Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems

2007 Pontiac G6 (Page 7 of 9)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: Unfortunately the 2007 Pontiac G6 continues a serious trend of steering problems from the prior model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
104,263 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac G6 lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 7 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #49

Oct 152012

G6

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 45 mph, the headlights stopped illuminating. The contact replaced the bulbs but the failure continued intermittently. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #48

Dec 032012

G6

  • 104,000 miles
My brake lights stay on while pedal in not pressed and turn off when pressed, I can not find a repair for the problem the pedal positioning sensor has been replaced and it has not fixed the problem this is a safety concern for me due to the fact that drivers behind me receive no warning of me braking.

- Fort Polk, LA, USA

problem #47

Nov 032012

G6

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the passenger side headlights continuously malfunctioned. The contact stated that the wiring harness and bulb was replaced previously but the failure recurred. The dealer was notified who advised the contact to bring the vehicle in for an inspection. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Auburn Hills, MI, USA

problem #46

Jul 152010

G6 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake light are on when accelerating and go off when brake pedal is depressed. Also, from time to time, you have to depress the brake pedal to the floor to be able to shift out of park.

- Myerstown, PA, USA

problem #45

Jan 172012

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the rear brake lights would erroneously remain illuminated until the brakes were applied. The contact had taken the vehicle to the dealer but the dealer advised that the brake control module had become corroded and that there was not a remedy available for the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 16,000 and the current mileage was 42,000. Updated 12/11/12 the consumer stated the brake lights went off when the brake pedal was pressed and turned on when it isn't. the 2005-2006 recalled for the same issue. The dealer performed the recall. The vehicle was repaired. Updated 12/14/2012

- Pheonix, NY, USA

problem #44

Jul 042012

G6

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 25 mph with the headlights activated, the driver's side low beam headlight became inoperative. The failure recurred when driving at various speeds. The driver's side headlight bulb had been replaced three times since July of 2012. Recently, the contact noticed that the headlight socket had become completely melted and corroded. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000.

- Berea, OH, USA

problem #43

Sep 152012

G6 6-cyl

  • 43,985 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake lights don't illuminate when applying the brake. Also they illuminate when in park or when pressing the gas. We just bought the car on Saturday (9/15/12) and my husband noticed that the brake lights were on the entire time I was driving on the highway. So when we got home, I called the dealership. They told me to bring the car in. We picked it up again on Monday night and they said it was fine. Tues, I was stopping at a light and the car behind me skidded to a stop but swerved away from hitting me. The next day I made my husband check the lights, and again the same issue was happening. I emailed the dealership and they said to bring the car in again. So I did and the service guy said there is a problem with this in many G6's. he replaced some brake switch or something and did what was recommended by Pontiac but said he wants to keep it overnight and see if it happens again tomorrow. I'm very concerned B/C I have 3 young children who are in the car with me and I'm afraid to drive the car B/C if the brake lights don't illuminate, I will definitely get hit. There is no recall that I can find re: This issue and it looks like there is no fix. I haven't even owned the car a week and I drove it for three days. The shop has had it for 4 days.

- Upper Saddle River, NJ, USA

problem #42

Apr 182012

G6

  • 79,000 miles
Low beam sockets would get extremely hot and ended up warping the original socket had to replace new head light sockets and went thru about 8 headlights atleast until new headlight sockets were replaced.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #41

May 052012

G6

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While examining the vehicle the contact noticed that the passenger side head light bulb connector was melted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The current and failure mileages were 64,000.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #40

Mar 312012

G6 4-cyl

  • 123,000 miles
Was moving in traffic was approching red light, person in car next to me said my brake lights were on while I was moving but went off just before I stoped at light. This has been a problem for a few years now I was following my wife on my motorcycle for twenty miles and the brake lights stayed on till she slowed down for stop signs and red lights, the brake lights went off when she stoped, after she moved forward a few seconds the brake lights came on again. This car has been to dealer for this problem 2 times ajusted brake peddle switch and used crossion control on wires problem not fixed.

