Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System: Ignition: Switch Problems

2001 Pontiac Grand Am (Page 1 of 2) Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,932 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Pontiac Grand Am:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Nov 012013

Grand Am

  • 130,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The burglar alarm warning light and the check engine warning light illuminated. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the wires in the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Hampton, TN, USA

problem #23

Dec 172014

Grand Am

  • 157,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, a noise emitted from under the front driver's side of the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the vehicle started to sway back and forth as the service engine and maintenance warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the ignition switch and both front end wheel bearings needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 157,000.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #22

Nov 042008

Grand Am

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. While attempting to start the vehicle, the anti-theft warning indicator illuminated and the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician diagnosed that the ignition switch and wiring needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 56,000.

- Houma, LA, USA

problem #21

May 122010

Grand Am

  • 120,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start after several attempts. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where the ignition switch was replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Science Hill , KY, USA

problem #20

Mar 102008

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,833 miles
Three times passlock ignition lock needs to be replaced. Tumbler internals replaced. Problem seems to be a GM product dependability design flaw. $300-$500 per repair. The first time was under warranty. I am only 35 years old and love Pontiac but I will never stand behind a product that Pontiac will not stand behind themselves. Very unprofessional and very disappointing. P.S. Pontiac will eventually fold due to poor sales, poor service, and a lack of effective pm. Sincerely, dr. Howard

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #19

Nov 202007

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58 miles
I would like to know why? there has not been a recall on the lock cyl/ignition switch and cylinder. One switch price@154.64 and the cylinder price@179.75 labor cost of $380. For a total cost with tax of $769.88 my car is a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am SE with only 63,000 miles and from what I've read and from what understand is this is an ongoing problem. With this type of vehicle. That I G.M. needs to resolve. Any information regarding this would be greatly appreciated. Thank you. Jack teats

- Oroville, CA, USA

problem #18

Sep 032007

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 138,000 miles


Security light continues to come on when I try to crank(can't crank when the light comes on have to wait approximately 15 minutes, and some if it crank it shuts back off) then another 15 minutes wait time.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #17

Jul 272007

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The passlock sensor is going out of my car again this is the second time this has happened... the car will not start until I have reset the system, I had the ign switch replaced 3 years ago and it started acting up again about 4 months ago. It makes it really hard for me to go anywhere in the summer and having to set in 95 degree heat waiting for 10 minutes for the car to reset....on the incident date I am putting today's date since it did it this morning before I came to work but it has been doing it for 4 months at least now.

- Marshfield, MO, USA

problem #16

Jun 202007

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Pontiac Grand Am passlock syetemp the car has started hard fro 2 years. Now it starts and stalls and the security light is on. I had to purchase a whole new ignition switch to fix this. I have seen that this is common with these cars. #2 clicking in the dash. The car clicks like the turn signal is on. This happens all the time and I am also told this is a known problem. I have not replaced the switch and am disappointed that GM allows these things to happen with no recall. I will think twice before I buy another GM product.

- Remsen, NY, USA

problem #15

Nov 122006

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,700 miles
3 instances of failure of vehicle to start, ie turns over but will not crack. 1st instance had vehicle towed to mechanic, when vehicle cranked when mechanic attempted to start, then took to dealership, they stated leaking vacuum hose, replaced hose, 2nd had to have vehicle towed after being stranded at work, dealer stated faulty ignition switch March 2006, and replaced switch. Now 3rd time same problem turns over will not crank (Nov 2006).

