Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems

2002 Pontiac Grand Am (Page 2 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,866 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Pontiac Grand Am:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Apr 082010

Grand Am

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am that has a defective turn signal relay, or emergency flasher. Sometimes the signal will work, sometimes not, which is pretty dangerous when driving on the freeway. I have researched this issue on the internet, and see that GM is aware of this problem with their vehicles. I called the 1-800-620-7668 and was told no recalls were on my car. It is a safety hazard.

- Battle Ground, WA, USA

problem #16

May 012006

Grand Am

  • 85,000 miles
2002 Grand Am there has been a short in my multifunction switch for quite some time. That's what the dealership told me it was. When I took it to them and I was aware of the tsb but they said it was not covered because it's not a safety issue. Something linked to that is clicking in the dash. If I depress the hazard button 1/2 way it stops but I can't exactly drive around like that. It's not constant and as far as I can tell the signals are working fine when I use them.

- Grafton, WI, USA

problem #15

Mar 052010

Grand Am

  • 78,314 miles
I purchased my 2002 used with 73K miles 12/09. After approximately 4K miles just driving to and from work I took an 800 mi road trip. When the car got up to running temperature in humidity the turn signals didn't function. I stopped and checked to make sure there weren't any blown bulbs or fuses, but there weren't any. After letting the Grand Am cool down, I went back on the road. Again, the signals didn't work. I was careful and didn't have any accidents, but this issue is causing great concern, and I don't want to cause anything. There has been a tsb 034-327 that is for the same multifunction switch. Why didn't this tsb cover the switch for the 2002 Grand Am?

- Haxtun, CO, USA

problem #14

Dec 182009

Grand Am

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Why aren't 2002 Pontiac Grand Am's included in the multifunction switch recall 03V-327? it is the same malfunctioning part so it should require the manufacturer's to cover the cost of replacement and labor.

- Janesville, WI, USA

problem #13

Feb 272009

Grand Am

  • miles
On February 23, 2009, I purchased a black 2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT sedan, from log cabin auto located in murphy North Carolina (Cherokee county). I paid in full exactly 4,011 dollars to the car sales men, mark kissel. The second day I had the car I had to change a 0 2 censor. One week after I had made the purchase, the left and right blinker signals failed to operate. When the first initial incident occurred, I returned back to the dealer. When I got there the signals had resumed their proper function. I often have to turn my emergency blinkers on to get my signals to operate. Until this day they do not always work. The following week, I am driving in the pouring rain with my infant child in the back seat, when my wind shield wipers failed to work. Week after week something defaults on this vehicle. By this point I'm getting suspicious about the validity of the vehicle. So I return to the car lot and ask for all my paperwork, and a car fax report. At the time, he could not furnish any paper work. So I go to a certified GM motor dealership, also located here in murphy North Carolina, and have them to provide me with a car fax report. This is when I found out the vehicle had been wrecked; also it had failed an emissions safety inspection and has fraudulent mileage. On 05/10/2002 the mileage registered as having 17 miles, 06/11/2002 it had 1,016, 05/22/2003 it had 108,190, 10/22/2008 it had 85,000, when I paid for the car, I signed a legal document stating that I agreed to purchase the vehicle with the knowledge that it had 84,156 miles on it. Finally, after a week of waiting he furnishes me with all the copies. My brakes have completely gone out, my catalytic convertors and exhaust system needs to be replaced. Tonight on 04/28/2009, my rear lights completely burnt out and my sunroof flew off the car and shattered onto the highway. I'm a struggling college student, was an orphan of the state (North Carolina, until I aged out of foster care) and I am single mother.

- Murphy, NC, USA

problem #12

Feb 152009

Grand Am

  • 124,000 miles
I recently purchased a used 2002 Pontiac Grand Am SE. Within a few days of purchase, it began to experience turn signal/hazard problems. The turn signal and/or hazard lights will work sometimes and then other times they will not work at all. Sometimes, it will start working when you first start driving and then stop working while you are driving and will also start with them not working when you start driving and then start working later, all without restarting the vehicle. Also, the turn signal will make clicking noises when not in use. This is very dangerous because people do not know when I am turning and I have had a few close calls with other vehicles!!!!

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #11

Feb 022009

Grand Am

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2002 Grand Am. It has been giving me problems with the turn signals. Unlike the recall, the signals are still working, they just click rapidly when they are not in use. The noise lasts for a long time. I replaced the flasher/switch unit and the problem persists. Randomly, the flasher relay will click and then stop and start again. When it is clicking, no lights flash (either turn or hazard) but if I engage hazards or turn signal, they operate normally. Once turned off, the clicking will randomly continue.

