Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2007 Saturn Aura (Page 4 of 4)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Saturn Aura was a mid-size car meant to replace the somewhat problematic L-Series. Unfortunately, the Aura brought its own problems: namely cheap brake parts that needed early replacement and a gear shifter that could say it’s in park while the transmission was still engaged.

Brake problems, including uneven wear and warped rotors that cause the car to wobble, are common complaints from 2007 owners. Did GM use metal for its rotors that can’t stand the heat? That’s what some say, and it’s hard to argue when reports show that rotors could start to warp as early as 500 miles off the dealer lot.

Meanwhile, a busted gear shifter cable lead to some unwanted rollaways. That’s because the shifter could say “Park” while the transmission was still in drive, reverse or neutral. A defect investigation into the issue was opened in 2011, eventually leading to a recall of 56,000 vehicles in 2014.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,953 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Aura electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Aura:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Aura Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

May 072012

Aura 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that the brakes light would illuminate when the brake was not being depressed and would not illuminate when the brake was being pressed. The dealer was unable to determine what caused the failure. The dealer stated that they would try replacing the brake light switch. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown, but the current mileage was 58,000. Updated 09/05/13 the dealer replaced wires and termiinals within the circuit and reclaibrated the brake pedal position sensor. So far, there have been no more problems.

- Minster, OH, USA

problem #18

Jul 242013

Aura 6-cyl

  • miles
First it was my gear shift, I had to get it fixed back in may of this year 2013 because when I tried to put the car in park, and did not park at all, matter of fact, when I placed the car in park it started reversing, literally going backwards. I got it fixed but yet there seems to still be issues with the gear shift, just hasn't been the same. Now when I drive my brake lights stays on, but when I press on the brakes my brake lights shuts off. Very dangerous situation, and also inside my car the lights seem to flicker on my dash board and everywhere else lights are in the car so I'm assuming that's a electrical problem. Updated 08/15/13 the rack and pinion was replaced.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #17

Jul 042013

Aura

  • miles
My car was working fine after parking for 10 minutes I came back to start my car and it wouldn't start I called my mechanic and he told me that the wire for shifting of the gears was damaged the carb wouldn't go into park and would roll on its own.

- Lodi, NJ, USA

problem #16

Feb 152012

Aura 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

ESC warning light constantly flashes under braking. Cruise control would shut off or not go on for some reason. I was advised by another driver that brake lights were not functioning. When I checked the brake lights I found that they were constantly on but when I engaged the brakes the lights would go off. I was constantly complaining about being tailgated and now I know why. If you traveling on the highway at 60 mph and when you hit the brakes the brake lights go off instead of on then it's obvious what can happen with the car behind you. I called GM customer service and the tier 2 tech and the supervisor acted like they were not aware of the problem. I told them that the problem seems to be fairly wide spread and that the NHTSA was investigating the problem. They still claimed they weren't aware of the problem. I do not feel I should have to pay for this since this problem seems to be widespread. When is the NHTSA going to complete it's investigation because I really can't afford a large bill from the dealer. I bought the car with 21,00 miles and it now has 62,000...the ecs light problem started within a year of ownership. The cruise/ brake problem started probably a year ago.

- Florham Park, NJ, USA

problem #15

Jul 142010

Aura

  • miles
Identical to the recent airbag related recall initiated at Chrysler, GM has had the same issue on multiple platforms, most notably the Saturn Aura xr. My vehicle is a 2007 edition. I first noticed the issue on my vehicle in 2010. First, the passenger sensing system indicated that no passenger was present. Second, the "service airbag soon" icaw would annunciate, sometimes while in motion and sometimes while stationary, when this happened traveling on the interstate I got quite flustered. I called the service center and took it to the last Saturn service center in fort worth where they told me that I'd most assuredly flooded my passenger compartment (never drove the car into a body of water--confused"?"). the fix was to replace the acm, the passenger sensing mat, and the seat heater--total cost ~$1K. But my car was still under warranty! this problem continued to happen and another dealership could never isolate the problem. Fast forward to now when I contacted GM about my concerns since nobody else could help me...GM stated that there was nothing they could do because my car was out of warranty. I asked the GM P.O.C. about the tsb I had found related to this issue. I stated my concerns for a tsb related to air bags over a 7 year period. Yes, you read that right. GM has had a tsb related to my problem, and the same airbag related recall Chrysler just started, for 7 years!!! please assist myself and other consumers from being hurt by this...

