Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2002 Pontiac Grand Am (Page 1 of 5)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,450 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Pontiac Grand Am:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #94

May 012015

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Hello, I'm not sure who to contact in regards to this, but I have a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am and received a safety recall notice in the mail, (the ignition/security recall.) I brought my car to the dealership, only to discover they never fixed it and when I called to address them about it, they reassured me they did, and have had second and third parties, (mechanics, ) look and they if fact, did not. As a result, I've invested so much money and am now in car-less, and am a widow with 4 children going to college full time online. I've tried to fix it myself and having other mechanics who don't specialize in this fix it. Please any help or information would be appreciated. Thank you for your time.

- Allenhurst, GA, USA

problem #93

Oct 312015

Grand Am

  • 185,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. When the ignition was turned to the on position, the ignition failed to turn. Thirty minutes after jiggling the key, the ignition turned to the on position. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was approximately 185,000.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #92

Oct 192013

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • miles
2002 Pontiac Grand Am. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall repairs and seeks reimbursement.

- Kingsport, TN, USA

problem #91

Dec 182015

Grand Am

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph, the vehicle stalled while slowing down to get off the ramp without warning. The contact stated that the brake pedal was depressed to the floorboard in order for the vehicle to stop. The contact coasted over to the side of the road and was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000.

- Pocatello, ID, USA

problem #90

Sep 012011

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. While driving at approximately 50 mph, the front and rear turn signal lamps failed to operate. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 03/18/16 the consumer stated the signal switch was replaced. Updated 03/22/16.

- Redding, CT, USA

problem #89

Aug 142014

Grand Am

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that the ignition key failed to start the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the cylinder in the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system) but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The contact also stated that prior to the recall repair being performed she had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 105,000.

- Maywood, NJ, USA

problem #88

Jun 032014

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Pontiac Grand Am. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice issues. The consumer stated on June 3, 3014, the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop. The repair shop recommended the consumer visit the dealer, because a recall had been issued for the problem. The dealer informed the consumer, his VIN was not included in the recall. The consumer returned to the repair shop, where he had the ignition lock cylinder housing replaced at his expense. The consumer received the ignition recall notice in October 2014.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #87

Jul 212015

Grand Am

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contac stated that after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The vehicle failed to restart after shutting off the engine. The failure was not experienced before the recall was serviced. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and, upon recharging the battery, the failure continued. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Rapid City, SD, USA

problem #86

Aug 282014

Grand Am

  • miles
When trying to turn on my car it wont start and a security message turns on on dashboard.I always have to wait atleast 10 minutes for the security message to disappear, but lately it does it twice in a row causing me to wait 20-25 minites for the engine to turn on. Also the car turns off while on parked position.

- Bakersfield , CA, USA

problem #85

Jun 122015

Grand Am

  • 194,000 miles
When I try to start the car the security light comes on keeping the car from starting so I have to turn the switch to the on postion and wait 10-15 minutes to get it to start and it's an on going thing.

- Maryville, TN, USA

problem #84

Oct 042014

Grand Am

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that the ignition switch failed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the ignition switch was replaced. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 12V400000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was serviced under the recall. The contact felt that the recall remedy was not a permanent repair for the vehicle. The failure mileage was not available.

- Blatimore, NY, USA

problem #83

Oct 152014

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/17/15

- Crenshaw, MS, USA

problem #82

Apr 222015

Grand Am

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. While driving at 35 mph, the vehicle stalled and the rear wheels seized. As a result, the contact lost control of the vehicle and the rear driver side crashed into a curb, deflating the tire. The air bags failed to deploy. The ABS and the check engine warning lights illuminated. The contact did not sustain any injures that required medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 25,000.

- West Plains, MO, USA

problem #81

Feb 262015

Grand Am

  • 134,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that the ignition switch would remain stuck. In addition, the key could be removed and the engine would remain powered on. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was previously serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 134,000.

- Dublin, NC, USA

problem #80

Jan 012015

Grand Am

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. After the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system), the anti theft light illuminated on the instrument panel, which prevented the vehicle from starting. The contact did not experience the failure until after the repair was preformed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the key was defective. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #79

Dec 092014

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owned a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. While making a right turn at approximately 35 mph, the contact's vehicle stalled without warning. As a result, another vehicle crashed into the contact's vehicle. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact sustained femur and kneecap fractures and whiplash injuries that required medical attention. The person that was in the other vehicle sustained numerous injuries that also required medical attention. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system); however, the contact stated that no notification was received until months after the crash. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 8/28/15

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #78

Feb 202015

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • 110,045 miles
I have had my car since November 2014. I go into the mall for a few hours and come back out to start my car and the key would not turn in the ignition. I turned the steering wheel and everything else I could think of. Still nothing... I have it towed to a GMC ( winegardner brandywine Maryland).. they tell me I need a new ignition lock cylinder ( $851) because I can not afford that hefty repair I have it sent to my personal mechanic and the car turns on perfectly for him. I don't understand how a car can go a week and a half without turning on. Multiple people tried the key and then the car turns on. I don't feel safe driving this car at all. After looking at recalls and other complaints this car is garbage.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #77

Mar 192011

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • 95,798 miles
This has been reported to GM by certified mail 4/14/2014 to GM headquarters, po box 33172, detroit mi 48232 attn: Pontiac ignition problems etc. - address given to ome by Ms. Corina on 4/14/14 ref#[xxx], showing between 3/19/11 and 10/22/13 ignition module & coil, security system shutdown, ignition starter switch/lock/tumbler, window reg/motor/holder, window reg/motor/holder, window reg/motor/holder (happened several times and had to replaced several times). Reported to dotvsh on 7/6/14 call ref#[xxx], office defect inv #[xxx]. never have received any result. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Athens, TN, USA

problem #76

Feb 022015

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Pontiac Grand Am. Consumer states vehicle have many problems including car shutting off at any time while in motion. The consumer stated the engine and transmission mounts were replaced.

- Cross, SC, USA

problem #75

Nov 112014

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. While driving at a low speed, the security light flashed and then suddenly remained illuminated. In addition, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the security sensor needed to be recoded. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure persisted. The vehicle was then towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the pass lock sensor, the ignition switch, and the key needed to be replaced. Additionally, the cylinder needed to be recoded. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 170,000. Updated 01/23/15 updated 03/17/15 updated 10/7/2015 updated 10/19/2015

- Wetumpka, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?