Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix (Page 2 of 3)


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 13
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,834 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Oct 282014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles


2007 Pontiac Grand Prix VIN: [xxx] high beam headlights come on while traveling without cause. October 28, 2014 tonight coming home traveling approx. 25-30 mph on side street low beam lights switched to high beam without driver ever touching turn signal/headlight switch arm on left of steering column. Originally it was noticed during right hand turns when right hand blinker turned on that head lights would change from low beam to high beam. This observation started occurring approximately November 2013. I have read about fires in other vehicles from faulty switches and this concerns me greatly. Is there a recall for this issue so it can be fixed? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #29

Sep 172014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Driving down the road just got up to 55 everything shut off no power no steering no power brakes no motor running got it stopped turned key it started went to my local shop (the same day) put on computer no codes he checked everything no problems "??" it has also failed to start for my wife several times( yesterday was the latest) after a few attempts started just fine took to my local shop after each time no problems local dealer offered no help.

- Pittsville, WI, USA

problem #28

Aug 052014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 175,145 miles
I parked my car at work. When I got out of work the car would not start. The low beam lights apparently never shut off. The switches inside the car were all off. I jumped the car and drove home and found that no matter what I did the headlights would not shut off. I went to pull relay 35 and burnt my hand. It was melting and I had to get a pair of pliers to remove it. I have had this relay fail at least 3 times in the past but it never kept the lights on. They would only not turn off. Researching online this seems to be a common problem with people's car catching fire.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #27

May 172014

Grand Prix

  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, a burning odor emitted inside the vehicle. Approximately 10 minutes after turning the engine off and exiting the vehicle, the contact discovered flames coming from the roof of the vehicle. The fire department was called to the scene. The flames were extinguished by the contact. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. The vehicle was inspected by the manufacturer. The manufacturer determined that the fire was caused by a faulty radio. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Wilson, NC, USA

problem #26

Oct 022014

Grand Prix

  • 110,459 miles
My 2007 Grand Prix lower lights just cut off while driving with no warning. It's been going on for about a year. I replaced my battery, my alternator and starter is working fine. My high beams did it twice about 8 months ago but haven't happened since. I'm scared to travel at night but I have a brother who can't walk and he lives on the next road from my house and I have to go to his house every night. I have 2 friends that have a Grand Prix, one has a 2006 and the other a 2008. They have the same problem. Our key pads don't work either. Mine stopped about a year after I purchased the car in August of 2007. All these people are not having this issue by coincedent. Please contact me soon.

- Canton, MS, USA

problem #25

Sep 112014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 100,500 miles
Over the past 3 years at random occasions the low beams would just turn off in my car while driving. Luckily, the high beams have always worked so I could continue to drive. I researched how to fix the issue, and I ended up replacing the relay to the low beams twice since Oct. 2011. Replacing the relay always seemed to correct the issue. I was always under the impression that it was just a faulty relay. Last night, my wife returned home from dinner and the headlights would not turn off. She called me to ask what she should do. I advised her to either disconnect the battery or remove the relay that has been a problem in the past until I could come home and take a look at it. As she opened the hood she noticed a burning smell. It was dark so she went to grab a flashlight, and upon returning the relay panel was now on fire. Thankfully there was a fire extinguisher nearby for her to extinguish the flames before it got out of hand. Our 3 year old and 8 month old sons had also just gotten out of the car as well. I cringe thinking about what could have happened had my family been driving an extra 10 minutes when this fire began, or if my wife couldn't have returned in time with a fire extinguisher. I have read multiple other reports online of other individuals having the same issues with the low beams shutting off, and several that ended with a fire such as ours did.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #24

Jul 022013

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 109,000 miles


Traction control / ABS brakes feel like they well not stop vehicle/ when ABS and traction control lights come on which is probably 90% of the time. About 2 months ago I had the rotors and pads replaced, I thought this would cure the problem only to make matters worse. Thank you

