Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Vehicle Speed Control Problems

2007 Saturn Aura (Page 1 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Saturn Aura was a mid-size car meant to replace the somewhat problematic L-Series. Unfortunately, the Aura brought its own problems: namely cheap brake parts that needed early replacement and a gear shifter that could say it’s in park while the transmission was still engaged.

Brake problems, including uneven wear and warped rotors that cause the car to wobble, are common complaints from 2007 owners. Did GM use metal for its rotors that can’t stand the heat? That’s what some say, and it’s hard to argue when reports show that rotors could start to warp as early as 500 miles off the dealer lot.

Meanwhile, a busted gear shifter cable lead to some unwanted rollaways. That’s because the shifter could say “Park” while the transmission was still in drive, reverse or neutral. A defect investigation into the issue was opened in 2011, eventually leading to a recall of 56,000 vehicles in 2014.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,971 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Aura engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Aura:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Aura Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Jun 302016

Aura 6-cyl

  • 77,054 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. While driving approximately 45 mph and turning into a parking lot, the contact was informed by another motorist that the brake lights were illuminated for approximately three miles. However, when the vehicle was stopped and the brake pedal was depressed, the brake lights were not illuminated. The contact drove the vehicle to the dealer and they could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was repaired per an unknown recall for the same failure in September of 2014. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was invalid. The approximate failure mileage was 77,054. Updated 08/30/16 the consumer went to another dealer, where the problem was fixed. Updated 10/26/16.

- Hartland, MI, USA

problem #31

Sep 012014

Aura

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Spring City, TN, USA

problem #30

Apr 202016

Aura

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that the vehicle had experienced difficulty with the shifter and with acceleration. The contact stated when shifted into reverse the vehicle hesitated for twenty seconds before functioning normally. The contact stated it took a similar amount of time for the vehicle to accelerate after coming from a complete stop. The contact stated while shifted into park, the vehicle was still be able to move. The air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to an independent mechanic to get the failure diagnosed. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train) however, the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Monroe, NC, USA

problem #29

Mar 022016

Aura

  • 10 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It been happen every week.I be driving all the sudden the tc light come on also the engine light and the speed reduce I pull over and cut the car off for awhile then the tc light go off and the speed come back.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #28

Jun 032014

Aura

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that the brake lamps failed to illuminate when the brake pedal was depressed. In addition, the brakes lamps illuminated when the brake pedal was not depressed. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, service brakes, exterior lighting, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), but the remedy failed to repaired the vehicle. The contact mentioned that all the failures related to the recall recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Burton, MI, USA

problem #27

Jun 102015

Aura

  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that upon pressing the accelerator pedal, the vehicle was slow to respond. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was not able to replicate and diagnose the failure. The contact stated that the failure progressed and the traction control service warning light illuminated along with an additional warning lamp. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who diagnosed that the exhaust manifold was cracked and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 43,000.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #26

Sep 222014

Aura

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wewahitchka, FL, USA

problem #25

Jul 132014

Aura 6-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2007 Saturn Aura. I'm currently experiencing the issue associated with NHTSA campaign number 14V252000 (recall # 13036). Additional to this issue, I'm complaining that this issue could be associated with draining my car battery. Since this issue I have replaced three (3) brand new batteries. I had my alternator checked twice and both test results diagnosis was passed. Which means that my alternator is good and didn't need to be replaced. Each time I have my battery replaced with a brand new battery the life span of the battery is about 3 weeks. After that the battery is dead. If I don't replace the battery and get a jump start the life span of the battery last about 7-10 days before I will need another jump start. Today, August 9, 2014 I again had my battery and alternator diagnosed and both passed the test. I was told by a certified GM mechanic that my issue could be related to electrical system that is draining (killing) my battery because there is nothing wrong with the battery and the alternator. Could this issue (14V252) be the reason my I'm experiencing my battery to died/drain because of my car is affected by electrical system and electronic stability control issues? the consumer stated the shifting cable was replaced twice and the transmission needed to be replaced. Updated 2/24/2015

