Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 27 of 47) Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
38 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
16 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,277 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 27 of 47)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #406

Jun 102010


  • 70,798 miles


Power steering motor in my 2006 Pontiac G6 went bad. It cost me over $800 to repair. But then I look online and see that the following cars were also recalled for the exact same issue: - 2005 - 2010 Chevrolet cobalts - 2007 - 2010 Pontiac G5S - 2005 - 2006 Pontiac pursuits - 2006 - 2006 Pontiac G4S it's really hard to believe that GM used a different type of part in my car.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #405

Jun 112010


  • 8,061 miles
The contacts owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving the vehicle at 35 mph, the power steering light on the instrument panel illuminated, and he lost power steering. The contact had a difficult time steering the vehicle, but he was able to drive the vehicle home. Upon inspecting the vehicle, he noticed there was no power steering fluid.the dealer had not been contacted, and there had been no repairs done to the vehicle. The manufacture had not been notified. Failure and current mileage was 8061.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #404

Jun 082008

G6 6-cyl

  • 571,245 miles
The power steering on my 2006 Pontiac G6 keeps locking up while driving and is becoming a very major hazard, it happening almost daily and I have seen on several web sites that it is happening to hundreds of other 2006 G6 owners as well when do you plan to hold GM responsible for this.

- East Bank, WV, USA

problem #403

May 272010


  • 68,500 miles


2006 Pontiac G6 problem with the electric power steering quitting while traveling down road.

- Sanford, MI, USA

problem #402

Jun 052010


  • 74,000 miles
2006 Pontiac G6 74,000 miles electric steering major issue last Saturday, June 5, 2010, I was on my way home from work and as I was nearing my residence, the steering became harder to control. Luckily, the major issue didn't occur until I was in my driveway, in which the car was completely non-steerable. I am by no means a weak person, so this lack of steering is completely unacceptable. On Tuesday, June 8, 2010. At about noon, I was heading to lunch and coming from a stoplight, I had no steering what-so-ever, I was required to restart the car mid-turn in order to not run off of the road. This is a very dangerous problem that GM apparently doesn't care to resolve. It is obvious General Motors cares nothing at all about the people who buy their product. I am thoroughly disappointed, so much so that I purchased a used 2005 mustang GT as a replacement car. I need to have the Pontiac G6 fixed, because I am selling the car, I do not wish to be killed by my own car! I was not injured or killed but I am very very tempted to click the "were there any deaths or injuries?" checkbox because I already know that GM doesn't care what happens to its loyal customers... what a shame!

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #401

May 282010


  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving at 35 mph, the contact noticed that the steering wheel had become very loose and while braking, the steering wheel would shake from left to right. The vehicle had not been inspected at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were approximately 59,000.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #400

May 282010


  • 58,800 miles


2006 Pontiac G6 has a power steering fault that dealership is saying that the steering column and power steering assist motor has to be replaced. The vehicle has a little more than 58,000 miles on it. This is ridiculous that this is happening. After doing a little research on this I have found lots a cases that has resulted in crashes and injuries. Why has GM not recalled these vehicles?

- Sweeny, TX, USA

problem #399

May 112010


  • 34,845 miles
Steering wheel vibrated and pulsated back and forth, during which time I felt I did not have steering control. Took it to a shop, they found no problem--left the shop and the car beeped and power steering light came on. Took it to a dealer ship and they replaced the power steering motor and cleared codes.

- Carrboro, NC, USA

problem #398

May 012009


  • 80,000 miles
When I would make left turns my wheel would make a weird noise. Then one day I was parked and when I went to leave I had to make a sharp left turn to get back on the main road. My power steering had went out. Now my power steering goes out when making left turns. This has been occurring for over the last year. The power steering doesn't go out every time a left turn is made but does go out at a minimum of once a day. When the power steering goes out I have to either pull over and shut the engine off and restart or reach my destination without power steering which is very difficult to turn.

- Winfield, MO, USA

problem #397

May 312010


  • 100,410 miles
I have come close to having three different accidents in my 2006 Pontiac G6 due to the power steering going out while driving. I had the same problem in Dec. Of 2007 and July of 2009 GM replaced some steering gear in 2007 and my column shaft. Now less than 12000 miles it is doing it again. I am so concerned now that my daughter almost had an accident yesterday. The powersteering light comes on also when ever this happens. I have seen that other Pontiac's have been recalled. I am sure that the problem in the G6 is the exact same. We need this recalled before someone gets hurt or even killed. I am taking my Pontiac once again into the service department tomorrow, for repairs for this same issue. Please help!!!!

