Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine And Engine Cooling Problems

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix (Page 2 of 3)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 29
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
101,619 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Jan 212010

Grand Prix

  • 116,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a recall notice sent out by GM regarding the possibility of an engine compartment fire for the 2001 Grand Prix (among other date for the same model). Tonight when I started the car there was an explosion and the engine burst into flames. The fire department was called and they came to extinguish the fire after the car was engulfed in flames. The assistant fire marshall arrived and before he said anything else he said "this was caused by an engine compartment fire." I the N advised him that Pontiac has just sent a recall notice for the same issue. There are hundreds of people online who have filed a complaint with GM. Yet, they insist they are not responsible. Why did they issue a recall then if they are not responsible? unfortunately for them, our attorney general is going to take action. I'm not the type of person to sit back and watch when an injustice was done. I had to drag my handicapped son from the vehicle. This, as well as all of the complaints points to disaster. Something must be done now. My son could have been killed if I was unable to act quickly enough to save him.

- Shelton, CT, USA

problem #33

Oct 242008

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that after receiving recall number 09V116000 (engine and engine cooling) she made two attempts to have the vehicle repaired and was unsuccessful. One dealer advised the contact that she would need to have the engine cleaned to have the recall performed which she refused to do. Three months after the contact was denied the recall repair, the vehicle caught fire. The vehicle was parked for approximately 5 minutes and as she proceeded to her vehicle it was in flames. The fire department was notified and extinguished the fire. The fire department stated the a component in the engine caused the fire. A report was filed and is available. The insurance company was notified and paid for some of the expenses. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact filed a claim with the manufacturer. After a couple of months the contact received a letter stating that no compensation would be offered. There were no injuries. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 11/06/09. Updated 11/10/09

- Dana Point , CA, USA

problem #32

Sep 102009

Grand Prix

  • 125,891 miles
Catalytic converter failure, drive shift failure and O2 sensor failure while driving..complete loss of vehicular power, car locked up.

- Coopers Mills, ME, USA

problem #31

Jun 252009

Grand Prix

  • 121,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 09V116000 (engine and engine cooling). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the recall repair was performed. The following day, the vehicle erupted into flames while parked in a parking lot. The fire and police departments were called to the scene and a police report was filed. There were no prior warnings or injuries. The engine compartment was completely destroyed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The contact is in the process of notifying the manufacturer. The failure and current mileages were 121,000.

- Ashland, PA, USA

problem #30

Sep 092007

Grand Prix

  • 91,000 miles
September 2007: 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix gtp burst into flames while parked in driveway, about 10 minutes after it had been driven on a trip for about 40 miles. Neighbors noticed fire and call fire department, who put out fire. Engine compartment destroyed, passenger compartment not affected, but car was deemed total loss by insurance company. Six months previous car had been serviced for running rough, mechanic replaced mass air flow sensor, but also noted smoke from the valve cover gaskets leaking oil onto the exhaust manifold, with "a little bit of oil wetness around the intake manifold". unfortunately we didn't get this repaired because of cost at the time.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #29

Mar 062009

Grand Prix

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix. On March 26, 2009, the contact drove the vehicle out of the garage to have it washed. Ten minutes after the vehicle had been driven back in the garage, it caught fire. The garage was damaged. A report was filed with the manufacturer and they had the vehicle towed to investigate the failure. A police report was filed as well as the fire department's incident number 09-0000788. The current and failure mileages were 90,000.

- Eidina, MN, USA

problem #28

Feb 122009

(reported on)

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix recall for front rocker arm gasket. Consumer is having a problem with getting the recall performed. The consumer went to the dealer 2 times to try and get the recall fixed. The first time she was told the replacement was not needed and if she paid $75 the dealer would steam clean the engine to verify a possible oil leak. The second time she visited the dealer, she was told she needed to pay $400 to replace a seat belt tensioner so the technician could replace the valve cover gasket. The consumer stated the vehicle caught on fire.

- Dana Point, CA, USA

problem #27

Dec 212008

Grand Prix

  • 140,000 miles
My wife drove our 2001 pont. Grand Prix GT approx. 12 miles from our home to a pet store. Parked the vehicle and proceeded into the store after approx. 5 mins. Later someone said there was a silver car on fire in the parking lot. Well unfortunately it was ours. A bystander opened the hood and dumped snow on it and another retrieved a fire ext. And were able to put the fire out. Fire originated in the engine compartment. 911 was called and fire dept., police and fire marshall were on scene. Car has been well maintained with regular service. I see no reason as to how this could have happened. Thankfully it didn't happen when my wife was driving along the highway. Looking forward to a response as to what I see this seems to be an almost common occurrence.

- Birdsboro, PA, USA

problem #26

Oct 172008

Grand Prix

  • miles
Drive like normal to and from work. Wont drive anywhere else as it constantly smokes from the engine. I have no heat and the smell from the engine is horrible. Still awaiting to hear from GM as to when I can get it repaired as it is a 2001 model which is still awaiting its official recall and parts notice. I live in Massachusetts and it is going to be a wonderful winter with no heat. Can not afford to fix myself.

- Foxboro, MA, USA

problem #25

Oct 202008

Grand Prix

  • 64,000 miles
My 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix gtp has had problems with the car stalling and dying without warning. It is very random. Typically, the car hesitates/stalls then the "tcs off" light comes on and the RPM meter hits 0. I have researched many forums online that reveal that many owners are experiencing the same problem. When hooked up to the computer, it reveals that the problem is with the crankshaft position sensor. This should be recalled and repaired immediately. It is very disappointing that so many owners are having the same problem without any relief from the manufacturer.

