Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 8 of 47) Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
38 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
16 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,314 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 8 of 47)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #787

Dec 182013


  • miles


Lost power steering completely. Thank goodness I was driving instead of my wife. I was able to make it home and took it immediately to have it fixed by a certified GM dealer. I contacted GM directly and was told there was no recall on this VIN. After another call, I was told that there were upcoming recalls for this year model and that I would be receiving a reimbursement form in April of 2014, which I never received. Upon multiple calls, I was told that I would be contacted by my local GM dealer who also told me there were no recalls on this VIN.I should be reimbursed for fixing an issue that should be under recall. GM is using some very shady business practices........and all of this after having it taken to the dealership six months earlier for a total electrical malfunction, which should have already been recalled as well....

- Bigelow, AR, USA

problem #786

May 072008

G6 6-cyl

  • miles
My G6 just keeps having issues. I don't drive it a lot so I do not have a lot of miles on it for being a 2006 so some of the issue with the car like the windshield wipers not working all the time have just come up. I do not think it is do to age of the car; I think they should still fix any defects with the car. I love Pontiac's I had a sunfire before this. I have never receive any recalls on this car in the mail from GM from the first day I purchased it in January 2007. I have taken it to dealership and they fix most of the problems like the sun roof leak I had to take four or five times I loss count. What they should do is give some credit on buying a new one and scrape the old ones. I paid cash for this car thinking it would last along time I don't have the money to keep fixing it.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #785

Jun 102014

G6 6-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
Receiving notices from GM about recall #14116 but no dealer has the parts to fix the recall notice. Recall says sudden loss of power steering possible and would like to get repaired. Local dealers have no solution and simply says the mfr. Has not sent the part.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #784

Jul 112007

G6 6-cyl

  • 125 miles


Purchased new Pontiac G6 2006 on June 2, 2007, 72 miles. July 2007, problems with cruise control. Contacted reliable Pontiac with problem. Never returned my call. Took it to thompson's placerville, acted like I did not know how to work a cruise control. Continued to have electrical problems throughout the vehicle. Spoke with david O'keef, Pontiac customer service (866) 790-5600, ext 31952, regarding lemon law. I took the vehicle into thompsons on the following dates (there were several more, but I did not receive an invoice from the dealer): 7/11/07; 8/10/07; 10/05/07; 10/8/07; 10/20/07; 11/16/07; 12/12/07; 4/8/08; 4/23/08 5/14/08; 5/16/08; 5/31/08; 11/11/08; throughout 2009 and 2010; 4/28/11; 9/6/11; 9/14/11; 12/9/11; and 12/14/11. Pulled over by chp several times for brake lights being on, but I was not braking, officer stated vehicle too dangerous to be on road. On 9/6/11, a friend referred me to motortrend recalls. Recall date for air bags was 10/31/2006 and exterior lighting: Brake lights 1/30/2009. Steering needed to be replaced in 2009. I was never contacted by GM or reliable Pontiac. Vehicle was a costly, safety hazard through 12/14/11. Still have issues. Extremely inconvenient to keep taking it to the dealer. Now I know why I was being flipped off by other drivers on the road, they thought I was "brake" checking them.

- Placerville, CA, USA

problem #783

Jun 202014


  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 75 mph and attempting to turn, the power steering assist failed. The steering wheel vibrated and was very difficult to turn. In addition, the power steering warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The approximate failure mileage was 118,000.

- Cottage Grove, MN, USA

problem #782

Oct 132010


  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving the steering wheel became difficult to turn and the power steering warning light illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle exhibited the failure included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. In addition, the contact mentioned that while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle decelerated and stalled without warning. Also, the contact mentioned the vehicle experienced the failure in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The rear drivers side brakes lights failed. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph and applying the brakes, the vehicle would shake intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The vehicle was repaired. The failure recurred. The contact also mentioned the engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic. The diagnosis was lack of oxygen in the engine. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000 and the current mileage was 125,000.

- Oswego, IL, USA

problem #781

Jun 042014


  • miles


My steering wheel keeps going out. Clunking and I hear a popping noise. I took it to the GM dealer to find out there's a recall out but my car isn't under the recall. How ironic is it that I am experiencing the same problem that GM put a recall out for it but mine isn't covered. This is [xxx] and im ready to get rid of this piece of [xxx]. I would never recommend this car to anyone. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #780

Jul 092013


  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated while the vehicle was being parked the steering wheel seized and the power steering warning light illuminated. The steering wheel became difficult to turn which made it difficult to drive which caused the contact to crash. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 125,000. The current mileage was 128,000.

- Durango, CO, USA

problem #779

Jun 022014


  • miles
S10 appropriate handling- letter to the secretary from constituent re for information letter regarding three separate issues with Pontiac G6 (power steering, shift cable and wiring corrosion) and lack of solutions from General Motors (GM).

