Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems

2007 Pontiac G6 (Page 1 of 9)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: Unfortunately the 2007 Pontiac G6 continues a serious trend of steering problems from the prior model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
104,263 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac G6 lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 9)

problem #169

May 092016

G6

  • 190,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My headlight burned out on the driver's side of the car. I replaced it and it lasted about two weeks and then burned out again. Found the socket melted and burned up real bad. I replaced the headlight socket assembly and it worked for about a month and then would come on only when I slammed the hood (sometimes.) and then stopped working for good. The bright light on the driver's side of the car worked fine up until then, but soon after went out so I replaced that bulb and socket assembly with no result. Neither bright nor dim light works on driver's side. I can't figure it out. No one can tell me why it's doing it, and none of the mechanics I've been to have any idea why the headlights aren't functioning properly (at all.) it's frustrating. It's dangerous. And it has cost me more money than lights should ever cost a person. I haven't driven the car in months because I'm tired of getting pulled over. It sucks and I still am paying on this car and can't even use it. I hate Pontiac. GM needs to shutdown. Never been satisfied with a GM vehicle.

- Bellevue, MI, USA

problem #168

Oct 072016

G6

  • miles
When pressing the brakes in the car the brake lights would go off. Not notifying the vehicles behind me that I am stopping. When brakes is released the brake lights in the back of the car would then come on.

- Austell, GA, USA

problem #167

Jan 082016

G6

  • 96,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving various speeds, the power steering seized without warning. The contact also stated that the passenger side headlight failed to illuminate. The contact stated that the bulbs were changed three times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the headlamp module failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The vehicle was not diagnosed for the steering issue. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 96,500. The VIN was not available.

- Salina, KS, USA

problem #166

Oct 282014

G6

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The passenger side low-beam light bulb burned out. Replaced and it burned out again within 2 weeks. Replaced again and saw that the socket wires and part of the socket where the bulb meets the socket had melted. This is not a standard GM replacement part. I purchases an aftermarket wire harnes/socket for the low-beam. A couple weeks later, it did the same thing. My local authorized GM dealer replaced the wire harness for the whole headlight assembly (not under warranty) but said I would need to replace the whole assembly to fix the low-beam. That part is over $200 so I tried another aftermarket wire harness/socket that had heavier gauge wire. It worked for about 3 months and the bulb has burned out again. Keep in mind each time I have purchased the correct light bulbs. I have now been pulled over by police 3 times since this issue began. Each time I was given a warning but also each time I had repaired the problem shortly after. I have now spent more than $250 just because the low-beam issue. This is a critical safety component that should be resolved by the manufacturer. The cause behind the melted wire and socket could cause a fire. This electrical problem has cost me money, time and stress. I wish to not own this vehicle anymore. However, I can't have a clear conscience about selling this vehicle to someone and I will not recommend the Pontiac G6 to anyone simply because of this critical safety issue.

- Bluffton, IN, USA

problem #165

Nov 152015

G6

  • miles
The headlights have a known wiring issue. There have been reports of people that have taken thier cars to be repaired and then the same problem still exist shortly afterwards again. I am now going through this problem my mechanic was having issues finding the part. From what I have read the covering that goes over the wiring gets overheated and ends up melting the wire. This is clearly a manufactor problem and GM should be covering the expense to get this fix.

- Cameron, NC, USA

problem #164

May 022016

G6

  • 200,000 miles
My brake lights go off when I hit the brakes and when I let off the brakes the lights come on. This is a recall on my car that has been fixed 2 times already. Both times the problem stopped for a few months then came right back. This is a hugh safety concern. I called the dealership and they said its already been fixed and don't want to fix it again. Please help.

- Heartland, TX, USA

problem #163

Apr 252016

G6

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This car was recalled in 2014 for a brake light issue. The brake lights stay on all the time until you apply the brakes. The lights go off when the brakes are applied. GM supposedly repaired this problem in 2014 but the problem is the same now. My local dealer has told me this is a different issue and it will cost $400 to fix it. I have talked to 3 different people with customer service at GM but they will not resolve this problem. I own 5 GM vehicles but will never by another GM product

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #162

Apr 072016

G6 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
Low beam head light always burning out! going in for the third time to have replaced within a 2 month period!..updated 06/28/16 the low beam headlight light, has since be replaced for the fourth time. The wires melted, which caused the bulb to burn out. Updated 06/29/16. Updated 07/14/16.