- Union City, GA, USA

problem #24

Mar 172014

Aura

  • 126,622 miles
Brake lights do not come on all the time when brakes are applied. Brake lights come on when brakes are not applied. Cruise control shuts off when brake lights come on randomly. Called GM and they claim to know nothing about it.have taken to local GM dealership 3 times. 1st time they replaced brake pedal position switch(did not correct problem)2nd time replaced 2 bulbs that were "dim"(did not correct problem)3rd time applied dielectric lubricant to bas connector, still not fixed.why is there a recall for this on motortrend website dated 5/14/2014 but GM and their dealers play dumb"how can people get this fixed"

- Mansfield, MA, USA

problem #23

Nov 112011

Aura

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that the brake lights failed to work properly. The brake lights illuminated when the brake pedal was not engaged and it would not illuminate when the brake pedal was applied. The failure continued to occur intermittently over a period of three years. The contact also stated that the cruise control was no longer functioning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who replaced the body control module twice; however, the failure continued to occur. NHTSA recall campaign number 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control); however, the VIN was included and the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 117,000.

- Rowlett, TX, USA

problem #22

Jun 122012

Aura 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake lights come on when foot is off the brake pedal. Brake lights will only turn off it pedal is tapped but brake lights will again come on a short time later 10 seconds +/- without foot on pedal. Also the cruise control will either not engage or will disengage on its own. The brake light problems is obviously dangerous. I've talked to several other people who have this same problem with the Aura, G6, Malibu build platform. Please issue a safety recall.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #21

Jul 302013

Aura 6-cyl

  • 74,600 miles
First noticed cruise disengaged while driving and would not re-engage. Cruise corrected itself after trying it after several miles. Second, a few weeks later, cruise quit functioning again, this time I noticed the brake lights were on while not touching brake petal. When applying brake petal the brake lights go off, and then they will come on when the petal is released. Drove 60 miles this way in the dark. When I reached destination it was dawn light and car was running in park. The brake lights were off and running lights on. When I hit brake petal the brake lights would function as normal. I don't know if cruise was working since I was parked. Personal thought; could brake light issue only be related while the auto headlamps are functioning? my investigation led to many hundreds of complaints around the internet about all of the same problems happening at the same time on Saturn Aura, Chevy Malibu, and Pontiac G6. Ie brake lights operating in reverse of intended design, cruise control not working, and also transmission not shifting into or out of gear by the selector leaver. However, I am not noticing a shifter issue at this time. Huge safety hazard that the brake lights are functioning in reverse of normal design. However, all of the symptoms seem to be related and happening at the same time. I also found a technical bulletin no.: 08-05-22-009 with all of these related problems. Please finish investigation and move this to a recall!

- Burton, MI, USA

problem #20

Aug 082013

Aura 6-cyl

  • 89,890 miles
Three problems seem to have occurred around the same time: 1) the brake lights will illuminate when the brake pedal is not being depressed and will not illuminate when the brake pedal is being pressed; 2) the cruise control will not engage; and 3) sometimes the only way to get the gear selector out of park is to press down very hard on the brake pedal.

- Martinez, CA, USA

problem #19

May 072012

Aura 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that the brakes light would illuminate when the brake was not being depressed and would not illuminate when the brake was being pressed. The dealer was unable to determine what caused the failure. The dealer stated that they would try replacing the brake light switch. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown, but the current mileage was 58,000. Updated 09/05/13 the dealer replaced wires and termiinals within the circuit and reclaibrated the brake pedal position sensor. So far, there have been no more problems.

