Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine And Engine Cooling: Engine Problems

CarComplaints.com Seal Of

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Pontiac Vibe is the mechanical twin of the Toyota Matrix.

Both models were a joint GM-Toyota venture, manufactured together at a NUMMI production facility in Fremont, CA. Only the heating & A/C systems are different.

4.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,225 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac Vibe engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac Vibe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac Vibe Owner Comments

problem #4

Feb 092007

Vibe 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After 27 September 2010 "Pontiac" finally "officially" advised of "important safety notice" regarding my 2007 Vibe, equipped with 1.8L mfi engine and 2 wheel drive transmission. On 3 December 2010, GM issued a "parts availability update" to dealers that replacement parts would not be available until mid-January and advising dealers they would be advised just before "recall notification letters" are issued. On 11 January 2011, the NHTSA ODI website indicated the safety recall is expected to begin on or about 14 jaunary. Contacted my dealer 11 January 2011 who advised that my VIN is "not currently listed a part of a recall." Found this odd since my vehicle has one of the recalled engine control modules (ecms), specifically part number 89661-02K30, which is one of two part numbers found on essentially all 2007 Pontiac Vibes and Toyota matrixs with above engine and transmission. Contacted GM customer no service at 1-800-762-2737 and received an incredibly self-serving line of "double-speak" clearly designed to not address my complaint. Essentially, the way this "game" works is that no vehicle already known to have a defective ECM is "official" identified in GM's database as "recalled" until they actually send out the second "recall" notices - notices that have been delayed over 4 months. GM won't even admit to their own dealers, much less their customers, that a GM vehicle with a defective ECM is in fact defective until they have parts in had to affect the repairs. Meanwhile they are deliberately leading their "customers" to believe they have a "safe" vehicle, knowing full well this is not the case. It is now 9 April and the notices for 2007 and 2008 Vibes have still not been issued, a delay that is now seven (7) months and counting. Again request a criminal investigation into unconsciousness practice and appropriate action take to compel GM to cease and desist this despicable, if not criminal behavior!

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #3

Sep 012010

Vibe 4-cyl

  • 44,900 miles
My 2007 Pontiac Vibe is under recall notice GM# 10282. They have twice upon phone/email refused to have this checked. Local dealer says vehicle has no recall on it yet I have checked this website and my 2007 Vibe is under this notice. I also have a letter from GM 9-2010 stating my vehicle is under recall I have not received any followup from them in regards to this. The vehicle does run rough now and then in the cold.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #2

Feb 092007

Vibe 4WD 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
After 27 September 2010 "Pontiac" finally "officially" advised of "important safety notice" regarding my 2007 Vibe, equipped with 1.8L mfi engine and 2 wheel drive transmission. On 3 December 2010, GM issued a "parts availability update" to dealers that replacement parts would not be available until mid-January and advising dealers they would be advised just before "recall notification letters" are issued. Today, 11 January 2011, the NHTSA ODI website indicates that safety recall is expected to begin on or about 14 jaunary. Contacted my dealer 11 January 2011 who advises that my VIN is "not currently listed a part of a recall." Found this odd since my vehicle has one of the recalled engine control modules (ecms), specifically part number 89661-02K30, which is one of two part numbers found on essentially all 2007 Pontiac Vibes and Toyota matrixs with above engine and transmission. Contacted GM customer no service at 1-800-762-2737 and received an incredibly self-serving line of "double-speak" clearly designed to not address my complaint. Essentially, the way this "game" works is that no vehicle already known to have a defective ECM is "official" identified in GM's database as "recalled" until they actually send out the second "recall" notices - notices that have been delayed over 4 months. GM won't even admit to their own dealers, much less their customers, that a GM vehicle with a defective ECM is in fact defective until they have parts in had to affect the repairs. Meanwhile they are deliberately leading their "customers" to believe they have a "safe" vehicle, knowing full well this is not the case. Request a criminal investigation into this unconsciousness practice and appropriate action take to compel GM to cease and desist this despicable, if not criminal behavior. Please do post this on your website!

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #1

Aug 262010

Vibe

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Vibe. Whenever the vehicle was started it would make a clanging noise, as if it were shifting into gear. The vehicle would not actually shift, but the engine would stall. Sometime the vehicle would only accelerate to 15 mph or it would not accelerate at all. The contact called the dealer and asked if there were any recalls or warranties but he did not receive a favorable answer. The dealer did not inform him of what the problem could be. The manufacturer had not been contacted. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Poplar, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?