Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine Problems

2007 Saturn Aura (Page 1 of 3)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Saturn Aura was a mid-size car meant to replace the somewhat problematic L-Series. Unfortunately, the Aura brought its own problems: namely cheap brake parts that needed early replacement and a gear shifter that could say it’s in park while the transmission was still engaged.

Brake problems, including uneven wear and warped rotors that cause the car to wobble, are common complaints from 2007 owners. Did GM use metal for its rotors that can’t stand the heat? That’s what some say, and it’s hard to argue when reports show that rotors could start to warp as early as 500 miles off the dealer lot.

Meanwhile, a busted gear shifter cable lead to some unwanted rollaways. That’s because the shifter could say “Park” while the transmission was still in drive, reverse or neutral. A defect investigation into the issue was opened in 2011, eventually leading to a recall of 56,000 vehicles in 2014.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,178 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Aura engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Aura:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Aura Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #53

Sep 142016

Aura

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Check engine light illuminated with codes P0016 and P0017, the cause of which is a stretched timing chain. This same exact problem in the GMC acadia, with the same engine, resulted in a warranty extension to 10 years and 120,000 miles. This car has only 86,000 miles and will not pass emissions due to the defective engine design/ and or timing chain problem. Cost to repair is anywhere from $1600 to $3000 and may reappear in as little as 20,000 additional miles.

- Schererville, IN, USA

problem #52

Mar 142016

Aura 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. Various warning lights illuminated prior to the failure. The contact mentioned that other drivers noticed and informed the contact that the rear of the vehicle was on fire. The contact pulled over to the side of the road and exited the vehicle. The contact mentioned that smoke was seen coming from the hood of the vehicle before it caught fire. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 08/30/16

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #51

May 212016

Aura

  • 100,000 miles
The engine power reduced and the traction light come on. When trying to take off the engine has no power. Also when you are driving at regular speed it will reduce without warning. It makes me feel very unsafe to drive. This car has been nothing but issues from day one and now that they stopped making them GM doesn't want to help. They just want to sell you a new car.

- Brooklyn Park, MD, USA

problem #50

Mar 172016

Aura

  • 95,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ses light illuminated at approx 95,000 miles when backing out of my driveway. Code read is P0017. I took to my local Iowa city GM dealership to diagnose and was told it's a stretched timing chain. I'm the vehicle's second owner and purchased it 6 years ago at 33,000 miles. I've always performed regular oil changes at the specified intervals and taken good care of the car. I was quoted $2,500 to fix this, and told this is not under warranty. A technical service bulletin was issued for certain effected vehicles of the same year with the same engine but excludes the satun/Aura xr: www-ODI.NHTSA.dot.gov/tsbs/. this is a safety issue with the car and would I would like to know why my 3.6L engine is not covered under the above bulletin.

- Coralville, IA, USA

problem #49

Mar 192016

Aura

  • 148,000 miles
I started the car (in the rain) suddenly the tc light came on and also the warning words engine power reduction. The car would not accelerate. I left the car for the weekend in the driveway and when I started it on Monday, everything seemed ok.

- Hobe Sound, FL, USA

problem #48

Mar 022016

Aura

  • 10 miles
It been happen every week.I be driving all the sudden the tc light come on also the engine light and the speed reduce I pull over and cut the car off for awhile then the tc light go off and the speed come back.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #47

Feb 122016

Aura

  • 136,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. While driving approximately 55 mph, the engine warning light illuminated. The dealer diagnosed that the timing chain and tensioner belt needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 136,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Masa, AZ, USA