- Erin, TN, USA

problem #14

Nov 092006

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 300 miles


Grinding sound in front brakes. Dealer replaced rotors at my expense. Still making grinding noice. Breaks seem to have been a problem since I bought the car new in 2001. Recall of blinker switch. Blinking (inside above radio) noise came back after 1 year. Dealer says that recall was for the hazard lights not the turn signals? car won't start and security light on. Have to wait 10 minutes with car in (on) position and then car will start..this information is located in the owners manual (are they expecting this problem?) dealer said at first that my key was worn out that's why it's not reading it correctly and then later stated that the sensor was bad in the ignition switch. Had to replace ignition sensor switch at my expense. Rear floor board behind drivers side gets wet. No known cause. Recently the service vehicle soon lite came on. Dealer repaired at my expense. Dealer said that the headlights were out and a part was cracked. Heater/ac buttons 1 and 2 do not work. Recently noticed that when I drive I hear grinding sounds seems to be coming from the body of the car, like it's coming unscrewed. Just took my car in for repairs of ignition switch, 4 new tires, a back seat seatbelt replacement and my drivers side automate seat adjuster was working the morning I took it in. When I picked up my car it was making a grinding sound and the seat cushion was torn. Service manager says they will replace the seat cushion but they don't think they broke the seat adjuster and the service manager says that maybe the seat adjuster just decided to go on that particular day. I'm now fighting to have them repair what they broke. I will never go to nucar Pontiac in Delaware for repairs again. This is the worst car I've ever owned. I think most of these problems should be recalls since many people have them. I will never buy a GM car again. Please someone help to make the car makers responsible for their poor workmanship.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #13

Jan 012001

Grand Am

  • miles
The coolant system has a continual leak. It needs to be replaced at least every month. Faulty ignition switch makes all interior lights and gauges go on and off and sometimes not come back on for days (happens everytime the car is started up). Makes speed limits impossible to tell, etc.

- Pleasant View, UT, USA

problem #12

Jan 022006

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle stalled intermittently for about seven months. There were no warning indicators before the vehicle stalled. Additionally, when the vehicle stalled it will not restart without the computer being reprogrammed. Every time the vehicle was towed to the dealer. The only thing the dealer did was reset the computer. After the vehicle was in the dealership 5 times for this problem the contact began resetting the computer. The dealer's service manager showed the contact how to reprogram the computer by turning the ignition on, allowing the security light to flash ten minutes, turn the ignition off, and restart the vehicle. The dealer identified the problem as a short in the ignition switch. The vehicle is currently at the dealer awaiting repair of the ignition. The dealer offered two options for repair, to replace the entire ignition system or jump the security system. If the security system was by passed it will no longer activate. There are two technical service bulletins (tsbs) concerning the ignition, tsbs 010849020 and 020604011. Updated 02/27/06.

- Birch Run, MI, USA

problem #11

May 082005

Grand Am 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles
My 2001 Pontiac Grand Am also has had problems with the ignition switch cyclinder. I had it replace July 2003 and just yesterday 5/12/05. Both times my car was not under warranty. I went to church on mothers day car was running fine. Went home and was in the house for 15 minutes and went to leave and my car would not start up. I to went out and brought a new car battery and car still would not start. I have spent money to have my car towed to the dealer and paying for the same promblem within 2 years. I also had to have the fuel pump replaced in 2002 and I brought the car in 2001, that was within my first year of having the vehicle. I have read all the consumer complaints and I counted 20 complaints about the ignition. Something really needs to be done about this.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #10

Jan 192005

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The ignition switch system keeps locking the car up and will not let it start. This has happened numerous times and at a cost of between $500 and $700 each time. The dealer replaces switch and other componets each time. This started when the car reached 50,000 miles and was out of warranty.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #9

Oct 032004

Grand Am

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
Vehicle was having a problem with the ignition switch. When the they key will not turn when applied to the ignition switch. Consumer took the vehicle to dealer for service. However, warranty expired.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #8

May 142004

Grand Am

  • 32,000 miles
Intermittently consumer was unable to turn the key in the ignition switch. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem.

- Hazel Crest, IL, USA

problem #7

Jun 022004

Grand Am

  • 36,589 miles
While driving vehicle shut down. Consumer tried to restart vehicle but it failed to do so. Consumer took vehicle back to the dealer, who made a few adjustments. However, the problem recurred.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #6

Mar 232004

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles
I have had several problems with my vechicle not starting and the dealer has told me several different reasons. Back in May 2003 is suppose to have been the computer codes were inproperly put into my car but now in March 2004 it is my ignition switch which a friend of mine has had the same problem but it was a recall on her car year.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #5

Mar 012004

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,775 miles
After driving the vehicle to visit a business, it would not restart. The engine would turn over but would not start.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?