- Whitehall, MI, USA

problem #23

Aug 142014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
I noticed my car lights would not turn off. I then drove my car less than 5 minutes away to pick up my kids. Upon pulling into the parking lot I let down my window and noticed a burning smell. There were guys around at the time that noticed as well. They then ran to my car asked me to pop my hood and we noticed my fuse box on fire. They where able to unhook it to keep the rest of the car from catching on fire. I have filed a complaint also with GM. I have seen from other complaints that this has happen to many of the Pontiac Grand Prix. I cannot find a recall on this from GM. If I would have had my kids in the car and been driving a longer distance this problem could have possibly caused my whole car to catch on fire and could have resulted in injury or even death.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #22

Jun 202014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
A couple months ago the low beam headlamps began to randomly and intermittently stop working while the vehicle was in motion. There was no apparent correlation between how long the vehicle had been running and when the lights cut off or how long it would take for them to begin working again. Only hi beams worked consistently. As of this past week, the low beam head lamps are no longer working for any length of time. A local mechanic has been engaged to troubleshoot possible causes. After reading online complaints, he will review the fuse block, relay and connections to the computer to determine where the breakdown occurs. We are in agreement with other comments posted on this site. It is very scary the first time it happens. Fortunately, the 20-year old driver was familiar with that particular curve and had the presence of mind to hit the high beams right away. I'm not confident all drivers would recover so quickly under such circumstances. It only takes a couple seconds to engage the hi beams if it's your vehicle and you know their placement. However, people are likely to fumble and switch from auto to manual for the low beams first before engaging the hi beams. That extra time could cost lives. It is a shame that after all these complaints and fires, there's no recall yet.

- Saint Clair, MI, USA

problem #21

Aug 052014

Grand Prix

  • miles
Leaving my child's day care provider my husband noticed the headlights were not working. My husband continued to drive home thinking the fuse had blown. He had replaced the fuse about 5 months ago and thought it was strange to have it blown out again so soon. He pulled into the garage and took our daughter inside. He went back to the garage to check it out more in detail and immediately smelled burnt plastic. He then opened the hood and noticed the fuse block was melted where the recent relay was replaced.

- West Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #20

Jul 152014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 122,000 miles


I went to work on July 15, 2014, after dropping my daughter off at her grandmothers. I worked for 8 hours and as I was leaving I could not get the car to turn over. My dome light was in the off position & my headlights were in the auto position. I could not figure out why my car was dead. I called my fiancÉ to come jump my car. When he arrived and opened the hood he immediately smelled something burning. He noticed that my fuse box under the hood was warped and when he opened it smoke rolled out and 1 relay switch was so burnt/melted it was black & flakey and had began to melt the other relays around it. My fiancÉ had to have the car towed home. Upon further inspection it has also damaged the wiring harness. I have researched this and I have discovered that many people have been reporting this same problem online for a number of years now. Some vehicles have even had a fire under the hood of their cars. This is a hazard to anyone who drives the vehicle and to those who are around the vehicle if a fire does break out.

- Marion, IN, USA

problem #19

May 072012

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles
My low beam head lights go off intermittently. We have replaced the relay under the hood as well as sensors. This happens almost every time we drive. Clearly its quite a safety issue, they have shut off unexpectedly while driving at a high speed on the interstate in the pitch black of night.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #18

Jun 272014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 148,260 miles
Push button to turn on ac had not been working fro 1 week. Was told it was most likely the relay fuse. Drove car to work without complications. Worked 13 hrs and when I got off work car started without problems. Noticed both the head lights where not working. High beams worked fine and so did the fog lights, but the low beams wouldn't light up. I checked the 'under the hood fuse box'. it looked fine from the outside, but once I opened the lid on the box I saw the problem. The relay fuse had caught fire and melted the fuse next to it causing them to fuse together. The board under them had also melted, along some of the fuse areas next to them. All of the other fuses had sticky burnt plastic on them, along with the inside of the lid.

