NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 29 of 48)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
42 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,179 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 29 of 48)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #383

Apr 302010

G6

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a used 2006 Pontiac G6 on April the 3rd, car ran great no signs of any problems, took it to Iowa on April 29th and made good trip up there. The morning of April 30th while driving down the highway at the posted 55mph speed limit, the steering wheel began jerking to the left, getting worse by the second, it then locks up and is almost immovable. Got car to safe place and looked at owners manual to check pump for fluids, was not in area as indicated in manual, as a matter of fact there is no pump at all, it is electric, which the manual says nothing about. Called GM, they set up a tow to nearest Pontiac dealer. On the 3rd of may car was towed to Pontiac dealer. Dealer later called and said it was a faulty GM part. After doing some research online it is apparent that this is a very common problem with the G6, as well as the G5 they have recalled as of March 2010. GM needs to recall this, before someone gets hurt. I am lucky I was not in a heavily populated area and not hurt or hurt someone else. GM didn't want to admit this is a problem but even the dealer said they know there are problems with the electric power steering.

- Springfield, TN, USA

problem #382

May 102010

G6

  • 63,750 miles
I own a 2006 Pontiac G6, while driving the veh all the dash board lights will begin to flash on and off of the veh to include the security, temp and battery lights. The battery light will however stay on, also at this time the message display will begin to display nearly every message that is possible, then while the car is in motion regardless of speed the power steering will go out and stay out for various periods of time. This originally occurred 1 time, we took the veh to the dealership who diagnosed that the alternator would shut down after reaching a certain temp so they replaced it, it was fine about 1 month before beginning to do the same thing this time on a very frequently almost to the point it does it now every time the vehicle is started. I have done alot of research on this issue and have found that there have been quite a few complaints for the same exact issues made to Pontiac/GM by owners of this vehicle and GM seems to be ignoring the problem. I would like this issue addressed before someone dies on the roadway, because if it is not as soon as the incident makes the news you can be assured alot of people will be going to the news saying that this problem has been brought to the attention of GM and the NHTSA.

- Titusville, FL, USA

problem #381

May 062010

G6 6-cyl

  • 69,985 miles
Pontiac G6 2006 loss of power steering assist.

- Portsmouth, VA, USA

problem #380

May 062010

G6

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I just purchased a Pontiac 2006 G6 with less than 26,000miles, on May 5,2010. The next morning on my way to work I started the vehicle and the steering wheel started to rattle and shake. At first I ignored it but then I noticed that I am having problems go from lane to lane smoothly and staying in one lane with forcefully controlling the wheel because the steering wheel would lock on me or it would feel very loose. Something needs to be done about this on going problem on this vehicle. I refuse to pay to fix a problem that is common on Pontiac car similar to this one. I just brought the car less then 24hrs ago and I am already having problems. That is crazy!!!! an investigation is definitely warranted...this is a very serious and could become a fatal problem. Please look into!!!

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #379

Apr 142008

G6

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6 GT. While driving 5 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated followed by a chiming sound. The steering wheel became extremely difficult to maneuver and the contact had to use extreme force in order to drive the vehicle onto the emergency lane. The dealer stated that they needed to perform a diagnostic test on the vehicle to determine what caused the failure to occur. The vehicle was neither repaired nor tested when the complaint was filed. The contact stated that the failure would occur sporadically. The failure mileage was 37,000 and the current mileage was 58,000.

- Dickinson, TX, USA

problem #378

Apr 032010

G6

  • 1,000 miles
The steering wheel turns 90 degrees to the left when creeping in traffic and there is significant clunk noise in the steering at low speeds when turning. This issue has been for the last 4 years of ownership after several trips to the dealer all with no result or fix.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #377

May 032010

G6

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Clunking sound coming from engine compartment when turning.

- North Platte, NE, USA

problem #376

Apr 302010

G6 6-cyl

  • 72,034 miles
My 16 year old daughter was on her way home after a school function. The 2006 pontica G6 power steering locked up completely. She was able to pull over to the side of the road. A male friend was able to drive the car the last 5 miles home with out power steering.

- Commerce, GA, USA

problem #375

Mar 102010

G6

  • 65,400 miles
A few weeks back, my car started flashing "power steering". I was obviously concerned, but was hoping it was just a fluke. Shortly after, it got more and more frequent. Then, one day, I go to leave in my car and notice I have no power steering- awesome. Just as the warnings got more frequent, so did the loss of power steering. I'm a girl and find it near-impossible to drive in these conditions. I called and emailed Pontiac only to find out there is "no current recall" on this issue. I find that extremely hard to believe when there was one on their G5 and on the cobalts. After a short time on google, it's quite apparent that I'm not the only one with this issue. I read one woman's complaint where she stated it began going out while she was driving- if this happens to me, I don't know how I'll be able to handle it...

