Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2002 Pontiac Grand Am (Page 2 of 5)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,450 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Pontiac Grand Am:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #74

Jul 052014

Grand Am

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact also stated that the left and right turning and hazard signals failed. The contact mentioned that the failures were getting progressively worse. In addition, the vehicle stalled and failed to restart. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #73

Sep 052012

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 148,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the entire instrumental panel illuminated. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 148,000. Updated 1/7/15 updated 10/5/2015

- Radcliff, KY, USA

problem #72

Sep 242014

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Where is my recall notification letter ?? this car continues to die/shut off at any time - I love riding in my casket and waiting for the day of my funeral to come - [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Worthington, OH, USA

problem #71

Jan 012013

Grand Am

  • 127,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that the key could be removed from the ignition while the engine was on. The contact mentioned that the vehicle would remain on. Also, the contact stated that the vehicle stalled several times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replace. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 127,000.

- Galloway , OH, USA

problem #70

Aug 202014

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • 124,392 miles
When I asked a service manager at sullivan parkhill GM dealership in champaign, il. He stated that GM has had no such agreement regarding NHTSA action number : PE05055 and if I want that component repaired it would be on a "time and materials" procedure. Do I have any other recourse regarding NHTSA action number: PE05055 cordially, [xxx] NHTSA recall campaign number : N/a vehicle make / model: Model year(s): Chevrolet / Malibu 2002 Oldsmobile / Alero 2002 Pontiac / Grand Am 2002 manufacturer(s) : General Motors llc component(s) : exterior lighting:hazard flashing warning lights:switch exterior lighting:turn signal:switch date investigation opened : September 27, 2005 date investigation closed : January 13, 2006 summary: In December 2004, GM issued a special policy for my 1999-2000 Alero, Grand Am and Malibu vehicles not covered under recall 03V327. The policy covered turn signal/hazard flasher failure for a period of 10 years or 150,000 miles (whichever occurred first) to provide a no cost replacement of the hazard switch. GM sent letters to owners starting December 30, 2004. In January 2006, GM will update the special policy to include my 2002 Alero, Grand Am and Malibu vehicles not covered under recall 03V-327. The policy covers turn signal/hazard flasher failure for a period of 10 years or 150,000 miles (whichever occurs first) to provide a no cost replacement of the hazard switch. GM will send letters to owners starting late April 2006. The actions taken by the manufacturer is sufficient to resolve the issues raised by this investigation. The closing of this investigation does not constitute a finding by NHTSA that no safety-related defect exists. The Agency reserves the right to take future action if warranted by the circumstances. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mahomet, IL, USA

problem #69

Aug 012013

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 87,202 miles
There are a number of problems: But right now I can turn the ignition and the car will give the sound of starting up but will not. I had the following items checked: Fuel pump operation: Pressures are good injector pulse - engine has spark body control module: B2965 - key ignition fault recommended to see dealer for possible recall and or ignition diagnose.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #68

Aug 142014

Grand Am

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the passlock anti-theft system suddenly activated causing the vehicle to stall. The vehicle was towed. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified about the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage is unknown.

- Van Wert, OH, USA

problem #67

Jul 262014

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 111,089 miles
The car will not crank over at all due to pass code yet another ignition problem my last GM product if this is not resolved.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #66

Jul 012014

Grand Am

  • 134,000 miles
I bought a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am and lately the turn signal and hazard lights work whenever they want. I just started experiencing this problem. I researched this website to see that there was a recall back on the problem but it has since closed. I was wanting to know if I can get any assistance with this problem. I you can help please let me know.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #65

Jul 172014

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The recall for my Grand Am faulty ignition switch, their remedy is to replace the key, key ring, and plastic key cover... not the actual defective switch now, I am no engineer, but, wont the ignition switch still be defective, , even if they issue titanium, or carbon fiber keys, if I hit a bump the bad ignition switch (the lock attached to the actual electrical switch is pretty heavy)could still shut the engine off...(even if there wasn't a key in it) the switch is defective, not the keys, they (including my spares) all still work!!!! are they going to fix their power steering recall by removing the leather from the steering wheel"??" please have an actual mechanic, and electrical engineer read this and think about it, not an office person, , please...peoples lives depend on this!!!!!!!