problem #46

Feb 102016

Aura

  • miles
My family has owned GM vehicles for 35 + years. February 2016, I was driving my 2007 Saturn Aura xr (V6 3.6 L engine) home and the check engine light came on. I took it to my local GM dealer who stated it that it was a timing chain issue. Repair cost $ $1,667.05. This is not acceptable, why? it is the third timing chain on the car. Yes, that's right third! problems with timing chain & timing chain tensioners easily go unnoticed and cause serious damage to the vehicle. A defective timing chain can cause damage to the engine and present serious safety concerns. The first timing chain failed at 56,000 miles in March 2013 the second timing chain failed at 80,000 miles February 2016 in 2 years 11 months and 24,000 miles, the timing chain needed replacement something is inherently wrong with this engine and/or replacement parts. It is unacceptable to need a third (3) timing chain on a vehicle. Our 2007 Saturn Aura xr has the same V6 3.6 L engine as the 2007 models: (Cadillac cts, srx, sts; GMC acadia & Saturn outlook) that General Motors issued a recall concerning premature wear of timing chains for these 2007 models. GM should honor the recall for our Saturn Aura xr. As loyal GM customers, we are requesting reimbursement for repair expenses of $ $1,667.05 for replacement of second (2) timing chain in less than three years.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #45

Dec 222015

Aura

  • 110,000 miles
This car has been a bust since the warranty expired. The transmission went out a year ago and was of course a recall for many other Auras except our specific one. Had that replaced, now its the timing chain, which is also a common complaint of the Aura yet there is no recall. The car misfires, shakes violently when in idle and when driving. It has a very hard shift. Its very hard to accelerate and the rpms shoot up. It also stalls and it sometimes just shuts off. Every light in the vehicle is on, check engine, stabilty, etc. It another expensive repair thats worth more than half the car.

- North Canton, OH, USA

problem #44

Jun 022015

Aura

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the check engine warning indicator illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and diagnosed that the crankshaft correlation needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #43

Sep 042015

Aura

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Due to sudden loss of engine power, I nearly avoided a collision from oncoming traffic. This occurred while turning left at an intersection with regular traffic from an airport. The engine timing chain required replacement, which was rather costly. GM special coverage adjustment bulletin #11340C covers some but -conspicuously- not all GM vehicles with the same 3.6L engine for up to 10 years. I strongly feel that unexpected loss of engine power (due to worn timing chain or any other issue) in the middle of oncoming traffic is a safety issue. I don't understand why all vehicles with the same defective engine / timing chain are not being proactively repaired by GM.

- Waunakee, WI, USA

problem #42

Oct 032015

Aura

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. While at a busy intersection and attempting to make a right turn, the vehicle suddenly shut off. After restarting the engine, the traction control and the check engine warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 67,000. The VIN was not available.

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #41

Sep 162015

Aura

  • 99,707 miles
Vehicle has a timing chain problem, throwing a P0017 trouble code. My make, model and engine are included in GM special policy 11340A, covering the specific issue of a bad timing chain. This diagnosis was confirmed by a GM dealership. The dealership and GM refuse to cover my vehicle in any way. My vehicle cannot pass my Ohio E-check and runs rough, with running condition deteriorating.

- Tallmadge, OH, USA

problem #40

Jun 102015

Aura

  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that upon pressing the accelerator pedal, the vehicle was slow to respond. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was not able to replicate and diagnose the failure. The contact stated that the failure progressed and the traction control service warning light illuminated along with an additional warning lamp. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who diagnosed that the exhaust manifold was cracked and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 43,000.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #39

Jun 182015

Aura 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. While driving at approximately 60 mph, the service traction module light illuminated and the engine stalled. The contact merged to the side of the road. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000. Updated 8/10/15 the consumer stated before merging to the side of the highway, the engine stalled and cut off. The consumer was almost rear-ended by a semi truck. Updated 11/31/2015

- Haines, FL, USA

problem #38

Jan 012015

Aura 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. While driving at 35 mph, the brake pedal was depressed but the vehicle took a longer distance to stop. The service traction light illuminated and engine power reduced was displayed across the message board. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the service traction module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 91,000. Updated 8/10/15 the consumer stated the engine stalled while driving on the highway. Updated 08/20/15