- Sand Springs, OK, USA

problem #24

Aug 282008

Grand Prix

  • 86,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

3.8 liter supercharged engine coolant leak - lower intake manifold gasket is leaking coolant. I have read about the recall or class action suit about the coolant leaks on 3.8 liter engines that are not supercharged. I would like to know why they never included superchared engines. I have a 1997 Buick regal and a 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix that were both at a GM dealership and they have this problem and it needs to be fixed.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #23

Jul 252008

Grand Prix

  • 140,000 miles
My 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix, GT and I called the recall number at GM and they said my car was not covered. I want to know why"????????????" my car was smoking like it was on fire. I opened the hood and I found lots of oil on the front rocker panel, around the gasket. The oil was so bad it had leaked down on top of my spark plug covers. I am really scared to drive it. I have also smelled the odor of gas too. When I get into my car to drive it I make sure my doors are unlocked, just in case it catches on fire while I am driving down the road. So I want get trapped inside. Thank you for reviewing this. I hope to hear something back from you soon.

- Goldsboro, NC, USA

problem #22

Jun 032008

Grand Prix

  • 190,000 miles
My fiance drove our 2001 Grand Prix GT home yesterday morning at 6:17 am - the car was driving and acting the same way it always did - it was in good condition no signs that there was anything wrong. He parked the car & came inside- the car sat in the driveway till 6:45 am when I drove to work which is 10 miles (at the most) away - I parked it and got out - I drove it the same as I always had & the car itself acted & drove the same way as well - like there was nothing wrong with it - about 7:12 am we got a phone call saying someone's car was on fire - after they described the car & where it was parked I immediately knew it was mine & ran all the way to the parking lot - as soon as I walked outside you could see a huge cloud of smoke pouring out of the hood of the car - as I got closer you could see pieces of material melting & dropping to the pavement, also orange flames where visible under the hood- the fire department came & put it out fairly quickly - the damage of the car was contained to everything under the hood! but it is considered a total loss!! I have seen by browsing on the internet that this has happened to alot of Pontiac Grand Prix GT's.

- Fowlerville, MI, USA

problem #21

Apr 192008

Grand Prix

  • 85,000 miles
2001 Grand Prix gtp. Engine fire. The car was driven roughly 5 miles."no hard braking". parked and was on fire within 10 minutes. Total loss. This happened about a month ago. Roughly a month after getting the notice from GM about a pending recall.

- Magnolia, DE, USA

problem #20

Jan 012008

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that there was a small oil leak coming from the valve cover. The dealer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 08V118000 (engine and engine cooling). The failure mileage was 90,000. Updated 09/16/08. The valve cover gasket leaked oil onto the engine. Updated 09/17/08.

- Calumet Park, IL, USA

problem #19

Sep 212001

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles
2001 Pontiac Grand Prix engine oil leak, interior water leak at passenger door the dealer informed the consumer that the water leak may have been a result of the door being misaligned. The vehicle pulled to the left. The consumer was then informed the reason for the pulling of the vehicle was due to the inferior tires on the vehicle. The sticker in the trunk specified H rated tires, however the tires the dealer sold on the vehicle were Goodyear Eagle ls tires. The cd player was inoperative. The engine light illuminated. The egr valve and gasket were replaced. The sunroof was leaking and the alternator was replaced. The left front cv boot was leaking and the left front hub bearing was noisy. The ignition cylinder, parking brake, power steering hose, pump seal, rack and pinion and outer tie rod were replaced.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #18

Apr 112008

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 127,000 miles
Rear brake lights not working, but third center brake light is working. Took to mechanic (pep boys) who changed the brake pads, rotors, brake fluid and replaced the bulbs and fuses, (as well as a motor w/reg for the driver's side rear window, serpentine belt, alternator drive belt, tie rod outer and oil change). When I got the car back, realized they never fixed the problem. Returned the car and told it was the multifunction switch at a price of $450. This is great considering my bill for everything was $1,500, and the problem I brought it in for (brake lights) was never fixed. On web site: www.autoweb.com/content/research/forums/index.cfm/action/posts/fid/2831 there are approximately 119 complaints all about the multifunctional switch on pontaic vehicles. I am hoping that at some point the issue will be addressed to save other unsuspecting poor souls that bought a Pontiac (Grand Prix GT).

- Marlton, NJ, USA

problem #17

Feb 072008

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Five to 10 minutes after parking the vehicle in the garage the vehicle caught fire. It completely burned the car, garage and part of our home.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #16

Jan 112008

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles
Car was driving 1.5 miles at 8:00 am. Car was driven 1.5 miles at 2:45 pm. Car was parked, and about 5 minutes later the engine caught fire.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #15

Jan 182008

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,046 miles
Driving my 2001 Grand Prix gtp home at approximately 4:15 pm on Friday January 18th. The car started loosing power and I pulled over to the side of the road. Heavy black smoke quickly began to come out from the front end of the car and within 30 seconds the car was in flames. Fire rescue proceeded to extinguish the flames. The car appears to be a total loss. This car was in premium condition. 80,000 miles and maintained with records immaculately. The temperature gauge did not indicate any above normal temperature as well as the battery and oil gauges.

- Snohomish, WA, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?