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #14

May 052009

Aura 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The brake lights do not function properly and are unpredictable. The manufacture warranty replaced the brake module once, but we have the same problem on-going. My research has informed me that this is a widespread issue and one that needs to be recalled. The cheap connectors in the brake module corrode and cause may issues: 1. the brake likes will often stay on while not pressing the brake. Then they will turn off when the brake is pressed. This happens most often, but is also inconsistent at times. The lights simply are not reliable and do not work as they should. 2. the cruise control will not function due to faulty brake engagement signal. 3. it is difficult to shift the gear selector due to the sane issue. You must press extremely hard on the brake to get it to shift and this leads to abnormal sounds and operation of the brake lever. We have an extended warranty, but we don't feel it acceptable to pay $100 deductible to fix an ongoing problem over and over again. This has led to us not using the vehicle much due to safety concerns. The car has about 50K miles on it after 6 years. The service bulletin says not to replace the module, but rather grease the connectors. Seems like a pretty clear cause (replace cheap connectors with ones that will last and not corrode... not replace module with another inadequate one). Please recall. Thank you.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #13

Nov 222010

Aura 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Cruise control would not set. Noticed center brake light was on without stepping on brake. Stepped on the brake and brake lights went out. Was able to set cruise control but shortly after setting the brake lights came on and cruise control released. Determined brake lights were on continuously until brake pedal depressed then brake lights would go out momentarily until brake pedal was depressed further. Determined brake pedal switch was operating correctly and adjusted correctly. Service rep replaced control computer: Approximately 5 months later problem recurred. GM service bulletin claims problem is connector on computer board that develops corrosion. Applying dielectric grease is supposed to solve the problem; it does but just temporarily - must be reapplied every few months.

- Ridgecrest, CA, USA

problem #12

Jul 182011

Aura 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
In September 2010 and again in July 2011, my car began having difficulty with back up lights (non existent) and brake lights. The brake lights would remain on when driving and would go off when the brake pedal was applied. This also seemed to happen if the cruise control was engaged. Other drivers flagged me down to alert me to this dangerous situation. The chimsel light in the rear window remained lit while driving and turned off if brake pedal was applied. I took my car to a local GM dealer twice..it took 2 weeks each time, to locate the problem, which was eventually identified as a faulty body control module. This was a very expensive repair, that had to be completed twice. 2007 Saturn Auras should be recalled for this issue. I have not used my cruise control since July 2011, as I am afraid to start this whole expensive and dangerous sequence again.

- Fowlerville, MI, USA

problem #11

Feb 162011

Aura

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that the instrument panel failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that they instrument cluster needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Loma Linda, CA, USA

problem #10

Oct 222012

Aura 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
My service air bag lights are on and the passenger air bag is not on when someone sits in the vehicle. Also the traction light came one while I was in park and the entire light panel flickered. There have been over 20 complaints that I have read just about these problems alone. Why hasn't there been a recall" about a month after I bought the car with 30000 miles on it, the service air bag light went on. Dealership didn't do anything until the 3rd time I brought it in. They replaced the seat and it just started happening again. Both airbags are disengaged now. How is that not an automatic recall? how does GM not fix this without charge" something needs to be done.

- Lancaster , PA, USA

problem #9

Mar 032012

Aura

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving on the interstates and all of a sudden the car went from 65 to 40 almost got rear ended. The dash displayed service traction control. The cars speed dropped so fast I was almost rear ended by a semi. Luckily I glanced up in time not to get rear ended. The car is now running fine. After looking through some sites it appears a lot of people have this issue and not even with high miles some had it with 3600 miles on there car. Also the ones that did seek service they were unable to determine the issue and kept reoccuring.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #8

Jun 082011

Aura 6-cyl

  • 84,500 miles
Car smoking from dash caught fire destroyed car.

