Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine And Engine Cooling Problems

2002 Pontiac Grand Prix (Page 1 of 2)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 19
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,030 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Pontiac Grand Prix engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #36

Oct 032016

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. Consumer writes in regards to engine oil deposits onto exhaust manifold recall notice and seeks refund for engine compartment fire damages.

- Farmville, NC, USA

problem #35

May 012011

Grand Prix

  • miles
2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle engine fire, consumer seeks reimbursement for repairs after receiving engine oil deposits onto exhaust manifold recall notice. The upper intake gasket, vapor tubes, engine cover and map sensor were replaced.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #34

Mar 012016

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Grand Prix Pontiac. Consumer writes in regards to oil leak recall notice issues. The consumer stated she spent $600 to get the vehicle fixed and it still did not correct the problem.

- Monroe, NC, USA

problem #33

Mar 012016

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. Consumer writes in regards to exhaust manifold engine compartment fire recall notice. The consumer stated the vehicle caught on fire in 2013. In December 2015, the consumer received a recall letter regarding the issue. Updated 03/29/16.

- East Troy, WI, USA

problem #32

Feb 012016

Grand Prix 4-cyl

  • miles
2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. Consumer writes in regards to parts not available to complete recall notice 15V701.

- Union, KY, USA

problem #31

Dec 082014

Grand Prix

  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. While driving approximately 35 mph, smoke appeared under the hood of the vehicle. The contact opened the hood and discovered flames. No injuries were reported and a police report was filed. The fire department was able to extinguish the fire. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 09V116000 (engine and engine cooling). The failure mileage was 111,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #30

Dec 082014

Grand Prix

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, there was smoke coming from the hood. The contact opened the hood and discovered that there was a fire. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was towed to a private mechanic but was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 09V116000 (engine and engine cooling) but did not confirm if the vehicle was included in the recall campaign. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The cause of the fire was not determined. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #29

Feb 142012

Grand Prix

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact was driving approximately 25 mph when the hood caught on fire. The contact was able to stop the vehicle and exit without harm. The fire department was contacted and arrived to extinguish the fire. The fire department advised the contact that the fire originated from the engine. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and the current mileage was 150,000.

- Griffin , GA, USA

problem #28

Oct 232011

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 151,000 miles
My former vehicle, a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix, had a safety recall to prevent "engine compartment fire." I had that recall fixed on September 22, 2011. On October 23, 2011, I drove it from work to home, approximately three miles. Myself and passenger parked, and took a few things inside. We noticed a burning smell, like plastic and a faint electrical smell, and thought someone was burning trash, as I had never smelled that from my vehicle before. I went right back out to get something, and saw smoke billowing out from under the hood. I popped the hood, and saw the glow of fire; we grabbed fire extinguishers, and put out the fire, which was located in part on the plastic hood cover over the engine. The car was declared a total loss after about a week of shuffling it around and calling for parts. Upon further research, it appears that this has happened many times, including others like myself, whose engine caught after fixing the recall. There are also suggestions that the part fixed on the recall is not the true origin of the problem. Then again, GM's fix for the oil splashing over the manifold it is to put on spark plug wire retainers. It is very dangerous, and I hesitate to think what would have happened if I had been driving, possibly with passengers, when it caught fire.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #27

Sep 152011

Grand Prix

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that the vehicle was engulfed in flames. The vehicle was towed to a dealer and they advised him that the failure was caused by an open recall on the vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number: 08V118000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance in repairing the vehicle. The failure mileage was approximately 102,000.

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #26

Jun 132011

Grand Prix

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact was driving 70 mph and noticed smoke underneath the hood. The contact stated the temperature gauge also began to increase. The contact was able to drive onto the emergency before the vehicle ignited. The police and fire department were notified to assist with the fire. The vehicle was towed to a salvage and declared destroyed. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Starville, MS, USA

problem #25

Mar 172011

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that after parking the vehicle, the front end was on fire within minutes. The contact stated there was no prior warning of any failure. The fire department was called to extinguish the fire and a fire report was filed. The fire department concluded that the fire originated from the engine and the vehicle was destroyed. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 09V116000 (engine and engine cooling) and stated that the recall repair was previously performed on the vehicle. The approximate failure mileage was 112,000. Updated 5/2/11 updated 05/11/11

- New Castle, DE, USA

problem #24

Jan 212011

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 147,000 miles
Smoke coming from under the hood, followed by thick dark smoke coming from the gear shift inside the vehicle. Loss of steering followed by a loss of brakes. Coasted to a stop at an intersection. Upon exiting the car the right front tire had begun to melt. Flames where coming from under the front passenger fender well. Within 5 minutes the entire engine compartment was on fire.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #23

Jul 062010

Grand Prix

  • 124,899 miles
Car was not accelerating on high way then all power was last in car including the breaks. I was able to get the car to the side of the highway. Dark smoke began coming though the car's vent and out the hood. I exited the car and then saw flames coming out the engine. I received a recall notice in May 2009 for a problem with possible engine fires. Car was serviced at the dealership it was purchased from to fix the recalled item.