- Haines City , FL, USA

problem #37

Jun 012015

Aura

  • 114,000 miles
'07 Aura xr. Purchased mid-January. Check engine light has been on since I bought it, with no issues other than an exhaust leak at the flex pipe. Started noticing loss of power on acceleration, attributed it to dirty injectors/bad fuel. Put in injector cleaner and premium fuel, car would not start. Finally started and took off only to have same issue, but now worse. Car would almost stall when accelerating from dead stop, have to keep accelerator pinned to the floor when starting, rough idle when running. Next step, replaced spark plugs. Did not fix problem, but still needed replacing. Checked codes: P0016 and P0017 (crankshaft position vs. Intake camshaft position correlation bank 1 fault). Have not taken to dealer to have assessed, but from everything I have read this is a stretched timing chain. Recall #11340C with special coverage for every other GM vehicle with the same problem, but not this one. What a joke. Would rather take the $2K-4K required for the repair and spend it on a competitor vehicle.

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #36

Sep 262014

Aura

  • 145,619 miles
I was stopped one evening on my home from dinner when my car would not shift and had to make arrangements to get car to the dealership for the second costly repair...then six months later I received a special coverage letter in the mail. I had followed the process through the dealership for reimbursement and never so quickly got turned down due to the mileage at the time of repair. Prior to 2009, this transmission had issues caused by a very weak 3,5, R wave plate, which made this transmission prone to failure in GM products. Updated wave plates were released for many clutches in 6T70. The old design wave plates weren't stress relieved and could break with use. The updated wave plates are available. First course of action was a tsb number: Pip-4327A owners of 2007-2009 Saturn Aura and outlook, and 2008-2009 Saturn vue equipped with the 6T70/75 6-speed automatic transmission may experience no reverse and slip/flare/harsh shifts in 3rd and/or 5th gear. Codes P0776 clutch pressure control (pc) solenoid 2 stuck off and P0842 transmission fluid pressure 14404A special coverage adjustment transmission clutch wave plate I am requesting a recall due to having defective parts...knowingly and waiting until consumers/customers were over the mileage to get out of any type of reimbursement that is due to them. I have never been so disappointed with GM customer service and repeating the same answer back to me every time knowingly that my car repair was due to defective parts....I followed the steps and nothing...as if this is all made up. The incident date above was the replacement of the wave plate, piston and spring, reaction gear etc. I have spoke with lawanda at GM customer service many times and like I have told her I 'm not going away anytime soon. Sincerely, karla barnes

- Camden, OH, USA

problem #35

May 062015

Aura 6-cyl

  • 55,503 miles
I was having an inspection and was informed that there was a problem with my camshaft correlation. They determined that the timing chain has stretched and needs to be replaced for $2000 dollars this is the same engine as other vehicles that have been repaired under service 11340C why is this engine not covered.

- Pawling, NY, USA

problem #34

Mar 182015

Aura 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Remote start failed to turn over engine only signaled headlights to flash. Upon starting car with key in ignition the service engine illuminated and has not turned off to this day. Was able to bring into local Chevrolet service dept for recall 13036 for brake lamp malfunction and have diagnostic on service engine light on May 6th 2015. Dealer states current code of P0017 and history codes P2070 and P0019. Dealer claims cause is a stretched timing chain and worn guides and wants an engine tear down to replace timing chain, guides, covers and examine camshaft timing. Estimated cost is $3271 and 2-3 days to repair. Current mileage is 100,877 and manufacturer is refusing to cover any part of the repair. I have been researching this repair and seen complaint after complaint in regards to this engines timing chain failing. Complaints range over a series of makes, models, and engines and appears to be a known issue on General Motors part for years and there has been no recalls or corrective actions. I also have an issue with the passenger air bag sensor intermittently turning off the passenger air bag while an adult is sitting in the seat. I was informed by the dealer that this is caused by a failing sensor inside the passenger seat.the seat would need to be removed and disassembled to replace the sensor an appx $800 repair. Again another common complaint and repair the manufacturer is refusing to cover. My car is regularly maintained with records available. I can not afford to pay $4000 in repairs that should not need to be repaired at consumers cost. These serious conditions need to be addressed by General Motors and possible recalls issued. It's sad that the manufacturer dumps their consumers once they cease production of a brand or model. Please investigate and advise us unfortunate owners.

- Orlando , FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?