurred. The vehicle was not taken back to the dealer for further repairs or diagnosis. The failure mileage was 59,000 and the current mileage was 61,200.

- Johnson City, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?