- Marysville, OH, USA

problem #22

Apr 182009

Grand Prix

  • miles
There was a recall #id#08V118000 concerning the front rocker cover gasket and eventual oil seepage. I was told by the dealer that the recall was addressed and parts were replaced. Shortly after the recall I was told by the dealer that the valve cover gaskets were leaking and later verified that the rocker cover was the same as the valve cover. After 3 oil changes (scheduled) I was told it should be taken care of and the cost would be $1,300. I asked them about the recall and was told my vehicle was not part of the recall 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. I called Pontiac and they told me it was part of the revision recall 09047 that only covered the spark plugs. I'm confused, I don't know why my vehicle was not part of the original recall, however, was part of the revision. It appears that the problem I am having should be covered under this recall. Has anyone else had a similar problem or is there any assistance/advice you can give me. Thank you.

- Oviedo, FL, USA

problem #21

Nov 252009

Grand Prix

  • 104,000 miles
I parked my car outside of babysitter's house to pick up my daughter. Was inside about 10-15 min when smoke started billowing out from under the hood! the engine had caught fire! luckily, myself and my daughter were not inside at the time. Come to find out, later, there is a recall on my vehicle for 'engine compartment fires'....nice to find out afterwards! I bought the car from an authorized Pontiac dealer....thanks for the warning jerks!! guess everyone is greedy...no matter at what cost to innocent buyers.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #20

Mar 302009

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 153,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix. While driving 65 mph on the freeway, the contact heard a popping noise and pulled the vehicle to the side of the road. He noticed smoke underneath the hood. The contact opened the hood and noticed flames. He grabbed water from a ditch and used it to extinguish the flames. The fire department was not notified. The vehicle was towed to his residence. The insurance company was notified and the dealer will be informed of the failure. NHTSA campaign id number 09V116000 (engine and engine cooling) was referenced. The Chevrolet dealer came to inspect the vehicle. When the vehicle was started, it caught fire again. A fire extinguisher to douse the flames. The flames reappeared and he had to repeatedly extinguish them with the fire extinguisher. The fire would not cease until the vehicle was towed away. The entire engine burned and melted in his driveway. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure and current mileages were 153,000. Updated 4/28/09 the consumer stated someone else started the vehicle when they were not supposed to and that person put the fire out. The vehicle was declared a loss. Updated 04/30/09.

- Rome, NY, USA

problem #19

Feb 082009

Grand Prix

  • miles
Parked into a parking lot, turned vehicle off. Everything seemed fine, no smoke, no warning lights. Went into store to pay a bill, walked out a few minutes later and my car was on fire and smoking under the hood. The car proceeded to burn as we waited for the fire department. The car was a loss.

- Lawrenceburg, TN, USA

problem #18

Nov 112007

Grand Prix

  • miles
I have a 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix SE. It is a 4 door. I have had to replace the manifold gaskets twice with in 9 months. I started to notice that I did not have any heat. I took it to a mechanic and they said that my gaskets were leaking. I was told it would run me around $900. The parts were about $76. The labor was the majority of it. I was then told I had to have my oil changed and thermostat. This had caused my thermostat to go out. I had it replaced. About 9 months later the same thing happened. No heat and ect. Took it to the same mechanic and he said it should've lasted longer. He checked to see if it would still be under warranty and it was not. GM only guaranteed this job for 6 months. I again had to replace the gaskets. GM had put in plastic gaskets instead of metal gaskets. I again had to pay additional $800. I checked on the recalls for this and there weren't any. I also googled this complaint and have found many other people with the exact same thing go on with their vehicles. My family has always been a GM family, but we have now elsewhere. My brother is a salesman and he says that GM products are the first to go and they wear out the easiest. Pretty sad when a salesman you know doesn't enjoy selling GM products. Anyway, my point is this needs to be taken care of and GM needs to step up and take on the responsibility for this defect. They are losing enough business the way it is. I think they need to man up and stand up to their defects. I work in the oil and gas industry and I can tell you this, GM products are not purchased by any of the companies, because they are not reliable to go an even 80,000 miles.

- Gillette, WY, USA

problem #17

May 132008

Grand Prix

  • 68,000 miles
Gunk in my engine causing lifters to stick.

- West Warwick, WY, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?