Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,524 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments

problem #16

Jun 012016

Grand Prix

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering issues along with ignition problems and transmission complications

- Shawano, WI, USA

problem #15

Feb 112016

Grand Prix

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that while driving at 20 mph, the steering wheel seized and the vehicle accelerated independently. The contact crashed into a cement barrier and a parked vehicle. There was no police report filed. The contact had not sustained any injuries. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 04/22/16

- North Wales, PA, USA

problem #14

Dec 112015

Grand Prix

  • 170,000 miles
Crank shafts position sensor causes the engine to shut off while driving down the road. Resulting in the loss of power steering, and power brakes. This occurs at all speeds from stop and go traffic at less than 5 mph to highway speeds of 70 mph +. this is a very dangerous issue. Adding the recall piece to the key did nothing to remedy the issue. This has been occurring for 2 years now.

- Mcalester, OK, USA

problem #13

Sep 112013

Grand Prix

  • 64,397 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. While driving approximately 15 mph, the power steering suddenly failed and caused the driver to lose control and crash into a wall. The air bags did not deploy and the seat belts did not function properly. The driver injured the left ankle and both wrists. The front seat passenger suffered an injured leg. No police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who indicated that the rack and pinion steering failed. The contact also stated that the brakes failed to respond. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the brake hub assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. In addition, the contact stated that the headlight switch and the airbag warning light illuminated. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 64,397.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #12

Jun 112015

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 62,234 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. While parked, the horn was engaged but failed to function. In addition, there was a rattling noise coming from the steering wheel and the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 62,234. Updated 09/01/20105 the conusmer stated on 8/17/15 the dealer did not have the proper tools necessary to repair the vehicle. Updated 12/15/2015

- Grenada , MS, USA

problem #11

Apr 022015

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Bought car on April 1, 2015, when we did test drive, steering made weird noise and steering was real hard to turn wheel. Told dealership wouldn't buy car unless they had it looked and fixed. Dealer looked and said they had to replace something in the steering shaft and they would have to order part and when it came we bring car in, but car was ok to drive until then. Got a work order from dealer showing they would cover cost to fix the problem. The next morning while my boyfriend was driving car steering got real hard to turn wheel and he crashed into two parked cars and our car flipped and air bags went off. He hit head and was knocked out, chest pain and back and shoulder pain from this. Car is a complete loss to us.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #10

Sep 092014

Grand Prix

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The key had started getting stuck in the ignition, one day it just did not come out. Once the ignition tumbler was removed there was a long crack down the side of the housing which was causing the keys to loosen and so the key was not turning in sync and got stuck. The key broke off in the ignition stuck on accessory until the part came in I would have to unhook the battery every time I left my car for long periods so the battery would not drain power. One time I was driving down the highway and the cable came off because of being loosened from multiple removal. I lost all power driving at 70mph I did not panic I simply pulled over and waited for a jump start however I could see this resulting in a bad accident.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #9

Apr 172013

Grand Prix

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. While driving various speeds at night, the headlights turned off sporadically. Also, the contact mentioned that an abnormal noise emitted from the steering wheel. The dealer was notified of the failure. The technician diagnosed that the steering shaft and light relay had to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Euclid, OH, USA

problem #8

Sep 182014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles
Very upset with the fact that General Motors is not giving loaner vehicle to consumers who have ignition recall 14350. I have a young child and I am not okay putting his life in danger when I know it can be avoided. GM said that it is not dangerous and parts may become available after October 1st. However, if my car's ignition were to move from the run position while I am driving engine power, power steering, and power braking may be effected increasing the risk of a crash. If the ignition switch is not in the run position, the air bags may not deploy if the vehicle is involved in a crash, increasing the risk of injury or fatality. This is from the recall notice GM is sending out. Yet they are telling me over the phone that it is safe to drive and I shouldn't worry about it. Very disappointed with the lack of concern from GM.

- Sioux City, IA, USA

problem #7

Jul 182014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
Husband was driving home from work, coming around curve and could not turn the wheel/ steer to the right to make the turn.... crashed head on with a Dodge Ram 3500 truck. Car is totalled. Husband was rushed to emergency room with a concussion, cervical sprain, and hip contusion. Thank god my children were not in the car.

- Watertown, TN, USA

problem #6

Jul 042014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 60,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I, the owner of a 2007 Grand Prix sedan, operating said vehicle on a neighborhood street at the speed of 20 mph experienced stalled vehicle. Was unable to steer, brake, and realized the vehicle had stalled while driving. Applied emergency brake in order to come to a controlled stop to prevent crashing into traffic. Turned the ignition key completely off, place vehicle in park, and attempted to restart vehicle. Electric ignition switch continued to try to start the vehicle, taking 3 attempts before the ignition switch allowed vehicle to start. GM must address this or it will cost more than just parts, it will do it again and no one can say where my family and I may experience this again. It was a terrifying experience to have no control while car is in motion with passengers in the vehicle.

- Saint Marys, PA, USA

problem #5

Oct 012009

Grand Prix

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated when traveling at relatively low speeds, the steering wheel would exhibit an unusual grinding noise and would become increasingly difficult to steer. The contact stated the rack and pinion were replaced previously under warranty but the failure persists. The vehicle was not repaired further. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000 and the current mileage was 47,000.

- Vancouver , WA, USA

problem #4

Dec 102007

Grand Prix

  • 1 miles
2007 Pontiac Grand Prix has a moan and groan in the steering while driving it seems this has been reported by others tsb number:050232007 NHTSA number:10018690 tsb date:November 1, 2005 date added to file:January 10, 2006 make / models : model/build years : Buick / lacrosse 2005-2007 Chevrolet / Impala 2004-2005 2007 Chevrolet / Impala (gmx 211) 2006 Chevrolet / Monte Carlo 2004-2007 Pontiac / Grand Prix 2004-2007 manufacturer : General Motors Corp. Service bulletin number : 050232007 date of bulletin : Nov 01, 2005 NHTSA item number : 10018690 component : steering have taken car into dealership in fredericksburg va. They say there is no fix for the problem it seems to me that there would be fix since this has been going on for sometime now and it affects a quite a few models and make from GM. Failing component: Steering summary: Power steering moan or groan noise while driving.

- King George, VA, USA

problem #3

Mar 192009

Grand Prix

  • 45,848 miles
The steering rack mount on the co-driver side broke. This horse shoe type rack mount is welded to the steering rack and bolted to the frame. Therefore the steering rack is loose on the co-driver side and the right front wheel is loose. Looking onto this page this is not a unique problem: www.carcomplaints.com/Pontiac/grand_prix/2004/steering/rack_and_pinion_problem.shtml.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #2

Aug 142008

Grand Prix

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. While driving various speeds, the contact heard a noise coming from the steering column. The steering also felt loose. A mechanic stated that the universal joint in the steering column was worn and needed to be replaced. The current mileage was 55,000 and failure mileage was 54,000.

- Tanawanda, NY, USA

problem #1

Oct 282008

Grand Prix

  • 14,500 miles
Steering wheel was suddenly locked up after shifting to gear 2 while driving the car down a hill (~45mph). Ran into the other side of the road since there was no steering. A false message came up to the display saying 'low fuel level'. stopped the car, shut it down and restarted, the steering went ok again.

- Peoria Heights, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?