NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 4 of 48)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
42 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,179 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 48)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #883

Nov 022014

G6

  • 139,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While in reverse, the power steering seized and the vehicle crashed into a pole. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The dealer diagnosed that the torque sensor assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 139,000.

- Lawrenceville, IL, USA

problem #882

Jun 082006

G6

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving various speeds, a clanking noise emitted from the steering column. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column yokes failed and the steering shaft would need to be replaced. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14E044000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000.

- Hawthorne, NJ, USA

problem #881

Jun 102015

G6

  • 102,570 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The vehicle was taken to the dealer in July of 2014 to be repaired for NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). In may of 2015, the vehicle was taken to the dealer to be repaired for NHTSA campaign number: 15V064000 (steering). The contact stated that both recall repairs failed on the vehicle and the steering wheel was completely locked up. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, but not repaired because the dealer would not inspect the vehicle and repair it again. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was informed that the vehicle would not be repaired because the mileage was too high. The failure mileage was 102,570.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #880

May 162015

G6

  • 137,070 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While making a right turn at 55 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was serviced under NHTSA campaign number:14V153000 (steering). The failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 137,070.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #879

May 072015

G6

  • miles
Message displayed on dic stating "power steering". a few days later it went out while driving making it incredibly difficult to turn at lower speeds.

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #878

Apr 242015

G6

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving at 20 mph, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 59,000.

- Mogadore , OH, USA

problem #877

Apr 222015

G6 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The steering wheel will not lock in place. It moves up and down even while driving. It also does not sit evenly in the steering column well.

- North Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #876

Feb 142013

G6

  • 122,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the power steering failed. The steering became difficult to maneuver and a humming sound emitted from the steering column. The contact stated that the key became stuck in the ignition switch and the vehicle stalled. In addition, the contact stated that the transmission slipped and the vehicle accelerated while in first and second gear. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The failure mileage was 122,000.

- Radcliff, KY, USA

problem #875

Apr 032015

G6 6-cyl

  • 93,100 miles
When driving it would lock to turn and it would also shake.

- Bronx , NY, USA

problem #874

Jul 172014

G6 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
When going around a curve it is like it loses traction and pulls to the left real bad or going over railroad tracks it has new struts and been aligned three times and two set of new tires and new bearings and tie rods and still haven't fix it.

- Mt. Carmel, IL, USA

problem #873

Aug 202014

G6

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving at a low speed, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to turn the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and a dealer who both diagnosed that the steering column assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired by the mechanic. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V064000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 71,000. Updated 7/29/15

- North Massapequa, NY, USA

problem #872

Jan 012009

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 146,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle jerked and jolted across the highway. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the rack and pinion failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred on two other occasions and was repaired both times. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 146,000. Updated 4/29/15

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #871

Jun 012014

G6

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving at various speeds, the steering wheel seized and an unknown warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, where it was diagnosed that the steering module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 4/22/15

- Efland, NC, USA

problem #870

Jan 022015

G6 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
The car lost power steering and was virtually incapable of driving. This only occurs when trying to park or driving at very low speeds. I was unable to parallel park and as a result it took over 30 minutes of effort to try and get my car correctly into the spot. I had to keep shutting the car off and turning it back on to try and get the wheel to turn. This would only briefly fix the steering for a matter of seconds and was still hard to turn during those seconds. Eventually, I just gave up and moved my car into a spot that did not require parallel parking. However, this too was an issue to park. I have had this issue numerous times and it posses as a serious safely issue when using the car.

- Union City, NJ, USA

problem #869

Feb 232015

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
Failed or failing power steering recall repair. Power steering light came on last evening (2/23/2015). Vehicle recall alert sent out in June 2014 was repaired by weston once parts were available. Problem was resolved since repair until last evening on drive home from work. Not sure what to do. I have heard it is not positive to alert dealer again as they may charge up to $800-$1000 to replace at worse case scenario the entire steering column. Thank you for your consideration. Updated 4/19/16

- Sandy, OR, USA

problem #868

Sep 162014

G6

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 15 mph, the steering wheel seized causing the contact to crash against a parked vehicle. The power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Freeport, IL, USA

problem #867

Feb 112015

G6

  • miles
I took my vehicle to be inspected by a exxon mechanic and he informed me of one of the recalls on my vehicle (electrical power steering). I contacted the nearest GM dealership in my area requesting information on the recall process. A member of the service team informed me of 3 open recalls on my car. I asked her what are my options. She said the recall parts can be replaced free of charge at their dealership. I asked her if replacing the car or being reimbursement was an option. She said she never heard of that. After her denying if that was even an option she later informed me that getting reimbursed was a lengthy process. I asked her to point me in the right direction. I was given General Motors recall number. I contacted GM and was given the run around after explaining my story to several agents. Finally an agent contacted roadside assistance and the vehicle towed to a dealership. That occurred around 11am. I didn't hear anything from GM or the dealership until 3 pm the next day. When I called the dealership the service guy had no idea what the car was there for. My car was at the dealership for over 24 hours with know contact info or service request. I called [xxx] at GM and they had no idea where my car was. The car was originally supposed to be sent to criswell Chevy dealership. I informed him it was at king Buick GMC. We further discussed what I wanted to come out of this and I let him know I felt unsafe driving the car with power steering and transmission issues. He repeatedly asked if I was sure I wanted to be done with the car. He also said he would try his best to resolve the issue but first I needed to give permission to replace the recall parts when we speak with the dealership in the am. I spoke with the dealership the next morning requesting a loaner vehicle and was told I can not get one because my car is out of warranty. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #866

Mar 012014

G6

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving at an unknown speed, the steering wheel seized and excessive force was required to turn the steering wheel. There were no warning lights illuminated. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The dealer stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- New Brighton, MN, USA

problem #865

Nov 082014

G6 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Pontiac G6. Insurance adjuster writes in regards to the insured one vehicle steering accident. Additional correspondence sent. The driver of the vehicle indicated the steering locked up, which caused her to have an accident. The vehicle was declared a total loss.

- Hagerstown, MD, USA

problem #864

Feb 152013

G6

  • miles
Intermediate atearing shaft. 3rd time for replacement! 1st time under warranty. 2nd time had to pay, 3rd time had to pay. This not a cheap part or cheap labor.

- Cobden, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?