Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,347 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac Grand Prix steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments

problem #15

Jul 152015

Grand Prix

  • 85,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rack and pinion bad!

- Battle Creek, MI, USA

problem #14

Apr 222015

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 123,000 miles
My car has been acting up for a while. It started with gauges and info center flickering while going down the road like it was losing power intermittently. Than started doing this thing when you start it and let off on the key it continues to turn engine over. I received the letter for the recall and took it in. I told dealer what it was doing and they snapped back and said that wasn't part of the recall. I said oh I thought the ignition switch was the problem they said no. They took my keys put their stupid inserts in and sent me on my way. I have been nervous about it and than today it happened going down highway at 65mph and everything shut off!!! no air bags no power steering no power brakes luckily I was not in traffic and cost to shoulder shut key off restarted car everything fine again. Key never turned to off position. The switch itself is the problem. Why did some get a new switch and all I get is a key upgrade. I am very disappointed and I feel they have not fixed the really problem. I can not let anyone in my family drive this car. I look forward to hearing your response.

- Browerville, MN, USA

problem #13

Feb 132008

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Ia ]xxx]and I am on ssi and need help to get my car fixed, it is the only thing I have. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Niles, OH, USA

problem #12

Sep 262014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 58,885 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 9/26/14 I took the vehicle in for a recall for unintentional ignition key rotation. The vehicle was supposedly repaired. But when I attempted to pull out of the driveway at bill rapp Pontiac service the vehicle shut down again. It said in the information data that "start up failure due to electrical throttle malfunction. Reduced engine power." I waited approximately 30 seconds and attempted to restart the vehicle which did start up. On approximately 9/29/14 while entering interstate 81N in syracuse, NY, the vehicle once again shut down on the highway. I contacted bill rapp Pontiac service department and was told that I needed to bring in the vehicle again but that I would have to pay for any further services since there is currently no other recall for the 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix except for the one with the key rotation issue. What can I do? my car is still shutting down in street and highway traffic.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #11

Jan 032013

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 89,075 miles
I purchase mic 73391 defender tires and they are cracking on the sides, I was told they could get a blow out. Is there a recall on this tires. I purchased them Jan 2013 at tire choice auto car care. I also would like to know about the steering knuckle on my 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #10

May 172014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 57,005 miles
Since we purchased this vehicle in December 2013 there has been four incidents where the engine totally shut down while in traffic without warning. The first two incident occurred while my daughter was driving while away at college with this vehicle. On approximately 5/17/14, while on interstate 287 (60mph) the vehicle shut off without warning. On approximately 6/20/14 in S. orange, NJ the vehicle shut off without warning in street traffic (28mph). The third and fourth incidents happened when I was driving the vehicle on approximately 8/7/14 at a stop light (0mph) while waiting for the signal to change the vehicle shut down totally. On 9/1/14 while driving on interstate 81N the vehicle totally shut off without warning. Once the engine shut down, the check engine light came on, a message read "loss of engine power' came on. I was driving approximately 72mph and came very close to causing a major accident with three other cars and a tractor-trailer. I was in the passing lane attempting to pass the truck with three other vehicles behind me. When I attempted to accelerate the vehicle shut down. The lights on the dash board went black and the steering wheel locked. The car behind me went into a ditch on the left, while the second car swerved to the right to avoid a collision with me. I had been driving for approximately three (3) hours from S. orange, NJ to syracuse, NY. I was using only the ignition key and the car remote on the keyring. No other items were on the key ring. Fortunately there was no one injured and no crash occurred. I am not using this vehicle because I am terrified to drive it. This is especially disturbing since this vehicle was purchased for my daughter who is away at college. This is more than an unintended key rotation as GM is claiming. Please, I need your help. This vehicle is very dangerous. Purchase mileage = 56,372, current mileage = 58,824.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #9

Sep 062012

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle started disengaging cruise control and traction control, vehicle then started jerking/shifting hard and overheating, followed by vehicle shifting from one set position of drive to neutral, took into shop to look at transmission was told just a dirty sensor, had sensor cleaned, about a month later same thing, had it cleaned again and then Dec 2013 the traction control auto disengaged again and then one day it turned itself on again, no there's a coolant leak issue and oil leak and check engine light on for the catalytic converter...[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Maplewood, MN, USA

problem #8

Jan 142011

Grand Prix

  • 58,200 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix gtp. While driving approximately 5-10 mph the steering wheel became very difficult to turn to the left. The contact stated the failure had been on going since Friday January 14, 2011. The vehicle had not been taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. He called the manufacturer and was advised that they would contact him on January 18, 2011. The warranty was not valid. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 58,200 and the current mileage was 58,224.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #7

Sep 142009

Grand Prix

  • 111,000 miles
My 2005 Grand Prix has an issue with power steering fluid leaking which led to a loss of power steering assistance. I've had the steering gear replaced about 3 months ago, and now the return line was replaced. After all of this it is leaking again.

