NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Pontiac G6 (Page 1 of 48)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2006 Pontiac G6 has major problems with two areas fairly critical to the act of driving... steering & safety.

The 2006 G6 has a major defect trend with electronic power-assisted steering failure. The power steering cuts out while driving, making it extremely difficult to steer. G6 owners typically report spending $600 - $1,200+ to fix the problem, replacing either the entire steering column or the power assist motor.

In March 2010, GM recalled 1.3 million vehicles for this exact problem "...after receiving 1,100 complaints of power steering failures." However the 2006 G6 wasn't included in that recall.

In July 2010, GM issued a "Special Coverage Adjustment" — TSB #10183 — covering "certain" (not all) 2005, 2006 & 2008 Pontiac G6's for this power steering issue, up to 10 years/100k miles. However a large number of 2006 G6 owners have reported they were not covered by this campaign, based on VIN#.

As of late 2013 the NHTSA had well over 700 steering complaints on file for the 2006 G6, with 21 crashes & 12 injuries. The NHTSA closed their initial investigation in 2007, having determined that losing your power steering going over 15-20 mph isn't a big deal & that most crashes occurred at slow speeds, so not a safety risk. Ridiculous? Yep, we think so too.

The 2006 G6 also has an expensive problem with "popping" or "clunking" noises when turning, & that issue extends to newer model years as well.

Factor in the 2006 Pontiac G6's poor side impact protection & you end up with a vehicle you should steer clear of.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
42 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,179 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac G6 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 48)

problem #943

Jan 112017

G6

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Four months ago, we experienced difficulty with the power steering. Borcherding Buick service technician told us there is a recall on the power steering column, but, wait until it acts up more and they can fix it. January 11, 2017 the power steering went out completely. The next day we had it towed to the borcherding dealership. They were kind enough to give us a loaner and typed in the repair work. Later that day, we received a phone call stating the, the special coverage is out of parameter because the recall expired 1-31-2015. The item defective was the power steering module, which GM automatically replaced when they replaced the steering column. We feel it is unethical for GM not to stand behind the recall, this is a safety issue! jeff boyer V.P. of vehicle safety in a previous letter stated, "he will make it right". this is obviously a faulty part, and no way could we have prevented this or have been proactive and repaired it. The incident occured as we were leaving a residence, the results could have been deadly!

- Loveland, OH, USA

problem #942

Jan 072016

G6

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving 45 mph and making a left turn, the steering failed without warning. In addition, the contact observed fluid leaking from the vehicle. While pulling off the road, the rear passenger side bumper of the contact's vehicle was struck by another vehicle that fled the scene. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to a dealer and the steering was repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14E044000 (steering). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 110,000.

- Cochranville, PA, USA

problem #941

Jan 062017

G6

  • 120,000 miles
Steering shaft torque sensor was replaced 2014 as part of recall. Now in 2016 it has went defective and GM will not honor warranty. Never had a problem one for the first 8 years I owned this car. Now the steering goes out while I'm leaving a grocery store. I turned off and back on in order to get it back home. Its unsafe to drive and its supposed to cost me, $1400 to remedy?

- Loveland, OH, USA

problem #940

Dec 182016

G6

  • 109,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car was running just fine. All of a sudden on a very rainy night, the car would not catch gear it would take about 5 seconds to run smoothly. About 8 minutes later when I got to the freeway it drove smoothly. The next day after driving the car about 20 minutes it started doing the same thing again, but this time it started burning. I stopped to let it cool and checked all the fluids, everything was ok. I tried to drive my car 10 minutes to make it to my house. While reversing a lot pop happened. I stopped and looked and pink fluid was running down the parking lot. I tried to move the car out the way but the steering wheel was hard to turn. After an hour I was able to take it to a relatives house after refilling the car with power steering fluid. After 2 hours of sitting we tried to take it to my house and as we left the car locked up. The engine ran but the tires were getting no rotation. We were in the middle of the road for about an hour while a mechanic took the brake caliber and brake pads off, so we were able to move the car out the way. I am paying on a car that I have not had for six months and is not working.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #939

