Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 34 of 47)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
40 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,550 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 34 of 47)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #273

Jan 282010

G6

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car is a Pontiac G6 2006, and I purchased it in October of 2006. My power steering started going out about 2 times a week for the past 6 months. Once I turn the car off and back on it works ok. Now it happens also while driving, or sitting idle. I'll feel the wheel stiffen. Luckily this has happened while I've been at a red light. This is a very major safety hazard.

- Cleveland Hts, HI, USA

problem #272

Dec 182009

G6

  • 56,000 miles
I am hearing a clunking noise from the steering as I am turning. This has been in the shop 3 prior times for the same problem and it keeps returning. My warranty expired at 40000 miles and I now have 56000 miles. I feel this is a safety issue as it continues to get louder and worse the longer it is left unrepaired. So far only temporary fixes have been done by dealer. I believe this problem is the intermediary steering shaft. I have none of the parts and the dealer has managed to fix it 3 different ways, probably to avoid a recall issue.

- Columbiaville, MI, USA

problem #271

Jan 272010

G6

  • 90,000 miles
Vehicle is a 2006 Pontiac G6 GT, driving at any speed a warning messages comes on the radio about the power steering, then a chime alerts you like a door chime. After words the power steering assist goes out and the driver loses all control to steer the car basically the car is unmanagable to steer safely. When the car is able to be steered it pulls hard to one direction and is very shaky. This has occurred 3 times in the last 2 days resulting in not being able to drive the vehicle. No repairs have been made yet to the vehicle, I have made an appointment on 2/1/2010 for service at a Pontiac dealer. I called GM and opened a claim about this problem as well. No crash or injuries were involved with these incidents but I feel that there is a high risk of crash or injuries with this situation.

- Barnegat, NJ, USA

problem #270

Jan 262010

G6

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering light came on and immediately was unable to steer car. Almost hit a car. Has happened on two separate occasions.

- Slocomb, AL, USA

problem #269

Dec 032009

G6

  • 90,000 miles
I have a 2006 Pontiac G6 when starting the car the power steering light comes on and when driving the car the steering wheel shakes violently I have been reading consumer reports and what I have found is scary the prob doesn't get any better I was told I needed to replace the steering column but several people said the prob returns after 3 to 6 months I have also read that the steering can go out while driving the car leaving you helpless in this death trap I fear since I am a woman that if this does happen I fear for my safety.

- Lodi, CA, USA

problem #268

Mar 302007

G6

  • 15,000 miles
2006 Pontiac G6 GT - power steering keeps going out. Car clunks when turning, on highway shakes and is very hard to turn. Fear for my safety and my husband's and children that ride in car safety. Been happening since I got the car in 2007.

- Braselton, GA, USA

problem #267

Jan 222010

G6

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Pontiac G6 GT June 1, 2009: At 19,000 miles the power steering light came on. Took it to the dealer - they replaced the steering column. January 22, 2010: At 35,000 miles, steering column rattles and clunks. Dealer said needs lube kit. Warranty is expired (in years, not miles) so repair isn't covered. Have read numerous other people with similar problem - lube does not resolve the issue. Furthermore, if the steering column is only 6 months old, why would it need to be lubed already? this is a potentially dangerous situation. Whatever is rattling around in the steering column is not doing so for lack of lubrication! this is a fire hazard and loss of steering hazard that needs to be addressed by GM asap. The cost of recall repairs will be far less than the cost of a class action lawsuit and/or wrongful death and medical bills. Not to mention the damage to their reputation. Go to pontiacproblems.com to see numerous other similar complaints.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #266

Jan 182010

G6

  • 81,564 miles
I have a Pontiac G6 2006 and the electric power steering light keeps coming on and it is getting harder to steer I am a single mother of 3 and this a problem and a safety hazard for people please recall and fix.

- Coulee Dam , WA, USA

problem #265

Jan 052010

G6

  • 47,000 miles
I have a G6 and it has a major power steering problem and it has gotten to the point I wont even drive the car anymore. You can be driving and it will pull you off the road or into oncoming traffic I almost went into the creek and that is when I parked it. I just wonder how many ppl has to be hurt before they recall these cars. Im basically making a payment on something I cant even drive. I have had to replace the seatbelt sensor and the idle arm and I cant plug in the cell phone charger because it blows the fuses every time I do. And there has been times that when I went to put the car in park I would not go I would have to turn off the key, restart the car and then put it in park. I would advise ppl not to buy these cars. They are a hazard and not safe at all. They are just a money pit and an accident waiting to happen.

- Chapmanville, WV, USA

problem #264

Jan 132007

G6

  • 54,000 miles
I have a 2006 Pontiac G6. Today I drove to the store and back aprox. 10 miles. While driving home I noticed going around a curve that I could not turn the wheel. A few moments later the car dings and the clock says power steering. If frustrates me that GM does not think this a safety issue. Also the vehicle does not alarm until after the power steering goes out. A little advanced warning would be nice. I have 3 kids and this is our only vehicle. I don't have 1000 to fix it. Would a GM executive like to come and take their kids to school in my car that is considered safe? I think not.