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #396

May 302010


  • 85,000 miles


While driving in a sharp curve my Pontiac G6(2006) loss power steering and wheel became very stiff to turn and to handle the vehicle itself, no accident or injuries since I was not driving very fast, I could manage the situation but it got me by surprise totally unexpected. The problem has not been resolved I understand its a very common complain in this cars with a little research online.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #395

Jan 202010


  • miles
I have experienced power steering failure multiple times in my 2006 Pontiac G6 while driving also after starting the car. I call GM to report the problem and suggested that they issue a recall, I was told to take my vehicle into a Pontiac dealership to have it diagnosed. After having my car in the repair shop for a day, I received a call from the service department and was told that my car coded a problem with the torque sensor; but further testing was needed to pinpoint the exact cause for the power steering failure. A few days later I again received a call from the service specialist saying that they needed to replace my steering column. I asked if that was the cause for the power steering failure, and was told that it was. I have yet to hear from the GM district specialist regarding my vehicle. There have been no crashes, incidents, or injuries but this is a very dangerous problem regarding Pontiac G6's and their loss of power steering.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #394

May 202010


  • 81,000 miles
Bought a 2006 Pontiac G6 about 6 weeks ago, drove it for about 5 weeks then the power steering light on the dash came on dinging, husband tried to find where to fill up the power steering fluid, no place it's electric. Went to visit a relative 4 hours away leaving from the mall one night light came on again dinging and lost all power steering. Just thankful wasn't on a sharp turn as I would have lost control. Power steering light coming on all the time now but haven't lost power steering since but really nervous about driving it as I never know if it will happen again. Have had it to the garage for a scan and it says position sensor and torque input sensor problem. No one seems to know how to fix the problem for certain and even if they do try replacing the steering column it doesn't always work. There should be a recall on these cars to have them fixed before someone like myself gets hurt or causes an accident with someone else. I will never fully trust this car again. Something needs to be done. Asap.

- Alberton, 00, USA

problem #393

May 272010


  • 60,000 miles
I purchased a used 2006 Pontiac G6 in April of 2009 with 60,000 odd miles on it. In August of 09 I went to start it one morning and I could not turn the steering wheel I get the error message power steering. Only to find out the car has electronic steering. I took it to the dealership for them to say that I needed to bring it in while it was displaying the message. Impossible because it didn't do it again. Now the steering is real loose and rumbly and the car is all over the road. And when you apply the breaks it chatters. As of last night I went to apply the brakes in a turn for the steering message to appear and the car cut off. Thankfully no one was behind me. I turned it off and restarted it no problems. Then today it did it 3 times. I have a son whom I am scared to take anywhere due to the fact the steering may not work and the car will cut off and some one will rear end us. I am a pretty strong female and you can not steer this car when it does this.

- Hiddenite, NC, USA

problem #392

Jan 012007


  • 10,000 miles
I have a 2006 Pontiac G6. There is a popping noise everytime I turn the wheel at low speeds. The brakes on my car have squealed since a couple of months after I bought this car. I have taken the car to get checked on countless occasions, and am told my brakes are fine, and that they can replace the breaks and rotors (even though they are fine), but they cannot say that it would make them stop squeaking! I am also having a problem when I start the car. I will turn the key and it will start, but it keeps turning like it is not started, then just shuts off. I have been reading about other complaints from people online, with their steering. I have a baby, and I am afraid that something is going to happen when she is in the car with me. We cannot let something awful happen, before there is a recall! there are too many people having these problems, so lets be proactive, instead of reactive!

- Dennison, OH, USA

problem #391

Feb 072009


  • 40,000 miles
The car will turn instantly to the left when the vehicle is moving. Alignment is correct and the car has 42,000 miles. The say the power steering motor and rack needs replaced.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #390

May 202010


  • 63,000 miles
2006 Pontiac G6 power steering not working properly. Indicator light is coming on dashboard. Steering wheel is moving by itself while standing still and moving. Steering feels like it is grabbing/jamming at times and sometimes no power. Took it in for service, was told computer was adjusted, worse now. Makes noise, vibrates, grabs. Just out of warranty. I believe it is dangerous to drive. I have heard many complaints about this. Why isn't there a recall? not being able to steer the car is a very dangerous problem.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #389

May 162010

G6 6-cyl

  • 56,970 miles
2006 Pontiac G6 power steering clunking and making a loud squealing noise when you turn. I have read about many of the same issues on line and in many cases the steering goes out completely. GM needs to recall just like on the other Pontiac models.

- Somerset, KY, USA

problem #388

May 182010


  • 50,106 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) I have been having problems with my power steering dropping for no apparent reason. I've brought my car in several times to a GM dealership (woody Pontiac GMC in elgin, il), only to be told that there was nothing wrong with the car. The mechanic keeps insisting that the car was made to drop power steering if I turn the wheel too much to the right. The problem is, the power steering will drop for any reason. I can be driving along straight and the power steering will go out. I can start the car up from sitting in a parking spot and the power steering will go out. I've noticed though that it mostly happens when taking slow right turns. I've read a recent recall for G6's made a few months before mine and have noticed the same effects. I've tried to take the turns slowly and I can feel a jolt in the steering wheel as if the power steering wants to drop out and sometimes it does go out. I've complained to my dealership, I've complained to GM, I don't know who else to complain to anymore. My car is now 100 miles past my extended warranty and I don't know how much longer this problem can go on before I finally hit somebody on the road. I've been in 4 incidents so far where I've lost power steering on a turn and almost crashed into another vehicle. Please initiate a safety recall of this problem seeing as there are so many people out there with the same issue. [xxx]

- Carpentersville, IL, USA

problem #387

May 102010


  • 26,000 miles
2006 Pontiac G6 has loss of power steering in low speeds. Vehicle has only 26,000 miles on it.. it is impossible to parallel park this vehicle.

- Loves Park, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?