Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Suspension Problems

2006 Pontiac GTO (Page 2 of 3)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,788 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac GTO suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac GTO:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac GTO Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Aug 102006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Struts leaking on 06 GTO with 350 miles.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #33

Aug 252006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,800 miles
2006 Pontiac GTO struts leaking oil after only 1800 miles. Both struts need replacement before brakes, bushings and under coating gets damaged.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #32

Aug 012006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 500 miles
While driving, front end started to rattle like it was falling apart. Front struts leaking fluid contaminated the sway bar link bushings causing one to fail. Fluid was on wheels and other suspension parts and all through inner fender and under car. If brake rotors were hot it could have caused a fire.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #31

Aug 052006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased the GTO July 5, 2006. Did the first oil change on August 6th at 1983 miles. My husband noticed oil all over the undercarriage and inside wheel. We had been hearing a clunking noise once in awhile and handling started to get worse. He warned me to be careful when driving the car and to get it back to the dealer. Took it in to the dealer the next day, they identified the strut problem, ordered parts, wanted me to drive the car until the parts came in, I refused and put us in a rental until it could be completed. Called ponitac customer service to complain about the delay in parts availability. After a lengthy call with a lot of on holds, was informed we probably would not get the part until at least Sept. 15, 2006. They are on a boat from australia and we were number 238 and only 100 parts were coming in. They agreed to reimburse us our payments after everything had been fixed. We received a call from the dealer on August 23 and had said parts in hand and car was fixed that day. (not the timeline we were expecting even better) they only replaced the drivers side the passenger side seems to be unaffected. We will keep an eye on both. They replaced the strut and the linkage (bushing) due to contamination.

- Dresden, ME, USA

problem #30

Aug 212006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7 miles
Test drove a brand new 2006 Pontiac GTO at the dealership with a suspension noise. Salesperson at the dealer commented that the suspension would settle down and the noise go away. I purchased this vehicle Sunday August 19th and took delivery of the vehicle Monday August 21st that already had this suspension noise. I brought the car in to check the suspension noise out. The problem is known as service bulletin number 4141 / NHTSA item number: 10020224. Service advisor now says it will now be 20 weeks or more before the replacement struts are available. GM says not to drive this car with this issue because it is a safety hazard. My GTO built date is Feb 06. How can GM let their dealers sell my a car that is a safety hazard from day 1. this should be a recall not just a service bulletin. This is ridiculous and unsafe.

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #29

Aug 032006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 700 miles
Purchased a new 2006 Pontiac GTO in July of 2006. After two weeks of driving I noticed that the car bounces around on the road a lot more than it used to. Took the car to the dealership (andy klein Pontiac) on August 3, 2006. Dealer states that the struts have failed on the front of the car and the replacement parts are on order. Dealer has no idea when the parts will arrive. Since the vehicle was raised up off the ground to inspect the suspension, the bushing fell and now the car not only has no shock absorbers left, but no bushing to protect the metal on metal contact. Car sounds and drives like it has 500,000 miles on it. Very upset that dealer has me driving unsafe car and will not provide a rental until the parts arrive to fix the car.

- Shawnee, KS, USA

problem #28

Aug 012006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front struts leaked after 200 miles, vehicle has been at dealer for two weeks waiting on parts.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #27

Aug 072006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,456 miles
Failure of the left front strut and subsequent failure of front stabilizer bar mount at strut at 2400 miles. Currently awaiting dealer to obtain parts for repair. No injury or accident due to failure.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #26

Aug 012006

GTO

  • miles
Front struts are leaking and not working. Entire front end of car is making terrible noises.

- Mineral, VA, USA

problem #25

Aug 012006

GTO

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Front struts are loose and sloppy. Struts are leaking and now I have been waiting over a week for parts to fix my car.

- Mineral, VA, USA

problem #24

Aug 032006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased 2 new 2006 GTO from clyde revord motors everett Washington. 1st car front strut passenger side failed under 500 miles.2nd car front strut driver side failed under 50 mile. Both car were built apirl 2006.

- Kent, WA, USA

problem #23

Jul 242006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 335 miles
2006 Pontiac GTO both front struts failed with less than 400 miles on them. Vehicle has been at dealership for two weeks with replacement struts available in 4-6 weeks.

- Easton, PA, USA

problem #22

Jul 252006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,780 miles
Front strut failure on 2006 GTO.

- Blackstone, MA, USA

problem #21

Aug 052006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,200 miles
Faulty front struts failed after less than 1200 miles on new vehicle purchased 12 June 2006. Strut failure causes other suspension/steering problems and renders the vehicle inherently unsafe. This problem was known to General Motors and to strut manufacturer prior to the sale of this vehicle to me. Faulty struts were not replaced by dealer, nor was I informed of this problem before, during or after vehicle purchase by dealer (hardin Pontiac anaheim, ca), by General Motors or by the strut oem (monroe). Had to discover myself. Since discovery have asked dealer about this who says I can still drive the car safely while replacement struts are on back-order until October 2006. Dealer re-balanced front tires as likely cause of wobbly steering already (July 2006) but wobble has returned due to strut failure. This is also squirting strut oil onto front brakes causing brake squealing and fading.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #20

Aug 022006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 700 miles
Leaking front struts which could cause major failure while driving.

- North Haven, CT, USA

problem #19

Jul 312006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 150 miles
Front strut failure - oil leaks from strut, resulting in loss of suspension damping on vehicle, as well as oil coating the front brake rotor and caliper. Failure occurs with no warning. To date, vehicle is out-of-service and is with the selling dealer. No corrective action has been taken. Awaiting replacement strut for vehicle.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #18

Aug 032006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 390 miles
The front struts failed and slung oil all over the brakes of my 2006 Pontiac GTO with less than 400 miles on it. I was lucky that I didn't lose control of the car. I even asked the salesman when I bought the car if he had heard of this problem, as I had read of other owner's having this problem, and he said not to worry about it. I am taking my car in to the dealership tomorrow.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #17

Jul 302006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 125 miles
Left front strut failure, right front strut leaking on Pontiac GTO 2006. Purchased new from dealer, 125 miles on vehicle.

- Robersonville, NC, USA

problem #16

Aug 012006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 2,000 miles
2K miles on new 2006 Pontiac GTO, Feb 2006 build date. Both front struts leaking causing oil seepage and loud clunking over terrain. Oil all over inner wheel well causing factory under coating to melt. Potential for oil to leak on to brake pads with brake failure to result. Fire hazard due to extreme heat generated by brakes and proximity to exhaust manifolds. Premature failure of sway bar linkage and stabilizer bushings caused from corrosive oil from leaking struts being sprayed over those critical suspension components. Potential for serious injury or fatality.

- Bolingbrook, IL, USA

problem #15

Jul 172006

GTO 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 600 miles
1. I have had the car for just over 3 weeks. After about a week I noticed a puddle under both front tires that looked like oil. 2. I took it to the dealer and they said it would be a month before they could get the parts in stock. I have been driving it ever since. The car does not track well on the road and it floats and bounces all over the place. Also, if there are imperfections in the road the car bounces around a lot. 3. I am still waiting on the dealer to replace the parts.

- Lenexa, KS, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?