- Hillsboro, OR, USA

problem #17

Feb 212014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
1) low beam head lights would just turn off without any apparent reason. High beam works ok. 2) when taking the steps to use turn signal handle to signal a left turn, the high beam headlights would turn on. This could be caused by a shorted circuit in the steering column or excessive wear. This incident appear to be connected with the low beam head lights turning off for no apparent reason.

- Austin , TX, USA

problem #16

Mar 032014

Grand Prix

  • miles
2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle recall. Consumer states while her daughter was driving, the vehicle would shut off and it wouldn't restart.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #15

Jun 012010

Grand Prix

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that the vehicle would sporadically stall. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for a diagnosis where the ignition module was replaced under warranty. The failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who also replaced the ignition module but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage 20,000 and the current mileage was 64900.

- Millfield, OH, USA

problem #14

Oct 172013

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles
I had been having a few problems with the headlights. The would just randomly turn off at night. They only worked when they wanted to. On the morning of October 17th I stopped at the store on my way to school and once I came out of the store (about 10 minutes later) I smelt something burning and noticed smoke was coming from under the hood. When the hood was popped the relay box was completely melted and the wiring harness had a fire starting to ignite. I caught it right after it started. GM claims they know nothing of it and is refusing to cover the costs. After reading many instances on this I would like help in getting something started. There is a serious defect with this vehicle. Thankfully my child was already dropped off at school and no one was hurt. I know GM knows of this issue and doesn't want to take responsibility. My car is still at the dealership and is costing close to $3,000 to have all of these parts replaced. I think GM needs to step up and you are the guys that are going to have to make them take responsibility. I am doing everything in my power to try to get a recall started and to have them pay for their faults. Please help!!!!!

- Mcdnough , GA, USA

problem #13

Nov 302011

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
I have had my 2007 Grand Prix for 5 years now and it has about 55,000 miles on it. In November of 2011, I paid century Buick GMC (tampa, fl) to replace the ignition module and crank sensor because my car had died while on my way to work. On October 1, 2012, I brought my car in because it again died while driving to work. At this point, I paid another $550 to replace the ignition module since I did not realize it was the same part from the year before. Then again on Saturday, November 10, 2012, my car died while driving on the highway (70 mph) at night. It was a very upsetting, frustrating and scary situation to be in and I can?T imagine if I had been alone and stranded. When I finally heard from the dealer on Monday, they simply said I needed to replace the crank sensor. When I told him that they supposedly fixed this problem a month ago, he then said they would replace the part for free. Since I was not satisfied with this response to the problem, I asked to see their copy of my file to review it and brought it to their attention that I had already paid to replace these parts a year ago. They seemed to be surprised about this and said they would submit papers for reimbursement. In the end, I was told by the dealer that I must have received two sets of faulty parts. I asked if there could be an underlying problem to cause these parts to go bad and their response was "not that they can see." I then drove away after they said they had fixed the car and I brought it back within two hours because it was not driving correctly. Later that day, I was told they had not replaced the spark plug correctly and that it is now fixed.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #12

Oct 172012

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
The low beams just stopped working but all other lights were fine. First it happened when we were driving at night to go home. Tried all types of ways such as set the alarm off on the car which worked for a few minutes to reset the lights. Then the low beams went off again. We replaced the headlights, the fuse for the headlamps. This worked for about three weeks, then again driving at night they turned off. Nothing worked to get the low beams back on. Found out the fuse caught on fire in the fuse box and now we are having to replace the relay box as well plus it damaged other fuses. So we have to replace those too. I feel this is very dangerous to drivers not only driving the car but other cars around us at that time.

- Manteca, CA, USA

problem #11

Sep 302010

Grand Prix

  • miles
First the headlights went out and wouldn't work on dim or bright. I replaced the relay fuse to the headlights, they still would not work. Next I replaced the switch on the steering wheel that controlled the lights. A few months later the fuse box caught on fire. I still have not been able to have the car repaired.

- Pikeville, KY, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?