Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2006 Pontiac Solstice (Page 3 of 6)


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,136 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Pontiac Solstice seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac Solstice:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Pontiac Solstice Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #66

Apr 132015


  • miles


The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Solstice. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp flashed indicating to service the air bags. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was to be taken to an authorized dealer for further inspection. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Charles Town, WV, USA

problem #65

Nov 012009

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 26,011 miles
Daughters in 2006 Solstice. Drunk driver ran red light going 50 mph and hit our daughters making a left turn. Severe impact on an angle (front/left side) with 2 foot intrusion into occupant compartment. Airbags did not deploy. Required prolonged extrication; serious injury with bayflight to hospital. 2006 Solstice is a GM recall vehicle for defective ignition switch.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #64

Nov 172014


  • 32,500 miles
On Nov 2014 I bought this Pontiac roadster from the original owner with the air bag lights on with a mere 32500 miles on it, I drove the car 1 month & parked it for the winter, last week 3-30-2015 I took it to my shop to have the air bag lite code scanned & it read faulty seat rear seat belt module GM part # 15874981-15838918 & would not clear, I called GM to find out it was not under warranty or recall & it was over a 800 $ fix, I was shocked ! I looked up this problem on the internet only to find alot of the same complaints from the 3 years in service on the Solstice & sky's all saying the same thing, faulty air bag passenger seat module, this is a GM problem that is totally unsafe car to drive, it needs recalled asap as I understand I have no air bags & no seat belt tensioner also, im scared of this car & I am on a fixed income and can not afford to fix it, there gotta be a way GM can fix this so at least I can have air bags & seat belt tension to the driver at the very least, my wife is afraid to drive in this car with me, I refuse to sell this car until its fixed & safe, if GM will not fix this I will not buy another GM, they only made this car 3 years & they need all the safety features it can have up & running properly, how dare GM not to fix this car in Nov with the faulty ignition switch & not fix this air bag safety feature while it was in the GM shop, also am I correct that the seat belt tensioners upon impact will not work w/O the air bags working ? do you realize how many of these cars are on the road with the seat belt & air bags not working. This needs fixed asap by a recall !!! this is a very serious safety problem that GM needs to fix, sincerely [xxx] age 52 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #63

Aug 012006

Solstice 4-cyl

  • miles


Letter from senator brown on behalf of constituents re GM ignition claims. 2006 Pontiac Solstice. The consumer stated in August 2006, she experienced an incident involving the ignition switch where the keys locked up in the auxiliary position rendering which caused the key to become stuck in the ignition. In January 2011, the same issue occurred. On October 11, 2012, the consumers husband was involved in an accident while driving the vehicle. Also, the air bag did not deploy. The consumers husband was injured.

- Warren, OH, USA

problem #62

Feb 212015

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
Passenger air bag sensor stopped working. Does not detect if there is a passenger sitting on seat. This should be a recall with all the complaints. Dealer charging $1200 to replace.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #61

Sep 302014


  • 60,000 miles
The airbag sensor on the passenger side has stopped working. Apparently this has happened to many owners of the Pontiac Solstice in which the passenger presence detection module has stopped working and makes the airbags not function.

- Mcallen, TX, USA

problem #60

Jan 012012

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles


After approximately 36,000 miles I get a "service air bag" message which inhibits the passenger airbag from arming regardless of how much someone weighs in the passenger seat. This appear to be a common issue with the Pontiac Solstice and directly affects the safety of an adult passenger should an accident occur.

- Pooler, GA, USA

problem #59

Sep 182014


  • 64,000 miles
The passenger side airbag sensor is no longer working. The service airbag indicator is illuminated. This causes the entire airbag system to no longer functional and neither airbag will deploy in a crash. This is a safety issue that must be addressed before anyone losses a life due to airbag system malfunction!

