NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2006 Pontiac Solstice (Page 3 of 6)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,008 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac Solstice seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac Solstice:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac Solstice Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #72

Jun 092015

Solstice

  • 29,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On June 9, 2015 I was driving the vehicle with a passenger. While driving the "service air bag? message appeared on the dashboard as well as the red light air bag indicator. I stopped the vehicle turned the engine off then back on. The ?service air bag? message and the red light did not re-appear. I drove the vehicle home with no further problems....sometime later that day I started the car without a passenger, ?service air bag? message did not come on. I then drove the car with a passenger and again the ?service air bag? message appeared. The next day I started the car without a passenger and the ?service air bag? message did not appear. However later on in the day, the message re-appeared without a passenger in the car. From then on the ?service air bag" message appeared constantly the car was taken to thomas Pontiac GMC in cobourg Ontario on June 11, 2015. The fault was diagnosed as a defective passenger air bag sensor which was replaced on June 13, 2015....I obtained the old part from the dealer and found the issue to be a hairline crack in the copper mat that makes up the air bag sensor....when searching for similar instances on a Pontiac Solstice forum, I found that not only are passenger air bag sensor failures common, but they are also occurring at an early age. In addition the type of failure is similar in most instances right down to the same spot on the sensor....updated 09/22/15

- Cobourg, Ontario, Canada, AL, USA

problem #71

Jul 082014

Solstice

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Solstice. When the vehicle was started, the passenger side air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the passenger presence module failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 12,000.

- Punta Gorda, FL, USA

problem #70

Jul 132015

Solstice

  • 37,000 miles
I along with many others are finding our air bags disabled by a faulty seat sensor. To replace it is over $1000. Seems like it ought to be a $300 issue.

- Mcmurray, PA, USA

problem #69

May 022015

Solstice

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Solstice. While attempting to start the vehicle, the passenger side air bag warning light illuminated. In addition, the service air bag message was displayed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #68

Mar 152015

Solstice

  • 19,500 miles
Same problem as stated by many Solstice customers...air bag warning light for passenger side is constantly on...certified dealer says passenger side air bag sensor is defective...this is a severe liability issue that can result in serious injury or death...GM should announce an immediate recall to have this defect repaired before injury or death is caused by their negligence...lawsuit waiting to happen.

- Pawleys Island, SC, USA

problem #67

Apr 012015

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 14,853 miles
The passenger side inoperable warning light is constantly on. I understand this is a common defect with most Pontiac Solstices. Why isn't there a recall requiring this manufacturing defect to be fixed? I'm sure GM has been aware of this since 2006, but have decided to settle law suits rather than recall cars to fix the problematic sensors with reliable sensors. It seems the government is also willing to go along with with their decision.

- Ft Myers , FL, USA

problem #66

Apr 132015

Solstice

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Solstice. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp flashed indicating to service the air bags. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was to be taken to an authorized dealer for further inspection. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Charles Town, WV, USA

problem #65

Nov 012009

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 26,011 miles
Daughters in 2006 Solstice. Drunk driver ran red light going 50 mph and hit our daughters making a left turn. Severe impact on an angle (front/left side) with 2 foot intrusion into occupant compartment. Airbags did not deploy. Required prolonged extrication; serious injury with bayflight to hospital. 2006 Solstice is a GM recall vehicle for defective ignition switch.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #64

