Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 32 of 47)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
40 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,550 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 32 of 47)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #313

Feb 232010

G6

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power steering would just go out on me. I would lose the ability to turn easily. I could still do it, it was just very hard. The power steering warning would pop up on my radio and with a dinging sound as soon as the power steering went out. If I turned my car off then back on, it would reset itself and I could steer again. After a couple of months of that, it finally got to the point where even if I turned my car off to reset it, it would go out again immediately. I had to take it to a dealership to get the whole steering column replaced. That cost me $750.10.

- Imperial, MO, USA

problem #312

Jan 012010

G6 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
My 2006 Pontiac G6 has had steering problems since I purchased it new and now there is a more serious one that occurred around 40K miles. The power steering stops working. It has quit while in a parking lot and making turns. I am scared the problem is going to get worse. I don't seem to be the only one having this problem.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #311

Jan 012010

G6

  • miles
I own a Pontiac G6, 2006. I bought it a year and 4 months ago. I thought it was one of the best cars ever! looked cute, drives really nice. Until a month ago when the dash would alert me "power steering". so, of course I went out to buy some power steering fluid, after searching countlessly I then found out there is none. It is all electrical, which in all honestly is the stupidest thing I have ever heard. But hey, what a great way to make some big bucks when it goes out. I was backing up one night after work, and my power steering went out. I ended up backing into a car because I couldn't control the steering! now everyday, "power steering" alerts me a couple times while I drive. I just wonder if its going to go out again. I also wonder if it will take someone's life. Today GM issued a recall on Pontiac G5's and Chevy cobalts power steering columns, I couldn't believe they did not recall one on the G6. I am truly angry about this, and without a doubt will never by a car from GM again. Thanks :)

- Hudson, WI, USA

problem #310

Feb 252010

G6 6-cyl

  • 113,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife was driving her 2006 G6 Pontiac home one week ago. While driving about 65 miles per hour down the highway, the car gave 3 chimes and then not a second later the power steering all at once quit, dragging her off the shoulder I was following her home and we traded cars. I own a 1989 Jeep with 33inch tires and manual steering, and the Pontiac steering was about twice as hard for me to steer as the Jeep is!! we are very lucky she retained control of that car!!! this issue has been under investigation for some time and now G.M. decided to do a recall on some of these units. When is the NHTSA going to do something?? I just got the car back from the shop where the entire steering column\steering motor had to be replaced. It cost $700 and could of cost me much more. This is our third Pontiac, all had big issues and the car company did nothing to address them. No more G.M. cars for us.....

- Silver City, NM, USA

problem #309

Jan 032010

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving 25 mph the power steering light flashed on the dashboard and the power steering malfunctioned. The contact had to shut off the vehicle and restart it to reset the power steering. The contact has not taken the vehicle to the dealer. The failure could have caused a crash to occur. The failure mileage was 48,000. Updated 04/20/10

- Baton Rauge, LA, USA

problem #308

Feb 012010

G6

  • 55,000 miles
Random, intermittent failure of power steering. Steering gets extremely difficult without warning. This loss of power steering has happened numerous times since ownership, including the power steering dashboard light coming on intermittently. Dealer has never been able to duplicate condition.

- Perkasie, PA, USA

problem #307

Jan 252010

G6 6-cyl

  • 54,511 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving 5 mph the power steering wheel light came on and the steering wheel locked, once the engine was shut off and turned back on the vehicle functioned normally. The diagnostic code was S150. The failure has occurred 3 additional times. The failure mileage was 54,511 and the current mileage was 55,000. Updated 07/07/10.

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #306

Feb 282010

G6

  • 78,000 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) I have a 2006 Pontiac G6 and the steering is very unsafe. If you turn the vehicle left the steering is very touchy and turn to the right and it is like you have no power steering. The car turns to the left while you are sitting at stop lights or just not moving. The car is very unsafe and needs to be recalled. [xxx]

- Irvine, KY, USA

problem #305

Jan 122010

G6 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
Just this past winter I have had several problems with the power steering on my 2006 Pontiac G6. I have had on 2 occasions my center display ding with a warning that stated "power steering". when I try to turn my car it is extremely difficult. I have been notified of the other Pontiac vehicles that are under recall and I implore you that you also issue it for the Pontiac G6 as well. I am afraid to drive my car and the power steering motor giving out. I have read on blogs about other G6 owners who have had the same problem.