- Minster, OH, USA

problem #18

Feb 152012

Aura 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
ESC warning light constantly flashes under braking. Cruise control would shut off or not go on for some reason. I was advised by another driver that brake lights were not functioning. When I checked the brake lights I found that they were constantly on but when I engaged the brakes the lights would go off. I was constantly complaining about being tailgated and now I know why. If you traveling on the highway at 60 mph and when you hit the brakes the brake lights go off instead of on then it's obvious what can happen with the car behind you. I called GM customer service and the tier 2 tech and the supervisor acted like they were not aware of the problem. I told them that the problem seems to be fairly wide spread and that the NHTSA was investigating the problem. They still claimed they weren't aware of the problem. I do not feel I should have to pay for this since this problem seems to be widespread. When is the NHTSA going to complete it's investigation because I really can't afford a large bill from the dealer. I bought the car with 21,00 miles and it now has 62,000...the ecs light problem started within a year of ownership. The cruise/ brake problem started probably a year ago.

- Florham Park, NJ, USA

problem #17

Nov 172010

Aura

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph with the cruise control activated, the brake warning lights illuminated independently without the brake pedal being engaged. The cruise control also disengaged as the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic three times for the same defect. The body control module (BCM) was reprogrammed each time the vehicle was taken to the mechanic. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Claremore, OK, USA

problem #16

May 052009

Aura 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The brake lights do not function properly and are unpredictable. The manufacture warranty replaced the brake module once, but we have the same problem on-going. My research has informed me that this is a widespread issue and one that needs to be recalled. The cheap connectors in the brake module corrode and cause may issues: 1. the brake likes will often stay on while not pressing the brake. Then they will turn off when the brake is pressed. This happens most often, but is also inconsistent at times. The lights simply are not reliable and do not work as they should. 2. the cruise control will not function due to faulty brake engagement signal. 3. it is difficult to shift the gear selector due to the sane issue. You must press extremely hard on the brake to get it to shift and this leads to abnormal sounds and operation of the brake lever. We have an extended warranty, but we don't feel it acceptable to pay $100 deductible to fix an ongoing problem over and over again. This has led to us not using the vehicle much due to safety concerns. The car has about 50K miles on it after 6 years. The service bulletin says not to replace the module, but rather grease the connectors. Seems like a pretty clear cause (replace cheap connectors with ones that will last and not corrode... not replace module with another inadequate one). Please recall. Thank you.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #15

Nov 222010

Aura 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
Cruise control would not set. Noticed center brake light was on without stepping on brake. Stepped on the brake and brake lights went out. Was able to set cruise control but shortly after setting the brake lights came on and cruise control released. Determined brake lights were on continuously until brake pedal depressed then brake lights would go out momentarily until brake pedal was depressed further. Determined brake pedal switch was operating correctly and adjusted correctly. Service rep replaced control computer: Approximately 5 months later problem recurred. GM service bulletin claims problem is connector on computer board that develops corrosion. Applying dielectric grease is supposed to solve the problem; it does but just temporarily - must be reapplied every few months.

- Ridgecrest, CA, USA

problem #14

Oct 202009

Aura 6-cyl

  • 21,420 miles
Rear brake lights came on without pressing the brake pedal & stayed on. When the brake pedal is applied all the rear brake lights go out as long as pressure is applied. When brake pedal pressure is released the brake lights come back on. When this problem is happening the speed control, stability control and traction control also stop working. Dealer replaced module 2.560 part # 25861370. This same problem happen again at 48,300 miles on 9/7/12 and I had dealer repair again but this time the repair was not covered by warranty.

- Clarklake, MI, USA

problem #13

May 102012

Aura 6-cyl

  • 180,000 miles
I was driving on the interstate my cruise control disengaged and the brake lights came on. The brake lights stayed on and the cruise control would not work. When brakes were applied the brake lights went off and no rear tail lights. Where visible. Since it was way out of warranty I took it to a local mechanic it took a long time to figure it out. They put dialmetic (spelling) on wires going into a connection box. It was very scary to drive felt like you need to pump your brakes when stopped to let other drivers know that you were stopped.

- Charlotte, MI, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?