Nov 172014

Solstice

  • 32,500 miles
On Nov 2014 I bought this Pontiac roadster from the original owner with the air bag lights on with a mere 32500 miles on it, I drove the car 1 month & parked it for the winter, last week 3-30-2015 I took it to my shop to have the air bag lite code scanned & it read faulty seat rear seat belt module GM part # 15874981-15838918 & would not clear, I called GM to find out it was not under warranty or recall & it was over a 800 $ fix, I was shocked ! I looked up this problem on the internet only to find alot of the same complaints from the 3 years in service on the Solstice & sky's all saying the same thing, faulty air bag passenger seat module, this is a GM problem that is totally unsafe car to drive, it needs recalled asap as I understand I have no air bags & no seat belt tensioner also, im scared of this car & I am on a fixed income and can not afford to fix it, there gotta be a way GM can fix this so at least I can have air bags & seat belt tension to the driver at the very least, my wife is afraid to drive in this car with me, I refuse to sell this car until its fixed & safe, if GM will not fix this I will not buy another GM, they only made this car 3 years & they need all the safety features it can have up & running properly, how dare GM not to fix this car in Nov with the faulty ignition switch & not fix this air bag safety feature while it was in the GM shop, also am I correct that the seat belt tensioners upon impact will not work w/O the air bags working ? do you realize how many of these cars are on the road with the seat belt & air bags not working. This needs fixed asap by a recall !!! this is a very serious safety problem that GM needs to fix, sincerely [xxx] age 52 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #63

Aug 012006

Solstice 4-cyl

  • miles
Letter from senator brown on behalf of constituents re GM ignition claims. 2006 Pontiac Solstice. The consumer stated in August 2006, she experienced an incident involving the ignition switch where the keys locked up in the auxiliary position rendering which caused the key to become stuck in the ignition. In January 2011, the same issue occurred. On October 11, 2012, the consumers husband was involved in an accident while driving the vehicle. Also, the air bag did not deploy. The consumers husband was injured.

- Warren, OH, USA

problem #62

Feb 212015

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger air bag sensor stopped working. Does not detect if there is a passenger sitting on seat. This should be a recall with all the complaints. Dealer charging $1200 to replace.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #61

Sep 302014

Solstice

  • 60,000 miles
The airbag sensor on the passenger side has stopped working. Apparently this has happened to many owners of the Pontiac Solstice in which the passenger presence detection module has stopped working and makes the airbags not function.

- Mcallen, TX, USA

problem #60

Jan 012012

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
After approximately 36,000 miles I get a "service air bag" message which inhibits the passenger airbag from arming regardless of how much someone weighs in the passenger seat. This appear to be a common issue with the Pontiac Solstice and directly affects the safety of an adult passenger should an accident occur.

- Pooler, GA, USA

problem #59

Sep 182014

Solstice

  • 64,000 miles
The passenger side airbag sensor is no longer working. The service airbag indicator is illuminated. This causes the entire airbag system to no longer functional and neither airbag will deploy in a crash. This is a safety issue that must be addressed before anyone losses a life due to airbag system malfunction!

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #58

Nov 112014

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 40,782 miles
The air bag sensor in my vehicle failed shortly after its 'bumper-to-bumper' warranty expired. Any passenger in the car faces added risk if an accident were to occur. It is my understanding that the owner's cost to fix this item is prohibitive ($500 - $800), and that the early failure of this part is somewhat common for this vehicle.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #57

Oct 132014

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 21,700 miles
Air bag sensor failed very shortly after having the ignition switch recall completed.

- Farmington, ME, USA

problem #56

Jul 012013

Solstice

  • 12,800 miles
Passenger air bag indicator light came on and has remained on ever since. Dealer diagnosed problem as broken seat sensor which needs to be placed at a cost of $ 750 - $800. Dealer also indicated that this effects the operation of all airbags. Seems to be a consistent problem according to this website.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #55

Oct 012013

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Started the car and the airbag indicator appeared on my dashboard. The passenger airbag indicator shows off. Repair shop indicated a failed passenger occupancy sensor and quoted a prohibitively expensive price to fix it. Defective sensor fails and prevents normal operation of air bags.

- North Bergen, NJ, USA

problem #54

Oct 142013

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 40,100 miles
After having the ignition switch recall done, not the air bag light comes on and I get a service air bad display on dash. It does not know whether there is someone in the passenger seat. This seems to be happening to more than just a few owners.

- Westwood, NJ, USA

problem #53

Feb 112014

Solstice

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Solstice. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000.

- New Haven , CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?