- Oak Lawn, IL, USA

problem #304

Oct 012009

G6

  • 67,000 miles
I bought this car in August of 2009. Within two months of owning it the power steering went out while driving. The power steering system will go out while in the middle of turns and is very difficult to continue in turn, making this a very dangerous situation. This failure happens every day. I can no longer drive with my grandchildren in the car because of the danger it presents. I know there have been many complaints about this, and today I was quite disappointed to see that my 2006 G6 was not on the recall list. How can you leave off a car that has the same problem as the ones being recalled? the previous investigation states it was due to insufficient manufacturing. Protect the consumer, and do the right thing here.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #303

Nov 162009

G6 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While the contact was driving 50 mph the contact noticed that the power steering light appeared on the dashboard, moments later the vehicle no longer had power steering. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 90000. Updated 04/13/10. Updated 09/21/10

- Ralgieh, NC, USA

problem #302

Jan 172010

G6 6-cyl

  • 51,345 miles
The power steering in our Pontiac G6 keeps going out while driving. This happens usually while turning, parking or going at a slower pace. It has taken me off the road and made me stop in the middle of streets to turn my car off and restart it.

- Lemoore, CA, USA

problem #301

Feb 062010

G6 6-cyl

  • 58,500 miles
I own a 2006 Pontiac G-6 that is having the power steering problems when driven a very slow speeds--this doesn't occur at all times but I am concerned that it is the auto was not included in the recent GM recall.

- Hot Springs , AR, USA

problem #300

Feb 272010

G6 6-cyl

  • 71,072 miles
2006 Pontiac G6 power steering failure has occurred multiple times. Twice while I was in rush hour traffic taking my kids to school and occurred as I was turning and was in the middle of the intersection. Even with my teenage son and I we could barely get the car turned and out of the intersection. I took the car to a GM dealer and they said my power steering motor had gone out and after almost $800 had it replaced. The dealer kept the faulty part. I was also told that Pontiac had issued an extended warranty however it only went through 70,000 miles and at the time of my service I had 70,107 miles and it could not be fixed under the warrant. Since that repair I still experience the same problems usually when it is cold outside and when making left turns. If you are able to pull over and turn the car off and then restart the power steering usually returns however there are many times it is not possible to pull over and out of traffic. With the recall on the Pontiac G5 it seems GM knows of a power steering problem and the G6 should be included also.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #299

Nov 182009

G6 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Power steering has gone out in our 2006 Pontiac G6 three times now. Once while driving under 25 mph and twice while parked in a parking lot. It happens about once a week. You hear dinging and the display reads "power steering" the wheel becomes almost impossible to turn. The only way we have found to make it go away is to park the car and turn it on and off. We have not had the money to take it to the dealer to see if the problem can be corrected.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #298

Jan 102010

G6

  • 53,000 miles
Intermittent power steering failure on 2006 pont G6. After restarting car power steering resumes.

- West Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #297

May 162009

G6 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Power steering failed on my 2006 Pontiac G6 gtp numerous times including after having parts replaced at the dealership about this problem more than once before. Steering wheel loses it's power ability but still functions. It has happened on and off and caused a small fender bender as I was not expecting it to fail.

- Ancaster, 00, USA

problem #296

Jul 122009

G6

  • 37,000 miles
Power steering failure,1 to 3 times daily, this happens without warning, rear brake light do not work right there is a recall on this problem but I do not fall under the right VIN number, these have been a problem since I bought (with no warranty)this car, and these problems have been occurring since July of 2009 this car was bought in may of 2009.

- Guysbrough County, 00, USA

problem #295

Jun 082008

G6

  • 60,000 miles
My power steering has been randomly going out in my car for about 2 years. I have not had the money to fix it so I have been waiting for GM to recall it. This is a serious issue that needs to be addressed.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #294

Feb 272010

G6

  • 1,000 miles
I have a '06 G6 gtp sedan, and my son has a '06 G6 gtp coupe. We have both experienced problems as described by others-clunking, clinking at parking speed. GM has known about this problem, and yet has refused to act on a solution at the dealer level. Data suggests no fatalities, = lack of action. Driving skill from my fellow Pontiac friends, thankfully saved them. Please, please help us, ,,,,

- Birmingham, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?