Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine And Engine Cooling Problems

2001 Pontiac Grand Am (Page 1 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,811 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Pontiac Grand Am:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Nov 262001

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We have received the recall letter dated October 2014. We had complained about the safety of the vehicle as it shut off as we were going down the interstate across a bridge which has a bump on it we lost all power and was like old fashion steering. We coasted to the end of the exit ramp and had to play with the key and after awhile it started and this continued off and on and they told us had to turn key for 10 min on aux till light blinked and reset itself they told us would reset security system and start. Which it did most of the time was a pain an inconvenient. We got rid of it in 06 or 07. It was interesting and GM said it was our problem. Haven't purchased another GM vehicle. Had a lot of close calls with this vehicle....but was our issue they told us....

- Groton, VT, USA

problem #31

Sep 162014

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • 182,000 miles
Going through an intersection, the car shuts off and the car following runs into the the back of us.

- Lynndyl, UT, USA

problem #30

Mar 212014

Grand Am

  • 122,000 miles
I was driving down the street and the car just shuts off while driving or slowing down. They are saying the fuel injector is bad.

- Minneapolis , MN, USA

problem #29

Aug 122009

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated the security system warning indicator illuminated and the engine failed to start. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The technician informed the contact that the malfunction was contributed to a defect within the engine. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred six months later. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000. Updated 6/4/12 the consumer stated that security locks ignition for 10 minutes. These occurrences happen everday. Updated 06/07/12

- Newport Richey , FL, USA

problem #28

Jan 012011

Grand Am

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, he noticed that the vehicle was running low on coolant. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the head gasket was leaking. The vehicle was repaired. The contact also stated that the turn signals only illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Perry, OH, USA

problem #27

Feb 172012

Grand Am

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled with the illumination of the check engine and security warning lamps. The contact also mentioned that there were times that the vehicle could not be started. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the security pass lock system was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN number was not available. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 130,000.

- Gastonia, NC, USA

problem #26

Oct 132011

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I try to use my signals it wont work, they wont come on, it also lile to have caused an accident, when I crank the car up ot makes a loud noise for about five minutes, or sometimes it wont start, I have to wait thirty minutes, before it could crank on numerous occasions, it has done that, I also have to keep replacing brakes for this car, my coolant jug I have replaced that many of times and its still has a leak in it I have to put coolant in there four times a week, and also if im making a left my steering wheel it gets stuck sometimes.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #25

May 262011

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. While driving approximately 45 mph, the engine stalled with the illumination of the ABS warning indicator. The vehicle restarted after the consumer waited for a period of five hours. Also, there was a small amount of coolant and water leakage on the ground as the engine would overheat sporadically. The vehicle was diagnosed by two different independent mechanics who informed the contact that the head gasket, intake gasket and thermostat would need to be replaced. The failures continued to occur. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 08/01/11 updated 08/11/11

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #24

Jan 152009

Grand Am

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. When the contact attempted to start the vehicle, it would not respond. The vehicle was towed to a local repair shop where the ignition switch was replaced. The failure occurred five months later; this time, the vehicle was able to be started after it was towed. The vehicle was taken to another local repair shop but the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle had not been repaired again. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 90,000 and the current mileage was approximately 175,000.

- Maple Grove, MN, USA

problem #23

Jul 012010

Grand Am

  • 126,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that while trying to start the vehicle in heavy rainy weather conditions, the vehicle would start and within a few seconds, the engine would stall. The failure does not occur unless it rains. The dealer advised him to have a diagnostic test performed. The contact is concerned that the vehicle will stall if he attempts to drive it to the dealer. General Motors confirmed that the failure needed to be diagnosed by the dealer. The failure mileage was approximately 126,000.

- Brownsville , TX, USA

problem #22

Dec 272009

Grand Am

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have replaced the radiator twice, the water pump twice (going on number 3 tomorrow) and also get to do an intake manifold gasket. I own a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The cause has since been discovered as the dex-cool coolant that GM manufactures which eats anything it comes in contact with. Recall needs issued, and repair work paid for.

