Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2002 Pontiac Grand Am (Page 4 of 5) Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,450 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Pontiac Grand Am:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Nov 222009

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles


Safety light on in 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. Key has trouble turning over at times. Has to do with security in ignition. If key is not inserted just right after key is worn down after using in car a while, the car thinks there is something wrong and tries to shut down like it is trying to be stolen and it can leave you stranded. I can not get the security light to go off and at times the key does not work properly.

- Hartselle, AL, USA

problem #33

Mar 022010

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 177,000 miles
2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT - fails to start every time. Security passlock issue. If the vehicle doesn't think it's the right key in the ignition it will not start. The solution is to sit and wait for 15 minutes for the security light to go off. After spending hundreds of dollars replacing parts this still happens. This problem is widespread and needs to be fixed by GM.

- Warren, RI, USA

problem #32

Dec 192009

Grand Am

  • 54,000 miles
Pass lock prevents car to start.

- Pompton Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #31

Nov 092009

Grand Am

  • 112,000 miles


About a year ago car wouldn't start. Had it towed and the service garage replaced the ignition assembly and did a security update. About 2 weeks ago car wouldn't start tried jumping, nothing. Security light on dash was blinking. Researched on computer and found out if you turn key on for fifteen minutes then try to start the car it will start. Well I tried this and it worked. Leaving the key on for fifteen minutes resets the security system on the car. My car has started for the last 2 weeks. I called the dealer and they said they can't disarm the security system and there were no recalls for my car. Maybe this is what the garage did a year ago and charged for a new assembly because I still use the original key. Please help because I am not alone and this problem really confuses the repairman according to the web site I found this easy fix on.

- Phillipsburg, NJ, USA

problem #30

Apr 102009

Grand Am

  • 115,000 miles
At times when I am driving my 2002 Pontiac Grand Am I will see smoke coming from my steering wheel, I think it has something to do with the clicking sound I hear that won't stop.

- Tustin, CA, USA

problem #29

Aug 232008

Grand Am

  • miles
At times when I am driving my 2002 Pontiac Grand Am I will see smoke coming from my steering wheel, I think it has something to do with the clicking sound I hear that won't stop.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #28

Apr 092009

Grand Am

  • 84,000 miles


2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT - problem with security/passlock system. Can not depend on this car starting. Will start one day & next day will not. Have reset the security system countless times and finally after last reset will still not start. I am a single, working mom who receives no assistance from government agencies, child support, etc.; works everyday; still paying on this car which only has 84,000 miles on it. Can't afford another car payment, but also can't get this car to start to even drive off a cliff, muchless to dealership to trade in. I am just fed up with this vehicle and after reading numerous similar complaints on forum, can't believe GM hasn't issued recall. Can't something be done? no wonder GM is going under. No one wants to buy their products due to the quality and dependability.

- Panama City, FL, USA

problem #27

Mar 012007

Grand Am

  • miles
I have a 2002 Grand Am GT. I drove it off the lot new with 34 miles on it. I have had nothing but problems with this vehicle. The low oil sensor has been replaced 3 times. The gasket intake valves were leaking causing my lifters to melt together. I had to have the lifters replaced in the engine at 70,000 miles. Being that my salesman worked with me, all I had to pay was the cost of labor. That was still $1000. At 81,000 I had to have a new catalytic converter put in. One year later I have been told that I need another new catalytic converter. I have also had trouble with the blinkers and brake lights as others have written. My security light has also just started coming on. I have had nothing but GM vehicles up to this point, as have the rest of my family. I even had family that worked for GM. I had a Grand Prix before this, and it was great. However, I will never, ever, buy another GM vehicle for as long as I live. They do not produce a product that they will stand behind. No wonder they need a bailout!

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #26

Jul 152007

Grand Am

  • 75,000 miles
The security light on the dash comes on constantly, and the driver side door the window will not go up or down.

- East Liverpool, OH, USA

problem #25

Nov 012008

Grand Am

  • miles
No injuries yet, no crashes yet, and many incidents of my patients being run thin. My car is has gotten worse and this problem has been going on for the past 17 months at-least I have not been writing every-time down because it is a inconvenience. Not only to me but my work and emergency also. I just hope that my child is not seriously hurt one day and my car wont start. I currently own a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT. The security system is making the car where it will not start and the security alert light that is located on the console is on continuously. I have a friend that her car is doing the same but is at a more advanced stage than mine.. and her car actually shut off on the road while the car was in motion. My car is not to that stage today. The manual says to rest the system by allowing the car to sit in the on position for at-least 10 mins where mine is taking 13-15 mins. And allow the system to reset. The car is currently not starting at-least twice a day. And one time the car actually did not start. My dad put in a new battery and that did not correct the problem. I am at a loss, the car is deteriorating fast and there is no recall for this issue with the security system/pass-lock. There are many people with the same issue. I feel like GM is taking advantage of the situation just to make a buck, and they need to be held responsible for this issue that is occurring with all GM vehicles. Please help! I am going Monday to the dealership to have a price quoted.

- Abilene, TX, USA

problem #24

Oct 032008

Grand Am

  • 40,000 miles


2002 Grand Am GT passlock system. On October 3, 2008 when I tried to reset the oil light on my vehicle turned the ignition key to on, vehicle wouldn't start. This has happened least five times within the last year. I've either had to replace the ignition cylinder or the passlock system. Each time this happened I've had to have the car towed.

