Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Visibility: Glass, Side/Rear Problems

2003 Pontiac Vibe (Page 1 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Pontiac Vibe is the mechanical twin of the Toyota Matrix.

Both models were a joint GM-Toyota venture, manufactured together at a NUMMI production facility in Fremont, CA. Only the heating & A/C systems are different.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,234 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Pontiac Vibe windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Pontiac Vibe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Pontiac Vibe Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #37

Jul 102012

Vibe 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Pontiac Vibe. The contact stated that the driver's side front window glass bolts loosened and separated from its housing causing the window to separate from the manual window regulator. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who informed the contact that the bolts needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was also informed that there were no recalls on the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 67,000. Updated 2/21/13 updated 6/13/13 the dealer replaced the regulator assembly. Invoice received 06/17/13

- Lexington , SC, USA

problem #36

Mar 292012

Vibe 4-cyl

  • miles
I have owned this car since 2003, in 2008 I had failure of the power window on the passenger side, it was fixed by the dealer and I was told to return if problems occurred in the drivers side window. Yesterday I heard the familiar clunk of the window and know it is the same issue as the recall in 2008. I spoke to a representative at GMC (colin) via email and was told this recall is no longer valid. Is this true, I thought recalls were good for 10 years. What to do" Pontiac is out of business"

- Hudson , NY, USA

problem #35

Jun 252010

Vibe

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Pontiac Vibe. The contact stated, while the vehicle idle and in park, the front drivers side window abnormally shattered without warning. The dealer advised he was unable to provide any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was previously serviced under with NHTSA campaign id number: 08V162000 (visibility: Glass, side/rear). The failure and current mileages were 140,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #34

Jan 012007

Vibe

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Pontiac Vibe. The contact stated the front driver and passenger side power windows were inoperable. The window bolts were previously replaced under NHTSA recall campaign id number: 08V162000 (visibility: Glass, side/rear). The manufacturer advised to take the vehicle to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The contact had not yet taken the vehicle in for further inspection. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 100,000.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #33

May 012008

Vibe 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Pontiac Vibe. The contact hears a horrific popping and squeaking sound whenever the front passenger side window is rolled halfway down. In may of 2008, she received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 08V162000 (visibility:glass, side/rear). The vehicle was repaired according to the recall, but the failure recurred one year later with the same window. The dealer stated that they would have to take apart the window to diagnose the failure; however, they would not be responsible for the repair cost. The contact believes that the diagnostic repair should be free since the vehicle was included in the recall. The failure mileage was 50,000 and current mileage was 60,000. Updated 08/14/09. Updated 08/17/09/

- Rosendale, MO, USA

problem #32

May 022009

Vibe

  • 70,000 miles
In may of 2009 while driving my car on the throgs neck bridge I heard a crash and a thump from the drivers side door. I grabbed onto the glass and held it in place. I was able to lock the window so it would not go down and proceeded on my way. I took it to a Pontiac dealership in massachuttes and I was told all damages would be covered because it was due to the recall number 08V162000 the door bolts that hold the window in place broke causing the window to crash and the glass to shatter. I was unable to get the window fixed in massachuttes so I brought the car to the dealership in old westbury, New York. This dealership GM Pontiac in hicksville told me nothing was covered except the bolts. I called the Pontiac dealership and one person told me that the Pontiac will cover the window. The dealership would not take my word for it and called Pontiac themselves they spoke with a different individual and they said that it wasn't covered. They then quoted me at $700 dollars to get everything fixed. I refused service. Currently I have called everyday to see what they mix up is and no one returns my phone calls.

- Old Westbury, NY, USA

problem #31

Apr 012009

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Pontiac Vibe. He received NHTSA campaign id number: 08V162000 EA08004, component: Visibility:glass, side/rear). The dealer stated that their vehicle did not apply to the recall. Eleven months later when he attempted to roll down the power windows, there was a popping and cracking noise. An independent mechanic stated that the window regulator failed and was recalled. The manufacturer refused to authorize the repair. The failure mileage was 59,000 and the current mileage was 75,440. Updated 05/13/09 the consumer stated he didn't believe the recall repair was ever corrected. He was still experiencing problems a day after the repair was supposedly done. Updated 05/13/09.