- Willard, WI, USA

problem #161

Dec 242015

G6

  • 175,000 miles
When I turn my dim lights on from bright they all go completely out for a brief second,2 times on country road N once on the highway, in motion on straight rd very scary, lots of complaints about this..also leakin oil N noone seems to know where, N, , the light says im always in drive even when in park or rever, please help me get a recall on this problem, and oil leak for about 8 mths

- Nelsonville, OH, USA

problem #160

Dec 242015

G6

  • 174,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving at an unknown speed and attempting to dim the headlights, the headlights malfunctioned and turned off without warning. The contact mentioned that the headlights came back on once the high beams were activated. In addition, the contact mentioned that the oil warning light was illuminated. After inspecting the vehicle, the contact noticed an oil leak coming from the engine. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 174,000.

- Nelsonville, OH, USA

problem #159

Jan 022016

G6

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When stepping on the brake to engage the car into drive a clicking is heard and then brake goes to floor. Brake lighting does not work all the time but is on and off. The was a recall on other G6 vehicles 14V252000 for this issue but the dealer states this vehicle is not included. The other recall is for the same issues.

- Milford, PA, USA

problem #158

Jul 152015

G6 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
In mid-July, 2015 one headlight (dim) stopped working and within a few days, the other did also. I replaced both dim headlights on July 18, 2015. Within a week, both dim headlights stopped working. I limited my driving to daytime hours as much as possible. On or about December 7, 2015, the high beam light on the driver side went out. I replaced both dim headlights on December 9, 2015 since we had a trip planned that would involve some nighttime driving. The dim light on the driver's side went out within 24 hours and the other dim light went out on Monday, December 28, 2015. I have mentioned this problem to two different GM dealerships, both of which advised me to pay to have the car diagnosed. Neither of the dealerships seemed concerned that there might be a safety issue and both declined to notify GM of the problem on my behalf.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #157

Nov 062015

G6

  • 128,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 50 mph, the brake lights randomly illuminated. In addition, when the brake pedal was engaged, the brake light failed to illuminate intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the rear brake lamps needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired on two separate occasions, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the body control module and wiring harness needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The failure mileage was 128,000.

- Albert Lea, MN, USA

problem #156

Oct 202015

G6

  • 17,700 miles
The headlights keep shorting out have replaced bulbs sockets the go on and off when driving

- Johnson City, TN, USA

problem #155

Sep 142015

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, both brake lights illuminated continuously even though the brake pedal was not depressed. In addition, whenever the brake pedal was engaged, the brake lights failed to illuminate. The VIN was not included in the NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The contact replaced both brake lights however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 06/29/16

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #154

Sep 302015

G6

  • 550,000 miles
Not sure how long the brakes have been that way.a friend brought to my attention while they were following me tried everything fix's it. While stationary everything appears to be normal.but while im in motion the brake light are on without any pressure on the brake pedal.and when pressure is applied the brake light go off. Very scary......

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #153

Aug 122015

G6

  • 82,500 miles
I have had to change my driver's side headlight bulb four times in four months. The last one that I had changed blew almost immediately after installation (within three hours).when I took it back to be fixed I was told that the connecter cable has melted because the light gets to hot. Now I have to have that part replaced as well, and I am given no guarantee that it will last either. The worst part is that the dealership wants $55 for the part and $143 for labor! crazy!

- Summerton, SC, USA

problem #152

Apr 172013

G6

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the brake pedal was depressed, but the brake lights failed to illuminate. Also, while driving approximately 60 mph, the brake lights illuminated without the brake pedal being depressed. The failure recurred numerous times intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The mechanic stated that the body control module needed to be cleaned. The failure recurred. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Hibbing, MN, USA

problem #151

Jun 302015

G6

  • 80,000 miles
There is a problem with the driver side headlamp. It was out, so I replaced the bulb in June 2015. Two months later, it was out again, so I bought a new bulb, thinking the first was purchased defective. I replaced the bulb for the second time, and about a week later I noticed it was out again. Then began suspecting another problem. I see GM just recalled several additional makes and models for this issue, but the Pontiac G6 was not a part of any of the recalls. However, I believe the G6 is a part of this issue and should be added to the recall.

- Robbinsville, NJ, USA

problem #150

Jul 012015

G6

  • 133,000 miles
Was a a stop on a 2 way street getting ready to make a left turn and a SUV hits us from behind and send me forward with my right arm slamming into dashboard of car with a strained tendon in my shoulder shoulder. Called GM and they state the electrical problem on my car was fixed during our visit for another recall in Jan 2014 however we were in an accident for the same issue they said they fixed!

- Louisville , KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?