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #64

Dec 012010

Grand Am

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that the front brakes wore prematurely. In addition, the contact stated that the turn signals and the power window switch failed to activate when engaged. The contact also mentioned that water penetrated through the sunroof. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 95,000 and the current mileage was 100,000.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #63

May 012013

Grand Am

  • 120,000 miles
I bought my Pontiac a year ago. A few weeks after buying it, it had trouble starting. It only happened a couple of times, but it would always eventually start. However, last week it took us almost two hours to get it started. After that it seems to lose power going up a hill or even when at a stop. My brother-in-law has replaced the fuel pump and sensor and it still is doing the same thing. It is so frustrating that so many people are having the exact problem but nothing is being done about it. It shows what kind of a dealer GM really is! they only care about the money and not the safety of its' customers!!!

- Barnesville, OH, USA

problem #62

Feb 052014

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 96,680 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that the key would not release from the ignition. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the shifter assembly was replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 96,680 updated 8/19/14

- Florence , MT, USA

problem #61

Apr 042013

Grand Am

  • 140,000 miles
I bought my 2002 Grand Am about a year ago. About a week after I bought it, the turn signals made a buzzing noise coming from behind the radio it seems. Sometimes the signals work correctly. Other times they blink too fast, too slow, make a buzzing noise with no blinking or they buzz and blink. This is highly annoying. I have already gotten a ticket for failing to use my turn signal. It just buzzed with no blinking and when I went to prove it to the officer that there was a problem with them, it worked perfectly fine! how convenient! also, sometimes when I go to start my car it wont turn over or crank. I've noticed the security light comes on around the time this happens. I have to leave my key on the on position for 15 mins and then it will start. From the research I've done this is a pass lock security feature which shuts down the fuel system.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #60

Mar 012013

Grand Am

  • 125,000 miles
This vehicle, along with many others according to what I have seen online, many others are affected by the same issue, the same model, just varying in years. The car will not start. The ignition switch fails to start the car whatsoever. And due to no problem being reported by General Motors, mechanics have little idea of what the problem is. Causing a massive waste of money, this issue has plagued our car for over a year. And due to no issue being reported by General Motors, multiple mechanics have said it is the fuel pump. We have wasted hundreds of dollars on false diagnosis when the issue is the ignition switch! I am doing this now because we have heard of all the recalls GM is doing with other vehicles dating back to their 2003 models. And when I see that our model isn't even on any of the lists, even for the newer years. It bugs me. Just a couple of weeks ago, because of the same issue, out car died in the middle of a busy interstate highway! we could have been killed! luckily we were able to pull over, it took about a half an hour of using the ignition reset trick to get the car started again! many others have this issue from what I've seen, I see other people with this car complaining. And online I see a whole lot of people dealing with this exact same issue! this problem could kill somebody!!!

- Gainesville, TX, USA

problem #59

Mar 302014

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • 164,760 miles
I was driving my mothers car when I went to slow down coming up on a hill going down felt like brakes went to the floor. Coming down the hill is when I noticed my ebrake didn't even work. My brake light, oil light, trac off light and my security light were on. Then couldn't control the car went in wrong lane and hit head on with another car.

- Mayfield, PA, USA

problem #58

Jul 082013

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated the vehicle failed to start until after numerous attempts at turning the key. The failure recurred daily over a period of six months. The vehicle was not taken for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000. Updated 5/19/14

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #57

Apr 052013

Grand Am

  • 65,000 miles
This car was purchased on 02/14/2002 - I am the original owner - 70,000 original miles - this car has died (stopped running) going the a freeway going 65 to 70 mph - it has died at red lights while idling - this car has died many many times - it has been towed into a GM dealership twice and been there for 7 days each time - why are Pontiac Grand Am(s) not on this recall list ??

- Worthington, OH, USA

problem #56

Mar 252014

Grand Am

  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, there was a sudden hesitation as the engine stalled with the illumination of the trac warning indicator. The vehicle failed to restart and was towed to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the ignition lock cylinder, fuel pump and battery would need to be replaced. The vehicle was currently being repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 99,000.

- Evergreen Park, IL, USA

problem #55

Feb 222014

Grand Am

  • 235,107 miles
I own a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT. My blinker only works some times. I have replaced the fuses but it has not changed anything. As I tried to research this issue online for my make and model I was surprised to see a numerous amount of postings by people with Pontiac grand sam's with the same issue. I was also surprised to see there was not yet a recall for this problem as were other owners as I read there complaints. This is a safety issue that needs to be addressed. I did not purchase my vehicle to have to worry about a risk of an accident or getting a ticket. Please this issue needs to be resolved.

- Senoia , GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?