- Orem , UT, USA

problem #21

Jun 022009

Grand Am

  • 123,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. While driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The engine was able to be restarted. There were no warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The failure occurred on four more occasions. Recently, the engine failed to restart. The vehicle is currently inoperable and has not been repaired. In addition, the pass lock system was previously replaced. The contact is in the process of taking the vehicle to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. The failure and current mileages were 123,000.

- Lindstrom, MN, USA

problem #20

Dec 172008

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,300 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. During routine maintenance a technician stated that under pressure of the intake manifold was inoperable and needed to be replaced. The contact was responsible for the repair cost which exceeded $700. The failure and current mileages were 80,300. Updated 03/18/09. The intake manifold gasket was leaking and needed to be replaced. Updated 03/20/09.

- Churchville, NY, USA

problem #19

Aug 122007

Grand Am

  • 89,000 miles
3 window regulator are broken on driver side, and passenger. The rear window defroster only defrost half the window, interior lights do not go off when the switch is on auto, engine overheats, turn signals do not work, the engine is hard to start. I have not fixed the windows but I been to the dealership for the overheating and I was told there was no problems. I had to replace the fuel pump because the car would not start. These issues began over a year ago.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #18

Apr 282008

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 77,058 miles
Change oil light will come on early, about after 1,000 miles - before the typical 3,000 miles oil should be changed (I change my oil every 3,000 miles).

- Manchester, NN, USA

problem #17

Jun 252007

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
My 2001 Grand Am SE hit around 98,000 kms and has been revving at 2,500 to 3,000 rpms while idling and while driving over revs and you need two feet on the brake. Have replaced intake manifold, one sensor, one valve, and $1,000 later my car still does the same. This is not safe while transporting children and with winter coming it should make for a scary ride.

- Nova Scotia, 00, USA

problem #16

May 252007

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that coolant and antifreeze are leaking from the lower intake gasket. The failure was noticed while driving 40 mph. The VIN and engine size were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 51,000. Updated 08/23/07

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #15

Apr 012007

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 149,500 miles
I own a 2001 Grand Am SE 2.4L. I've had nothing but troubles with this car since I bought it. Here's the list of some of the things I've had to replace on the car: Alternator, starter, ignition module, coils and housing unit, and now the passlock system is junk!! this car has several times put me in danger because of it stalling just after stopping or just after going after a start. Which means I'm in the middle of an intersection when it stalls. I'm taking it to the dealer Friday to get the passlock system fixed because my security light is on. I want this car to be recalled or to get reimbursed for the cost and time I've had to put into this car which is a lot$$$

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #14

Dec 102001

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
Where to start...I have a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. Within 2 months of buying it, my fuel pump & computer went out at the same time. Next was my water pump & timing chain. Then was the security system, then the turn signals, then the windows wouldn't roll down. And now my brakes are having to be replaced on a consistent basis. The only thing covered by GM was the turn signal switch. All other replacements were at my expense. After researching on this site, I see numerous complaints of the same kind. I notified GM and they refused to help at all. I explained that since there are multiple complaints for the same things, it has to be a manufacturing defect. They shrugged that off. They finally sent me a letter stating that they would no longer "entertain" any of my comments or complaints. Do not buy a Pontiac!!! junk city!!!

- St Joseph, MO, USA

problem #13

Jun 302006

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
I just recently replaced the coolant intake in my 2001 Pontiac Grand Am SE 6 cylinder. The mechanic told me that he has seen this many times before and that it is a costly manufacturing error. I also have to replace my multi-function switch when the turn signal recall came out. I have done a little research on the coolant intake problem and as I have stated I have found that as well as my GM dealer have all noted that there is a design flaw with the gasket in it's relation to the dex-cool coolant (the coolant is acidic and eats away at the gasket which leads to coolant getting into engine or oil getting into coolant). I would like to looked at further.

- Little Chute, WI, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?