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #58

Nov 112014

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 40,782 miles
The air bag sensor in my vehicle failed shortly after its 'bumper-to-bumper' warranty expired. Any passenger in the car faces added risk if an accident were to occur. It is my understanding that the owner's cost to fix this item is prohibitive ($500 - $800), and that the early failure of this part is somewhat common for this vehicle.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #57

Oct 132014

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 21,700 miles
Air bag sensor failed very shortly after having the ignition switch recall completed.

- Farmington, ME, USA

problem #56

Jul 012013


  • 12,800 miles


Passenger air bag indicator light came on and has remained on ever since. Dealer diagnosed problem as broken seat sensor which needs to be placed at a cost of $ 750 - $800. Dealer also indicated that this effects the operation of all airbags. Seems to be a consistent problem according to this website.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #55

Oct 012013

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Started the car and the airbag indicator appeared on my dashboard. The passenger airbag indicator shows off. Repair shop indicated a failed passenger occupancy sensor and quoted a prohibitively expensive price to fix it. Defective sensor fails and prevents normal operation of air bags.

- North Bergen, NJ, USA

problem #54

Oct 142013

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 40,100 miles
After having the ignition switch recall done, not the air bag light comes on and I get a service air bad display on dash. It does not know whether there is someone in the passenger seat. This seems to be happening to more than just a few owners.

- Westwood, NJ, USA

problem #53

Feb 112014


  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Solstice. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000.

- New Haven , CT, USA

problem #52

Sep 152014


  • 48,550 miles
Service airbag light came on after dealer recall repair to ignition. Taken to joyce koons GM. Paid $54 for diagnostic, which showed the passenger side airbag sensor module needed replaced. Estimate to repair was $779 plus tax. Did not repair due to cost. Internet search reveals many, many of the vehicles with the same problem. This is a defective piece of safety equipment and needs recalled. It could fail at any time, thus disabling the passenger airbag, and many such as mine have already failed.

- Nokesville, VA, USA

problem #51

Sep 222014

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Air bag module went out. I have heard this is happening too frequently in these cars. I fear for the safety of the passenger. Repair is over $800.

- Union, MO, USA

problem #50

Aug 192014


  • 45,000 miles
The airbag warning icon on instrument panel stays lit and "service airbags" message is on message window. The passenger side airbag system is disarmed even when passenger seat is occupied by an adult. This vehicle has not been involved in a crash. This is a safety issue that a large portion of Saturn skys and Pontiac Solstices share and is very expensive to repair. Since so many other Solstice owners are experiencing the same malfunction, I feel GM should consider this for recall before people are killed as a result of their faulty airbag sensors.

- Lincoln Park, MI, USA

problem #49

Sep 112014

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Passenger seat sensor was replaced as car was reporting "service airbags". now passenger seat sensor does not reliably detect an adult in passenger seat. Sometimes it never detects passenger. Sometimes it detects a passenger, then after a few minutes does not detect passenger. Sometimes it detects a passenger well. Passenger seat sensor is unreliable. May not work when needed.

- Harpursville, NY, USA

problem #48

Aug 242014

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac Solstice. The contact stated the ignition was repaired due to a safety recall. Three weeks later, the air bag indicator remained illuminated. The failure occurred daily. The dealer stated that the air bag unit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The recall number was unknown. The failure mileage was 55,000. Updated 10/24/14 the consumer stated the remote key did not open the doors or the trunk. Updated 12/09/14 the consumer feels the cost of the repairs should be covered. Updated 05/19/2015

- New Baltimore , MI, USA

problem #47

Aug 292014

Solstice 4-cyl

  • 29,500 miles
Vehicle display indicates service airbags. Airbag indicator turns red as well to indicate a airbag problem. Cause of issue is a bad passenger seat sensor. A costly item to repair. Problem appears to be very common with Pontiac Solstice and Saturn sky cars. Owners manual suggest that when the service air bag fault is indicated that the airbags will not work. This is certainly a safety problem. Should someone have a collision before they can get this fixed greater injury could happen. Suggest that manufacturer address the reliability issue of these sensors.

- Harpursville, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?