- Dothan, AL, USA

problem #23

Jul 082008

Grand Am

  • miles
There is a very distracting clicking sound in the dash, as if the blinkers are running, but they are not. Sometimes it's a fast constant clicking sound, sometimes it's a slow clicking sound, but it's always there. Very annoying.

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #22

May 202008

Grand Am

  • 84,300 miles
I have a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The problem started 4 months ago. When I put on the turn signal smoke will start coming from under the plastic cover behind the steering wheel. I pop up the cover and observed that the smoke is coming from inside a sealed mechanism that is behind the steering wheel. It started doing it more often and as soon as the blinker goes off the smoke will stop. I called a Pontiac dealer and was told that they had no information or recalls for this issue but that they will check it for $39.95 I am afraid that the car might just catch on fire one of these days. Can you provide me with some guidance who to call? the date below is the last time it happens. But like I said before, it started occurring more often.

- Lawton, OK, USA

problem #21

Dec 172007

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • miles
I bought my 2002 grandam when it was a year old with 22,000 miles on it, I'm the second owner. I had problems within a few months. Smoke came from the steering column and there was a clicking noise in the dash. Then the blinkers didn't work right...would only work randomly...took it to the place where I bought it and they replaced the turn signal arm...still having trouble to this day with the blinkers. A few months ago the car wouldn't was turning over but it wouldn't actually start. Repair shop replaced fuel pump, didn't solve the problem but the car ran for a few weeks and then it wouldn't start again. Repair shop said the passcode security/ignition sensor had to be replaced. They did it, and it worked for about 3 months and the other day the car wouldn't start, same thing as the first time. I called the local Pontiac dealership and all I said when the mechanic answered was "I have a 2002 grandam and it won't start" without hesitation or any other information he asked me "was the security light on"" I said "yes! how did you know that"" he said it's a very common problem w/ these cars and the only thing to do is have the passcode sensor replaced but there's no guarantee that it won't happen again because they have no way of bypassing the security/passcode system. Well, I told him I already did that a few months ago, so he said a temporary fix for right now is to put the key in the ignition and turn it to acc, wait 10-15 minutes and it should start, but this is temporary. Well, it did work and has for the last few days but I know it will happen again and I'm worried that I'll get stranded or left helpless someday. It's ridiculous to have to deal with this problem and keep putting money into a problem that there's no solution to. I loved this car when I first got it and now I hate it and will never buy another Pontiac again. I'm so disappointed.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #20

Oct 052007

Grand Am

  • miles
I purchased a Pontiac Grand Am 2002 a few years ago and I now realized that the indicator switch sticks and periodically smokes when it is used. I called and notified the manufacturer, but had no satisfactory response. I spoke with a mechanic who advise me it is a very expensive piece of equipment.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #19

May 162007

Grand Am

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I am the original owner of a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am - four door vehicle. It currently has approximately 40,000 miles. All four tires leaked air and I needed to constantly to check and fill all four tires. They seemed to leak a random paces losing air at different rates. I have had multiple problems with this vehicle, including noise from the tires shortly after purchase. The dealership agreed to replace two of the tires per some service bulletin but once they were rotated, the noise started up again. Also, had problems with my windshield wipers remaining on when utilizing mist for up to 25 swipes. The wipers also stop in the middle of the windshield when using mist or the intermittent option. The electric door locks and window buttons only worked on occasion other than those on the drivers side. At approximately 33,000 miles while having a routine oil change, a valve had to be replaced due to antifreeze/oil leaking with the potential of burning out the engine. Clearly this has been just one problem after another. Am completely disappointed in Pontiac. This was my first (and last) Pontiac purchase due to the number of issues with the car. The intent at purchase was that this vehicle could then be passed to my teenage daughter who will begin driving this year, knowing that I have maintained the car and it has low mileage. At his point, I am concerned for her safety.

- North Canton, OH, USA

problem #18

Apr 042007

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,500 miles
Originally I noticed the security light came on while driving every once in a while. Today I tried to start the car and no cranking at all. Waited 10 mins with the key in acc position, then car started.

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #17

Feb 062007

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
I drove to the mall, my car ran fine. After I was done shopping (about 2 hours later) I went to leave, and my car would not start. It left me with my 2 children stranded and a tow bill. After I had the car towed home, it started right up! I am afraid to go anywhere now in fear that my children and I will be stranded again, and I will have a large tow bill. My cruise control has quit working too.

- Mingo Junction, OH, USA

problem #16

Jan 202007

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Electrical - since I bought 2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT for my college bound daughter in 2002 more than 10-12 times she complained her car doesn't start and I had to go to give her jump. On one occasion she took to the dealer. Several mechanics even told me that there are lots of owner of this model complained about the electrical problem. I even change the battery in first 2 years. Now again I am having problem car doesn't start without jump (1/23/2007).

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

problem #15

Nov 052006

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,500 miles
Continues blinker sound even when the blinker is not in use very annoying and very expensive from what I hear, hope it doesn't short out and take its components with it.

- Burnsville, MN, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?