Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2005 Pontiac Grand Prix (Page 1 of 2)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,384 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac Grand Prix electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #37

Apr 022016

Grand Prix

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The driver was unable to get the vehicle under control and the vehicle crashed into a ditch. The air bags failed to deploy. There was no police report filed and no injuries. The vehicle was towed to the contact's home. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Panama City Beach, FL, USA

problem #36

Jan 082016

Grand Prix

  • miles
Takata recall.... keep getting a message saying reduce engine power. Took it to a mechanic and dealer and claim they don't know. Car loses power after reduce engine power displays on vechile. Was driving on highway at 50 mph with my three children when message displayed and car shut off. Very dangerous. This has happened more than several times in and off the highway... it did it again today 2/3/2016 while just sitting at a gas station. I have kept up on all maintenance in the car. Can't seem to figure out while it's doing it. Reading online many many other GM owners have same issue.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #35

May 132015

Grand Prix

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix. While driving at 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Woodstock , IL, USA

problem #34

Sep 142015

Grand Prix

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

General Motors should not have to pay for people that were stupid enough to put more than 2 keys into the ignition. Any normal person would know that a lot of weight on the ignition key would either turn the car off or eventually, hurt the unit. Our car is from 2005 and milllions of cars have had no issues. Less than 2 dozen problems were caused and GM has paid. Pity, the dumb people are still driving and think the weight on the ignition lock has no effect.

- Oviedo, FL, USA

problem #33

Apr 032015

Grand Prix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact received notice of NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The dealer was contacted to schedule an appointment. The technician stated that the recall remedy would only cover the repair of the key and not the ignition source. The manufacturer was contacted several times. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #32

Oct 112014

Grand Prix

  • 76,927 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix. While driving at approximately 25 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. Upon further inspection, the contact noticed that the coil pack was melting and the contact had to use excessive force to remove the key from the ignition switch. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred once. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 76,927.

- Glastonbury, CT, USA

problem #31

Mar 252015

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 136,457 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V40000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 6/11/15 the consumer stated the brakes and steering would locked up. Updated 07/07/15

- Auburn, IN, USA

problem #30

Jan 132015

Grand Prix

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled and the emergency brake was applied. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the throttle body failed and the entire electronic system fractured. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #29

Sep 012014

Grand Prix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The part needed was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lumberton, NC, USA

problem #28

Oct 152014

Grand Prix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Jonesborough, TN, USA

problem #27

Sep 162014

Grand Prix

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fremont, NH, USA

problem #26

Oct 012009

Grand Prix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that while approaching a stop, the brake pedal was depressed but the vehicle seized causing the contact to crash into the rear of three vehicles. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained bruising to the chest area which required medical attention. The vehicle was repaired. The contact stated that the vehicle was involved in two crashes with the same failure. Also, the contact stated that when the vehicle was started, an abnormal clicking sound emitted from the vehicle and it would fail to start. The contact had to retry starting the vehicle for five minutes before it would start. The vehicle was included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Austin , TX, USA

problem #25

Sep 262014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 58,885 miles
On 9/26/14 I took the vehicle in for a recall for unintentional ignition key rotation. The vehicle was supposedly repaired. But when I attempted to pull out of the driveway at bill rapp Pontiac service the vehicle shut down again. It said in the information data that "start up failure due to electrical throttle malfunction. Reduced engine power." I waited approximately 30 seconds and attempted to restart the vehicle which did start up. On approximately 9/29/14 while entering interstate 81N in syracuse, NY, the vehicle once again shut down on the highway. I contacted bill rapp Pontiac service department and was told that I needed to bring in the vehicle again but that I would have to pay for any further services since there is currently no other recall for the 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix except for the one with the key rotation issue. What can I do? my car is still shutting down in street and highway traffic.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #24

Oct 062014

Grand Prix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Oak Lawn , IL, USA

problem #23

Sep 012014

Grand Prix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Connellsville, PA, USA

problem #22

Sep 032012

Grand Prix

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix. When the contact started the vehicle, the key became stuck in the start mode. The contact had to repeatedly move the key slowly out of the run position in order to get the vehicle to operate properly. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000.

- Cape Girardeau, MO, USA

problem #21

Sep 162014

Grand Prix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign 14V40000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to remedy the recall was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified about the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fort Pierce, FL, USA

problem #20

May 172014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 57,005 miles
Since we purchased this vehicle in December 2013 there has been four incidents where the engine totally shut down while in traffic without warning. The first two incident occurred while my daughter was driving while away at college with this vehicle. On approximately 5/17/14, while on interstate 287 (60mph) the vehicle shut off without warning. On approximately 6/20/14 in S. orange, NJ the vehicle shut off without warning in street traffic (28mph). The third and fourth incidents happened when I was driving the vehicle on approximately 8/7/14 at a stop light (0mph) while waiting for the signal to change the vehicle shut down totally. On 9/1/14 while driving on interstate 81N the vehicle totally shut off without warning. Once the engine shut down, the check engine light came on, a message read "loss of engine power' came on. I was driving approximately 72mph and came very close to causing a major accident with three other cars and a tractor-trailer. I was in the passing lane attempting to pass the truck with three other vehicles behind me. When I attempted to accelerate the vehicle shut down. The lights on the dash board went black and the steering wheel locked. The car behind me went into a ditch on the left, while the second car swerved to the right to avoid a collision with me. I had been driving for approximately three (3) hours from S. orange, NJ to syracuse, NY. I was using only the ignition key and the car remote on the keyring. No other items were on the key ring. Fortunately there was no one injured and no crash occurred. I am not using this vehicle because I am terrified to drive it. This is especially disturbing since this vehicle was purchased for my daughter who is away at college. This is more than an unintended key rotation as GM is claiming. Please, I need your help. This vehicle is very dangerous. Purchase mileage = 56,372, current mileage = 58,824.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #19

Aug 102014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 155,000 miles
We returned home from grocery shopping and as we were bringing groceries in, my wife could smell something burning. She thought at first it was the neighbors burning trash but then noticed that the smell was coming from the garage. She seen smoke coming from under the hood. She opened the hood and seen small flames. She quickly extinguished the fire. I pulled the car outside to investigate and as I was disassembling the cars front lighting system, the fog light electrical system was melted and the plastic on the larger light fixture was melted also. I did take photos of the damage.

- Fife Lake, MI, USA

problem #18

Jun 022014

Grand Prix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V400000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available. The contact called three different dealers and was not able to schedule an appointment for the recall repair. The dealers did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Clio, MI, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?