Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 4 of 47)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
40 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,550 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 47)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #873

Aug 202014

G6

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving at a low speed, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to turn the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and a dealer who both diagnosed that the steering column assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired by the mechanic. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V064000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 71,000. Updated 7/29/15

- North Massapequa, NY, USA

problem #872

Jan 012009

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 146,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle jerked and jolted across the highway. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the rack and pinion failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred on two other occasions and was repaired both times. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 146,000. Updated 4/29/15

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #871

Jun 012014

G6

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving at various speeds, the steering wheel seized and an unknown warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, where it was diagnosed that the steering module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 4/22/15

- Efland, NC, USA

problem #870

Jan 022015

G6 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car lost power steering and was virtually incapable of driving. This only occurs when trying to park or driving at very low speeds. I was unable to parallel park and as a result it took over 30 minutes of effort to try and get my car correctly into the spot. I had to keep shutting the car off and turning it back on to try and get the wheel to turn. This would only briefly fix the steering for a matter of seconds and was still hard to turn during those seconds. Eventually, I just gave up and moved my car into a spot that did not require parallel parking. However, this too was an issue to park. I have had this issue numerous times and it posses as a serious safely issue when using the car.

- Union City, NJ, USA

problem #869

Feb 232015

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
Failed or failing power steering recall repair. Power steering light came on last evening (2/23/2015). Vehicle recall alert sent out in June 2014 was repaired by weston once parts were available. Problem was resolved since repair until last evening on drive home from work. Not sure what to do. I have heard it is not positive to alert dealer again as they may charge up to $800-$1000 to replace at worse case scenario the entire steering column. Thank you for your consideration. Updated 4/19/16

- Sandy, OR, USA

problem #868

Sep 162014

G6

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 15 mph, the steering wheel seized causing the contact to crash against a parked vehicle. The power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Freeport, IL, USA

problem #867

Feb 112015

G6

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my vehicle to be inspected by a exxon mechanic and he informed me of one of the recalls on my vehicle (electrical power steering). I contacted the nearest GM dealership in my area requesting information on the recall process. A member of the service team informed me of 3 open recalls on my car. I asked her what are my options. She said the recall parts can be replaced free of charge at their dealership. I asked her if replacing the car or being reimbursement was an option. She said she never heard of that. After her denying if that was even an option she later informed me that getting reimbursed was a lengthy process. I asked her to point me in the right direction. I was given General Motors recall number. I contacted GM and was given the run around after explaining my story to several agents. Finally an agent contacted roadside assistance and the vehicle towed to a dealership. That occurred around 11am. I didn't hear anything from GM or the dealership until 3 pm the next day. When I called the dealership the service guy had no idea what the car was there for. My car was at the dealership for over 24 hours with know contact info or service request. I called [xxx] at GM and they had no idea where my car was. The car was originally supposed to be sent to criswell Chevy dealership. I informed him it was at king Buick GMC. We further discussed what I wanted to come out of this and I let him know I felt unsafe driving the car with power steering and transmission issues. He repeatedly asked if I was sure I wanted to be done with the car. He also said he would try his best to resolve the issue but first I needed to give permission to replace the recall parts when we speak with the dealership in the am. I spoke with the dealership the next morning requesting a loaner vehicle and was told I can not get one because my car is out of warranty. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #866

Mar 012014

G6

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving at an unknown speed, the steering wheel seized and excessive force was required to turn the steering wheel. There were no warning lights illuminated. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The dealer stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- New Brighton, MN, USA

problem #865

Nov 082014

G6 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Pontiac G6. Insurance adjuster writes in regards to the insured one vehicle steering accident. Additional correspondence sent. The driver of the vehicle indicated the steering locked up, which caused her to have an accident. The vehicle was declared a total loss.

- Hagerstown, MD, USA

problem #864

Feb 152013

G6

  • miles
Intermediate atearing shaft. 3rd time for replacement! 1st time under warranty. 2nd time had to pay, 3rd time had to pay. This not a cheap part or cheap labor.