Dec 292016

G6

  • 142,000 miles
My car had a previous recall of power steering problems, and that recall was supposively fixed in early 2014. I purchased the car in October 2015, now a little later than a year, I have the exact problems of the recall. Which is "your vehicle equipped with eps may experience a sudden loss of power steering assist that could occur at any time while driving. If the power steering assist is lost, a message is displayed on the driver information center and a chime sounds to inform the driver. Steering control can be maintained, as the vehicle will revert to a manual steering mode, but would require greater driver effort at low vehicle speeds, which could result in an increased risk of a crash.". my car has these exact issues even though it had been "fixed 2 years ago". I believe my car was never actually fixed in a correct way, otherwise I wouldn't be in safety hazard trying to drive a car whose power steering locks up when driving. Now I am being forced to actually get it fixed from a GM dealership out of pocket. This power steering problem should be fixed free of charge, because if it was actually "fixed" 2 years ago I wouldn't have this issue and I am no being forced to pay $575 to drive my car safely. As it should already be a safe car to drive in as GM advertises.

- Lawton, OK, USA

problem #938

Dec 192016

G6

  • 141,000 miles
Power steering locks up while stationary and while in motion. Dash board begins to chime while this happens.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

problem #937

Dec 122016

G6

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The steering wheel torque sensor was replaced by tracy Chevrolet in October 2014 as part of a recall on this vehicle. At the time it was replaced the car had 140,000 miles on it and currently has 160,000 miles on it.. so after 20,000 miles the steering torque sensor has gone bad.. after talking to the dealer I'm told they replaced it and the warranty was only one year. However, for this part to go bad so soon makes me question if it was ever replaced or replaced with a defective product. I am looking for some sort of help with this because I can't imagine how the car went 140,000 miles before it was replaced and only 20,000 with the "new sensor"??

- Tracy, CA, USA

problem #936

Dec 062016

G6

  • 154,000 miles
Coming off of the highway the cars steering wheel locked up and would not let me turn it nor would my brake work. The car did a complete 360 and smashed into the guard rail on the side of the highway. I was only going 40 miles per hour and all of the road conditions were clear. There were no cars around me and prior to the accident I had all control of the car. For additional detail, the mechanic and dealership stated that when they plugged the car into the electrical code finder that they could not generate a code that showed the wheel or car locked up.

- Brooklyn, OH, USA

problem #935

Nov 222016

G6

  • 66,000 miles
While driving, the car would go to lower speed and stop, making loud grinding noise after about 3 to 5 minutes it would drive again. It sounded as if the anti scid was on, car only has 66,000 miles. This almost caused me to reck 3 times. It happened intermittently turning right or left on city streets

- Pgh, PA, USA

problem #934

Nov 242016

G6

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving 45 mph, the steering wheel veered left to right, the power steering warning indicator illuminated, and the vehicle lost all power steering ability. The vehicle was previously repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 15V064000 (steering). The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the steering torque sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 160,000.

- Pendleton, SC, USA

problem #933

Nov 172016

G6

  • 101,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2006 Pontiac G6 that within the last week incurred a power steering failure., causing me to have a small crash. Recall research shows that on March 2014 the NHTSA required GM to issue a recall for this exact problem, however, it only covered certain the G6 models up to the year 2009. The service advisor at the dealership acknowledged that the "problem" was very similar to the steering problem for earlier models that are subject to the recall. However, since only few select cars were included in the NHTSA recall, the cost to repair the problem falls to the consumer and is estimated to be in the $1,800 to $2,000 range. This is clearly a safety issue and mirrors the same characteristic's as earlier models included in the recall. While I appreciate GM's willingness to "consider" the matter, I urge the NHTSA to re-visit the model years subject to the recall. The consumer should not be burdened with the cost of repairing what is obviously a design defect. Further and more importantly is safety for the passengers and other drivers on the road. I hope that the NHTSA will investigate this matter accordingly and amend the power steering recall. Thank you.