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #7

May 012009

Aura

  • 32,000 miles
I purchased this Saturn with 32K on it, two days after having the vehicle it started overheating and the air conditioner went out. I contacted the dealership because it was still under factory warranty. It took them a week to fix the vehicle because they had to completely rewire a few things. One month after that happened, I noticed when I turned I felt a popping in the floor board on the driver side. I again contacted the dealer and they had me bring the vehicle in and stated something was loose in the axel shaft and they ¿fixed¿ the popping by tightening it up. Three months following the above events, I noticed the popping started again. I took the vehicle to the dealership and they replaced the front ball joint, rack, and pinion. I drove away from the dealership and immediately had to turn around and return the vehicle because the problem continued. At that point they had the vehicle for five months straight. They say they replaced everything from the steering column down. Every time I called for an update they always had a different answer. I have replaced the rotors on this car 3 times now and it only has 60K. The service airbag light continues to stay on. The dealership says they replaced the airbag coil but yet it continues to come on. Now the transmission is slipping constantly in 5th and 6th gear. This car has been the worst car I have ever owned. I will never purchase another GM product again. I have had nothing but issues with this car since the day I brought it home. My husband was called to deploy to iraq and we had a 2 week old baby so we had to get a bigger car before he left. We only had 3 days when he was called up to leave (he was inactive reserve and was called up). I did not have time to research this car before we bought it. If I could do it all over again I would never even consider this car. Reading into it now, it seems a lot of people have had the same issues with this car.

- Barnesville, GA, USA

problem #6

Apr 012010

Aura

  • 60,000 miles
On dash warning lights for failed airbag. Drivers remains on unless passenger then that warning light supersedes drivers light which temporarily goes out. Was a problem at time car purchased used. Dealer (Buick) said it was normal.. I now realize it is a fault common on these cars.

- Edmonton, 00, USA

problem #5

Oct 182010

Aura 4-cyl

  • 16,192 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. When depressing the brake pedal, the radio turned off, the red battery light flashed and the engine made a cranking noise. While the contact was driving, the power steering failed after the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer but had not been diagnosed. The current mileage was 16,291. The failure mileage was 16,192. Updated 01/18/11 the consumer sated while waiting for the replacement hybrid battery, the vehicle would occasionally attempt to go into hybrid mode. When applying the brake, the vehicle attempted to go into hybrid mode but couldn't. the battery warning light then illuminated and the radio went out nd the engine made a strange noise as though the vehicle was just being started. Updated 04/15/11

- Malverne, NY, USA

problem #4

Jun 222010

Aura

  • 9,701 miles
I am the original owner of a 2007 Saturn Aura xr that was purchased in August 2007. Almost immediately I had to bring the car back to the dealer in Sept 2007 to investigate "service air bag" and "ESC" warning lights. Additionally, I began noticing that my brake lights were malfunctioning. They would be on while I was driving and then would go off when the pedal was depressed. This made for very unsettling driving. I had to bring the car back to Saturn twice in 2007 to "fix" the problem but I has started again. I brought the car to the Chevy dealer that now provides service for Saturn customers on June 22, 2010 to address the brake lights. They kept the car for two days and supposedly "fixed" it. Well the problem still persists. You can remote start the car and the brake lights are on. You can turn the car on normally, , depress the brake pedal and the brake lights illuminate but fail to go off. The center brake light doesn't appear to want to work correctly either. This is very frustrating. Does anyone know the correct solution to this problem? ps-my mileage is 18,000 miles.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #3

Feb 122010

Aura

  • 40,000 miles
I drive a 2007 Saturn Aura and recently the service air bag light came on. I talked with the service department at Saturn and they stated that it would cost $1200+ to remove the passenger seat and fix the sensor. Also the passenger front door sensor that tells you that the door is closed malfunctioned. When you close the door, it tells you that the door is ajar when it is actually closed. To fix that would cost about $420.

- Park Forest, IL, USA

problem #2

Jun 102009

Aura

  • 30,000 miles
When raining the driver and passenger door fill with water, drains when door is open this could not be good for electrical purposes.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #1

Aug 312008

Aura

  • 48,000 miles
I left my lights on accidentally over night, killing the battery. After jumping the battery with standard cables, done by a mechanic friend, many of my electrical features are out of service mainly the radio/cd player is powerless. I took the car to the lakeland Saturn dealership only to be told that they could find no problems with the electrical components and that I must have fried the radio itself, and that I would have to replace it. I have never heard of such a thing and am wondering if this particular model has a design flaw.

- Lakeland , FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?