- La Plume, PA, USA

problem #778

Jun 042014


  • 115,332 miles
The power steering low came on the dash board a couple hours later the car wasnt able to turn thiers a recall for this on G6 but say its not my model.

- Austintown , OH, USA

problem #777

Aug 012013

G6 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles


The problem came about slowly at first, but has gotten much worse over the last year even with minimal driving of the vehicle. At first it was hard only turning the wheel to the right when going slow (less than 10mph) as if there was little help from the power steering assist. It progressed to the point now where it is extremely hard to turn the wheel at slow speeds in either direction. It is a serious danger when making left turns across on coming traffic especially.

- East Hampton, CT, USA

problem #776

Jun 042014

G6 6-cyl

  • 108,067 miles
I was attempting to make a left hand turn out of a convenience store. I pulled out onto the roadway and the power steering light game on and the warning bell chimed. My steering wheel locked up and I was unable to turn the steering wheel to the left at all. Luckily there were no vehicles coming. I was able to turn the steering wheel to the right with great effort to then make another right back into the gas station. This has been an ongoing problem, for about two years, but in recent months has increased in severity. I have contacted GM repeatedly and am told time and time again that my car is not affected and should be fine. I have been told that my VIN is not one of the affected VIN numbers.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #775

Jun 032014


  • miles
On several occasion I notice that if you have to turn the steering wheel abruptly the car would began to spin out of control. There was a time when I was driver on the express way and a car pulled in from of me. I had to swerve to avoid getting hit, my car began to spin out of control. I thought was going to die. My son was going to work on 6/3/2014, someone pulled in front of him he swerved to keep from getting hit and again the car began to spin, and spin, and spin out of control he hit the wall several time before stopping, causing the car to be totaled. I would like for this vehicle to be check for defect because I do not feel this should be considered my fault or my son when there was nothing he could do to keep this from happening.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #774

Jun 012014


  • miles
TL- the contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact received a recall letter. The contact stated that while traveling 45 mph when the power steering went out. The power steering light illuminated on the dash board, and there was a dinging noise that sounded throughout the vehicle. The contact drove the vehicle to the side of the road. The vehicle was towed. The vehicle has not been driven since the failure. The manufacturer was contacted and advised them to file a complaint. They further stated that the contacts vehicle was not included in the recent recall, and to file a complaint. The vehicle was not diagnosed. There were no repairs completed on the vehicle. The failure mileage on the vehicle was 95,460 and the current mileage was 95,460.

- Hesterria, CA, USA

problem #773

Mar 012014


  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated the while drove at various speeds, the power steering warning light illuminated however he was able to maintain the steering wheel under control. The dealer advised that the electronic power steering needed to be replaced however the manufacturer advised that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 14V153000 (steering).the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 140,000 and the approximate failure mileage was 143,000.

- Banhart , MO, USA

problem #772

May 282014

G6 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
Reference to:NHTSA id number: 10594629 just locks and "power steering" (no kidding!) comes on the radio w/chime. All or nothing. You can still drive with major arm workout. It can happen while your driving, when you first get in the car and turn the key or even if you leave it warming up and come back out. Right now with me it's like russian roulette everytime I turn the key and even if it starts ok it could happen three times on the way to work or be fine all day.

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #771

May 282014


  • 84,000 miles
I was going around a curb and notice the wheel turning was very difficult. Than I saw that my radio show in red the steering wheel was a problem. It was very hard to turn the wheel in any direction. It was stiff and hard to move. I shut the car off and notice that it was not stiff any more and I could drive the car as normal. Very afraid that it will lock up again. Please help.

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #770

May 202014

G6 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
I was at a complete stop and waiting to turn left onto my road, as I began to turn left the steering wheel locked up and jerked out of my hands back to the right. Luckily there were no oncoming cars at the time. I then came to a stop and turned the car off and back on and the steering returned to normal until I turned into my driveway. I have contacted GM repeatedly by phone and have been told that there is nothing wrong with my power steering B/C my VIN number is not included in any of their recalls. They have not looked at my car and act like they do not believe me when I call. Every issue that has been recalled, I have experienced, so I do not see why mine is not also included. I have completely stopped driving my car all together and feel that the power steering issues are very extreme that they may result in a horrible accident.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #769

May 222014


  • 124,000 miles
Why are the parts for the steering recall for the Pontiac G6 not yet available from GM" how many more crashes must take place? has a class action suit been filed yet on this matter? if so, how do I enter my name into that suit" [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Nanuet, NY, USA

problem #768

Mar 122014


  • 72,126 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the vehicle lost electric power steering without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 72,126 and the current mileage was 72,405.

- Auburn, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?