Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 38 of 47)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
41 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,008 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 38 of 47)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #199

Sep 252009

G6

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. no events leading up to the failure of the component. Just regular normal driving day to day commuting. 2. shaky vibrations coming from steering column. Electronic assisted steering. Steering wheel pulls to the left by its self unassisted. Talked to mechanics and no one can find out why its doing it. Or even how on earth they can fix it without anything else being wrong. So the problem is still present with no fix in sight? 3. no parts have been replaced just talked with the dealership and mechanics staying in touch hoping that nothing worse happens.

- Willmar, MN, USA

problem #198

Sep 242009

G6

  • 83,000 miles
I was driving down the road in my 2006 Pontiac G6 when all of a sudden the steering went straight and I was unable to turn the wheel. I drifted to the side of the road and looked outside the vehicle as it almost felt like something was prohibiting the wheels from moving. I returned to the car's cabin and restarted the vehicle and everything was fine. This happened again two days later while driving yet again. This is very dangerous and I took it to the dealer right away. They told me it was a steering column failure on a faulty sensor and that I have to replace the entire steering column. I have been looking on the internet and this is not an isolated incident. People are going to die if this is not handled.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #197

Sep 162009

G6

  • miles
For approximately six months the brake lamps have been staying on at times even when the brake pedal is not depressed. The brake lights would go off and on without depressing the brake pedal. Beginning on September 12, 2009 the brake lights stayed al the time. On September 18, 2009 took the vehicle to the GM dealer to correct the problem and the brake pedal position sensor was replaced. Problem was corrected for two days only. Presently the brake lights remain illuminated as soon as the car is started and remains on. Called Pontiac and was told my VIN was not covered by the recall. Also had problems with the loss of power in the electric power steering. This began just after having the vehicle for 7 months. The power steering would loss power randomly. Approximately two or three times a week the power steering would go out. By restarting the engine, the power to the steering would almost always return. A few times the engine had to be restarted several times.

- Ligonier, PA, USA

problem #196

Sep 152009

G6

  • 49,343 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The intermediate steering shaft of my car has gone out twice. The first time was October 2007 and then again in September 2009. The car was taken to the dealer to replace the part.

- Hope Mills, NC, USA

problem #195

Feb 152009

G6

  • 35,000 miles
Clunking sound when accelerating and turning steering wheel. This is the steering shaft that is bad. This was replaced about Oct 2007 and then it went bad again and was replaced in about Dec 2007 and now it is bad again and the Pontiac dealer said they would not replace it again under warranty as the car has about 66000 miles on it. I told them that their is a defect in this part but they did not want to hear it.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #194

Sep 182009

G6

  • 66,000 miles
Upon making a left turn at about 5 mph, the power steering light on my car illuminated and I had to use both hands to maintain control of the car. The steering wheel is very tight and difficult to turn, as well as very shaky at higher speeds.

- Elk Grove Village, IL, USA

problem #193

Sep 172009

G6

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering on '06 ponitac G6 gtp is dangerous! steering column stiffens and is at time hard to turn corners. Only 40,000 miles and car in repair shop having to replace power steering pump, reservoir and hoses! why isn't GMC being forced to do a recall? this is not safe!

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #192

May 052009

G6

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that intermittently while driving the power steering warning light illuminated on the instrument panel, then there was a loss of power steering. Difficulty or the inability to steer while driving increased the risk of a vehicle crash. He was in the process of taking the vehicle to the dealer to determine the cause of the failure. The failure mileage was 58,000. The current mileage was 63,000.

- Posen , IL, USA

problem #191

Apr 212009

G6

  • 50,969 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 4 mph on normal road conditions; a chiming noise sounded inside the vehicle. The "power steering" warning light indicator illuminated on the instrument panel; suddenly, there was a loss of power steering. The driver experienced extreme difficulty maneuvering the steering wheel. The warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The contact was able to turn the vehicle off, restart it, and continue driving with caution. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection and the failure was contributed to a faulty power steering assembly module. The vehicle was repaired for the malfunction at the cost of $734.25. In addition, there were failures with the steering column sensor and the front driver side door latch sensor. The vehicle has not been repaired for these malfunctions at this time. The failure mileage was 50,969 and the current mileage was 54,000.

