If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

3.8

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,040 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac Grand Prix brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments

problem #6

Dec 292011

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 103,041 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This vehicle has ABS and traction control. While applying the brakes approx. 500 ft. Before the intersection, after slowing (by coasting) to 15 mph, no stopping occurred and slid through intersection of busy crossroad. Luckily there was no oncoming traffic at the time or we would have been broadsided. The roads are gravel and had a slight covering of snow( less than 1/2"). should have been able to stop in plenty of time, pumping the brakes had no effect, holding brake pedal had no effect. This has occurred again while trying to stop at slow speeds. On 1/19/12 my wife tried to stop at a T- intersection at low speed with no brake response on slippery, snow covered paved road and slid through intersection into opposite ditch damaging the front fascia of the vehicle. Reliability of the safety of the brake system is in doubt. No warning lights or dtc when this occurs. May happen at any time on slick or wet roads. Will have to have dealer diagnose but this should not fail without warning. No one was injured in either incident but this may lead to accidents in the future. We purchased this vehicle new in July 2006. It has been well maintained.there is no apparent cause or warning for this failure. It seems to occur soon after the vehicle is started, at the first stop after speed has exceeded 25mph.

- Fowlerville, MI, USA

problem #5

Oct 142010

Grand Prix

  • miles
Bought a "nice" used Pontiac Grand Prix gxp in 2008 (an 06 model). The car only had around 17,000 miles on it. This car has been the biggest money pit ever. I am so disappointed with this vehicle. I have prided myself in buying american made vehicles, but not anymore! first of all, the tire sizing and the price of the tires, ridiculous! the power steering line broke, and of course it wasn't the line that was covered under recall, there has always been a noise in the front end, especially going at a slower speed and over bumps, kind of popping, I've always felt that there was something wrong in the front end. In Oct. 2010, the hubs and bearings were replaced, they were still under warranty, but we had to pay a deductible, which was quite a bit, then in July 2011, with 60,000 some odd miles on it, the traction control light, the ABS light came on, took it to the dealership, they say it's a sensor, in the left hub (that we just had changed, less than a year ago), the warrant had ran out on it, so we paid almost 500 to replace that, then surprise, surprise, it has happened again the lights are back on! also, sometimes when I accelerate at say a stop sign or stop light, there's sort of a "grabbing" and the car doesn't want to go, like it could be the transmission slipping. These are actually just a few of the things that I've had go wrong, there's been odds and ends things that of course have cost a fortune to fix, everything on this car is...oh, the tie rod end, that was something else that had to be replaced...I could go on and on money pit. I want to get rid of it, but it's one of those things, I've got too much invested in it..I'd never get out of it what I need..no wonder they no longer produce Pontiac. From the things I've read, it seems that I am not the only person who has had trouble out of this vehicle. It seems as though there should have been alot more recalls.

- Pedro, OH, USA

problem #4

Jan 292010

Grand Prix

  • 34,200 miles
2006 Pontiac Grand Prix 34,200 miles on it. Brake system light on, antilock brake system (ABS) light on. Traction control light on, service brake/ABS/traction/stability message displayed. This happened all at once this morning, car felt like it didn't want to stop. No warning! I only commute 10 miles to work each day with this vehicle. This shouldn't be happening with a fairly new car right? traded my Camry for this car. Tried to stay american!!! I would also like to state that I had trouble stopping, when trying to turn a corner and apply brake. (just two days ago) felt like a knocking under brake pedal. Looking back I wonder if this could be related. I bought this car brand new, from in york, pa. I am afraid to drive this car, and I don't see how this problem is related to everyday use. I feel cheated and unsafe.

- Middletown, PA, USA

problem #3

Jul 152007

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am writing a complaint regarding my car. I purchased the vehicle in 2006. I had to replace the stabilizer pin, wheel bearings, front brakes and it seems like something is wrong in the steering wheel. Parts inside of the car are falling off. I've had to buy new tires due to all these front end problems with the car and not knowing until it has caused a problem somewhere else. Now the tires that I purchased about a 1 1/2 year ago is now very worn from these front end problems with the car. I am very upset because I feel like, I have been robbed. I am a single parent working 2 full-time jobs just to pay for a car that seems to be breaking down on me no matter how much I try to take total care of it. Paying a very costly car note, insurance, and warranty. I tell myself is this what I am working so hard to pay for. This car out weighs what I pay for rent each month. I remember a time that Pontiac made good cars that was built to last as long as you take care of it. Now it seems that it is built to break down before you could pay there vehicles off. I am really furious and outraged with this car that I can't really rely on. Updated 06/02/09.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #2

Dec 192008

Grand Prix

  • 30,000 miles
Twice, my 2006 Grand Prix gxp has worn out both front brake pads and rotors. The first incident socked me to the tune of almost $700! the first occurrence was with fewer than 13kmiles on the car. This time, I am at just over 30kmiles and have not yet approached my dealership about the problem! neither time was there ever a brake-wear sensor indicator noise; by the time any noise was heard, the rotors were destroyed! I have read other Grand Prix gxp owners saying the exact, same thing on many automotive-related websites/blogs. Pontiac division of General Motors has been absolutely no help with this unacceptably poor performance!!! I feel that this is less of a brake system problem and more of a front suspension defect; taking particular note this time, the only noise is made when I turn the steering wheel even slightly and I get that awful, sickening metal-to-metal grinding noise!!!!!!! updated 2-3-09: Web user comments: Please note that since I filed my complaint with you on the rotors and pads on my Grand Prix gxp, I have taken the vehicle to the Pontiac dealership where I leased the car. This time, there was barely enough thickness left on the rotors for them to be turned, but I had to have the rotors at all 4 corners done and had to replace the associated brake pads! furthermore, the repair tech noted on the ro that my gxp was missing 3 hub bolts on the front suspension! this is not good! I complained, once again, to the service writer and, this time, to the service manager. The service manager said he'd contact Pontiac motor division to see if they would cover the cost of this dangerous, repeating problem. Alas, Pontiac refused! I plan to contact pmd myself, as I did in October 2007, and open up another file on my car. If I don't get any help this time, I'll have my attorney draft a letter and go from there.

- Escondido, CA, USA

problem #1

Oct 012008

Grand Prix

  • miles
Wet road conditions, brake applied, no grip felt when braking, car taking a great deal of distance to stop. Did not slide, simply did not slow down. Near accident due to not being able to stop within normal distance. Has happened several times, most notable in the rain. Driver state heard a grinding type of sound on drivers side.

- Oxford Mills, 00, USA

Not what you are looking for?