Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2004 Pontiac Vibe (Page 1 of 4)

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Pontiac Vibe is the mechanical twin of the Toyota Matrix.

Both models were a joint GM-Toyota venture, manufactured together at a NUMMI production facility in Fremont, CA. Only the heating & A/C systems are different.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,311 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Pontiac Vibe seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Pontiac Vibe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Pontiac Vibe Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #78

Feb 202015

Vibe

  • 109,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall on 2/20/2015 my son my son was driving and daughter were traveling in a 2004 Pontiac Vibe North on la 1026 and was turning left into the dollar general when a pickup that was traveling South on la 1026 and T-boned the Pontiac Vibe causing it to go clockwise and into the ditch the pickup went counter -clockwise flipping upside down resting on top of the car. The passenger side airbag depoled but metal came out of the airbag and stuck in my daughter's right hip. It was raining at time of the wreck. I never got anything about a recall until this summer so I never knew that it had been recalled.

- Thermopolis, WY, USA

problem #77

Feb 202015

Vibe 4-cyl

  • miles
Hi my name is [xxx] and I am not sure if I even have a case number and I if I do I am not sure what my case number is but our home address is [xxx] and my husband and I were in a real bad car accident on February 20, 2015 and the accident happen at 7:30 pm and the accident happen on [xxx] and I am not sure weather or not if the airbag had even case all the injury's that my husband and I have to deal with now and it has been really hard on my husband and I and the rest of our family and I really feel that my husband and I should get some money out of it and I also feel that my dad should get some money. But what I can tell you is that a pickup end upside down on top of our car and my husband was the driver and his name is [xxx] and the car is no longer drivable and so the car was towed to brown's salvage Inc and there address is [xxx] and the VIN number is [xxx] and you need more information you can call my husband at [xxx] or me at [xxx] or my dad [xxx]. thanks and have a nice day. From [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #76

Jul 142016

Vibe

  • 194,970 miles
Takata recall my first call to Pontiac 1-800-762-2737 was on July 14, 2016 after I took my car to raceway Chevrolet for the takata recall. When they finished, the air bag cover was up about 3 inches from the dash board, I got the clerk to come see. She said it should not be like that and got the mechanic. He started pushing down on the air bag cover trying to make it go down, I told him that pushing down on the airbag like that was not safe and it might explode out. It didn't go down, he pulled out the glove compartment and went in from the bottom and tried, it was still up. He said he had to take it back in the shop for about 15 minutes, after 30minutes I was given my keys, the airbag cover was still up a little I started the car and the airbag light came on, I told clerk. They did nothing. This is a serious safety issue to me a Pontiac representative called me on August 19, 2016 raceway Chevrolet for a three way call with Mr. Linden, raceway Chevrolet manager, Mr. Linden told the Pontiac representative that he would give me a free 30 minute courtesy check on Monday August 22, 2016. On Monday August 22, 2016, I took my car back to raceway Chevrolet, in hartsville SC Mr. Lindon came and asked for my keys and said that he was going to get the hand held car reader and it won┐T be long. He returned in 10 minutes and we went to his office and started telling me about used car that could have been in an accident and that could cause the airbag light to come after the recall part was replaced. He said that it would cost 15,000 to replace the airbag in my car and $199 to run a full check. I don┐T have that kind of money. He told me that if I had an accident that my airbags would not deploy. Every time I get in my car and see the airbag light on, the airbag cover up and being told the airbags wont deploy is unsafe and unfair after a recall.

- Lamar, SC, USA

problem #75

Sep 202015

Vibe

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

​ hi my name is tammy schenk and I hear that there has been some airbag recalls since 2014 and I am not sure if it is to late or not and I am not sure if we can even get any money and if we can I am not sure how much we can get and if we can I really wish my husband and I could get 80 millions dollars. But my husband and I was in a real bad car accident on February,20,2015 and I am not sure weather or not if the airbag cast my injury's that I have to deal with everyday now and I have foot drop from the accident and I am not sure information you need or who to send it to. But I can send pictures of my husband's and I's accident and our accident happen in Louisiana and so here is the VIN number 5Y2sm62884Z402093 and the car that my husband and I was in was a ]Vibe and here is picture of our accident and if you need to call me and talk to me or my husband you can call me at 225-364-5269 thanks and have a nice day. From tammy schenk.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #74

Nov 012015

Vibe

  • miles
11/15 my airbag light came on I went to the dealer and was advised there was a recall and the light means either the airbag wont deploy in a crash or deploy unexpectly. Grand told me to wait until I recieve a notice from GM and then call to make appt. I recieved notice, dealer repaced recall part (the brains) but the light was still on. I was then told there was a 2nd recall and that would fix the problem but again I had to wait til I recieved notice. On 2/19/16 I had todd wenzel repair the airbag problem but the light remained on. I was charged $60 to be told the 2 recalls had not fix the problem. I am being ask to pay $1300 to fix my airbag. The recalled parts are not fixing the airbags I should not be asked to pay after 2 recalls. The dealers are making money on this problem. Please look in to the problem.. enclosed is the invoice.