- Millers Port, OH, USA

problem #30

Nov 062008

(reported on)

Vibe 4-cyl

  • miles
Recall notice for 2003 Pontiac Vibe regarding the bolts in the front and passenger side doors. Consumer has issues with reimbursement. The consumer stated she began having problems with the bolts in the driver side door in 2006. It was causing the window to stick and making clicking noises. The consumer received a recall notice in the mail which stated reimbursement may be possible. GM informed the consumer she was not eligible for reimbursement since it was already fixed under recall; and GM only pays for repairs once.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #29

Jun 262008

Vibe

  • 95,000 miles
My Pontiac Vibe was involved in a recall because screws were becoming defective and causing damage to the window regulator, and broken windows. The local Pontiac dealership replaced the screws, put the door back together, and informed me that the regulator was bent. When I took the car to the dealership the main problem was that the window would fall when I would attempt to roll the window down, and put great pressure on the window. They told me that the regulator was my problem, and that it would costs me $300 to repair. Although this was the potential hazard leading to the recall. I am ashamed that GM and their dealers have no more concern for the safety of their customers than they demonstrated to me. I very strongly feel that GM should replace the regulator in the driver door of my Vibe. Tonight I inadvertently pressed the button that does roll this window down while traveling down the interstate and it very nearly broke because of the undue pressure exerted on the glass.

- Jonesboro, AR, USA

problem #28

Jul 012008

Vibe 4-cyl

  • 99,534 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Pontiac Vibe. The contact had her vehicle repaired in June of 2008 according to NHTSA campaign id number 08V162000 (visibility:glass, side/rear). While driving approximately 55 mph, the passenger side front window almost came out of position. The dealer stated that her window regulator failed; therefore, the contact would have to be responsible for the $300 repair costs. The vehicle has not been repaired. The contact is in the process of notifying the manufacturer. The failure and current mileages were 99,534. Updated 07/29/08 the consumer stated the recall was perfomred. Updated 08/07/08

- Big Rapids, MI, USA

problem #27

Nov 132007

Vibe

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Pontiac Vibe with a recall for power windows. Consumer states that he scheduled an appointment as indicated on the recall. He was informed that the parts wouldn't be available for 3 more days. The consumer stated he experienced the window failure in Nov 2007, however his claim was denied, because according to Chevrolet, the parts that were replaced, were not the parts covered by the recall.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #26

Nov 082005

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Pontiac Vibe. Whenever the contact rolls the front driver or passenger window up or down, the window appears loose. The windows also make a popping and rattling sound. The failure began when the vehicle was purchased and has since worsened. NHTSA campaign id number EA08004 (visibility:glass, side/rear) was referenced; however, the contact was informed that Pontiac does not have a safety recall. He was further informed that Toyota only performs the recall repairs on the Toyota versions of the vehicle. The current mileage was 90,000 and the failure mileage was unavailable.

- Parma Heights, OH, USA

problem #25

Apr 232006

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,170 miles
Both windows shattered on my 2003 Vibe.

- Crawfordsville, IN, USA

problem #24

Mar 262008

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
Window made clicking popping noise as it was going up, then exploded.

- Roselle Park, NJ, USA

problem #23

Jun 102007

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
I was rolling up the front passenger window of my Pontiac Vibe and the glass exploded.

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #22

Mar 122008

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,121 miles
I have a 2003 Pontiac Vibe and my passenger window has been making popping and clicking noises while being rolled up or down for a few months, then recently it got stuck as it was being rolled back up and it shattered.

- Eldorado, IL, USA

problem #21

Jul 072007

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I read article in the cleveland plain dealer regarding the Pontiac Vibe front passenger window popping and not going down and shattering. This happened to me. I took the car into a Pontiac dealer but they did not acknowledge any other prior complaints" they did call in a glass guy who replaced the window and I paid for it"

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #20

Feb 042008

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 66,484 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Pontiac Vibe. While rolling the front driver side window down, the glass fell completely off track. The contact was able to catch it before it shattered. The dealer replaced the window with sash clips and replaced the window channel with weather strips. The dealer agreed that the repair should prevent this failure from recurring. The contact read about the window failure in a newspaper on February 22, 2008. The vehicle does not have antilock brakes. The failure mileage was 66,484 and current mileage was 67,000.

- Kansas City , MO, USA

problem #19

Feb 152008

Vibe

  • miles
Driver side window became stuck and shattered when trying to get it back into position.

- Culver City, CA, USA

problem #18

Dec 052007

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,259 miles
1. driver window makes cracking/breaking noise when window is being rolled down. When closing the driver door, window shakes inside door panel. 12/5/07 2. awful smell when car is stopped completely. (smells like a stink bomb went off in the car). Since 2/05.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?