Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems

2009 Pontiac G6 (Page 6 of 7)

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2009 is starting to have the same problems as previous model years, including the headlights blowing out due to bad connectors.

The wiring harness connections aren't a big deal to replace, as long as your dealer or mechanic doesn't charge you an arm & a leg to "diagnose" the problem.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,671 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Pontiac G6 lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Pontiac G6 Owner Comments (Page 6 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #37

Jul 272012

G6

  • 42,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I noticed that the cruise control was not working, soon after that someone told me that my brake lights are on most of the time, only going off occasionally. I have tested it, and you can put the car in park and watch the lights go from off to on with out touching the break petal. (they stay on) I am going to take it in for service tomorrow. I have found out this is not an uncommon problem. This should be a recall issue. I know this problem is under investigation. There are tons of complaints.

- Nottingham, MD, USA

problem #36

Jun 062013

G6

  • miles
Cpsc: I1360207A. 2009 Pontiac G6 coupe. Consumer stated her car is having the same brake problem as the ones she's read about online. The consumer took the vehicle to a repair shop, where it was reprogrammed. However, two days later, the problem returned. The consumer stated the brake lights would come on, when his foot was not on the brake pedal, and they would go out, when he foot was on the pedal.

- Plainfield, IN, USA

problem #35

Jun 032013

G6

  • 63,000 miles
I was pulled over by a police office for suspected I was drunk driving. He said it was because of my erratic brake lights. After that by watching the rear window light at night I realized that my brake lights are on with no pedal applied, off when I apply the brakes and on again when I apply them hard. I now realize because the cruise control only works with the lights are off that this problem has been on going since I bought the car used last year. I took it to a shop to get fixed and the repair only lasted less than two days before failing again. I've read on the internet that this may become a recall but 2009 wasn't listed as one of the years. My G6 coupe 2009 has the same problem as described on the 05 thru 08.

- Plainfield, IN, USA

problem #34

Jun 122013

G6

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was told my brake lights were not working. Pulled in my garage to check brake lights. Looked like they were staying on. Pressed brake peddle and they went off, after 5sec they came on and stayed on until I pressed the brake peddle then they went off. If I press the peddle off, on, off, on and don't wait 5sec the lights work but if I don't press the brake peddle for about 5 sec the brake lights come on and stay on. Also have bin having a problem with the cruise control. Will not engage because the brake lights are stuck on. Thank you

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #33

Jun 102013

G6

  • 85,000 miles
Tail lights continue to stay on. The traction control says it needs to be serviced. The cruise control does not work. Same as earlier model G6's. same as #08-05-22-009A.

- Bolingbrook, IL, USA

problem #32

Jun 012013

G6

  • miles
G6 Pontiac 09 driver side headlite goes out had replaced and went out again.

- Staugustine, FL, USA

problem #31

Jun 082012

G6 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In May 2012 the driver side headlight went out so we replaced it with a brand new light. Within 2 weeks (June 8th), I was driving in Indiana when I noticed my headlight was out again. We again replaced the headlight and since then it works intermittently. When I start the car in the morning and the headlight is out, then most of the time, it will turn on as I am driving down the road. If the headlight is on when I start the car, them most of the time as I drive down the road it was flash and then shut off. I have been stopped by police officers for the headlight being burned out and I refuse to buy another headlight.

- Round Lake, IL, USA

problem #30

Oct 172012

G6 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
My driver side light was replaced twice, went to my garage and they replaced the connectors. Now as of 3/15/13 my passenger side light was replaced twice and while driving it goes off and comes back on constantly. This also resulted in getting pulled over by a policeman and failed inspection. As soon as I left to go home from the dealership the light came back on.

- Hamburg, PA, USA

problem #29

Aug 012011

G6

  • 65,000 miles
I own a 2009 Pontiac G6. In August of 2011, my left front headlight began to work only intermittently until it no longer would illuminate. I replaced the bulb in the headlight, and it was back to working as it should. A matter of six or so months went by and the right light began to have the same problem until it went out. I replaced it as well, however, within the next few months the right headlight went out again. I have not had the problem officially diagnosed, although internet research seems to show a problem with the connector.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #28

Mar 072012

G6 4-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the headlights were continuously burning out due to the bulb becoming overheated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the connector burned and as a result, the head light assembly needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 74,000 and the current mileage was 74,599.

