Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Power Train Problems

1.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,775 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments

problem #17

Dec 112015

Grand Prix

  • 170,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Crank shafts position sensor causes the engine to shut off while driving down the road. Resulting in the loss of power steering, and power brakes. This occurs at all speeds from stop and go traffic at less than 5 mph to highway speeds of 70 mph +. this is a very dangerous issue. Adding the recall piece to the key did nothing to remedy the issue. This has been occurring for 2 years now.

- Mcalester, OK, USA

problem #16

Oct 012009

Grand Prix

  • 80,000 miles
When I would come to a stop and hit the gas to take off the car hesitate to go rpms going up but the car would act like it was not in gear. Then a jerk would occur and the car would take off making it scary to pull out into traffic. It took many times going to the dealer before they repaired it, it was linkage in the transmission, it was wore out. 5 years later it is doing the same thing.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #15

Feb 202014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchase vehicle in 02/19/2014 and had problems from water pump car will not go in reverse and it get stuck when you place it in drive it press on the gas pedal like its in park. When I'm sitting on a slight hill it goes in reverse and shuts completely off. The temperature gauge goes up and I haven't drove the car for a good 15 min the car has been in the repair 4 times since I've purchase it. I hear a rattle in the steering wheel. I've had a transmission install, water pump rear trailer arms.took vehicle to shop 4th time and they tell me nothing is wrong I purchase a warranty and I still have to pay out of pocket fees. I hear rattling in the steering wheel. I reach out to the recall website for Pontiac and enter VIN number just to find out there is no recall. The gas tank when I screw the cap its not tightening securely but I also saw that was a recall on that as well. I feel like I purchase a piece of junk when I feel like I'm on the road my life is in danger.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #14

Jun 192014

Grand Prix 8-cyl

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle transmission would not shift gears properly, then shifted extremely hard into gear. This is a Grand Prix gxp model and as I have researched, this transmission fails at an excessive rate. It is supposedly a heavy duty model of the transaxles used in the V6 model, however it runs very hot ( factory external cooler should have been used) and wears out very early. It has failed to shift properly numerous times, causing an unsafe condition for the vehicle and driver.

- Norman, OK, USA

problem #13

Dec 122013

Grand Prix 8-cyl

  • 147,581 miles
On 12/12/13, car wouldn't accelerate properly in 1st gear when gas pedal was pushed and transmission shifted roughly through remaining gears. Transmission fluid temp was 220+ degrees. Took car to GM dealership, was told tcm needed to be replaced, along with transmission fluid flush and refill. Did as recommended. On 2/4/14, at a traffic light, attempted to accelerate when light turned green and car wouldn't move in any gear. Trans fluid temp was fine. No check engine light or other warnings. Called onstar, had it towed to the same GM dealership, and was told that transmission pan was filled with metal flakes. There were no metal flakes as of 12/12/13, and no issues between those dates. Bought a rebuilt transmission and picked up car 3/12/14. Filing my complaint due to the excessive number of complaints about this specific transmission.

- Elgin, OK, USA

problem #12

Jan 082013

Grand Prix 8-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the transmission began to slip and the vehicle exhibited an abnormal jerking motion without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was advised that the repairs needed to correct the failure could not be determined. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 59,000.

- Due Castle , IN, USA

problem #11

Feb 262013

Grand Prix 8-cyl

  • 72,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Another gxp transmission issue... there seems to be a very high number of issues w/the gxp transmissions considering how few they sell since it's the top of the line version w/the V8 engine. Seems like they tried to use the transmission from the lower models w/the V6 engines & it's not holding up to the engine power. When is there finally going to be a recall for the design issue/poor quality? I had the dealership service the transmission at ~50K miles as preventative maintenance & it was running fine at the time. I don't spend a lot of time at high speeds on the highway & don't drive it hard, but the transmission failed after ~72,200 miles. Early Feb 2013, the transmission started slipping for a fraction of a second ~3rd to 4th. Brought it to the dealership, but the technician did not notice anything unusual during the test drive & said to bring it back if it got worse. On 2/26/13 I drove it back to the dealership because the transmission slipping was getting worse & it also started making a noise. The night I dropped it off, the service rep watched me put it in reverse & drive to move the car, but it wasn't making any noise or slipping at that time. I agreed to leave it overnight so they could see if it made noise when it was cold in the morning. The next day, he called me to say the transmission doesn't work at all anymore & needs to be replaced at a cost of $3,349. Fortunately it didn't fail as I was pulling out on the busy crossroads & take on my way to work or it could've been a serious problem.

- New Hartford, CT, USA

problem #10

Jun 062012

Grand Prix 8-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
I was on my way to work when my car just stopped moving. I was barely able to get off of the road without being hit by the car behind me. I had it towed to the Chevrolet dealership. The car was still under warranty so the transmission was replaced. However, less than 10,000 miles later the 'new' transmission is slipping badly. I can't afford the $2800 plus labor to have the transmission replaced again so I guess I will just have to hope that I don't get ran over when the transmission goes out again. After researching this car I have found that transmission failure is common. Why is this not considered a danger not only to the people in the car but to the other people on the road that the car could stall in front of?

