Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 29 of 47)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
40 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,550 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 29 of 47)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #373

Apr 282010

G6

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 G6 steering clunking when I turn.

- Fayetteville, TN, USA

problem #372

Apr 142008

G6

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated when attempting a right turn, the power steering assist would fail making it extremely difficult to turn. The failure would not occur when attempting a right turn however there was an unusual pop in the steering column when attempting either turn. The vehicle had not been inspected by the dealer at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 60,000. The VIN was not available.

- Florence, MS, USA

problem #371

Jan 012010

G6 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
2006 Pontiac G6 front end pops when turning left or right. This happened at 10,000 miles. The rack and pinion was replaced at the dealer while the car was under warranty, however, it started popping again at 50,000 and now there is no longer a warranty on the vehicle. The pop or clunk happens every time the car is turned at a low speed either left or right. The steering wheel also vibrates very bad when hitting the brakes at a high speed. Message boards are burning up with angry Pontiac G6 owners who have front end issues.

- Saint Joseph, MO, USA

problem #370

Sep 162008

G6

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering on 2006 Pontiac G6 doest work the repair was too costly and I am 81 years old and cannot afford to fix it and the dealership said not covered under warranty there should be a recall there are too many complaints and this dangerous for anyone.

- Bassett, VA, USA

problem #369

Apr 202010

G6 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated while driving at speeds of 30 mph, the power steering warning light flashed on the warning console immediately followed by a loss of power steering abilities. The consumers husband was unable to maintain control of the vehicle and drove over a curb. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic awaiting a diagnosis of the failure. The contact stated she observed numerous complaints on the internet pertaining to the loss of power steering in her same year, make and model vehicle. The contact believed the failure to be a safety-related defect that existed in her vehicle. The failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 11/03/10 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired at her son's expense. Updated 11/04/10

- Valmeyer, IL, USA

problem #368

Mar 252010

G6 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
2006 Pontiac G6 rides great when on smooth roads. Just bought the car 1.5 months ago but when going down dirt roads it tends to pull you any way the road is going. Like if there are small ruts it seems to yank you all over the road and I have been reading and seen that this is a know problem in the steering wheel with the telescoping adjustment. Would like something done about this I am only 19 yrs old just finished college and bought this car don't have the money to be fixing things that shouldn't be broken.

- Conneautville, PA, USA

problem #367

Apr 162010

G6

  • 26,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Loss of control due to power steering failure dealer reprogrammed computer for temporary remedy.

- Dixon, IL, USA

problem #366

Apr 152010

G6 6-cyl

  • 34,350 miles
The power steering warning has appeared on my 2006 Pontiac G6, several times over the last 2 months, but at first I experienced no problems with the power steering itself. We took it in to the dealership to have it looked at, and they assured us that nothing was wrong with the power steering, it was probably just an electrical sensor issue. The warning continued to come on at random times, and would go away when I turned the car off and restarted it. On 4/15/10, as I was sitting at a stop sign with my 2 small children in the backseat, the power steering warning came on and then when I went to make a right turn, I immediately noticed that I had no power steering. I was then stuck in the middle of the road, and luckily was able to pull into a parking lot before I was struck by oncoming traffic. I turned the car off, and then restarted it, and the power steering was fine. I drove the car home, and we have not drove it since, for fear of similar problems. After talking to my dealership, they stated that we would probably have to put in a new steering column, which would cost around $800. I was extremely surprised after researching on the internet to find that many other 2006 Pontiac G6 owners have experienced the same problem, and that many have replaced the steering column and still continued to have problems. I wanted to bring this to your attention because I feel that the Pontiac G6 should be recalled to correct the power steering issues.

- Muncie, IN, USA

problem #365

Apr 162010

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
I own a 2006 Pontiac G6 and have had the steering lock up on me a few times. I took the vehicle to a GM dealer and was informed that the steering gear was bad. Car was still under warranty at that time so I paid the deductible and had them replace the steering gear. About three months later the steering is making the same popping noise and continues to get worse. The car is no longer under warranty and I am unable to afford the $1400 dollar estimate to replace a second time. The steering has not locked up again just yet, but every day I drive I anticipate it to happen soon.

- Gardner, KS, USA

problem #364

Feb 012010

G6

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated the steering wheel would shake excessively when traveling at speeds of 50 mph or less. The air bag and power steering warning lights were illuminated on the warning panel intermittently. The manufacturer advised there were no recalls on the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the repairs were made to the power steering component. The failure persisted. The vehicle had not yet been to the dealer for a diagnostic for the air bag. The failure mileage was 83,000 and the current mileage was 88,000.