- Tustin, CA, USA

problem #10

Mar 012007

Grand Am

  • miles
I have a 2002 Grand Am GT. I drove it off the lot new with 34 miles on it. I have had nothing but problems with this vehicle. The low oil sensor has been replaced 3 times. The gasket intake valves were leaking causing my lifters to melt together. I had to have the lifters replaced in the engine at 70,000 miles. Being that my salesman worked with me, all I had to pay was the cost of labor. That was still $1000. At 81,000 I had to have a new catalytic converter put in. One year later I have been told that I need another new catalytic converter. I have also had trouble with the blinkers and brake lights as others have written. My security light has also just started coming on. I have had nothing but GM vehicles up to this point, as have the rest of my family. I even had family that worked for GM. I had a Grand Prix before this, and it was great. However, I will never, ever, buy another GM vehicle for as long as I live. They do not produce a product that they will stand behind. No wonder they need a bailout!

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #9

Nov 262008

Grand Am

  • miles
Multifunction switch defective brake lights keep going out. Window clip broken.

- Basehor , KS, USA

problem #8

Oct 222008

Grand Am

  • 75,000 miles
During my daily drive to and from work my turn signal and hazard lights started to work intermittently on my 2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT. One minute the turn signal would work great and the next second it would stop. This occurred infrequently at first, but got progressively worse. Two weeks after the problem started, the turn signal and hazard lights stopped working altogether. Turn signals are an essential part of driving to safely indicate to other drivers that you need to enter another lane or are making a specific turn. Without my blinkers I almost got into several wrecks because I needed to switch lanes, but was unable to indicate this to other drivers during heavy traffic times. If I had broken down I wouldn't have my hazard lights to indicate to other drivers that I was stranded. After reading several web posts I determined that the switch that controls the turn signals and hazard lights was the problem. I replaced the part for $40 at the dealership and my blinkers and hazards have been working fine since. I was surprised to see the number of people that had the same problem on the internet. I also found out that the switch I replaced was actually recalled on earlier models of my car. The recall for this switch should be expanded to include the 2002 model.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #7

May 012006

Grand Am

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT and I received a letter from GM about the signals not working properly to contact the dealer and they would fix it but when I called they said they don't know anything about it and no letters went out so here I am a few years later and my signals still don't work all the time.

- Clayton, NC, USA

problem #6

May 282006

Grand Am

  • 70,000 miles
My 2002 Grand Am has a clicking sound coming from the dashboard. I took it to greenfield Pontiac after hearing about a service bulletin. They told me the bulletin did not cover the problem I had and that since it did not create a safety hazard, it was not covered. The cost to me would be about $300 for a new 'multifunction switch' which is the blinker/directional arm. My turn signals do function properly when I need to use them, and as far as I know the lights are not actually flashing. The clicking is not constant, or everyday, but when it gets going, sometimes it does not stop for 10 to 20 minutes. I think I'm going deaf from turning the radio up so I don't have to hear the clicking. I've had several other bad experiences with this vehicle that were not covered (I.e. timing went at 40,000 mi--big bill!). I will never buy another GM product--they do not stand behind their vehicles!

- Grafton, WI, USA

problem #5

Jul 242008

Grand Am

  • 80,817 miles
I took my car to marc miller Pontiac to have the turn signals fixed. The emergency flasher on the dash kept clicking and the turn signals would work periodically. The turn signals finally went out. The incident I am referring to is GM service bulletin 04098A. I can't understand if this applies to my 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. I was charged for this a total of $314.17 and am not sure if it was a recall.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #4

May 102008

Grand Am

  • 104,000 miles
The turn signals will intermittently stop working.

- Tustin, CA, USA

problem #3

Jan 012007

Grand Am

  • 60,000 miles
I own a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am and the turn signals will all of a sudden stop working, creating a hazardous driving situation. From what I've read of others complaints, this was recognized as a problem by GM in 2001 however a recall was not issued. I was told by the dealership this would cost me about $500 to repair and I've not been able to afford to do so. I think GM should fix this problem with no charge to me since so many others have complained of this problem also.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #2

Jul 082008

Grand Am

  • miles
There is a very distracting clicking sound in the dash, as if the blinkers are running, but they are not. Sometimes it's a fast constant clicking sound, sometimes it's a slow clicking sound, but it's always there. Very annoying.

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #1

May 202008

Grand Am

  • 90,000 miles
I own a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT and the turn signal indicators will randomly stop working. The first time this happened was on 5/20/08. The indicator arrows inside the car were not going off when I tried to signal. Luckily I was able to pull over and exam the exterior lights only to find that no signal lights outside my car worked either. This problem now occurs every couple of days and I find it very dangerous on busy roads. I feel it could lead to a preventable traffic accident. Through research I have found that this is a common complaint from fellow Pontiac owners. I also found that a recall investigation was filed back in Sept. Of 2005 (#PE05055) but was closed in Jan. Of 2006 with no recalls being issued. I have contacted my mechanic and it is going to cost me around $300 to fix this. I am upset that this same malfunction was recalled in the 2001 Grand Am models (03V327000) but will not be fixed for my 2002. When is GM going to take ownership of it's manufacturing errors??

- Missoula, MT, USA

Not what you are looking for?