Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2005 Pontiac Vibe (Page 3 of 6)

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Pontiac Vibe is the mechanical twin of the Toyota Matrix.

Both models were a joint GM-Toyota venture, manufactured together at a NUMMI production facility in Fremont, CA. Only the heating & A/C systems are different.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,386 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac Vibe seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac Vibe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac Vibe Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #78

Jul 242015

Vibe

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 02/04/16

- Wiscasset, ME, USA

problem #77

Aug 152015

Vibe

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer has exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Petersburg, WV, USA

problem #76

May 292015

Vibe

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Englewood, OH, USA

problem #75

Nov 232015

Vibe

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall 14491. Notice of the recall arrived in July 2015. No further information has come from GM and parts are not available at the dealer. Essentially, GM and takata have left me with a vehicle unsuitable for a front-seat passenger--for 6 months! I'm glad that takata has been chastised for their slow-motion recall, but it hasn't provided any greater speed to the recall.

- Almond, NY, USA

problem #74

Jul 012015

Vibe

  • miles
Takata recall. Manufacturer does not have parts to repair. Pontiac says no temporary fix is offered. Cannot have a passenger in the front seat! when will the parts be available?

- Loveland, OH, USA

problem #73

Jul 182015

Vibe

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #72

Jul 012015

Vibe 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Pontiac Vibe. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to complete front passenger airbag inflator recall notice.

- Blytheville, AR, USA

problem #71

Nov 182015

Vibe

  • 179,000 miles
Recall 14491 was issued in July 2014. We received a notice from pontiav dated July 2015. No remedy is still available. This is ridiculous for two reason; first-the year delay in notification of recall, and second-the lack of remedy available. I checked the web for any progress= none.

- Reedsburg, WI, USA

problem #70

Jul 072015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 02/05/16

- Lincohn, NE, USA

problem #69

Nov 172015

Vibe

  • miles
Received recall #14491 in July 2015. Manufacturer still has no parts. In the meantime the letter says not to let anyone ride in the front passenger seat. Since there is no time limit for this to be repaired, it seems a violation of my usage of the vehicle to not have full use until they decide to fix it. I am complaining that not having a time limit in which to repair defects is restricting my usage of my property.

- Bowdoinham, ME, USA

problem #68

Jul 012015

Vibe 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 2/4/16 updated 03/01/16.

- Hayward, CA, USA

problem #67

Jul 142015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #66

Jul 242015

Vibe

  • miles
I received a notice about the airbag recall in July, and the recommendation is "the front passenger seat should not be occupied". I've called everyone, GM, the local dealer, the vehicle safety hotline, etc. And the answer is that the part is unavailable and it will take 1-3 years to get it. This is unacceptable, my car is unsafe and I have no alternative. I called a shop to see if they could disable the airbag for me and they told me that was illegal. What am I supposed to do? I have a family of 4 and pets and we cannot all fit into the car unless we use the front passenger seat. The solution to not use the passenger seat is completely unacceptable.

- Fairbanks, AK, USA

problem #65

Jul 012015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Windber, PA, USA

problem #64

Jul 152015

Vibe

  • 248,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The failure mileage was 248,000.

- Kimberly, WI, USA

problem #63

Jul 152015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Crisfield, MD, USA

problem #62

Nov 042015

Vibe

  • miles
I am complaining about the fact ahtt this is my only car and in July 2015 I got a letter telling me the airbag is defective and to not allow anyone to ride int he passenger seat. I have waited for 5 months to hear more about when I can get the safety hazard taken care of. When I called GM they said they have no informaiton on when they will have the parts. They don't know and can't tell me when they will know when they will have the parts. When I looked on line it says the reparis will begin in 2017 and end in 2019. That is unacceptable. I drive this car every day. My family is in this car daily. It is my only car. In thsi day and age and with a problem that is as easy to fix as this - we know what the problem is -- how is it that the solution will not be implemented in all affected vehicles for up to 6 years"??"!!! I expect a response to this complaint. It is totally unacceptable that my family and I are at risk every day and have been for over a year with no end in site and no one able to provide a date for when this will be rectified.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #61

May 132015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 02/12/16

- Crown Point, IN, USA

problem #60

Nov 022015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part was unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 02/12/16

- Farmington, NM, USA

problem #59

Nov 152013

Vibe

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. When the vehicle was started, the passengers side air bag warning indicator was constantly illuminated. The failure recurred each time the vehicle was started. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Payson, UT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?