- Kirkwood, MO, USA

problem #932

Nov 222016

G6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving various speeds and making a left or right turn, the power steering suddenly malfunctioned. The steering wheel became very difficult to turn and a grinding noise could be heard. There were no warning indicators illuminated. After several minutes, the vehicle was able to drive normally. The failure occurred on several occasions. The dealer diagnosed that there was a malfunction in the steering column module and the steering column module needed replacement. The vehicle was at the dealer awaiting parts for the repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V064000 (steering). The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 66,000. Updated 01/06/17

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #931

Nov 132016

G6

  • 86,000 miles
The steering wheel is very stiff to maneuver, especially while at idle. Becomes hard to turn at curves

- Finleyville, PA, USA

problem #930

Nov 042016

G6

  • 155,000 miles
While driving the power steering will cut out when turning making it hard the steer the car and with this happening it could have caused a serious accident if it would've happened in a main road.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #929

Aug 062016

G6

  • 94,000 miles
On August 6, 2016 I was merging onto the 33 East from the cayuga road entrance in cheektowaga, NY. As I tried to merge onto the thruway my steering completely went loose and lost control. I couldn't grab hold of the wheel, and my car went completely insane and crossed the 3 lanes of traffic on the thruway and hit the guardrail, then bounced off the guardrail, crossing back through those 3 lanes and I ended up in a ditch on the opposite side of the guardrail.my car is completely totaled, and I was taken to the hospital er by my mother & my car was towed by cheektowaga police to millers towing on genesee street. The only thing the hospital diagnosed me with was whiplash. I have no idea or explanation as to what could have caused my steering wheel and whole car to lose control like that. I contacted General Motors and filed a claim with them. General Motors sent out an investigator to come check out what happened to my car. The investigator only plugged my car into his computer, after unplugging the battery (which was not necessary to do at all). After he investigated it, General Motors called me and said my claim was denied. I feel that my car was improperly inspected, it should have at least been put up on a lift to have the steering rack looked at, seeing as that's where the problem occurred. I have 3 witnesses that stopped alongside of the road with me and said it was like my car was "possessed." The car had a steering recall that I got fixed at a General Motors facility in November of 2015, 4 months after I had bought the car. I feel that I should be compensated by GM for my losses. I did nothing wrong to make the car act like that or loose control, they had no explanation for me as to what happened to make the car do that.

- Depew, NY, USA

problem #928

Jun 152014

G6

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving various speeds, the vehicle veered in both directions. The contact had to steer the vehicle in excess in order to keep the vehicle in position. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle needed to be repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 15V064000 (steering). The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Pharr, TX, USA

problem #927

Sep 202016

G6

  • 99,880 miles
At 60,000 miles the power steering alert came on the dic and the steering was very hard. I turned the car off and back on and it reset. I didn't have any issues until recently. I replaced the whole steering column and everything to do with the suspension in this car costing me over $2500 dollars. The past month the wheel has been shaking badly and when driving the steering wheel will pull each way and have play and sometimes be stiff. This is a serious issue as I've almost caused myself to get in many accidents. This needs to be resolved by GM. I've taken it many times and my car VIN isn't under the recall. The car now just eclipsed over 100,000 miles and need to keep this car through the winter but I'm afraid with the winters we have in buffalo, I'm going to be seriously hurt. The cost to fix the jpower steering motor is over $1,000 and I'm not putting any more money into this car. Over the years I've had the car, I've put well over $6,000 into it. I'll never buy another GM product again. I called customer service (at GM) and the dealership and they are very rude and will do nothing about it.

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

problem #926

Sep 012016

G6

  • 150,000 miles
I was driving down the road and went to turn left and my power steering completely went out. I was lucky enough to make it to a safe spot to park it.

- Bulan, KY, USA

problem #925

Aug 242016

G6

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving various speeds, the power steering suddenly malfunctioned and the steering wheel became very difficult to turn. After turning the engine off and restarting the vehicle, the power steering operated normally. The contact indicated that the steering column was previously replaced in 2010. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #924

Aug 152016

G6

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving various speeds, the steering wheel shook and the power steering light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacture was not notified. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 25,000.

- Dayton, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?