Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems

2002 Pontiac Grand Am (Page 1 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,866 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Pontiac Grand Am:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Pontiac Grand Am Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #37

Sep 012011

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. While driving at approximately 50 mph, the front and rear turn signal lamps failed to operate. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 03/18/16 the consumer stated the signal switch was replaced. Updated 03/22/16.

- Redding, CT, USA

problem #36

Aug 042014

Grand Am

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the turn signals and the hazard lights failed. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- West Columbia, SC, USA

problem #35

Aug 202014

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • 124,392 miles
When I asked a service manager at sullivan parkhill GM dealership in champaign, il. He stated that GM has had no such agreement regarding NHTSA action number : PE05055 and if I want that component repaired it would be on a "time and materials" procedure. Do I have any other recourse regarding NHTSA action number: PE05055 cordially, [xxx] NHTSA recall campaign number : N/a vehicle make / model: Model year(s): Chevrolet / Malibu 2002 Oldsmobile / Alero 2002 Pontiac / Grand Am 2002 manufacturer(s) : General Motors llc component(s) : exterior lighting:hazard flashing warning lights:switch exterior lighting:turn signal:switch date investigation opened : September 27, 2005 date investigation closed : January 13, 2006 summary: In December 2004, GM issued a special policy for my 1999-2000 Alero, Grand Am and Malibu vehicles not covered under recall 03V327. The policy covered turn signal/hazard flasher failure for a period of 10 years or 150,000 miles (whichever occurred first) to provide a no cost replacement of the hazard switch. GM sent letters to owners starting December 30, 2004. In January 2006, GM will update the special policy to include my 2002 Alero, Grand Am and Malibu vehicles not covered under recall 03V-327. The policy covers turn signal/hazard flasher failure for a period of 10 years or 150,000 miles (whichever occurs first) to provide a no cost replacement of the hazard switch. GM will send letters to owners starting late April 2006. The actions taken by the manufacturer is sufficient to resolve the issues raised by this investigation. The closing of this investigation does not constitute a finding by NHTSA that no safety-related defect exists. The Agency reserves the right to take future action if warranted by the circumstances. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mahomet, IL, USA

problem #34

Aug 012013

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 87,202 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There are a number of problems: But right now I can turn the ignition and the car will give the sound of starting up but will not. I had the following items checked: Fuel pump operation: Pressures are good injector pulse - engine has spark body control module: B2965 - key ignition fault recommended to see dealer for possible recall and or ignition diagnose.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #33

Aug 172013

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • 117,210 miles
Turn signals randomly fail to operate. Sometimes the turn signals will work fine and for no apparent reason or driving condition the turn signal lights fail to work. An "on-line" search for possible reasons for the failure revealed many complaints for the very same problem and the remedy is to replace the hazard signal warning switch. I feel given the life/safety seriousness of turn signal failure in high traffic areas that this model of General Motors vehicle should be recalled and the issue repaired. I have notice in my community the consumers of this vehicle are young adults that are economically challenged and purchasing their first vehicle and not necessarily safety conscious or aware of the ramifications of faulty turn signals.

- Mahomet, IL, USA

problem #32

Jul 012014

Grand Am

  • 134,000 miles
I bought a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am and lately the turn signal and hazard lights work whenever they want. I just started experiencing this problem. I researched this website to see that there was a recall back on the problem but it has since closed. I was wanting to know if I can get any assistance with this problem. I you can help please let me know.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #31

Apr 042013

Grand Am

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my 2002 Grand Am about a year ago. About a week after I bought it, the turn signals made a buzzing noise coming from behind the radio it seems. Sometimes the signals work correctly. Other times they blink too fast, too slow, make a buzzing noise with no blinking or they buzz and blink. This is highly annoying. I have already gotten a ticket for failing to use my turn signal. It just buzzed with no blinking and when I went to prove it to the officer that there was a problem with them, it worked perfectly fine! how convenient! also, sometimes when I go to start my car it wont turn over or crank. I've noticed the security light comes on around the time this happens. I have to leave my key on the on position for 15 mins and then it will start. From the research I've done this is a pass lock security feature which shuts down the fuel system.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #30

Jan 152014

Grand Am

  • miles
Turn signals started not working some time. Turn signals now do not work at all. After doing research there are several online discussions about this issue. I've replaced the hazard light switch as recommended by everyone. Hazards work still no signal. Talking with Pontiac they are no help with this issue other than to say they had a recall up to 2001 nothing further. This is a serious safety concern to say the least. Not to mention a possible ticket from local law enforcement. I hope you will look into and address those issue. Thanks in advance.