- Tiffin, OH, USA

problem #263

Jan 042010

G6 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Pontiac G6 3.5 V-6 52,000 miles. Electric power steering motor suddenly went bad, hard to steer vehicle, loss of control without serious effort. 2005 G6 were provided with extended warrant on this issue. Still a problem in 2006 model with no assistance from GM. Had a certified GM warranty that does not do anything in area of steering coverage. Spent $556 out of pocket to replace electric motor. I could not drive it as it was.

- Port Sanilac, MI, USA

problem #262

Oct 122009

G6

  • 65,000 miles
The Pontiac G6 power steering will inadvertently shut down when pulling into oncoming traffic.

- Winchester, KY, USA

problem #261

Jan 062010

G6

  • 66,000 miles
Power steering on 2006 Pontiac G6 is faulty. When making a 90 degree turn, the power steering will fail and turn off. Since it is electric power steering, you need to turn off the vehicle and re-start it to get the power steering to re-engage. Also, when driving the steering feels very loose when turning left and very tight when turning right to the point that it is sometimes hard to control when traveling on the highway. To my knowledge, this is a known issue with Pontiac/GM and nothing has been done to correct it.

- Rockton, IL, USA

problem #260

Dec 142009

G6

  • 29,000 miles
Steering wheel started shaking badly in my hands making it difficult to maintain direction. Took it in to dealer and he replaced the power steering motor. Car had slightly more than 29,000 miles on it. Cost of repair: Just over $500.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #259

Dec 232009

G6

  • 58,800 miles
On December 23, 2009 the power steering light flashed on the information center. Not long after, the power steering failed to work. The power steering failed as we were making a turn, and it caused us to nearly hit another vehicle and cause an accident. We pulled into the nearest parking lot, turned the engine off, and then restarted the car. When we restarted the car, the power steering began to work again; however, the power steering light came on another two times that day. Since then, we have parked our vehicle, and have not drove it since. We researched this problem on the internet and have found numerous complaints of the same problem, and some of those complaints reported the power steering loss to cause accidents. It would be a shame to have one or multiple deaths over this issue, and it is a problem that needs to be remedied as soon as possible. Upon researching your website, we found a NHTSA action number PE07023 for a defect investigation pertaining to this problem due to an insufficient crimp in the steering column, but it only covered the 2005 model, not the 2006. About the beginning of 2009, the rack and pinion was replaced, and later a lubrication unit was added soon after that repair. However, since the power steering became faulty, we have not made an current repairs.

- Brimley, MI, USA

problem #258

Dec 282009

G6

  • 77,109 miles
2006 Pontiac G6 power steering becomes hard to turn. It is hard to control and happens at almost anytime. What happens if it locks up while going 65 with my two kids in the car. Warranty has expired and GM wouldn't fix it anyway. Also a loud clunking noise has started in the front of the car.

- Stillman Valley, IL, USA

problem #257

Dec 272009

G6 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
2006 Pontiac G6, V6 engine. 73,000 miles. Power steering problems. I was backing out of the driveway and the power steering went out, a light came on the dash that said "power steering". I pulled back into the driveway, turned off my car, restarted it, then it worked. The next time I used my car I was traveling on the highway, at a stop light, my steering wheel started to shake, then the power steering went out, again the light on the dash said "power steering". I turned off my car and restarted it, it was fine, I made it to the next stop light and the same thing happened. This happened a total of four times before I made it to a pep boys auto store, turned off my car, looked at the drivers manual where it showed a picture of the power steering cap and another picture of where it was located under the hood. I went inside purchased a bottle of power steering fluid, came back out, lifted the hood of my 2006 Pontiac G6 and couldn't find the power steering fluid reservoir. I asked for help, the gentleman who help me looked for this power steering reservoir, couldn't find it and advised that I take it to the dealer.

- Mendota Heights, MN, USA

problem #256

Dec 262006

G6

  • 79,000 miles
2006 Pontiac G6 makes a clicking noise coming from steering column when turning. Power steering light then flashes and locks up, causing total loss of control in steering the vehicle in the snow.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #255

Dec 202009

G6

  • 52,000 miles
Power steering locks up. It occurs almost everytime I start my car. I have to restart my car multiple times. Nothing has been done to correct the problem. Car only has 52,000 miles on it.

- Guyton, GA, USA

problem #254

Dec 202009

G6

  • 56,500 miles
During the last 2 days my power steering on my 2006 Pontiac G6 has had intermittent failure. During operation at moderate speeds, (35-45mph) the power steering has failed. In each event I have been able to reintiate the power steering by turning off the ignition and restarting the car. I will be taking it to be repaired as soon as possible, but have doubts that I will be able to get it fixed due to the intermittent failure.

- Fayetteville , NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?