- Chipley, FL, USA

problem #39

Mar 012010

G6

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2007 Pontiac G6. The front driver's side headlight stopped illuminating. I replaced the bulb myself. Approximately two days later the headlight failed. I noticed that the connector had melted. I am not alone with this problem. I checked other websites and have found other Pontiac G6 owners with the same problem. One year ago the passenger side connector cable had melted. I re-connected the cable myself. I have not had problems with that side yet. Went to the dealership and they told me that they have not received a recall notice. Please help! this is a safety issue. My daughter drives this car to school and work.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #38

Jan 232012

G6

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the front driver's side headlight stopped illuminating. The contact replaced the bulb herself. The same failure occurred on the front passenger side the following day. The contact again replaced the bulb herself. Approximately two weeks later, both headlights failed. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop and was in the process of being repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 84,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Marvell, AR, USA

problem #37

Apr 152009

G6

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 45 mph with the headlights activated, the contact noticed that the driver's side headlight failed to illuminate. The contact was able to continue driving. The failure recurred three times and each time, the headlight bulb was replaced. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated to the contact that the wiring harness connector was melted and the headlight would need to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Lancaster, TX, USA

problem #36

Jan 152012

G6

  • 97,100 miles
The brake lamps to illuminate when the brake pedal has not been depressed, or the lamps may not illuminate when the brake pedal is depressed. In addition, the cruise control may not engage, and greater brake pedal force may be required to shift the vehicle out of park.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #35

Dec 012009

G6 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Brake lights stay on even with no pressure on the brake pedal. The cruise will not stay engaged when this happens. People following me have told me I should not ride my brake as they can't tell when I am going to stop. The brake lights staying on is intermittent, it can happen with the car in park and at various speeds. This is a safety concern. My research has identified that there has been many complaints for this and that a recall is available for 2005 & 2006, our 2007 has the same problem and needs to be included in the recall.

- Middleton, ID, USA

problem #34

Oct 122011

G6 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
Brake lights stay on. This only happens after the car has been driven 10+ miles.at this point the cruise control disengages and the manual shift feature won't work. I took it to a Pontiac dealer (now a Buick GMC dealer) 2 times and spent $250 on repairs with no success. Dealer says he has no idea. This is a serious safety matter. The G6 owners club is getting more and more complaints of this every day.

- Milford , CT, USA

problem #33

Dec 262011

G6

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake lights remained illuminated when the brakes were not applied. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer where the dealer replaced the brake light sensor, but the repair did not remedy the issue. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer for a diagnostic test but the test results did not show any defects. The failure mileage was 107,000.

- Roxboro, NC, USA

problem #32

Dec 022011

G6

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact was notified by another driver that the exterior brake lights were remaining illuminated while driving. The contact stated that the cruise control would not engage and when parked, he had to apply excessive force to the brake pedal to move the gear shifter out of park. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostics where the mechanic advised that the brake switch would have to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure persisted. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 09V036000 (exterior lighting:brake lights) that but was advised by the manufacturer that the recall was only for the 2005-2006 model G6. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Orion, IL, USA

problem #31

Feb 032011

G6 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
My driver's side headlight went out on 2/3/11 at 56,000 miles. I replaced the bulb. On 8/22/11, my passenger side headlight went out at 60,000 miles. I replaced the bulb. On 9/26/11, my driver's side headlight went out at 61,000 miles. I replaced the bulb. I purchased the bulb from auto zone and the manager there told me he has had 10 customers with Pontiac G6 vehicles come in reporting that the headlight bulbs continually go out. On 10/1/11, the driver's side headlight went out again at 61,300 miles. On 10/4/11, the passenger's side headlight went out at 61,400 miles. I called Pontiac corporate and they claim this is not a known issue with this vehicle. I took my vehicle to Firestone and they found a short in the headlight assembly. The headlights are working fine now. Firestone said this is the 3rd Pontiac G6 they have repaired with the same exact problem. In addition, I have been stopped by the police twice for having my headlight out. Both times I was not aware that the headlight was out. I consider this a safety issue and I feel there should be a recall for this problem. If or when there is a recall, I'd like Pontiac to reimburse me for the repair.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #30

Jun 292011

G6 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
Exterior brake lights illuminate when not pressing the brake pedal. Exterior brake lights shut off when pressing on the brake pedal.

- Grand Forks, ND, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?