- Davison, MI, USA

problem #6

Jul 202009

Grand Prix

  • 31,000 miles
I purchased a 2005 Grand Prix GT, on April 28, 2009. It was a used vehicle and had 28,000 when purchased from used car dealer. When I test drove the vehicle I noticed a knock with the steering system. They told me that it was a problem and the dealers were aware of. They said they would fix it once the knock or the system got worst. I am going to the dealer that I purchased the car from as the steering system is getting more pronounced. I called our local Pontiac dealer that was still in business and he said that there was no recall on the power steering set up. I have found information on the web site that states that there is a problem with the steering. There was a recall id 09E005000 steering, it was related to the dorman company recalling 979 steering knuckles supplied by them. There were also service bulletins referring to the steering problem. There were ODI complaints filled concerning the problem. I can reference the numbers if you need them. I have talked to another Pontiac dealer who has lost his franchise but stated to me that it was a problem and that he would fix it for me. I told him that where I purchased the car they would fix it. This is a major safety problem and there should be a recall. I am sure you have received complaints on this subject. The system has not failed but until I get this corrected I will not let anyone drive the vehicle but me. Can you help me with this problem, can we get a recall on this. GM has taken stimulus dollars and they will not stand by there product. Thanks for any thing that you can provide me in this safety issue. I did not incur an accident but the steering is acting up and I will get it fixed.

- Westfield, MA, USA

problem #5

Feb 152009

Grand Prix

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering pump is losing fluid, this has happened twice now. Car was taken into dealer and no leaks, or fluid was found under car. All they would do is fill up pump with more fluid.the fluid must be going somewhere? my car makes a very high whining sound when it gets low on fluid. I was told this is a valve problem in pump by other people.

- Morton, IL, USA

problem #4

Dec 222008

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 72,775 miles
2005 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8 L V6 engine: The rack and pinion steering system failed to work properly. When attempting to make a left turn, the power steering function unexpectedly failed, causing loss of control. I was able to stop the vehicle in time to avoid running off of the road. Also, I was almost rear-ended by the vehicle turning behind me. I was not able to continue with the turn at the location of the failure. It was necessary to back up into traffic in order to adjust the steering wheel so that I was able to pull off of the roadway. The steering wheel was not able to turn to the left (no power assist). The steering wheel was able to turn freely to the right (power assisted). Due to the immediate nature of the failure, this issue could result in a severe accident which could cause significant damage or injury. The vehicle was repaired at a local repair shop. The technician replaced the rack and pinion for the vehicle. During his analysis, he spoke to a local Pontiac dealer. Their repair shop representative stated that they were aware of similar occurrences, but General Motors had not issued any form of safety recall. During my initial attempt to troubleshoot the problem, I read several similar complaints online. Most reported an immediate loss of power steering, typically in one direction. The total repair for this item was $521. The replacement part was $300, labor was $200, and Indiana tax (7%) was $21. I would appreciate any assistance that you may offer in resolving this safety issue. Thank you for your time.

- Porter, IN, USA

problem #3

Sep 102008

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 66,290 miles
I have a General Motors 2005 Grand Prix. It has developed a 'knocking' sound when driving. The same noise corresponds with bumps you can feel in the steering wheel. I took the car to a Goodyear service center. They put the car on the lift, removed the front tires and did a complete examination of the "front end". they reported that there was a problem in the steering column. I called Pontiac's customer hot-line out of the back of the owners manual. They would not acknowledge the problem. They did state that they would not cover the cost of the repair to the steering column. I asked for that information in writing. The phone operator said he would not provide that to me. I asked for his supervisor. He promptly hung up on me. I called back. I opened a new case #71-663-678745. The operator informed me that they would have to verify the information via an "authorized dealer". we conference called with bob brown Chevy. They said they knew of this problem, but would charge me $89 to diagnose it...even though it is a known problem. According to the Goodyear service center - thousands of vehicles are affected..and GM won't acknowledge it. They don't want to recall the product. Bob brown Chevy gave an 'off the cuff' estimate of $300 to replace the lower steering column extension. If it has a knocking sound and can be felt in the steering wheel, I feel that the car is now unsafe. I am afraid to drive the car and will not buy another GM car until I am satisfied that the steering column won't become unattached and allow the car to veer to the side at will. I don't know how many cars are affected, or if any crashes have been attributed to loss of steering due to a design flaw in the steering column. In 30 years of driving, I have never experienced this problem in dozens of cars from all types of manufacturers - either owned or rented. The repair includes replacement of the lower column extension arm. Updated 11/07/08.

- Clive, IA, USA

problem #2

Dec 222006

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Grand Prix. The failure mileage was 33,000, and the current mileage was 36,150. A very loud noise was heard coming from the steering column. The contact stated that he had components of the column replaced, such as the rack, pump and hoses. The problem still existed. The dealer and manufacturer were unable to diagnose the failure. Updated 05/22/07

- Henryville, IN, USA

problem #1

Jan 022007

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,381 miles
I took my car in to an certified automotive center to receive a diagnostic check because the car had completely stopped on the bay bridge and I could not accelerate. Thank god I was completely over into the left hand lane because the steering wheel had completely locked. The automotive center could not find anything wrong but detected that the model and year had a recall on intergrated circuit chip damage that controlled the car. So they told me to go back to the dealership for that recall so when I went back to the dealer they stated that there was no recall. So I had to pay an additional fee to get my car checked by the dealer. Since I purchased this vehicle in July 2005 I have had several problems with transmission, sensors, fuel filter and had to put on rotors twice since I purchase my mileage is 69,000. I am asking for investigations on this car to see whether or not I was sold a lemon.

- Oakland, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?