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #374

Dec 192009

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated while driving at speeds of 25 mph, the power steering failed. The contact spoke with the manufacturer who advised there were no recalls on the power steering for the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was 33,000 and the failure mileage was 29,000. Updated 06/29/10 updated 07/14/10

- Highland, IN, USA

problem #373

Apr 282010

G6

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 G6 steering clunking when I turn.

- Fayetteville, TN, USA

problem #372

Apr 142008

G6

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated when attempting a right turn, the power steering assist would fail making it extremely difficult to turn. The failure would not occur when attempting a right turn however there was an unusual pop in the steering column when attempting either turn. The vehicle had not been inspected by the dealer at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 60,000. The VIN was not available.

- Florence, MS, USA

problem #371

Jan 012010

G6 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
2006 Pontiac G6 front end pops when turning left or right. This happened at 10,000 miles. The rack and pinion was replaced at the dealer while the car was under warranty, however, it started popping again at 50,000 and now there is no longer a warranty on the vehicle. The pop or clunk happens every time the car is turned at a low speed either left or right. The steering wheel also vibrates very bad when hitting the brakes at a high speed. Message boards are burning up with angry Pontiac G6 owners who have front end issues.

- Saint Joseph, MO, USA

problem #370

Sep 162008

G6

  • miles
Power steering on 2006 Pontiac G6 doest work the repair was too costly and I am 81 years old and cannot afford to fix it and the dealership said not covered under warranty there should be a recall there are too many complaints and this dangerous for anyone.

- Bassett, VA, USA

problem #369

Apr 202010

G6 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated while driving at speeds of 30 mph, the power steering warning light flashed on the warning console immediately followed by a loss of power steering abilities. The consumers husband was unable to maintain control of the vehicle and drove over a curb. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic awaiting a diagnosis of the failure. The contact stated she observed numerous complaints on the internet pertaining to the loss of power steering in her same year, make and model vehicle. The contact believed the failure to be a safety-related defect that existed in her vehicle. The failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 11/03/10 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired at her son's expense. Updated 11/04/10

- Valmeyer, IL, USA

problem #368

Mar 252010

G6 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
2006 Pontiac G6 rides great when on smooth roads. Just bought the car 1.5 months ago but when going down dirt roads it tends to pull you any way the road is going. Like if there are small ruts it seems to yank you all over the road and I have been reading and seen that this is a know problem in the steering wheel with the telescoping adjustment. Would like something done about this I am only 19 yrs old just finished college and bought this car don't have the money to be fixing things that shouldn't be broken.

- Conneautville, PA, USA

problem #367

Apr 162010

G6

  • 26,800 miles
Loss of control due to power steering failure dealer reprogrammed computer for temporary remedy.

- Dixon, IL, USA

problem #366

Apr 152010

G6 6-cyl

  • 34,350 miles
The power steering warning has appeared on my 2006 Pontiac G6, several times over the last 2 months, but at first I experienced no problems with the power steering itself. We took it in to the dealership to have it looked at, and they assured us that nothing was wrong with the power steering, it was probably just an electrical sensor issue. The warning continued to come on at random times, and would go away when I turned the car off and restarted it. On 4/15/10, as I was sitting at a stop sign with my 2 small children in the backseat, the power steering warning came on and then when I went to make a right turn, I immediately noticed that I had no power steering. I was then stuck in the middle of the road, and luckily was able to pull into a parking lot before I was struck by oncoming traffic. I turned the car off, and then restarted it, and the power steering was fine. I drove the car home, and we have not drove it since, for fear of similar problems. After talking to my dealership, they stated that we would probably have to put in a new steering column, which would cost around $800. I was extremely surprised after researching on the internet to find that many other 2006 Pontiac G6 owners have experienced the same problem, and that many have replaced the steering column and still continued to have problems. I wanted to bring this to your attention because I feel that the Pontiac G6 should be recalled to correct the power steering issues.

- Muncie, IN, USA

problem #365

Apr 162010

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
I own a 2006 Pontiac G6 and have had the steering lock up on me a few times. I took the vehicle to a GM dealer and was informed that the steering gear was bad. Car was still under warranty at that time so I paid the deductible and had them replace the steering gear. About three months later the steering is making the same popping noise and continues to get worse. The car is no longer under warranty and I am unable to afford the $1400 dollar estimate to replace a second time. The steering has not locked up again just yet, but every day I drive I anticipate it to happen soon.

- Gardner, KS, USA

problem #364

Feb 012010

G6

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated the steering wheel would shake excessively when traveling at speeds of 50 mph or less. The air bag and power steering warning lights were illuminated on the warning panel intermittently. The manufacturer advised there were no recalls on the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the repairs were made to the power steering component. The failure persisted. The vehicle had not yet been to the dealer for a diagnostic for the air bag. The failure mileage was 83,000 and the current mileage was 88,000.

- Mission, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?