- Westpoint, IN, USA

problem #29

Feb 222014

Grand Am

  • 235,107 miles
I own a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am GT. My blinker only works some times. I have replaced the fuses but it has not changed anything. As I tried to research this issue online for my make and model I was surprised to see a numerous amount of postings by people with Pontiac grand sam's with the same issue. I was also surprised to see there was not yet a recall for this problem as were other owners as I read there complaints. This is a safety issue that needs to be addressed. I did not purchase my vehicle to have to worry about a risk of an accident or getting a ticket. Please this issue needs to be resolved.

- Senoia , GA, USA

problem #28

Nov 022012

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • 99,500 miles
In reference to NHTSA action number PE05055 (recall 03V327), turn signal/hazard switch policy, GM was to update the special policy to cover vehicles not covered under recall 03V327, for a no cost replacement. Letters to owners were supposed to go out June 2006. After contacting a local GM/Pontiac dealer, I was told that the multi-function switch/turn signal and hazard switch was not covered under any special policy or recall. However, after researching this issue online it is clear that the hazard switch is not the main problem, it is the multi-function switch. Even if they had replaced a hazard switch it would not have fixed the issue, which is contaminated grease that had bridged the contacts of the multi-function switch. This is a serious safety issue and needs to be addressed immediately by GM/Pontiac.

- Paradis, LA, USA

problem #27

Jul 312013

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been having major issues with the turn signals, I cant get the turn signals or emergency flasher to work half the time, I called GM and they said there was no recalls. Not sure what's up but this needs fixed.

- Logan, WV, USA

problem #26

Mar 012013

Grand Am

  • 94,600 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that the turn signals failed to illuminate. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not inspected. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure however, no assistance was provided. The failure mileage was 94,600. The current mileage was 95,200.

- Braintree, MA, USA

problem #25

Aug 062011

Grand Am

  • 99,467 miles
I live in tidewater Virginia. Very busy highways. I had just left my home. First stop sign at the end of my street. Indicated a right turn and no blinker came on. Through my entire trip no blinkers came on. Very scary. It does work when it wants to, but you don't know when. Lately it has gotten much more frequent. I pound above my radio, which is were the relay/switch is located I can usually get it to work. Still after learning of this info. It disturbs me very much.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #24

Jan 072012

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 99,709 miles
In reference to NHTSA action number PE05055 (recall 03V327), turn signal/hazard switch policy, I had my car taken in and looked at for the same problem, and they switch out a multi-function switch. They would not fix it under the recall 03V327. The dealer said that it is the hazard switch that is covered and not the multi-function/turn signal switch. However, after researching this issue online it is clear that the hazard switch is not the main problem, it is the multi-function switch. Even if they had replaced a hazard switch it would not have fixed the issue, which is contaminated grease that had bridged the contacts of the multi-function switch.

- Franklin, TN, USA

problem #23

Jan 052010

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Turn signals operate intermittently. Clicking sound inside car. GM has special issuance for repair. Dealership replaced hazard switch. Problem still exists.

- Aurora, OH, USA

problem #22

Oct 032010

Grand Am

  • 104,812 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Am. The contact stated that both turn signals would only operate intermittently. The dealer was called and informed the contact that his vehicle was not under recall and any repairs would be at the contacts expense. The manufacturer was called and informed him that his VIN was not included in any recalls. No other assistance was offered. The failure mileage was 104,812.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #21

Sep 012010

Grand Am

  • miles
Blinkers sporadically work. I have read online forums about the same problem in Grand Am 2002, but no recall is issued for my vehicle year. There is one for the 2001 Grand Am, but since mine is a 2002, GM will not fix the problem under the recall. This is a major safety issue, especially at night.

- Pittsburg, CA, USA

problem #20

Jul 012010

Grand Am

  • 100,000 miles
1. no knowledge of events leading to failure. 2. turn signals and hazard lights are inoperative. Signals and hazards fail to work aprox 75% of the time. When the turn signals are inoperative the driver cannot use them to signal intent to turn resulting in a crash. 3. no replacement parts have been installed. Currently awaiting response from dealership in regards to issue.

- Layton, UT, USA

problem #19

Jul 172009

Grand Am

  • 63,900 miles
Turn signal clicking when not engaged, sometimes a puff of smoke is visible afraid this is a fire hazard.

- Franklin 46131, IN, USA

problem #18

May 012010

Grand Am

  • 40,000 miles
I have a clicking noises that sounds like it is coming from turn signals or emergency flashers. Flashers do not make any sound when either is activated.

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?