- Cobden, IL, USA

problem #863

Feb 072015

G6 4-cyl

  • 68,979 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I attempted to start my car, the steering wheel became stiff, and power steering light came on. I turned the car off and started it a second time. The same thing happened. I waited a few minutes and started it a third time, the steering wheel loosened and the power steering light was off, but the steering wheel started fluttering back and forth.

- Drexel Hill, PA, USA

problem #862

Dec 202013

G6

  • 112,000 miles
Wife was coming home after work and had to pull over due to a malfunction in the steering.she said it was like the car was trying to drive itself and frightened her, giving a power steering alert on the readout. She checked the owners manual and it said the problem was probably low power steering fluid. Don't have pump. It was dark and quite cold, and we decided to leave the car until daylight and deal with it then. The next morning, we went back and the steering seemed fine, so I drove it home.shortly, the steering wheel started jerking lightly to the left. I slowed to around 40mph, and wrestled it home. I tell you, it was freaky. When I got home my hands were cramping from holding on to it so it couldn't jump out of my lane. I called the dealership in bedford, va, had the car towed there. They checked everything, cleared the codes, tightened an electrical connection and couldn't find anything else. We asked if it was safe to drive, they said it is right now, so we drove it home. 3 weeks later coming home from work, she lost power steering altogether, the dealership said our car wasn't in the recall, and while they were sorry, they'd be happy to check it out and give an estimate for the repair. We discussed the recall and how this was very similar. The next day, I started the car and there was a total lack of power steering. I took it to a local garage without power steering to have it checked. (it's nothing like a regular vehicle without power steering. I can see how someone inexperienced could screw up easily). Shop says troubleshooting tells them to replace steering column. Expensive, and for a car the whole family is afraid to drive. I don't trust it either. Same issues, but no recall, and no help. There is a serious issue with their technology, or lack of it. Shouldn't put these weapons in the hands of the public if they're apt to go off on their own.

- Moneta, VA, USA

problem #861

Jan 282015

G6

  • miles
I had 3 recalls fixed on my 2006 Pontiac G6 last week. Less than I week later, my power steering completely stopped working. Luckily, I was in a parking lot at the time it gave out and not driving around lots of other vehicles, as I could barely physically turn the steering wheel. I had to turn the car off and call for help, as there was no way I could even drive to a dealership or anywhere for help.

- Kewaskum, WI, USA

problem #860

Jan 292015

G6

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while making a turn, the power steering warning light illuminated. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to an unknown location where it was diagnosed that power steering sensor failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Rimersburg, PA, USA

problem #859

Jan 282015

G6

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 15 mph, the steering wheel seized. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed with a failed sensor on the steering column that needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14E044000 (steering). The failure mileage was 57,000.

- Rimersburg, PA, USA

problem #858

Jan 192015

G6

  • 121,000 miles
The power steering is going out on the vehicle. The vehicle becomes hard to steer at times and I already replaced the tire rod ends. Something need to be done about this year of vehicle.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #857

Aug 152012

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while making a complete stop at the traffic light, the steering wheel seized as the power steering warning light illuminated. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed but not repaired. The diagnostic testing results were unknown. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 170,000. Updated 04/06/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 11/3/15

- Hugo, OK, USA

problem #856

Jan 232015

G6

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that after the vehicle was started, the steering wheel seized and became very difficult to turn. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #855

Dec 272014

G6 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving at various speeds, when attempting to make a left or right turn, an abnormal noise emitted from the steering wheel. The contact stated that the vehicle veered to the right causing the contact to lose control. The vehicle went into an embankment and crashed into several trees. The air bags deployed. The contact sustained injuries to the neck and back which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The approximate failure mileage was 140,000. Updated 03/24/15 updated 10/15/15

- Hardin , KY, USA

problem #854

Nov 012012

G6 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
The electric power assist system fails intermittently.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?