- Fort Worth , TX, USA

problem #27

Feb 202013

G6 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the brake lights illuminated despite the brake pedal not being depressed. The failure recurred numerous times. The brake lights also failed to illuminate when the brake pedal was being depressed. The contacted was advised by the dealer that there was no recall for the failure. The manufacturer was notified but offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 81,000. Updated 06/17/13

- Salem, IL, USA

problem #26

Jan 012013

G6 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Problem 1 approximately 3 months ago, my left headlight stopped working. Replacing the lamp would seem to fix the problem for a few days, but it would then start and stop working intermittently, then go out altogether. The lamp was not the problem. I was able to resolve the problem on my own by splicing in a new lamp plug connector, after searching for the problem on the internet. It has worked without problems for the last couple months, but I can only hope that my "fix" has really addressed whatever the problem was. This problem is discussed at great length on internet forums, and clearly is common with this car. Intermittent headlamps would certainly seem to me to be a safety issue worthy of a recall. Problem 2 today, I noticed the cruise control would not engage. As I drove along, I tried tapping the brakes, and found the cruise would engage for a few seconds and then go off again. A second drive (at night) confirmed that the car's brake lights were coming on at random and staying on. Tapping the brakes would make them go off, but they come on again a few seconds later. The car is not safely drivable in this condition, which is unresolved. Again, a quick internet search revealed that this is another very common problem with this car. It also appears that a recall actually exists, but for only a tiny number of cars, when this clearly affects the entire model range. This car has only 82,000 miles and I can't drive it safely because none of the lights work correctly. GM should be forced to recall this model to fix the lighting problems.

- Grandview, WA, USA

problem #25

Feb 072011

G6 4-cyl

  • 21,534 miles
2-7-2011 (21534 miles) brakes lights came on and stayed on but go off when brake is applied. Dealer turnpike Chevrolet (nitro, wv) repaired by installing "brake light sensor". warranty coverage 11-08-2011 (32214 miles) brakes lights came on and stayed on but go off when brake is applied. Dealer turnpike Chevrolet (nitro, wv) repaired by installing "brake lamp switch". warranty coverage 02-21-2013 (44578 miles) brakes lights came on and stayed on but go off when brake is applied. Dealer hurricane Chevrolet (hurricane, wv) repaired by installing "22666955 sensor kit". service advisor #162 polite but refused warranty coverage. $179.40.

- Hurricane, WV, USA

problem #24

Jan 082013

G6

  • 98,500 miles
I have had some issues with the headlights going out. The right low beam headlight went out around 2 weeks ago and it went again two days ago. I have also had the left headlight go out also. Also my interior lights wont go off after starting the car and turning the car off for around 30 mins. And the alarm went off by itself also. I had to get the keyless key and turn off. No one was around the car when it went off. I have all kinds of error messages apear on my display that are no concern after checking them out. My main concern is my headlights going out. I consider this a major safety concern. I have both lights go out and had to run the bright lights to get home after dark. Please do a recall GM !!

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #23

Nov 072009

G6 4-cyl

  • 13,000 miles
I owned my car a little over a year when the driver side headlight went out the first time. I have had to replace it numerous times over the years. In the past 4 months I had to replace the same headlight 3 times. The last time it burned out after one day. I called the dealer to see if there was a recall on the headlights and was told no. I have an appointment to have the harnesses on the headlights replaced. The dealer said GM will only pay half after I said I went on line and found pages of similar complaints. There should be a recall on the headlights. I have spent quite a bit of money on bulbs and to have them replaced. Now they want me to pay half of the repairs even though this is a common defect on the G6. I read that the 2010 models were changed.

- Lorain, OH, USA

problem #22

Sep 202012

G6 6-cyl

  • 82,065 miles
My headlight went out about 3 weeks ago I replaced it and then it went out again and had someone look at it and was told the wiring was melting which I had the same thing happen on the driver side last year and had a friend replace the wiring. Contacted Pontiac and they said I have to get diagnostic testing done.I have noticed this on alot of these types of vehicles.

- Colonial Heights, VA, USA

problem #21

Mar 082012

G6 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Brake lights illuminate without the brake pedal being depressed. When the brake pedal is then depressed with lights already illuminated, they go out briefly and then come back on. This is obviously a serious safety issue as brake lights may go out when the brakes are applied.

- Corryton, TN, USA

problem #20

Jul 022012

G6 4-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
Vehicle brake lights remain on except when brake pedal is pushed, then it goes out. This has not caused an accident yet, but it has high potential if a sudden stop is needed there will no warning for the vehicle following ours.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #19

Mar 012012

G6 4-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
My brake lights keep staying on even when the brake pedal is not pressed. Went to the dealer and was told it is a common problem for Pontiac G6S. Been to the dealer 3 times in less than a year to get it fixed they just keep replacing the switch but now they say something else is wrong wires corroded. The 2005 G6 had recall for the exact same problem but my 2009 G6 is not on the recall list, same car different year.

- Southfield, MI, USA

problem #18

Aug 092009

G6

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Pontiac G6. The contact stated that the headlights continuously overheated and would burn out. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the headlight wiring pigtail melted, causing the failure. As a result, the assembly needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included on any recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 38,000 and the current mileage was 72,000.

- Youngsville , NC, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?