Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2005 Pontiac Vibe (Page 5 of 6)

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Pontiac Vibe is the mechanical twin of the Toyota Matrix.

Both models were a joint GM-Toyota venture, manufactured together at a NUMMI production facility in Fremont, CA. Only the heating & A/C systems are different.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,386 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Pontiac Vibe seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Pontiac Vibe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Pontiac Vibe Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Jul 242015

Vibe

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/25/15

- Newtown, PA, USA

problem #37

Sep 222015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were unavailable for repair. The VIN was associated with the recall as of July 24, 2014. The manufacturer had not determined a solution to deter the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ewing Township , NJ, USA

problem #36

May 132015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Lincoln, RI, USA

problem #35

Jul 212015

Vibe

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/18/15 updated 11/25/15.

- Lower Burrell, PA, USA

problem #34

May 252015

Vibe 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) was received in may of 2015. After contacting the dealer and on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/09/15 updated 1/25/16 updated 03/31/16.

- St. Clair Shores , MI, USA

problem #33

Jul 012015

Vibe 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 1/15/16 updated 01/22/16.

- Yorkville, IL, USA

problem #32

Sep 142015

Vibe

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The VIN was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Metamora, MI, USA

problem #31

Sep 142015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The VIN was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Metamora, MI, USA

problem #30

Jul 242015

Vibe

  • 99,000 miles
I received a recall notice for defective passenger airbags in July. It said I am not to use the front passenger seat. I need to use my front passenger seat. They say the repair is not available yet. Seven weeks have passed. I tried calling Pontiac/GM and was put on hold and then got a busy signal. Their chat line is down for "maintenance." They seem unwilling to fix a safety hazard. If someone is injured as a result, I'm holding them and you responsible.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #29

Jul 012015

Vibe 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the recall part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/16/15

- Chico, CA, USA

problem #28

Sep 042015

Vibe

  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The failure mileage was 114,000.

- Bowling Green , KY, USA

problem #27

Jul 202015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available. The manufacturer stated that another letter would be sent went parts become available. The vehicle was not repaired. The air bag light was not visible on the instrumental panel. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Freemont, OH, USA

problem #26

Jul 242014

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part to do the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lake Ariel, PA, USA

problem #25

May 132015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for recall repair and could not provide a date when parts would become available. A failure was not experienced.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #24

Jul 072015

Vibe

  • 71,000 miles
I received GM recall notice 14491 in July 2015 stating" the passenger airbag may have an unsafe propellant which could cause the inflator to rupture with metal fragments potentially causing a passenger serious injury or death. Until the repair is performed, the front passenger seat should not be occupied. Parts to repair your vehicle are not currently available." The dealer had no additional information. Contacting the GM recall line, my case number 71-1508506555 was assigned to a senior advisor named rueben (866-790-5600 X 58210-88) rueben gave me no additional information and did not call me back as promised. 8-28 I called the dealer and they have 15 inflators in stock. I made an appointment to have the recall performed. However, at the dealership, my VIN brought up the disposition order: "incomplete. Remedy not yet available front passenger air bag inflator" the service writer and service manager can do nothing and suggested I call GM again. Call to GM recall line speaking with annette. She had no additional information and did not know when the recall would be resolved. She called a district manager named pat--only information she would provide--to ask fro more details "pat" did not answer the phone and all she would do is ask rueben to follow up. We have delayed a trip because we need to use the car with both front and back seats occupied. We need to crack through this impervious barrier GM has constructed to find out 1: why the 2005 Vibe inflators the dealership has in stock cannot be used 2; and when the parts will be available GM will provide no information. Please help cut through this bureaucratic barrier GM is hiding behind.

- Annandale, VA, USA

problem #23

Jul 242014

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Happy Valley, OR, USA

problem #22

Jul 092015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/21/15

- Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #21

Aug 102015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available to schedule the recall repair within a reasonable timeframe. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The manufacturer stated that the part would not be available until mid 2016. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Trinidad, CA, USA

problem #20

Aug 062015

Vibe

  • miles
I received a letter from from GM (GM recall number 14491A) in regards to the front passenger airbag....I called GM and was told that the part to repair the airbag problem would not be available until maybe the 2nd half of 2016 and not to use the front passenger seat...is this for real? in other words I have a car that I now cannot use for at least a year. I spoke with a john who said to contact a GM dealer to have the front passenger airbag disconnected....the GM dealer refuses to do it...its hard to believe that they expect people to wait for more than a year to get a recall repaired and not to use the front passenger seat for that length of time....

- Buena Vista, CO, USA

problem #19

Jul 132015

Vibe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Pontiac Vibe. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lavernia, TX, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?