- West Linn, OR, USA

problem #190

Sep 062006

G6

  • 91,500 miles
Failure of power steering assist while driving on interstate.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

problem #189

Sep 102009

G6

  • 59,894 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife's 2006 Pontiac G6 steering locks or loss of power steering during driving. Started approx. 2 weeks ago intermittently, turning car off and restarting resolves the issue temporarily. She is now scared to drive it due to when it happens, she is unable to turn the wheel. Research shows this is a common issue on the G6 model, and I am currently working with Pontiac to get it resolved. They have stated that this issue is not currently in their database, but I should get it analyzed and then they will see if it is covered. The car is out of warranty.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #188

Aug 272009

G6

  • miles
I own a Pontiac G6 and my power steering locks up in the car. It happens now every time I drive it. I actually tapped into a car because I couldn't control the steering. Thank goodness it was only tap - it could have been worse. Why isn't this being recalled?

- Netcong, NJ, USA

problem #187

Sep 092009

G6

  • 48,000 miles
1. issues with steering. Very tight wheel when turning right, extremely loose when turning left. Steering wheel suddenly wobbles, like you have a flat tire - this mostly happens when backing out of a parking space, but I have also encountered it when driving normally, down the road. 2. the failure: Power steering warning light came on, and the steering locked up, while I was driving. Thank god I was in a parking lot or I may have caused an accident. I did a little research online, and this is a recurring problem with many 2006 Pontiac G6 owners. 3. taking to dealership - actually trying to work up the nerve to go, as I don't want to cause any accidents.

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #186

Sep 092009

G6

  • 40,000 miles
Power steering goes out about 4 to 5 times a week for about 7 months. Does not only go out at slow speeds but at highway speeds also. When steering goes out it is very hard to steer, and it also jerks. My husband is 6'4" and he pulled a muscle in his back when it went out with him driving to work one morning and I have injured both wrist. These cars are hard to steer regardless of speed. I have 2 children 8 months and 3 years old and have had to fight the car to a stop more than once when they were in the car. I bought this G6 car used 1 year ago in Aug.2008. This started as a once an a while problem within a month after I purchased the car. Now it happens on a daily basis. Three different dealerships said that they had not heard of this problem, and will do nothing not even try to diagnose it. But they have to know its all over the internet. This is a very serious problem that needs to be dealt with. Even if GM claims this only happens at slow speeds in parking lots and drive ways what about the people including children around these cars. This is not only a safety risk to the drivers of these cars but other drivers and pedestrians around them. Its like a car in motion with out a driver! drive car as little as possible not even to work as I catch a ride with my mom. I have given you the last date incident has happened as of this complaint below.

- Chapel Hill, TN, USA

problem #185

Feb 252009

G6

  • 41,300 miles
On many occasions will I be driving my 2006 Pontiac G6 when the electric power steering goes out. It is not like your normal "fluid" based power steering failure. It is almost impossible to "man handle". this occurs probably on a daily basis now and the only way to solve the problem is stop the car, power off and restart. Problem being of course stopping the car in mid drive when you suddenly lose control. I have researched this issue and have found many, many other people with the same issues. Many of them have actually been in accidents because of the failure, so far I am lucky knock on wood. I haven't pursued a simple fix at the dealer with this because of seeing how the issue is not being resolved for others with the same problem.

- Pulaski, VA, USA

problem #184

Aug 212009

G6

  • 41,000 miles
2006 Pontiac G6.power steering went out almost causing an accident.took vehicle to shop and steering column and electronic power steering assist motor have to be replaced. Cost $1200. Garage made statement they are repairing many G6's with the same issues.there are also complaints all over the internet. Very dangerous and there should be a recall.vehicle only had 41,000 miles.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #183

Jul 282009

G6

  • 63,395 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. When the contact started the vehicle, the power steering would not function properly. The steering wheel was difficult to maneuver. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 63395.

- Maffillon, OH, USA

problem #182

Aug 252007

G6

  • 37,000 miles
Power steering went completely out as a was turning a corner and has not came back on since...in repair shop now waiting on estimate of repair cost.

- Hobart, IN, USA

problem #181

Jul 242009

G6

  • 27,000 miles
Power steering problems with 2006 pontac G6. It difficult for a mechanic to detect because once the car is turned off the steering reset. I was driving down the highway an my steering locked. I could have caused a major accident. I freaked out.

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #180

Apr 012009

G6

  • 34,000 miles
I have a 2006 Pontiac G6 and the powersteering stops working sometimes. It just locks up and you cant move it at all. This usually happens at lower speeds but if it happened on the freeway or something it would not be so easy to control. You can not move the wheel at all when this happens. This needs to be recalled, I can not believe that GM has not gotten sued over this. I have seen hundreds of people on forums that have had the same problem as me. How many people are going to have to die for a recall to go into effect.

- Canal Winchester, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?