- Grandville, MI, USA

problem #73

May 132015

Vibe

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 15V286000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Kemp, TX, USA

problem #72

Jun 302015

Vibe

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Avondale, AZ, USA

problem #71

Jun 192015

Vibe

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however the part to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The contact had stated that manufacturer took an unreasonable period for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Part distribution disconnect. Updated 03/16/16

- Beecher, IL, USA

problem #70

Jul 202014

Vibe

  • 85,000 miles
Takata recall received notice in July of 2015 and been unable to use the front passenger seat. Called GM told they can't give me any info on when it will be replaced. Checked with dealer and got same response. Unable to use capabilities of car I purchased for over 6 months. I would like to trade in and get a new car, but will be penalized for defect. I have gotten no info or had any contact from GM except the July 2015 letter. Is this acceptable to the NHTSA. What can I do to get my vehicle in totally useable ??

- Valley Park, MO, USA

problem #69

Jul 202015

Vibe

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) over six months ago and was unable to determine when the parts would become available to receive the repair. The contact received the first interim notification letter. The manufacturer did not provide a specific date for when the parts would be supplied to the dealer. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #68

Jan 152015

Vibe

  • 175,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My supplemental restraint system (SRS) electronic control module (ECM) light is on. I had it evaluated at my local dealership. They stated that there was a small wire that was most likely broken inside the system. After further online investigation I have found that this a problem on the 2003 -2004 Toyota matrix also which is a sister vehicle to the Pontiac Vibe. I don't understand why a recall was made for the Toyota and not the Pontiac also. I was told by the dealership that because of this issue my air bag may or may deploy in an accident. If this is a defective system I think our vehicles should have been included also. I need to know why they were not.

- Red Springs, NC, USA

problem #67

Oct 272014

Vibe

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bay City, MI, USA

problem #66

Nov 122015

Vibe

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. While driving 25 mph, the tires made contact with the sidewalk. The contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a pole. The air bags deployed and emitted flames and metal fragments. The contact mentioned that the windshield shattered. Due to the flames, the seats and headliner were completely burned. The driver and passenger sustained burns to the neck, legs, and arms that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact was made aware that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V286000 (air bags) and 15V043000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Mayaguez, PR, USA

problem #65

Dec 032015

Vibe

  • miles
Takata air bags recall - I have been mailed several letters over the past two years regarding the original recall on the air bags. Each time I have received this letter, I have called the dealer where I purchased the vehicle for the GM recall 13030 recall. Every time I have called I am told they do not have the recalled part to fix it and they don't know when they will get it. Today I received another recall letter for GM recall 14877, which also mentioned the 13030 recall. Again, I called my local dealer who told me the first recall part is not available and they don't know when it will be available but it is very dangerous and not to have anyone sit in the front passenger seat. Now I read it is possible the driver's side airbag may have the same danger - I have waited to remedy this recall for two years! my dealer ordered the part for the 14677 recall. My question/complaint is: What happens to the airbag if they damage the already recalled airbag in the process of fixing this second recall. Am I unsafe driving my car with this airbag recall possibly on the driver's side also" what is my recourse in driving what I now consider an unsafe vehicle" this is completely unacceptable.

- Hawley, PA, USA

problem #64

Jun 212015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owned a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact stated that while driving at 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. As a result, another vehicle crashed into the rear of the vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed and the contact sustained unknown injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed and deemed destroyed. The VIN was included in the NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 15V285000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Henderson, NC, USA

problem #63

Jul 102015

Vibe

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Kewanee, IL, USA

problem #62

Feb 182015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V043000 (air bags) and 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms part not available. Updated 02/12/16

- Dteroit, MI, USA

problem #61

Jun 142014

Vibe 4-cyl

  • miles
2004 Pontiac Vibe. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to complete supplemental restraint system recall notice.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #60

Jul 012015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) was received in July of 2015. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #59

Jul 152015

Vibe

  • 210,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The approximate failure mileage was 210,000. VIN tools confirms parts not available.

- Plymouth, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?