- Mission, TX, USA

problem #363

Apr 122006

G6

  • 63,594 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was stopped at a stop light and had just come down the off ramp from the highway where I was going up to 65mph. As I started to turn right the wheel would not turn and the power steering light came on. Thankfully I was close to home and did not have my 6 year old child in the car because if I would have gotten hit it would have been on the side that she sits on. After looking into fixing the issue and seeing all of the complaints about this very same issue with the Pontiac G6 and learning that GM has done nothing about it...I am wondering how much money they will have to pay when someone sues them because of a fatal accident that was caused by a known issue. This power steering issue was also a problem on the Pontiac G5 according to reports and the G5 has been recalled. Is it going to take multiple fatalities for this car to be recalled" I can only pray that this does not happen to me or anyone else for that matter. It is obvious how dangerous this issue can be when you are driving and the car just does this out of nowhere. Then when you get in the car to show someone else it does not do it. A person can never predict when this might happen as there are no warnings or symptoms before it happens all the time. Dangerous and life threatening. I will not let my child ride in this car anymore because of this problem. I bought this car because it was not foreign and I want to support products made in the usa. Next time I will think twice about that especially if my life will be in danger everytime I get into the car. GM you really need to do right by your consumers and recall this car before multiple lives are taken or changed forever because of permanent injuries due to a malfunctioning of the car. This is one of the scariest feelings ever not knowing when the power steering will go out. Where will I be next time and will I be able to turn the car or get off the road before getting into an accident"

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #362

Apr 122010

G6

  • miles
My wife was driving her 2006 Pontiac G6 that we brought from a GM lot and was GM certified. The car's power steering suddenly locked up and she could not turn the wheel. Luckily she was near our home and made it back ok. When I went out to check out the problem I could not find anything for the power steering (apparently it is electrical). After visiting various websites I found that there have been many complaints about this very same issue and that GM is doing nothing about it. People are taking there cars back to the dealers and are being told that there is nothing they can do about it and they end up paying a bundle to get it fixed, only to have it happen again. I find this completely irresponsible and unbelievable on the part of GM concerning this very serious and dangerous matter. There should definitely be a recall on this car. I am not going to pay for someone else's mistake. This needs to be fixed.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #361

Apr 082010

G6

  • 69,000 miles
Event leading up to failure - normal neighborhood driving as well as freeway driving. The failure - power steering locks up how often - intermittent, at least 4 - 6 times per week the consequences - potentially catastrophic! two young children in car, vehicle is virtually undriveable. Luckily, father was/is driving the vehicle and is able to return vehicle to a safe location before noone was hurt. Service department unable to find problem. Safety of entire family is at risk. Single income family, should not be responsible for repairs/continuing to be obligated to paying for car when so many complaints are lodged over the same exact problem, circumstances and failure are identical, etc. A buyback is in order.

- Poland, OH, USA

problem #360

Apr 042010

G6 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
My 2006 Pontiac G6's power steering column is failing, my steering wheel has a mind of its on when its driving down the street, lots of other owners have been having this problem..when will there be a recall"???"

- Austell, GA, USA

problem #359

Apr 022010

G6

  • 45,000 miles
Faulty steering. When your driving it locks up and you have no control of the vehicle. Speed various between time to time when it happens. Has happened on several occasions.if you remove key and restart it goes away then dealer says they cant find problem.but that doesnt help me when my steering locked up and I was going head on a group of kids.dangerous steering!! far worst than the Toyota they recalled.I dont understand why they havent recalled these 2006 Pontiac G6's they are dangerous.I want it fixed! now when I click lock/unlock one of my doors wont work.something electrical.

- Kokomo, IN, USA

problem #358

Mar 252010

G6

  • 69,220 miles
I jut purchased a Pontiac G6 within the last month and when I bought the car I heard a clunk when turning the car and the dealer said it happened because the car had eletric steering. Thje car became very hard to turn the other day in the middle of driving and I became very worried and had to pull over. It stopped but I'm afraid it will happen again. I also noticed many other complaints of this problem from others.

- Struthers, OH, USA

problem #357

Mar 302010

G6

  • 28,000 miles
Power steering failure in 2006 Pontiac

- Wellington, FL, USA

problem #356

Jan 102010

G6

  • 63,000 miles
The electric power assist motor failed on my Pontiac G6. There was no warning until it went out, then it was extremely difficult to steer and a "power steering" warning was displayed on radio. After turning the car off and restarting it, it reset, only to happen again and again. The steering went out about two dozen times in the span of a week before I could make it to the dealership. One time on the interstate I it happened and I almost lost control of the car while going around 60 mph. I had to have the electric power assist motor replaced, and then the entire steering column. So far the fix has worked. Just hope GM does the right thing and recalls all faulty vehicles before someone is seriously hurt or injured as a results of loss of steering.

- Salem, VA, USA

problem #355

Mar 262010

G6

  • 54,000 miles
I bought a 2006 G6, 23,000M, in May 2006. Within three months I was hearing a clicking when I turned the right wheel. I took the car to the dealer (still under warrenty) and they "fixed" the problem. As soon as the warrenty was out, the same noise was back in both wheels. Recently the steering has become stiff when backing out and turning corners. This morning on the way to work in the pouring rain, I thought I was hydroplaining when I realized it was the steering locking! when I got off the interstate the wheel was whobbling as if it was severely out of alignment. I have known about the push for a 2006 G6 recall because of steering problems but until this morning thought I would let others file complaints. Now I'm afraid of my car. Please don't wait until a death happens to recall. It may be that G6 owners only recourse is to seek a class action suite against GM but hopefully my and all the other complaints will let NHTSA realize this issue is serious and GM has failed to address it!!

- Portsmouth, VA, USA

problem #354

Mar 252010

G6

  • 74,000 miles
Hope no young kids are driving 2006 Pontiac G6 when the power steering decides to go out and you nearly wreck and have to pay nearly $800 to fix it. Obviously this is a very common problem that needs recalled or a class action lawsuit!

- Laclede, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?