- Coffeeville, AL, USA

problem #9

Nov 202012

Grand Prix

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact was driving approximately 40 mph and approaching a traffic stop signal when during braking, the transmission began to slip. As a result, the vehicle exhibited an abnormal jerking motion. The failure recurred five times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 66,000.

- Macomd, MI, USA

problem #8

Jul 132011

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Vehicle had symptoms of transmission problems. Dealership could not find any, serviced it with a transmission flush since did not know what else to do. The car was shifting roughly at highway speed. Could not find anything wrong with transmission, said it was likely the displacement on demand, and shifting between 4cyl and 8 cyl. It is now shifting hard, not each time driven, but most times. I own 2 of these cars and the transmission on the 2006 just completely failed, and I recognize now that the problem is the transmission, not the dod. I see far too many complaints with the particular transmission croaking way before it should. I am afraid this 2007 is going to require the same fix, a factory rebuilt transmission, which is $3,000. Please, please force a recall as these transmissions should not be failing at the rate they are.

- Elkhorn, NE, USA

problem #7

Aug 102010

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car transmission slips while taking off from a stop. It clunks and lurches forward unsafely. Vehicle transmission has been flushed and fluids changed. Seems to be getting worse. Does not matter if hot or cold. Does it 3 out of 5 times.

- Marshfield, WI, USA

problem #6

Apr 082012

Grand Prix 8-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
2007 Pontiac Grand Prix gxp transmission failure at 96,000 miles (and 6 months out of warranty). Stopped at traffic light when I pressed the accelerator to go and heard a "clunk" and had no forward gears in automatic. Did have tapshift gears and reverse, though forward gears slipped. Took it to a local dealer (we were out of town) and told the transmission had failed. Had to have the transmission rebuilt at a cost of $3600. Plus car rental and hotel to drive home and return to pick up the car when it was repaired. Second GM transmission failure I've experience in less than two years with the previous one on a Chevrolet trailblazer.

- Dayton, MD, USA

problem #5

Mar 052012

Grand Prix 8-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I have a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix gxp w/5.3L V8. Currently has 45,000 miles just recently started having issues with the transmission. From a dead stop trans will slip, than slam into gear, also shutters between 1-2, and sometimes from 3-4. car does currently have powertrain warranty that I purchased with car. So car will be going in for repair under warranty (I hope) after reading online in a GM owner forum found out about the current investigation with GM transmission failures would really like to see a recall come of this. Because seems that this is a very common issue.. it will leave you stranded without warning, and may break in the middle of traffic causing a dangerous situation to be in. It seems to be too much for a transmission that was designed to be mated to a V6 engine. Not to be mated to a 5.3L V8.

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #4

Mar 032012

Grand Prix

  • 84,400 miles
Drive gear won't engage from a stop. Started vehicle and it stalled. Reverse out of parking spot and put in drive to leave parking lot. Went to accelerate from a stop and engine revved and would not move like it was in neutral. Had to place vehicle in 1st gear to move up through 3rd and then put in drive after getting up to speed. Problem started without warning and mileage is only at 84,400. Never had a GM vehicle with this type of issue before and I have only owned GM. Very disappointed.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #3

Nov 072011

Grand Prix 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The car has had off and on transmission issues. From a stop, when trying to accelerate. It bogged badly, like it was in 2nd, suddenly it slammed into first and I was on my way. There have been several instances of rough shifts. Also, at times I'll be going very slow 0-10mph and need to accelerate in traffic. The car hesitates for a second before regaining RPM. I have not been stranded yet but wanted to record the incidents. I have been very happy with this car and the 4 gms I drove before ( all 100K+, 2 of them 220K+), but these issues are starting to worry me.

- Shorewood, IL, USA

problem #2

Oct 072011

Grand Prix

  • 120,000 miles
New owner of pontica Grand Prix. Never owned a pontica, purchace for wifey red color she like im a pro mechanic 20 years or better and had did the research heard about trans in pont. Failure also door acturator been bad could bet the price 2 months later trans B/O (bad operation) I drop pan and found the foward band broken it look like it was stop welded on and broke right after the spot weld should have been cast one pieces but no! (I believe defect in manufacturing) should have been casted I love usa but if they dont stand-up its nissian for me. I replace trans. Lkq low miles 25,000! will be trading for guest what wont be GM! you stop weld body parts not trans parts by GM they should'nt got bail out not just pontica the trans 4T65E are defects 2007 uplanders ect if U have a 3.8 look out GM messed up this one.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #1

Dec 112011

Grand Prix

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
Automatic transmission failure. Transmission shudders, slips and slams into gear. Gxp model.

- Mason, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?